BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Electric Now

Phone: (866) 353-2669 Fax: (866) 374-8007 2105 City West Blvd., Ste 100, Houston, TX 77042 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This is an electric company.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Electric Now include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Electric Now include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 10

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 23, 2010 Business started: 02/20/2004 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Public Utility Commission
1701 N. Congress, Austin TX 78701
http://www.puc.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: 888-782-8477
customer@puc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Al Barrios, C.O.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Al Barrios, C.O.O.
Related Businesses
Spark Energy, L.P. Ampegy
Business Category

ELECTRIC COMPANIES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2105 City West Blvd., Ste 100

    Houston, TX 77042 (866) 353-2669

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Customer Service
  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - eQuote
  • - Technical Support
  • - Sales
  • - Mobile Phone SMS
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had service with electric now and they have recently merged with Frontier, since this merge I have had no response to numerous phone calls and emails regarding service. I have made a payment and have the confirmation number but am still recieving disconnection notices. Each phone call (4 or 5 times per day )result in nothing but my being on hold for 10+ minutes each time. Emails go unresponded to and the " live chat" is again another no response option.

Desired Settlement: I wish to switch electric providers and want my last payment refunded. I have all evidence to prove + payment and + credit on my account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

 

3/1/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Electric now placed a switch hold on my property for a past due amount owed. The only way I know for this is if there is meter tampering or an agreement for differed payment. There was no meter tampering per electric now I had made a differed payment agreement with them on a prior bill were all my obligations for payment were meet. there was no agreement on current bill still they are using a prior agreement and applying to my current bill.

Desired Settlement: would like them to remove the switch hold from the property. i understand i owe a past due amount but they have no right to extort there customers.

Business Response:

This is Electric Now’s response to BBB Case # ********

 

After review of Mr. ******** account, Electric Now was able to confirm that a call was received by the customer on

02/18/2014.

 

Mr. ****** ****** owed a total balance to Electric Now for $784.17 for two electric bills. Electric Now last received a payment from Mr. ****** on December 26th for invoice ***** for usage from October 29th to November 27th.

 

Mr. ****** was issued an invoice #***** for $416.21 for usage from November 27th to January 2nd with a due date of

 

A disconnection notice dated 01/28 was issued with a due date of 02/03 for the amount of $416.21. Electric Now’s records indicate we called ************ to make arrangements with the customer.

 

Mr. ****** was issued another invoice #***** for $347.15 for usage from January 2nd to January 31st.

 

The services were interrupted due to nonpayment and past due balance was left on the address with an open deferred payment plan. Electric Now talked to Mr. Darrin ****** and in an effort to resolve the customer’s balance dispute, Electric Now refunded the customer’s deposit to the past due amount. The customer only has to pay $287.02 to have services restored and the past due balance block removed. Mr. ****** will still be left with a balance owed to Electric Now.

 

Electric Now has also waived all disconnection/reconnection fees associated with the account. Electric Now welcomes the opportunity to speak to Mr. ****** and we have provided a direct number to management in the messages left with Mr. ******. ****** our supervisor on staff attempted to call ************ today at 5:05pm and will attempt to call back again this afternoon.

 

Electric Now apologizes for any misunderstanding on the customer’s behalf. Please do not hesitate to contact me if the customer should have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter.

 

Best regards,

 

****** ** | Customer Support Group

**** ******** ***** *** *** * ******** ** ***** **** * ***** ********

*************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with this electric company since august 2013 and I am still unsure about how it works.....they sent me a text message about my balance that's due and when I go and pay and put money on my account IT seems to never be accurate and when I call the toll free number I get the busy signal or it says the number is disconnected.Also when I call to speak with a representative on several occasions they have hung up on me and kept me on hold for an hour or more....then when I asked for a supervisor they refuse to let me speak with anyone and never give me any clear answer as to where my money seems to be going

Desired Settlement: I want all my "lost" money replaced and an explanation as to where my money is going and how everything works because quite frankly I don't understand how this is costing me more than any electric company I have ever been with....

Business Response:

This is Electric Now’s response to BBB Case #********

 

After review of *** ****** account, Electric now was able to confirm that a call was received by the customer on 01***/2014  by *** **** ****. The call was to request a response from a supervisor call back on high call volume and wait time.  Our management staff attempted to call to call ************ on January ****  at ****** , ****  at ***** **, **** pm and **** at ****** to attempt to speak to *** *****

 

Electric Now has been unsuccessful to reach the customer to discuss their account. In an attempt to resolve the customer’s inquiries, Electric Now has sent a copy of the customer’s welcome packet that includes terms of service, electric facts label, prepaid disclosure statement and your rights as a customer for their records. 

 

*** **** has prepaid service which provides text message notification when services are up for disconnection. A monthly statement is not generated to our prepaid customers as outlined in our terms of service. *** **** has access to his account by using our website www.electricnow.com where he can enter his account number and pin to view his payments as well as his usage. Electric Now has been generated a statement for the customers review for the past 30 days. The statement generation fee was waived and mailed to the customer on 02***/14. Electric Now would like to discuss the account further with the customer to address any additional concerns he may have.

.

In an effort to resolve the customer’s balance dispute, Electric Now will waive the $20.00 disconnection fee acquired on 01/**/14 as a courtesy. Electric Now welcomes the opportunity to speak to *** **** and we have provided a direct number to management in the messages left with **** *****

 

Electric Now apologizes for any misunderstanding on the customer’s behalf. Please do not hesitate to contact me if

you should have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter.

 

Best regards,

 

****** ** * ******** ******* *****

**** ******** ***** *** *** * ******** ** *****

**** * ***** ********

*************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/15/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I started with Electric Now at the beginning my bill what fair and decent but for the past week my bill has escalated outrageously my life style has not change still away from the house at least 12hrs a day and a continue escalation I contact the company to let them know I am aware of how the charges has increase but nothing is done. I am aware in the summer you may see increase but when nothing has change as to how I run the house I am appalled by the rates of escalation.

Desired Settlement: Inquiring if other have the same issue.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

This is Electric Now's formal response to BBB Case *******.

Electric Now's billing is based on meter reading information as received from the local utility company, ****** ***** ******. Our records show that there has been an increase is usage of the address **** ****** **** **** ******** ** *****.

We are a Pay As You Go company that provides daily readings to our customers, to inform them of their energy consumption.

Electric Now called Ms. ******* on May *** 2013 to inform her of her usage trends and provide energy saving tips. We mailed a copy of her usage trend to her address, ordered a meter test from the local utility company, ****** ***** ****** free of charge. The meter test usually has a cost per request. Electric Now suggested that Ms. ******* have her appliances such as air conditioning unit checked to ensure it does not need to be serviced. After going over the account usage information, Ms. ******* indicated she may choose another retail energy provider. Electric Now does not want to lose her business, and applied a $25.00 appreciation credit to her account.

Electric Now explained to Ms. ******* another option available to her other than Pay As You Go service, we offered postpaid service option where she could get a monthly bill rather than daily reads. Ms. ******* declined at that time.

Electric Now apologizes for any misunderstanding that may have occurred, but believes the customer is being billed correctly. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you should have any further questions or concerns regarding the matter.

 

Best Regards,

****** *********

Operations Manager-Electric Now

**** **** **** ***** *** **** ******** ** *********************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/25/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been with Electric now for around 4 months. My complaint is in dealing with an unusual amount of funds coming out of a prepaid electric account. At first I called them and expressed my concern for the great fluctuation in my daily use with no apparent change in electricity use. We are talking about a 200%-400% increase in energy use occasionally. When asked why the increase and no answer and pressured with interrogation Electric Now goes on to say the increase in my daily bill was due to tax issues. When calling anonymously and asking about customer taxes on electricity, they tell me in Texas the consumer is exempt from taxes. Keep in mind this tax increase was a random application to my bill. This is a greedy company that needs to be investigated in its moral and ethical practices. The amount of tax they randomly applied on my account accounts for the half fold increase in my daily bill.

Desired Settlement: I would like Electric Now to be internally investigated on account of theft due to its wide network in the community. My daily usage is around $1.90 where I was billed for 4.15 with no change in electricity usage behavior.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern: 

 

This is Electric Now’s response to BBB Case #*******: 

 

Electric Now’s records show that Mr. ******* ******** enrolled on November 12, 2012 under a month to month prepaid variable rate. At the time of enrollment Mr. ******* ******** was provided with a copy of Electric Now’s Terms of Service that outlines the customer’s responsibilities, as they relate to the terms. 

 

Terms of Service 

 

The initial price for the first month of electric service provided under this Agreement is shown on the EFL. The price includes the price of energy supply based on service area, and E-Now’s charges for arranging transmission and distribution services. The initial price may vary from the amount shown on the EFL only for the reasons described in the EFL. The price is variable and will change at the discretion of E-Now based on market conditions. The price will not exceed the price charged by the Provider of Last Resort (POLR) in the service area of your TDSP. 

 

Taxes 

 

Customer is liable for and will pay all taxes applicable to the electric service provided by E-Now for Customer’s account. If Customer is a tax-exempt entity, Customer must provide E-Now with the necessary certificates and other documentation to qualify for such status. Customer will also be liable for all gross receipts taxes on the electric service provided by E-Now to Customer and all other assessments and other charges imposed by any governmental authority, including but not limited to, the Public Utility Commission of Texas (“PUCT”). 

 

After review of Mr. ******* *********s account, Electric now was able to confirm that the amount billed of $4.15 included the daily fee of $0.69 for 03/10/2013, tax charge of $1.53 (monthly reoccurring charge based on daily and usage charges), usage charge of $1.24 and another daily fee of $0.69 for 03/11/2013. 

Please view the attached Account Statement for your review.  

 

Our billing records also indicate that Mr. ******* ******** has been accessed the monthly taxes as related to the Terms of service;  

 

12/09/2012 - $1.20 

1/12/2013- $3.28 

210/2013- $1.61 

3/12/2013- $1.53 

 

 

Electric Now apologizes for any misunderstanding that may have occurred. Electric Now believes that Mr. ******* ********’s account was billed correctly according to our agreement, as outlined in our Terms of Service.  Unfortunately, no credit is due back at this time.  

 

We sincerely value your business and constantly strive to offer quality service at a competitive price. If you have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact our Customer Service department at (713) 337-2736 or toll free at (866) 353-2669.  Our hours of operation are Monday thru Friday from 7am to 8pm CST, and Saturdays from 9am to 2pm CST; you may also email us anytime at customercare@electricnow.com.   

 

Best regards, 

***** ******* | Customer Support Group 

2105 CityWest Blvd, Ste 100 | Houston, TX 77042 

Tel: 1 (866) 353-2669 

customercare@electricnow.com | http://www.electricnow.com/ 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: trying to collect disconection fee a month after i cancled service.

Desired Settlement: assurement it will be resalved without payment

Business Response:

To whom it may concern:

 

This is Electric Now’s response to BBB Case #*******.

 

After review of **. *****’s account, Electric now was able to confirm that a call was made to the customer on ********** to inform that a new Disconnection Fee amount in the amount of $30 had been established in the event that a disconnection order is submitted on any customer’s account. During that phone call, **s. ***** made a payment in the amount of $10.00 towards his account.

Our records show that a Recharge Warning was sent via text on ********* advising the customer of the estimated balance on his account at that time. Subsequently, a payment in the amount of $10.00 was made via our automated phone system. Our system shows that another recharge warning was sent to the customer on **********, and a payment in the amount of $10.00 was made on ********** via our automated phone system.

 

**. *****’s account reflects that an additional recharge warning was sent to the customer on **********; however no payments were made towards the account. A disconnect warning was sent to the customer on **********, ********** and ********** with the following message:

 

“Your service is subject to disconnection. You may avoid the disconnection fee of $30 with an immediate payment. Contact Customer Service at 1-************.”

 

Our records do not show any payments posted to the account; therefore a disconnection order was submitted on ********** and completed on the same day. Due to non-payment for re-establishment of service, a move out request was submitted and completed on ******** and completed on the same day.

 

In an effort to resolve the customer’s dispute, Electric Now will waive the $30.00 disconnection fee as a courtesy. The customer is responsible for service charges in the amount of $10.79 that are currently outstanding and may contact our Customer Service department at ************** to make payment.

Electric Now apologizes for any misunderstanding on the customer’s behalf. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you should have any further questions or concerns regarding this matter.

 

Best regards,

 

***** ** * ******** *******
********* ******** ***** ***
*** * ******** ** *****

Tel: * ***** ********

 ****************************| ***************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/25/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
12/16/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1