Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brian Gavin Diamonds

Phone: (713) 574-6666 7322 South West Frwy.   Arena Tower One, Ste 1810, Houston, TX 77074 http://www.briangavindiamonds.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in Custom Diamond Jewelry, Diamond Recut service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brian Gavin Diamonds meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brian Gavin Diamonds include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brian Gavin Diamonds
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 20, 2009 Business started: 08/01/1993 in TX Business incorporated 08/01/1993 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brian Gavin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Gavin, Owner
Business Category

DIAMONDS


Additional Locations

  • 7322 South West Frwy.
    Arena Tower One, Ste 1810

    Houston, TX 77074 (713) 574-6666

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an engagement ring from Brian Gavin Diamonds in ****** ****. My fiance wore this ring for less than 7 months before the head holding the diamond broke off the band. We sent several images, an expert opinion from a 2nd jeweler and expressed our concerns about the quality and design of the ring. We were told by everyone from the sales consultant to Brian Gavin himself that this was not their fault in any way, but my fiance's as a result of "a significant percussion." They declined to fully refund the ring and said they would make a new one. We declined as we did not want this to be messed up again and instead asked to have the diamond and a refund on the platinum setting. They declined and said they would give us the diamond and a refund for the scrap metal value of the setting and would return the ring by Thursday *******. We agreed, but quickly realized this was not a fair compromise, so we asked for the entire ring to be sent back by **** and we would drop all complaints. They agreed, IN WRITING to this last compromise and stated they would ship the ring back to arrive on ****. On ****, we discovered they were sending our product to a "court appointed independent appraiser" because "of the nature of stance" we had taken. We did not understand this and repeatedly asked for clarity through phone calls and emails. They said they would only send it back to arrive on **** if we signed a document releasing them from "any further action" and that we would not register complaints. We declined to sign anything until we had the ring and so they sent it to the appraiser. There has yet to be an apology and no responsibility has been taken from Brian Gavin. My fiance and I have received terrible customer service from everyone at Brian Gavin given the amount paid for the ring as well as the amount of time, stress and anxiety that we have endured in trying to resolve this issue. Every compromise we have proposed has been rejected/ignored. This company has only looked out for themselves.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the full purchase amount ($9884.60) of the ring. It is inexcusable that this product would break after less than 7 months of careful wear. The degrading "customer service" we have received has made this event even more difficult to bear and has caused an enormous amount of stress and anxiety during what is supposed to be a happy time of our lives. This entire event falls under product, customer service, refund and warranty issues.

Business Response: Brian Gavin as a company has a track record of going above and beyond to make sure that our customers are 100% satisfied with their purchase.

We offered to either replace the setting in question or to give the customer scrap value of the setting if he preferred.  At no point in our discussions did we discuss a full refund.

Due to the nature of this claim, we shipped the item to Mr. ***** *****, a well known independent appraiser in Philadelphia, to give an unbiased, objective feedback. ***** ***** offers highly specialized, technical appraisal services for origin of damage, forensic investigation, jewelry consulting, and expert testimony. ***** considers himself to be a consumer advocate. He pledges to offer the best possible advice, while giving fairness and discretion to his clients. ***** serves as an ********* ******** *** ******** ** ******* ****** *** ****.

Please see attached Damage Report and Appraisal.


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Regards,

****** *********

As of 4:35 p.m. EST on **********, we have yet to receive the original appraisal report from Brian Gavin Diamonds.

 

A response like this, from someone who was supposed to be a "court-appointed independent appraiser," leads us to believe that the appraisal process and report, which we did not request and did not want, was not fairly given.

 

Upon receiving the ring today, **********, we took it to an independent local jeweler to have it assessed and appraised ourselves and they again cited that the breaking of the ring was as a result of the manufacturing of the product. The jeweler's appraiser noted the unique design of attaching the head to the shank and that never before had she seen or heard of the head of a ring falling off.

 

We still have yet to receive an apology or a refund of any kind from Brian Gavin Diamonds.

 

In light of these recent developments, we would like to amend our settlement description in the following way:

 

Amendment to the Settlement Description

1. Our first preference remains as being refunded in full for the entire cost of the ring ($9884.60) due to issues with the product and customer service. If this is agreed upon by Brian Gavin Diamonds, we will expect that the refund ($9884.60) be returned to my back account, and we will take the necessary steps to send the ring (diamond and setting) back to Brian Gavin Diamonds in the exact way we received it on **********.

 

If Brian Gavin Diamonds does not agree to the first proposed settlement, then our second proposal is:

2. We will keep the diamond and Brian Gavin Diamonds will refund us $950.00 so as to cover the cost of having a new setting made at a jeweler of our choice.

Please add these updates to our complaint.

 

 

 

Business Response: We stand by our original and very fair offer to repair the existing ring, remake it from scratch at our expense, or give the customer scrap value for the piece.  Mr. ***** *****, the independent appraiser who evaluated the ring has clearly stated that the ring can be repaired as new. Please note that the damage occurred as a result of evident direct percussion by the wearer after several months of wear.

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brian Gavin Diamonds
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)