BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Affordable Dentures-Conroe

Phone: (936) 756-9015 View Additional Phone Numbers 3828 W Davis St., Ste. 310, Conroe, TX 77304 http://www.affordabledentures.com/office/conroe-houston

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in general dentistry, dentures and implants.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Affordable Dentures-Conroe include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • 18 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 10 complaints filed against business
  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 15, 2011 Business started: 10/07/2010 in TX Business started locally: 10/07/2010
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
333 Guadalupe, Tower 3, Suite 800, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tsbde.state.tx.us/index.php
Phone Number: (512) 463-6400
Fax Number: (512) 463-7452
information@tsbde.texas.gov

Business Management
Dr. Richard Wilson, DDS, PA Kevin Cumbus, Ops Consultant Mrs. Carol Twilla, Supervisor
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Richard Wilson, DDS, PA
Business Category

DENTIST


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3828 W Davis St., Ste. 310

    Conroe, TX 77304 (936) 756-9015

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (936) 756-7098 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Mom to this dentist Dr. ******* ** ****** for dentures. We have had nothing but problems and are VERY unhappy with the quality of the fit of the top plate. When I called Dec. 2013 I only asked for the bottom plate but was told since her dentures were so old that we needed both top and bottoms. Her top plate makes her look like Bucky Beaver and she cannot eat with them, she can put her old top plate in and eat and bite much better. I have had nothing but problems with this office and Dr. ****** is a very rude and condensing man to my 80 year old Mom. We have been in the office 4 times and 3 different clients have left vowing to never return and have been very unhappy ( I am one of them). First visit she was fit and received her teeth we then drove down the road a bit and stopped at a Whataburger for a sandwich, she could not even bite or eat a french fry. So i called and ask if we could come back and explaned the problem I was told no and that we had to wait for 2 weeks. So we waited and then came back and she was refitted to no avail. SO then I called on Feb 7th to make an appointment (60 days to refit at n/c) and was told that they could not see her until after the 18th and we would have to pay, I said no I had called within the time frame. I called back a few days later and ask for a refund on the teeth and was told that they were to old but they did see my Mom on the 19th of Feb at n/c. Worked with her for a bit, rescheduled her for the 7th of March for more relining. I wrote them a nice card trying to be NICE. SO we go back in on the 7th and he does a hard reline at n/c and then wanted to do a soft reline at $120 my Mom wanted her money back so he offered 126.50 for the top plate and wanted her teeth. I said no and politley told them we would not be back. Dr. ****** was rude and arrogant to my Mom and me. The first visit he gave a woman her money and took her teeth..she was so upset, third visit he gave back the office visit to a family and they left upset.

Desired Settlement: Honestly we would love to have our money back so I can go somewhere else. We aid $845.00 for both the top and lower dentures and 50.00 for office visit. If we could just have the $845.00 back we would be happy. The way this office treats people is shocking. I have never in my life been so disrepected by a professional office as this one. If you would like to speak with me please do. If nothing can be done iunderstand but wanted someone in the BBB to know of this crook and his office.**

Consumer Response: No we would just like to be treated fairly and this has not been done to this point.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dr ****** is the very example of why I fear a dentist. Before I ever sat in his chair, I told him I have had trouble with numbing. He assured me that I would be medicated and unable to feel pain.Once he started, he learned this to be true. Instead of trying to resolve the problem, HE TIED ME TO THE CHAIR AND RIPPED MY TEETH OUT ANYWAY.Yes I survived. Yes I am more terrified than ever. I was told to come back the next day for review/checkup. The staff then took advantage of my drugged state and coerced me into an additional $900 for an upgrade package.The dentures he provided are crooked, oversized and do no fit together. I was also having pieces of bone slivers coming from my gums.Before he would see me about the fit, I was forced to sign "no tolerance for aggression" document. Then ALL patients were excused and I was surrounded by Dr ******, 6 "observers" in a tiny little room.Proceeded to tell me I was wrong and I did not know what I was talking about. He REFUSED to make another set even though I offered to pay for a new set. As though it was not my mouth, my pain, or my money.He has not refunded the extra money he stole, nor has provided the "upgraded" dentures the staff conned me into putting on my credit card while in a drugged stuper. I still have bone shards coming from my gums to this day.I can no longer continue my job and expect to have quite a hard time finding another one WITH NO TEETH!Anyone considering using this dentist should be warned. He will go out of his way to take your money in advance, then extract more, then laugh at you in your pain. His staff is just exactly the same. All smiles till they get your money!

Desired Settlement: In addition to refunding the money he and his staff stole from me, I want a public apology for their actions.I intend to do everything in my power (public and private) to make sure other know just exactly who Dr ******* ****** DDS is.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

3/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had 18 teeth removed the dentures that the dentist gave me were made so bad that they protruded from my mouth where I could not close my mouth or take medication for pain,I called less than an hour after the surgery and was told to come back the next day. I exsplained I needed to be seen now and was told to come back, when I came back and sat down after signing in a Conroe police officer entered the office and escorted me outside and told me I was no longer welcome there. I was told I would not receive the follow up care from the surgery and would not have my dentures fixed and was trespassed from the office. I now have a bill for the dentures I cannot use and the promotion deal I signed up for was removed and now have a bill for 2 times as much.

Desired Settlement: I would like my dentures replaced with something I can use and my original deal for payment fixed and pain and suffering compensated

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

6/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to ********** ******** to get new ******** and paid for the most********* set they offered. I was guaranteed *********** for ***** **** but you have to book an appointment ***** ahead and the **** *********** run out before you have them properly adjusted. However, if you want to pay an extra $***** each time you go, they ****** to fit you in.Now they are a couple of ****** old and the ***** keep coming out of the*****. Evidently they don't set them very well. Last **** *** of my *** front ***** came out and this ******* the left ******* came out while I was eating soup. I have contacted their ************ and it doesn't do any good. I guess I only have one option and that is to go to ***** ****** *****. I know they are "**********" but if they are no****, you aren't really saving any ******

Desired Settlement: If they can't fix them so the ***** keep******* out I want my money back.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond. 
 

6/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March 23 2013 I was in for dentures and Dr. ****** said they would be here in 2 or 3 weeks. The dentures arrived and I received them on May 3 2013. I was told adjustments were free the first 60 days. I called them May 6 2013 after the weekend to get an adjustment because it hurts to chew! The receptionist told me earliest I could get in was May 23 2013. I explained to her that I have pain when I try to chew and she told me that if I would pay $20 I could get in sooner!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Live up to the no charge adjustment agreement as stated and don't delay adjustments.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

2/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I HAD DENTURES MADE.(THEY MADE ME PAY IN ADVANCE) AND AFTER A FULL DAY OF BEING THERE ,THEY STILL WEREN'T CORRECT....WE FOCUSED ON TOP ONE MOSTLY..THE NEXT DAY I AGAIN SPENT THE WHOLE DAY THERE AND WHEN WE FINALLY GOT IT OK,I SIGNED THE FINAL ACCEPT PAPERS....BUT WHEN THE FINAL DENTURE WAS PLACED IT WAS NOT THE SAME.. THE TEETH WERENT STRIAGHT...DR ******,WAS SO RUDE TO ME AND ACTED LIKE IT WAS MY FAULT THAT HIS LAB MESSED UP.... I WAS SO TIRED AND FRUSTRATED BUT THERE WAS NOTHING I COULD DO BECAUSE I HAD ALREADY PD FOR THEM.. WHEN I TRIED WEARING THEM THEY DID NOT FEEL OR STILL LOOK RIGHT..THE BOTTOM ONE WAS HUGE AND DID NOT MATCH UP WITH THE TOP ONE.I COULD NOT AND HAVE NOT WORN THEM AS THEY CAN DAMAGE MY GUMS. I HAVE NEVER BEEN TREATED SO RUDELY AND WHEN I TRIED TO GET AN APPOINTMENT THEY HAD SAID I WOULD BE CHARGED TO ADJUST THEM BECAUSE 60 DAYS HAVE PASSED EVEN THOUGH THEY WERE BOOKED UP AND HOLIDAYS WERE HERE....I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS DENTIST OR OFFICE....I HAVE PAID OVER 1000.00 FOR NOTHING AS I CAN NOT WEAR THEM.. THANK YOU ,***** ******

Desired Settlement: I WILL RETURN THE TEETH,FOR A REFUND

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

1/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********** I purchased a new denture wearers package deal at a cost of $3,160.00 for getting my teeth pulled it contained pulling all my teeth a temporary set of dentures and a final set of dentures after one year. When you purchase a package deal you get it at a discount and that was the only way I could go to be able to pay for the work done. I sold my home (which was a travel trailer) in order to pay him the cash up front that he require in advance. On ********** I went in to get my final set of dentures I was trying to let the dentist know the problems I was having with dentures and telling him about a bone sticking out in my jaw that gets rubbed raw from my dentures. I provided him this information in hopes of getting a better fitting final set of dentures. The dentist (******* ******) told me "I wasn't doing anything but complaining and then told me that he refuses to give me my final set of dentures and that I could get up and leave his office." I was so humiliated and angry. He then said he would refund me my money. I went up front and the girl at the desk was very rude and stated I could sign their paper work for a $400.00 refund or I can just get nothing. They then set me a letter stating they were going to refund me $130.00 dollars. I sent the dentist a certified letter asking him to make good on our paid contract and stated $130.00 was not acceptable. He answered by sending a 130 check in the mail, which I returned to him. I prepaid for a set of dentures and a set of dentures is what I want. $130.00 or even $400.00 will not pay for a set of dentures somewhere else. To give you an example of how ridiculous his offer was, I called two other local dentists. Their charges for a set of dentures (upper and lower including office visit) was $1787.00 and $2,854.36. Even ******* ******'s price for a set of dentures is $895.00 (unknown if this includes an office visit). Now how does he think $130.00 will get me the set of dentures he owes me?

Desired Settlement: I want ******* ****** to pay for me to be able to obtain a full set of dentures, get the bone look at rubbing my dentures and that bone fixed if necessary by another dentist of my choice at his expense. We had a legal binding and fully paid contract and ******* ****** needs to make this right. Should he choose not to pay for a new full set of dentures, a full refund of my entire $3,160.00 should be refunded to be for having to endure this painful and embarrassing situation.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond

1/21/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Affordable Dentures of Conroe, TX, gave a great sales pitch and upfront Customer service appearance. After work was done and roughly $1800 was paid and collected, no one at the office would help or assist. I needed my X-ray file sent to the Dental provider(as Affordable Dentures won't work with insurance companies). Affordable would neither give me my X-ray or send it to the Dental insurance without trying to collect an additional amount of monies from myself. Affordable kept asking me to have ******* send them a request, BUT, why would they(and they will not) send anything to an office that never submitted anything to them. ******* dealt directly with myself. I called and called with no return of m messages left. Then upon even speaking with associates still my calls were never returned. Finally I talked to someone who had me email the request from *******(still confused at this request) on December 19th, 2012. As of today January 8th, 2013 ******* has yet to receive anything from Affordable Dentures. This is really well past any normal and respectful wait time for business practice. I have also added the email sent as of today 01/08/2013.EMAIL TO AFFORDABLE 01/08/2013:This information was sent December 19th, 2012. I have been calling and talking and have paid $1800 and can not get even a proper Customer Service response. Since November I have been requesting this information be sent. *** **** has still YET to receive any documents(X-rays) from your office. A fee was paid for services to MY teeth and health and can not get the information taken from MY personal body. This is just plain Bad business practices. I have called with no response to messages electronically and verbally to associates at your office. I'm sure the office, based on conversations and lack of responses, does not care about the complaint system Better Business Services provide or its services but other consumers need to be made aware of the poor and lack of customer service rendered AFTER you have PAID your monies

Desired Settlement: The matter needing to be resolved should be self explanatory. Until the Dental Insurance Provider receives the necessary documents, I can not have my benefits paid. $1800 to anyone is not 18 cents this is very serious and has been a burdan since even getting the work done.

Business Response:   Just because you are a customer and upset does not mean you are right about the situation. There is more to this issue than there is time.  Stop blamming me for what  the insurance will not do on their end. 

Consumer Response:


 

 Yet again instead of sending MY X-RAYS to the proper area (I havent even been sent the item after being told to show the insurance company requested). Now you want to complain about something very irrevelant. Money was paid my X-ray is being held hostage. Grow up, handle business and move on. My services still havent been fulfilled. With this trail its evident you rather fight and bicker versus service your customer sufficiently.

Business Response: So mature of you sir. You grow up! We sent that x-ray on December 20, 2012 on your behalf at no charge. Never again with these types of remarks towards me. How dare you. This speaks to your character. Making false claims is so childish. You need to handle your business and stop being a big cry baby!!!! I'm blocking this email to my account because I don't deal with children. I will be refunding you the remaining balance on your account. I see that I can not meet your expectations. No need to come to the office because as of now you are no longer my patient. Find another dentist to do your paper work and send off free xrays. I don't accept insurance and I still went out of my way to help you. You have been warned to not show to my office. Police will be waiting. A check will come in the mail. Enough is Enough! See BBB, people complain and they lie through their teeth!!! Get your facts correct before getting involved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
7/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1