BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Vintage Custom Remodeling & Construction, Inc.

Phone: (713) 231-7826 Fax: (281) 398-1168 5504 Old Greenhouse Rd. Suite 200, Houston, TX 77084 http://www.vintagecustomconstruction.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides residential and commercial construction services.

BBB Accreditation

On 1/30/2014 this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6A. Promptly respond to all complaints forwarded by BBB by:
    1. Resolving the complaint directly with the complainant and notifying BBB, or
    2. Providing BBB with a response that BBB determines:
      • is professional,
      • addresses all of the issues raised by the complainant,
      • includes appropriate evidence and documents supporting the business' position, and
      • explains why any relief sought by the complainant cannot or should not be granted.
  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Vintage Custom Remodeling & Construction, Inc. include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

While this company is currently an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, the company has not responded to one or more customer complaints brought to its attention by the bureau.  Accredited Business’s must answer all complaints in a timely manner. The bureau has notified the company that its status at the BBB will be revoked if the complaint(s) is not answered.   The company has also developed a pattern of complaints. Accredited Business’s must be free of any pattern and they must devise a plan to eliminate the pattern.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 02, 2009 Business started: 06/03/2006 in TX Business started locally: 10/18/2007 Business incorporated: 06/03/2006 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Alejandro Lerma, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alejandro Lerma, Owner
Business Category

CONSTRUCTION / REMODELING SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5504 Old Greenhouse Rd. Suite 200

    Houston, TX 77084

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: He took my money and didn't finish the job . I try to contact the business many times but no answer. It's almost a year leave my house with holes and tapes

Desired Settlement: Responsible for damage because of delay Finish the job or refund my money

8/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ********* (****) ***** discussed plans to build a new staircase for my residence. He delivered a written estimate, and then requested $5,000.00 to front the cost of architectural plans, permitting, tread construction, as well as the down payment for a new metal stringer. I gave **** a check for $5,000.00 on June 21st 2014, and the check cleared my account on June 23rd 2014. After 5 weeks, I asked for evidence of action, per our agreement, in the form of vendor receipts for purchased goods or services. When **** failed to respond to email and phone messages, I had to conclude that my $5,000.00 was requisitioned for other purposes besides my project. I have demanded a refund, and have received no response.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund of $5,000.00 initial good-faith deposit.

3/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vintage broke ground on our house remodel on 11/06/2013 after we paid $10,000 down on a $56,800 contract. The project was to complete within an estimated 90 days. Respective payments were made in increments at the behest of the owner and his wife totaling $47,500 by January 15, 2014. Their rationale behind the aggressive payment plan was that they needed funds to finish up the last elements of work in the upcoming weeks. It has passed 90 days, and the project has incurred a multitude of issues where I have had other contractors walk in and state the project is essentially a little over 50% complete. Problems incurred are: During December and January, the owner/GC was unavailable and not responding effectively to communications. Rationale for slow progress and poor craftsmanship were brushed off with vague responses and not addressed with professional/technical reasons. Personnel was constantly changing (if anyone was available at all). A skeleton screw of two people were generally performing work daily until the beginning of February. Crew members would approach us at night on the property stating that the owner has not paid them effectively - this has happened on over three instances. Jobsite was not kept in a clean and manage-able fashion. Remodeling was performed out of sequence, requiring a lot of re-work. Plumbing and electrical are not complete, albeit primer and plaster has been applied to all the walls. 3rd party specifications were not followed according to their best practices. Personal property was damaged and/or broken and were not brought to our attention. Alcohol was consumed on premises and trashed in the yard. Permits were paid for by us, per the contract, but permits were never paid for to the City. All in all, the job is far from complete and the 55% that is complete is not satisfactory to industry standards, nor to an untrained eye. The amount of work that is still outstanding that we paid for due to their aggressive demand for money is massive.

Desired Settlement: I would like to request a refund for unfinished work in the amount of $25,600 - for the 45% completed.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vintage began a remodeling job with the first check being paid to them on ***** *** ****. The contract specified that they would complete the job by ********* ** ****. They have been issued checks in the amount of $70,000 and have failed to complete the job. They have disappeared and will not return calls, TXT or e-mails.There are unresolved plumbing and electrical issues and materials never received.

Desired Settlement: I would like the work completed or funds refunded

Business Response: We have communicated with owner and will complete his Job

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ******


 

 

Business Response: We have an invoice larger than what they state we owe. 

 
Husband is not aware off all the additional work performed. Wife is sneaky and a ***** stating we did not perform work.