This business is not BBB accredited.

AF Construction

Phone: (281) 991-8800 5041 Spencer Hwy, #205, Pasadena, TX 77502 http://www.afconst.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in construction and remodeling.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • The business's BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.

While this company is currently an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, the company is being presented to the Membership Committee for not honoring contracts with consumers and being unresponsive in answering complaints is a timely manner.  They also have a pattern of complaints. 


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AF Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 2011 Business started: 01/07/2008 in TX
Business Management
Mr. Ray Hernandez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ray Hernandez, Owner
Related Businesses
Power Bug Service Handyman Depot Allegiance Construction Group
Business Category

CONSTRUCTION / REMODELING SERVICES


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5041 Spencer Hwy, #205

    Pasadena, TX 77502 (281) 991-8800

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** ********* came to my home representing himself as working for ******* *****. (I have an invoice with that company name on it.)I hired him to up-date my master bath and paint the exterior of my two story home. He insisted I pay him $6,930.00up front for the master bath and $3,540.00 for the exterior painting. He assured me the work would be done to perfection. He insisted I pay another $1,924.00 a short time after work had begun for extra costs. All checks were written to *** ********* personally. Not the company.The workers he contracted were not qualified to do the work and the work was below par. He had a 67 yr. old man trying to hand paint the exterior of my home by himself. I spoke to *** repeatedly about my concerns and he kept assuring me it would be done to perfection. My new jacuzzi tub arrived, I inspected it and it was fine. After installation I removed a piece of blue tape his workers had put on the tub and there was a huge gash in it. *** told me it came that way. This was not true, I saw it before installation and it was fine. The tile work was uneven and the plumbing was done incorrectly. I had to stop *** and his crew from any further work so as not to have the job be completely unsalvageable. When I informed him that he was no longer on the the job after he came and collected his things he threatened to sue me. I had to hire a legitimate company to come in and repair what was done incorrectly and finish what was not finished. That cost me another $4,000.00. I also had to pay a painting contractor that *** hired for the job because *** would not pay him. That was another $300.00

Desired Settlement: I would like *** ********* to reimburse me for half of what I paid him personally. The total amount he received from me was $12,394.00 plus the $300.00 I had to pay the contractor he hired on to the job.Half would be $6,497.00. The work done and quality of it does not deserve over $6,000.00 but half of what I paid him is what I desire.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on AF Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)