This business is not BBB accredited.

Eagle Numismatics

Phone: (281) 548-1515 Fax: (281) 548-1535 View Additional Phone Numbers P. O. Box 3914, Humble, TX 77347 http://www.coinmaven.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in buying, selling and trading rare coins and precious metals.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Eagle Numismatics include:

  • Government action(s) against the business

Factors that raised the rating for Eagle Numismatics include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eagle Numismatics
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1989
Business Management
Mr. Brett D. Bogus, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brett D. Bogus, Owner
Related Businesses
The Gold Exchange, Inc.
Business Category

COIN DEALERS, SUPPLIES, ETC.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P. O. Box 3914

    Humble, TX 77347 (281) 548-1515

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed my order for some numismatic coins. The receipt of the invoice I signed at the time of purchase clearly states, "All returns must be postmarked within 3 days of receipt of goods." I refused to pick up the 2 numismatic parts of my order totalling $20,250. I have told the owner since the end of July 2012 and again in January 2013 that I want (and am entitled under the invoice I signed to) a FULL refund, since he never stated in his invoice I would be assessed ANY penalties for asking for a refund on any of the merchandise ordered. I did not even pick up the goods, so, according to the invoice I signed, I am entitled to a FULL refund of the money I paid. He refuses, stating on the phone that he has spent all that money on personal matters and to just take the coins. He has lied to me about waiting and he would see what he could do. 5 months later, I called him again for the 3rd or 4th time, and he finally admitted that all he wants to do is get me to take the original order items. I have no other recourse to try to get a full refund if this BBB complaint does not work other than legal action. I am NOT willing to take the coins. I want a FULL refund of my purchase price, or further actions will be taken by me.

Desired Settlement: I want my full $20,250.00 refunded to me, ******** *******, asap, in the form of a check. No other possible settlement option will be accepted by me.

Consumer Response: There was no attempt to make contact on the part of the business. Thank you, ******** *******

Consumer Response:

Consumer Response: From: ******** ******* [mailto:******************] Sent: Tuesday, February 05, 2013 11:31 AM To: drteam Subject: Case #******* Hello, My case # is *******. My case has NOT been resolved. I have not filed anything in any courthouse. I have asked the business for a full refund and they refuse to give it to me. When can my case be closed as NOT resolved? I don't think the business is going to give me what I am asking for. Thank you, ******** *******

Business Response:  I had a number of conversations – both on the phone as well as via email.   I have explained the return privilege and this lady has represented that she is NOT in line with her husband’s wishes.  She made a number of visits to our location in Humble, took delivery of some product and asked us to hold her material.   After months of waiting for her to advise us; she now wants a full refund.  She’s trading in a commodity and prices fluctuate moment by moment. I’m willing to work with her but her request is NOT reasonable. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Mr. ***** is lying about what I have told him and about what I have wanted all along.  He claims he is "willing to work with me",

but by that he means he is still willing to give me coins that I DO NOT WANT and have never wanted- THAT is why I have not

picked them up for 6 months now.  He refuses to give me a COMPLETE and TOTAL refund because he thinks he is entitled to

charge me fees and I disagree.  He is not willing to budge on this and neither am I.

Regards,

******** *******


 

 

Consumer Response: From: ******** ******* [mailto:******************] Sent: Thursday, February 07, 2013 11:39 AM To: drteam Subject: Case # ******* Hello, It is obvious from my dealing with Mr. ***** and from his response that he is not going to give me satisfaction. I have been more than patient with him and his business. I would like this case closed and labeled as NOT resolved. Please let me know as soon as this is possible. Mr. ***** has made me wait long enough with his lying. I do not want to wait any longer and waste any more time. It is clear that I will need to take legal action. I have given him enough time to do the right thing and he is not interested. 6 months is long enough. Please let me know what I have to do to close this case as NOT resolved. I can then move on to legal recourse to have justice in this matter, because he is obviously not going to change his perspective due to the BBB intervention. Thank you. Sincerely, ******** *******

Business Response: I have communicated to The BBB and those messages were previously blocked by spam, per ***** ******. As for Mrs. *******, she agreed several times to Work something out, then she agreed to let us sell her coins, then she would change her mind and all along with my attempts to assist her to a mutual resolution. Then Mrs. ******* began sharing that she did NOT do what her husband wanted. This purchase dates to July 2012. So, The *******'s waffled back and forth with each other...but until just before Christmas, asked for us to hold her coins for her. Mr. *******, has never contacted the firm and frankly, all our clients are aware that there is volatility in all markets. I do a daily radio show, 6 days a week and discuss the virtues - and the ugly side of precious metals volatility. A full refund, 7 months after the fact is NOT reasonable, expected nor ever promised. Mrs. ******* has threatened me via email and phone calls; then agreed to work with me for a resolution...ONLY to waffle again and change her mind. She's made it a point to advise me she's ruined other businesses with her online assault but NEVER shared the reason other than she wants to have everything her way. Reasonable solutions considered....no offered by this client

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Hello,

I have NO idea about where Mr. ***** gets ALL of the things he is saying in

his response.  Why he keeps mentioning my husband, I have NO idea, since

I am the one who purchased anything from his business- my husband has never stepped foot inside his business or contacted him in any way, shape or form.  I have never even mentioned my husband except to tell Mr. ***** that

the money I have spent is very hard to come by for both my husband and myself.  From this one statement, Mr. ***** has come up with everything in his response. 

Mr. ***** is telling lies other than that also in his response. What Mr. ***** says regarding me trying to work with him has NOTHING to do

with accepting coins from him- that is what he wants YOU to think.  I have never wanted to accept the coins that I did not pick up.  Otherwise, I would have done so by now.  I really do not want to entertain any responses to Mr. *****' lies in my response, because I know that when I take legal action (which is my next step) it will give away some of my strategy to Mr. *****.  There is no point in addressing someone's lies, when they will only come up with more lies as a response. 

I am NOT satisfied with Mr. *****' offer and never have been because he has lied to make me wait, only to come back with more reasons and efforts to make me take the original coins.  He has been relentless, yet slow in this process to wear down my resolve to not accept the coins.  So, in my view, HE is the one who is determined to get HIS way, for his own, self-interested reasons. 

Obviously,I will have to appeal to a higher authority to address his "wrongdoings", because this is not the venue for that, as that would only hurt my legal proceedings.

I have never threatened anybody, only warned him that he will not get away with what he has done to me.  A judge will hear and actually listen to what I have to say.  And he or she will not accept claims that are unsubstantiated, as Mr. *****' are.  I am certain that he will side with me in making him redress his wrongdoings because not only is it unlawful, but unkind.There are no victims who do not accept to be such- and I do not accept that role with regards to Mr. *****.

Thank you to the BBB employees who have tried to help me.  I apologize for the waste of time and energy that this has been for you.  Your help was greatly appreciated nevertheless. 

Please close this case as NOT resolved. Thank you.

 

Regards,

******** *******