This Business is not BBB accredited

United Cabinets

Additional Locations

Phone: (713) 856-7400 Fax: (713) 856-7412 6125 W Sam Houston Pkwy N, #301, Houston, TX 77041 http://www.preferredbuildersoftexas.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes kitchen and bathroom remodeling wholesale kitchen cabinets, room additions, sunrooms, and screen rooms, pergola, and custom patio covers and carports.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for United Cabinets include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for United Cabinets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on United Cabinets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 11/22/2006 Business under new ownership as of: 11/22/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Mark Feinhandler, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Feinhandler, President
Business Category

CABINETS REMODELING CONTRACTOR

Alternate Business Names
Preferred Builders Of Texas Preferred Co of Texas Preferred Remodelers of Texas
Industry Tips
REMODELING

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6125 W Sam Houston Pkwy N, #301

    Houston, TX 77041

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6125 West Sam Houston Parkway North

    Houston , TX 77041

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We arranged an appointment with Preferred remodelers of Texas, (which I later found out is only 1 of 4 or 5 names they use), for Oct ** 2013 for an estimate to have our shower replaced and a patio cover built over our back deck. ** ***** ******* performed the estimate and told us it would cost $33,600 to do all work requested. The contract was drawn up and the work started on schedule. All was going fine, except I noticed that there was literally no communication with the personnel for the company, as I had placed several text messages and a few phone calls to ** ******* that went unanswered.After I was finally able to speak to ** ******* and the President of the Company, ** **** (I can't remember his last name), they assured me that the work would be completed. At that time **** asked me if I could pay the final payment, so that he could close out the job and pay the workers. I said no, not until the work was completed, as stated in the contract.Many days later, all workers were at the worksite to complete the job, and **** asked again for final payment. I figured that as long as the work was being done, why not?3 items were not completed that day. 1. Gutters were not re-attached 2. area where awning had been needed re-painting 3. Outside kitchen was not working. After several phone calls to ** ******* and **** and ******* at the main office, finally the gutters were connected and the paint was completed. ** ******* assured me that the grill would be working by ** Dec, because I told him that we had several guest that would be at our home.I sit here today, * January, 2014 and the grill is still not working. I have called the office every day for over a week and called and texted ** ******** and I am not getting any answers. Unfortunately, it is sad that it has to come to this, but I really don't know where else to turn. I paid for the work in good faith.

Desired Settlement: I want the issue to be resolved. The Grill was propane and came with an adapter kit to convert it to Natural gas. I went to the place where I purchased the grill and they told me that the adapter kit is all that is needed.

Business Response: *** ******* I'm sorry to here you are unhappy. Friday Ja.*** when you called for the ***** was the first we heard from you. Then on Monday you called for *** and was refusing to give your name and she continued to ask you politely may I have your name so I can address your concern. Then you gave her your first name she said it was ***** You did leave a message for ***** to return your call on Friday jan*** ,which was relayed to him.Perhap's you were a bit upset ***** didn't get back with you so quickly?         We remodeled your Master Bathroom *********,custom built a 600sq.ft. with fans,recess can lighting etc.Also we built a large beautiful outdoor kitchen from limestone material,with plumbing water and counter top. There wasn't any complaints for all that work that was performed Sir.You even wanted a price from ***** for an outdoor bathroom for your pool area.***** did come back and presented a estimate for you********** I understand around the Holidays we all get overwhelmed with family,project's even the stress of shopping.Please don't misunderstand me,I'm not saying this is the case. However,our intention's from the beginning to end is to finish and make you and ********** happy.We are ready willig and able to install the $35 part that need's to be installed for you Sir.If you don't want us back we will be glad to send you a refund check for the work.We want to make this right ********* for you and your family to enjoy this project. As you mentioned to us that you have been wanting to do this for over 20 year's. We even let our worker's do some additional work on the side to save you some additional cost. Again,we were UNAWARE here in the office of this issue. All you needed to do is call and we would have taken care of this ASAP. Furthermore,please let us know what you would like to do. Yes, this was uncalled for as you mentioned in your complaint Sir.     ********** I hope the ****** family will enjoy for year's to come the beautiful new project for your home. Keep in mind, that everything that we did has a warranty. May your new year be wonderful.         

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ******


The latest response from the merchant was dated on ** Jan, 2014, in which the responder stated that he would have **** contact me for an appointment to complete the work. A couple of days later, I called ****, and she was unaware that she was to schedule the plumber until I mentioned it to her. I heard nothing until January **, when ***** ******* called me and asked me to give him the model number for the grill. (He was given this information from my wife several weks ago). He said he was calling me from ***** and that ***** did not stock the parts needed. He said that he was going to check elsewhere and would get back to me. I have told ***** on several occasions that I purchased the Grill at ******* in Sugar Land, and that he should check there. Today is the afternoon of ** Jan and I still have not heard from ******

I went to ****** and they explained to me the parts that I need to fix the grill so that it would work with natural gas. I purchased the needed parts and applied them to the grill myself in about 1 hour. It is now fully 30 days since ** ******* assured me that the grill would be fixed by ** Dec 2013.

Why have I had to go through so much pain to get this done? I paid in good faith, and after I did, this company just stopped almost ALL communication. As a retired US Army veteran, I don't have moneyt to throw away. I only ask that someone that accepts a job request from a paying customer, take care of their responsibilities. It's called customer service!

I am requesting that the company reimburse some of the money that I paid, as they didn't complete the work that they were contracted to accomplish.

Mainly due to the lack of communication with the paying customer, I urge people to be very careful when employing these people for any jobs. I will not recommend them to my friends. It is sad, because the work that was done was good, but the communicattion is almost non existent.

 

Business Response: ********** Im' just following up with our conversation a few minutes ago. Again please except our apology. We are scheduling a master lisc. plumber to come to your home to make sure everything will be up and running for the grill. Furthermore,it would be best to test everything as well for safety reasons for leaks and pressure purpose's. In any case we will let you know when the Plumber can come out. I know you typically come home in the afternoon,so to make it convenient,we will schedule then. If you have anymore questions or concern's,please contact me directly to resolve. have a great evening Sir  

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with Preferred Remodelers of Texas, aka (******* ********** ** *****) aka (****** ********) and a couple of other akas as well. I authorized only one transaction of $500.00 to be debited from my credit card for an architect drawing for a patio cover. The drawing was sent direct to my HOA for their approval, I had not seen it. The drawing submitted to my HOA was not approved by me and when I finally did see it, it turns out that it was not even close to what we agreed on. I canceled the contract within the three day grace period via phone. Three weeks later (at work) I received a demanding phone call from them saying in a very strong tone you are committed to this contract and that same day, my credit card was charges another $1000.00 without my permission, then two days later they attempted to fraudulently debit my credit card three more times for $5000.00 twice, $2000.00 and $1500.00 totaling $13,500.00 all the same day. I found out that as of ****** **** they were doing business in under a new name (******* ********** ** *****), but dealing with me under the old name of Preferred Remodelers of Texas in ******* ****. I had not agreed to a start date nor had I seen a build of materials prior to this. Consumers need to be aware of this companys fraudulent ways to get money without consent through illegal practices. I saw a video clip on one of the local news programs, on how this company had taken advantage of a couple pretty much the same way as me (same city). This couple had the same neighborhood advertising brochure with the same picture of a patio cover as I did.

Desired Settlement: I simply want this company to leave me alone; I do not desire to do business with a crook that changes the companys name when their shady reputation is exposed. This establishment has earned a rating of "F" from te Better Business Buraue. I found this out after the fact.

Business Response: Mr.*******, I understand your frustration Sir. Your confused about the companies you are working with. WE are only Preferred Remodelers of texas. However, we never received  any cancellation notice from you . We will be refunding your deposit to you. We apologize for any inconvenience.  Please call our office to discuss when you can pick up the check. These are the facts we have documented.                       On ******* **th you signed an agreement with Preferred Remodelers of Texas,the salesman was *** *******. On ******* **th the Architect went to your home to design the patio cover. You are claiming that you cancelled the contract by phone on the **th . We would have never sent the Architect to your home if we had notification of you cancelling. Futhermore ,on the **** ** ******* your plans were ready and we were instructed to submit to your Home owners association for an approval. *** ******* noted our job jacket that he reviewed your plans with you and everything was ok? Then that week after we submitted we called Mr.******* to inform him we submitted and that's when he mentioned he didn't want to proceed. We are confused about what happened based on everything was fine then you changed your mind. In any case lets move forward Sir. Just contact us and we will as I said refund your deposit. Have a great day  

5/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract with this company (Preferred remodelers of Texas) aka United Cabinets owned by **** ***********. I cancelled my contract within the three day grace period that was stated on his contract. I cancellede via phone to **** ****** (office manager/secretary, fax, email, and *** ** mail. I have yet to receive any kind of refund even after sending a certified demand letter. I am owed 6,060.00 dollars back. I have been given numerous excuses to why my money has not been refunded yet - I am getting the "run around". I found out that this owner has an extensive criminal record in Harris county for theft by check. He is also currently being sued for deceptive trade practices. I cannot believe our government does not require these businesses to be licensed. This man is a crook and preys off of good honest people.

Desired Settlement: I am wanting my refund of my deposit back. I cancelled three days after the contract was signed. We had no goods or any services given to us - -just an initial quote about the the project that we were going to build. We never had an architect come to our house - -nothing!

Business Response: Mrs.**********, We responded to your letter stating there will be a refund to you.  just be a little patient Ma A'M and you will recieve the refund. have a great day

3/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to build and outdoor patio with a kitchen since August 2012 and when we signed this agreement, we were told that it would be 6 weeks project. Under the terms of the agreement, they were to build an outdoor kitchen and patio for an agreed upon price of $25,000.00 I had paid they a total of $21,750. They have failed to perform as required by the agreement; I felt like that they had breach of the agreement. Specifically, they had failed to perform any work since this first of this year and under this agreement they have not yet completed building the outdoor kitchen with counters, installing countertops, sinks and fixtures with plumbing, BBQ grill, gas lines, and electrical work.Please advise, I just wanted this company to come out and finish up my project so we can all move on. How do I get them back out to complete this job? What are my rights? Please help.

Desired Settlement: I would like Preferred Remodelers of Texas LLC to complete this project not later than the end of April 2013. Please help, I do not know what else I can do.

Business Response: good morning ms ***,we have every intension to complete your project,and ready,willing,and able. the issue on hand when ***** ******* signed you up for your project. it states in the contract that we were going to use the customer's granite for the outdoor kitchen. from my understanding you have chosen a different granite and that would be an additional cost,being that ***** didn't price the project for new granite. the cost of the granite you picked out is $1125.we don't have very much profit margin's in our project's,this is why we offer great saving's to our customer's. our focus is to please you and the dyo *** family and we are very close to completing your beautiful project. you have been pleased with all that we have done so far. i apologize for any misunderstanding's here,and i'm hoping we can complete your project and move forward. thankyou have a wonderful day.  

1/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Have tried numerous times to contact Preferred Remodelers to discuss when I could expect my refund of ********* which was paid to start work for an outdoor covered patio. No work was to be done until we received acceptance from my **** ****** *********** ****). I trusted their experience with my *** and expected the *** would approve their design. Well my *** did not approve the design and I have been trying the past ******** to get my money back. They will not respond to my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Refund my ********

12/17/2012 Delivery Issues
12/14/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service