Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Woodforest National Bank

Find a Location

Phone: (877) 968-7962 Fax: (832) 375-3196 View Additional Phone Numbers 25231 Grogan's Mill Road, Spring, TX 77380 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.woodforest.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Woodforest National Bank currently operates in Texas, Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi,  New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Woodforest National Bank meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Woodforest National Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 91 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

91 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 34 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 23
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 64
Total Closed Complaints 91

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Woodforest National Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1997 Business started: 09/04/1980 in TX Business started locally: 09/04/1980 Business incorporated 09/04/1980 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Banking
2601 North Lamar Blvd., Austin TX 78705
http://www.banking.state.tx.us
Phone Number: 877-276-5554

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Julie V Mayrant, Executive Vice President Ms. Jennifer Warren Ms. Erin Folkenroth, Director, Customer Advocacy & Resolution Ms. Brenda Walker Wendt, Senior Vice President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Erin Folkenroth, Director, Customer Advocacy & Resolution
Principal: Ms. Julie V Mayrant, Executive Vice President
Principal: Ms. Jennifer Warren
Related Businesses
Access ATM
Business Category

BANKS

Refund and Exchange Policy
If you have a concern, contact them at the following:

Email: CustomerAdvocacy@woodforest.com

Mail: Woodforest National Bank P O Box 7889 The Woodlands, Texas 77387
Alternate Business Names
Woodforest Bank Woodforest Charitable Foundation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Woodforest National Bank has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
4/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/08/2015 four unauthorized transactions were done on my bank account from a company called wish.com the amounts where $21.00 (wish.com reversed that amount), $23, $19, and $48.45. On 12/9/2015 I saw my e-statement and noticed that these transactions had come out. As soon as I noticed this I called my bank to advise them of fraud. I provided them my statement of what I noticed and informed them that I would have been the only person who had my bank card. But the transaction I did not do. They followed with an investigation. I called 10 days later to check the status on it since I was informed that it would take 10 for them to investigate. When I spoke with a representative she informed me that they dismissed the case due to the transactions being repetitive. At that point I informed her that I did not do those transactions and I need to be reimbursed for it. She informed me that I needed to write a written statement letting them know why they should open the case up and review again. After that they wanted me to take it to one of their branches to submit it. A manager later on that day contacted me to see what she could do but it end up with her hanging up on my fiancé after I gave her authorization to speak with him. She never call back. I feel that this is HIGHLY unprofessional for a company who's handling my money that I earned.

Desired Settlement: I feel as a bank they should taker care of what's needing to be done. I am requesting a refund because those transactions were not made by me there was no one who was in possession my card except for myself. Those transactions happened while I was sleep. And I would like for this to be resolved as soon as possible

Business Response:

Our response to the consumer’s complaint is attached.  Please let us know if you need additional information.

               

Thank you,


Woodforest National Bank

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a charge with the credit card issued from Wood Forest Bank. The merchandise was received defected and was returned to the merchant. A dispute was filed to which I was told by a bank rep a provisional credit will be posted within seven to 10 business days. The dispute was filed on July 30, 2015. It is now August 21, 2015, and no provisional credit has been issued and I have been told by a representative from the dispute/resolution department that my dispute is pending a response from the merchant and I may have to wait for 45 to 60n days before receiving credit. The amount of the dispute is $487.11. I have also spoken to the merchant to which they could not find my order and told me to contact my bank to possibly get credit. I have also received at least six NSF/overdraft charges because the disputed amount along with other checks/charges that have come through on my checking account have caused me to have a negative balance. A complaint letter was faxed to what I was told was the head office of Wood Forest bank of 832-375-3000. I have not received any response from the bank regarding my letter. I am unable to locate a contact number or fax number to the president/CEO of Wood Forest Bank, Cathy Nash; nor can I locate any contact information for Robert M******, JR., CEO of Wood Forest Financial Group.

Desired Settlement: I would like the six overdraft fees credited back to my account as well as credit for the disputed amount.

Business Response:

Sent: Wednesday, September 09, 2015 9:28 AM
To: drteam
Subject: Complaint ID ******** - Battiste Response

 

Attached is the bank’s response to complaint ID ********.

 

Thank you,

 

Shanti N******

Compliance Support

Woodforest National Bank

25231 Grogans Mill, Suite 210

The Woodlands, TX 77380

832.375.2956 Desk

832.375.3956 Fax

sn******@woodforest.com

 

The information contained in this e-mail message is intended only for use of the individual or entity
named above. If the reader of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified
that any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication is strictly prohibited.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  



 
   

9/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
8/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
7/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
3/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
2/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am customer at Woodforest Bank. I had $6420.00 directly deposited into my account on 1/30/15. I tried to use my debit card for a transaction on 1/31/15 & my card was declined. I went to my local bank in Burington NC. The manager there BJ in formed me that my account was frozen because in the system it said they need a 2nd form of ID. I gave 2 forms when I oened my account. The manager said there isn't anything he could do & the dept that froze my account will not be open until Monday. I am a singe mother & can not touch the money I work hrd for. I have no groceries & no way to purchase any. I also do not have the gas to make it to work.

Desired Settlement: I want my money

Consumer Response: It is still unresolved 

Business Response:

Attached is our reponse to the consumer's complaint.

Thank you,

Woodforest National Bank

2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: lack of effort with regards to attempting assistance... basically laziness/refusal to put forth effort.

Desired Settlement: email conversation to further discuss the perceived issue(s)

Business Response:

Attached is the response to the above complaint.

Thank you,

Woodforest National Bank

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/29/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Can you please help me! I recently started a new job requiring a background check and Bond. I was horrified to find that Woodforest National Bank has erroneously reported a $403.76 charge off for non­ sufficient funds (NSF) activity to *********** under my Social Security number. Needless to say I had some explaining to do with my new employer.  What an embarrassment.

Woodforest may NO effort to validate the information they reported to *********** and is in violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.  Although the social security number is mine, the information reported is:

**** ****** *** ******* **** **** *** * ***********  ** ***********


Desired Settlement: Woodforest needs to immediately remove the erroneous reporting and send me a letter acknowledging that the error has been corrected.  I would appreciate any assistance you can offer.

Business Response:

 

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). In the complaint you stated you recently started a new job which required a background check and you were embarrassed by information obtained by your new employer that Woodforest National Bank (WNB) had erroneously reported a charge off account to *********** under your social security number. In addition, you claimed that WNB made no effort to validate the information reported to *********** and was in violation of the Fair Credit Reporting Act.  As a resolution to your complaint, you have asked Woodforest  to  immediately  remove the erroneous reporting and send you a letter acknowledging that the error has been corrected.

Investigation into your complaint revealed that WNB did not have knowledge of the issue prior to receiving your complaint from the BBB. Subsequent to receipt of the complaint, review of the charged off account revealed that the WNB business account reported to *********** had the same tax identification number as your social security number. We immediately contacted you and initiated a request. to *********** to remove the reported charge off from your name and social security number; however, as discussed with you on the phone, *********** may require additional information from you in order to complete the request.

I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and hope that we have resolved the issue with the information reported to ***********.  If we can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me.

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was asked in a letter to close both my accounts with them, withen two weeks I was given no explanation as to why? after more than five years as a customer?I withdrew my money and asked them to close my account in person at the bank , they would not close it unless i paid them $25.00 per acount$50.00 total the reason the bank teller gave is that i was a new acount less than 180 days old that was a lie! because they left my account open a check from the elementry school for ten dollors hit my account and the bank started charging both my accounts a total of $90.00 dollars even though i had over draft protection ?and free checking that was charged $12.00 a mounth for the last five years? also the account never dropped below $1000.00 and it had direct deposite? the bank still chaged me $5.00 a mounth

Desired Settlement: $59.00 dollor refund

Business Response:

This letter is in response to the complaint you filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). In the complaint you stated you received letters from Woodforest National Bank (WNB) notifying you that your accounts would be closed within two weeks with no explanation for the closure. You said when you went to the local branch to close your accounts, the branch personnel would not allow you to close the accounts unless you paid a $25.00 fee per account. As a result of the accounts not getting closed, a check you wrote that had not previously cleared was returned causing fees to be charged to your account. In addition to the NSF fees, you alleged that you were charged a monthly service charge on the "free" checking account you had for five years.  As a resolution to your complaint, you have asked for a $59.00 refund.

Investigation into your complaint revealed that an account closure notification was mailed to you on ******* *** **** informing you that your accounts would be closed in fifteen days due to excessive monitoring required for the type of activity conducted on your account. Prior to the closure decision, bank personnel contacted you to provide an explanation of the activity; however, the information you provided did not satisfy the requirement necessary to discontinue monitoring the account, therefore, a closure decision was made. Subsequent to that date, multiple transactions were conducted by the co-owner on the account, ***** ******, which brought one account to a zero balance. Two checks rejected after the account reached a zero balance that caused the fees charged to the account. Review of the service charges on the account revealed that the account has been charged the correct fees; the account service charge was changed in **** and was disclosed in your bank statements in ***** and *** of that year.

I apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and have enclosed a cashier's check in the amount of $59.00 for reimbursement of the fees charged to your account. Both accounts are now in a closed status. I hope that this will resolve this issue to your satisfaction. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Duplicate charges to bank account for credit card and it is hard to stop them no matter how many times its been pointed out to them

Desired Settlement: Get them to realize the situation and refund the money

Business Response:

 
Woodforest National Bank ("WNB") has received your complaint submitted to the BBB concerning your merchant account agreement ("Agreement").

We found no accounts in your name, but we were able to determine that you were writing us concerning a merchant account owned by **** ******. Our records indicate that **** ****** executed a Merchant Payment Card Application/Agreement (the "Agreement") as the owner. As such, we cannot release information to you regarding this account. If Ms. ****** would like us to discuss the account with you, she must provide us with written permission to do so. Please have her direct her correspondence to me or to the BBB and we will be glad to assist at that time.

10/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am disabled and have mobility issues, so I opened a checking account on ********* *** **** believing I could use the online banking option and transfer money from the account with Woodforest to another account I have with a different bank. I was under the impression I could transfer money from one account to another using a checking account with Woodforest. I went online and tried to send money from my Woodforest account to my other checking account; it was extremely confusing. I tried to use a transfer option, but it only uses ******* ***** to mail money, and not send it to my other bank account electronically. The other option was to pay a bill online, but that's misleading, since Woodforest only mails a check to an address, and does not actually allow me to pay online. I could not find information on Woodforest's website that detailed how they sent the money from my account using the pay bill option. I had to go in person to the bank to find out this option mails a check, rather than sending it directly into my other checking account.As I said before, I'm disabled with mobility issues. I cannot go to the bank in person to withdrawal money, nor can I go to the post office to mail or pick up a check, which would take a week or more before the check would reach it's destination. As a result, my checking account is completely useless to me. If I was not disabled, this would not be a problem. However, since I am disabled, I really require the ability to send money online and pay bills online. This is mandatory. Therefore, I must now close my Checking Account with Woodforest, but they will charge me a $25 fee to close my account. Alternatively, I'll have to keep the account for 6 months, but I need every dollar for medical expenses and simply living. I'd like to close my account, without having to pay the $25 fine, since it's due to a medical issue and disability. I should not be fined for the lack of service offered by Woodforest, which I require to accommodate my disabilities.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the option to close my account without Woodforest charging me a $25 fine, since I was told they offered online banking and I could pay bills online. 

Business Response:

I have reviewed your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) concerning your request to close your account. On behalf of the bank I extend our apology for the inconvenience and frustration you have experienced while attempting to resolve this matter.

In your complaint you state that you opened an account with the bank then later determined that we could not provide the online service you required. When you attempted to close your account you were told you would be assessed a $25.00 fee for closing your account within the first 180 days. You request that we allow you to close your account with no fee.


Per our conversation today we will waive the early closing fee per your request. We hope this will resolve this matter to your satisfaction. If we can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* *****


 

 

9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bank allowed my son to open an account and issued him a debit card. My son is 16 years old and is not responsible enough to be trusted with this responsibility. It is my understanding that parents need to be cosigners on accounts for minors. We did not cosign nor did we know that he had open the account. He has incurred debt that that bank is now threatening collection agency involvement. I do not wish for his credit to be ruined at such a young age. Why was he given an account/debit card as a minor? I have taken the card away from him, but would like the account to be written off. My son is ****** ***** account ending **** *** ******* ***** *********** **** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like the account written off as well as my son's credit unaffected he is a minor who was allowed to open an account without parental consent.

Business Response: I have reviewed your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) concerning your son's checking account, and on behalf of the bank extend our apology for any inconvenience or frustration you may have experienced while attempting to resolve this matter.

In your complaint you state that the bank allowed your son to open an account and get a debit card when he was only 16 years old. You did not give your consent to open an account and you state that he is not responsible enough to be trusted with the responsibility of an account. He incurred debt on the account and now the bank is trying to collect the debt. You do not want his credit to be affected. You do not think the bank should have allowed him to open an account. You request that we waive the debt and not report it in any way that will impact his credit history.

In Ohio law allows minors to open a checking account at the age of 17. We opened your son's account in good faith, as he was only a few months from being of age, and we expected him to manage the account properly. Privacy laws protect your son and prevent us from being able to share account information  with you because you are not an authorized signer on the account.

Based on your request and as a courtesy, I have waived all the fees that were assessed to the account. Your son is responsible for the remaining balance.  However, I will remove it from our collection agencies and consumer reporting agencies; this will prevent it from impacting him negatively. He may repay the debt by making payments at his convenience at the branch or by mailing payments to: 

We apologize for the misunderstanding; it is not our practice to open an account for someone that is not capable of managing the account or without parental consent. We hope this will resolve this matter to your satisfaction. If we can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact us.

8/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ****** my 17 year old son, ******* *******, went into *******, **** ******** ****. ********** ** ***** to simply cash a payroll check at ******* ***** ****** not Woodforest Bank. Somehow a Woodforest representative coerced my 17 year old son to open an account(#**********)with Woodforest instead of just cashing his check at the ******* ***** ******. The representative made my son think that he would not incur any monthly fees with this account. The representative failed to tell my son it would cost $25 to cancel the account. My son already had an account with another bank but the bank was closed because it was Saturday.When I found out about the account I call the bank to try to cancel the account. They gave me the run around and told me that they could only talk to my son. According to the legal system, I am legally responsible for my son until he is 18 years old or graduates from High School. I asked to speak to someone at the next level and that person forwarded my info to someone else. The only activity since the account was opened are the fees charged by Woodforest. My son has not made any activity on this account. Now because he does not use the account he is being charge $5.95 per month and/or has to pay $25.00 to cancel the account. I have never encountered a bank that charges a fee to cancel an account. Woodforest bank is in ******* preying on students and the lowest income consumers that do not thoroughly understand how financial institutions like Woodforest take advantage of them. These consumers barely have $25 but Woodforest see they as easy prey.

Desired Settlement: I would like this account #********** to be closed without a cancellation charge and all other monthly charges cancelled.

Business Response:

I have reviewed your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) concerning your son's account, and on behalf of the bank extend our apology for any inconvenience or frustration you may have experienced while attempting to resolve this matter.


In your complaint you state that your son opened an account at the bank that he didn't need and that he didn't understand the cost of having a checking account. You called the bank to request we close the account but we would not discuss the account with you. You want the early closing fee waived, any fees assessed refunded, and your son's account closed.


Please be assured, it is never our desire to open an account for an individual that does not want, or need, the service, and we apologize if your son felt coerced into opening an account. We are authorized by law to open accounts for individuals 17 years of age, and the law also requires us to protect their private and confidential information. When you originally called the bank concerning your son's account on **** ** **** we were not authorized to speak to you concerning his account. However, we contacted him on **** *** **** to discuss your concerns. At that time we agreed to waive the early closing fee because he said he would probably come in and close the account. However, the account is still open and has now been charged a monthly service charge.


Per your request we have refunded the service charge and closed your son's account. Under separate letter, we have mailed your son a cashier's check for the full balance. We hope this will resolve this matter to your satisfaction. If we can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact us.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The bank charges other than what the monthly is , when I haven't even used the account they took my money once again and put my account in the negative and want to charge me 25.00 to close the account. my account number is available upon request. To me this bank has scams for the consumers.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund my money back and the account closed so that I no longer have to deal with that business. Also to let other consumers know what they get into with that bank.

Business Response:

Dear **. *****,

I have reviewed your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) concerning your account. On behalf of the bank I extend our apology for the inconvenience and frustration you have experienced while attempting to resolve this matter.

In your complaint you state that you were charged amounts other than the monthly account fee even though you had not used your account, causing 
your account to be overdrawn. And when you tried to close your account the bank wanted to charge you a $25.00 closing fee. You want
your money put back into your account and your account closed.

You opened your account on **** *** **** with a $35.05 deposit. The account you opened requires a $9.00 Setup Fee. You also requested a debit card and were therefore assessed a Debit Card Setup Fee of $15.00. Both of these fees were disclosed to you at the time you opened your account. However, we debited your account in error to repay a charged off balance and this caused your account to be overdrawn. This transaction was reversed as soon as we were aware of the error.  

As a courtesy we have refunded all the fees you were charged. And per your request, I have closed your account and waived the Early Closure 
Fee. Please find the enclosed check for the total amount you deposited of $35.05. We regret this issue occurred and hope this will resolve this matter to your satisfaction. If we can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
8/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********** at ****** I was in ********* in ********* making a purchase, and at **** someone was also making a purchase with my debit card in the amount of ****** at ***** ***** and another purchase at **** in the amount of ****** at ******. On ********** I contacted Woodforest about the matter and filed a dispute against the charges, I also filed a police report. I contacted Woodforest two days later to get an update and was told that no one had been assigned the case, which was on **********. On ********** I received a letter that was dated for ********** that the investigation had been concluded and that no error had occurred and that I would not receive a refund. I provided Woodforest with a copy of the police report and I did everything I knew to do. The fact is that my case was never investigated.If I file a report on the **** and call for an update on the **** and I receive a letter dated for the **** how do you close a case and do an investigation in one day.I deserved to have received a full refund and all overdraft fees removed but instead I received a letter from someone that did not do their do diligence to investigate this matter. Every date on the letter that was sent to me is an indication that my case was never reviewed THOROUGHLY. I am hoping to have this resolved and to receive a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I deserve to have a full refund since this is not a charge we authorized anyone to make, and if an investigation had truly taken place we would have received a refund immediately.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that Woodforest National Bank has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on ********* ******** ** and assigned ID *******.

Regards,

****** ********

7/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/8/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: False misrepresentation of their Bill Pay services. Why would you inform me by email and on my account that a payment I set up has been sent and completed on the date I set for payment to go out when in actuallity the payment wasn't and my account was debited those amounts. If I get an email saying payment sent or I look up my account and the status says complete then your first thought is okay my payment was sent and my account was debited the funds. And the balance my account reflects is the balance after those transactions have been debitted. But as I came to find out later on those funs weren't deducted and the balance I'm under the impression I had wasn't correct. The transactions weren't deducted like I was believed they were, despite receiving emails payment sent and bill pay status complete. And because of the false misrepresntation my account has been over drawn over $500 and messed me up completely of everything else I needed to with my money.

Desired Settlement: If a refund or some sort of compensation can't be down for either all or half my overdrawn amount, then something else needs to occur to keep me as a customer. Not only that but going forward it needs to be clearly presented to current and future bankers how their Bill pay policy works when issuing a check, because all financial institutions don't operate like that. If they say a payment is sent and complete let that be clear that it really isn't until that Merchant receives the check and cash

Business Response:

I have reviewed your complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau (BBB) concerning our bill payment system, and on behalf of the bank extend our apology
for any inconvenience or frustration you have experienced using the service and while attempting to resolve this matter.

In your complaint you state you set up a bill payment and received an alert that we had sent the bill payment, so you assumed it had been deducted
from your account, only to find out later that the bill payment was not deducted from your account. You state this caused your account to be overdrawn.

When you set up a bill payment we attempt to send all of them electronically. Those that clear electronically are processed and funds come out of your account
during processing that day. For the small percentage of bill pay requests that go to merchants not accepting electronic payments, we print a check on your
account and mail it to the payee. Once the payee receives the check, they process your payment and the check will be presented for payment on your account.
If your account does not have the funds to pay the item, it may be returned NSF. In this case you would not have seen a debit to your account for the payment.
If you have not been debited for the money you should consider it an outstanding check, much the same as any check you write to pay a bill. If you set up a bill payment
that must be processed by check, when you do not have the funds, we
mail the check expecting you will be making a deposit before the check is presented
for payment.

For complete details of our bill payment system, login to Online Banking and go to the Service Center, select Online Banking Terms and Conditions then go to the section
on How Bill Pay Works.
As a courtesy I have refunded $96.00 in NSF fees assessed to your account recently for bill payment checks. I apologize for any confusion
you had about the service. We hope this will resolve this matter to your satisfaction. If we can assist you further please do not hesitate to contact us.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Woodforest National Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart