BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

AAA Japanese Imports, Inc.

Phone: (713) 895-1700 Fax: (713) 895-9091 View Additional Phone Numbers 4846 Cranswick Rd, Houston , TX 77041 http://www.aaajapaneseimports.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This business specializes in used engines and transmissions. 

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for AAA Japanese Imports, Inc. include:

  • 42 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 5 complaints filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

42 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 7
Problems with Product/Service 30
Total Closed Complaints 42

Additional Complaint Information

AAA Japanese Imports, Inc. would like you to know prior to filing a complaint:
 
Please contact customer service at 713-895-1700 Monday - Friday from 10:00am to 3:00pm for the best time to get immediate assistance.

Used Engine:
Sold as Long Block only, replacement unit: tested and steam cleaned with a 1 year warranty.  

Warranty covers replacement or repair of the engine only and does not cover labor and any other incidentalexpenses required to repair an engine and/or remove it from a vehicle.  

The warranty is voided by:
Misuse, negligence, alterations, accidents, or fire. Improper installation or repair. Use of the engine in commercial vehicles or competitive events. Burn up more than 1 main or rod bearing, knocking a hole through the block or bending the valves. Lack of lubrication and/or overheating.

Any repair or replacement not authorized in writing by AAA. Sale, installation use or operation without the original emission control equipment. Missing, removed or melted heat tabs.

USED TRANSMISSIONS are warrantied for a period of 6 months unlimited miles. Warranty covers replacement, refund or repair of the transmission component only and does not cover labor costs associated with thosereplacements or repair. If the transmission is dismantled this warranty is void. If repairs are done withoutwritten permission the warranty is voided  

Failure to install new filter or fluid upon installation is an instant void of warranty.  

Click here for a complete copy of AAA ‘s Warranty: : http://www.aaajapaneseimports.com/aaa-japanese-imports-warranty.

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 02, 2011 Business started: 12/09/2002 in TX Business started locally: 12/09/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Dina Hoover, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dina Hoover, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO REPAIRING-FOREIGN

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 9:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Industry Tips
CAR REPAIR -CHOOSING A TRUSTWORTHY SHOP

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4846 Cranswick Rd

    Houston , TX 77041 (855) 423-6446 (713) 895-1700

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (855) 423-6446(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a used automatic transmission for my Honda civic hybrid 2005 on May 27/14 they delivered the transmission, my mechanic find out it was a wrong one, so we called them next day they picked their and our old one to match the right transmission since till today May 20th they never deliver my and replacement transmission. ****** manager every day promises the delivery, she used all kind off excuses. I called her boss ****** she was even verse. This morning I called bank off America and complaint about my debit card transection $ 1997.21.******* the lady from Bank put me and ****** on three way line ****** stated that her boss ****** derived the both transmissions last night and her boss has delivery receipt and she can fax me the copy by 10am.Last night there was no delivery I was here till 7pm this morning I checked every where in the shop no transmission, till now 10/30am no fax copy, they are big liars, I have very bad experience with this company, I order auto parts every day this is the worst experience.

Desired Settlement: I want they should return my core transmission and refund my money I promise I will never use this company again.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: After initial complaint and follow up notice submitted, the company chose not to respond.

 

4/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a 1998 Dodge Caravan Transmission from them in Nov 2013 had problems from the start and now they don't want to honor their warranty. In late Sept 2013 We called and talked to **** about a 1998 Dodge Caravan Transmission. She said she had one with approximately 68000 miles on it for $695.00 plus shipping. We ordered it with a 6 month warranty using a Company Credit Card and when we received this unit it was not a 1998 like we ordered, the MLP switch was busted and since another unit wasn't available at that time, We swap the MLP switch with the one out of our old transmission like **** asked. She said we would be compensated for that work and never was. We also had to replace the solenoid block, torque converter and the prindle switch in trying to get this unit working good enough to satisfy our customer. We are still having issues with this unit. The vehicle does not want to pull out or shift now and **** is saying that she can't warranty this unit even though her web site( http://www.aaaenginesandtransmissions.com/) says 100% Satisfaction Guaranteed. I will be happy to pull this transmission out of this Van and send it back to her for a full refund of my purchase price and the shipping costs. **** ******* @ Affordable Engines and Transmissions

Desired Settlement: We would like to have our purchase price, labor on working on this unit and the shipping to and from our shop refunded. $1298.32

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues. 

1/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a engine from AAA Japansese Imports for my 1993 Honda Accord. After installing, the engine continued smoking. It took approximatley 2 weeks to exchange. I installed another engine and it locked up. I contacted ******* to advise and he told me he would call me back in 30 minutes. Never returned called!!! I call back approximately 5 hrs later and spoke with a female (owner), who stated he was at lunch. i explained why i was calling, she advised me that AAA Japanese Imports was no longer in business. NO WARRANTY!!! But further advised me that the goverment took over the company, but she was able to keep the same phone number. WARNING DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! They sale junk engines, then closed the company and reopen under another name. Again WARNING DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!

Desired Settlement: I paid $644.09 total..Im reguesting a 80% refund.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a used engine from this company, and according to the warranty their engines are inspected and tested before they are shipped. When my mechanic received the engine he noticed that it was painted. When he installed the engine it had a major oil leak. When he went to drain the oil he found water mixed in with the oil. He tested the engine and found that there was a crack in the radiator and problems with the pistons. When he called the company they said the engine was tested and it was something that he did to cause a crack in the radiator and problems with the pistons. They refused to do anything about the issue. They will take the engine back but I have to pay for the shipping through *** or *** ** and they "may" refund my money depending on what they see from there inspection. So, not only did I pay for an engine and $800.00 plus parts to have it installed, I would have to pay another $800.00 plus shipping to have it removed and returned. I was also told that the shipping to have the engine delivered would only be $130.00 but when it arrived it was $220.00.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the this product and I would also like this information shared so that other consumers do not lose money like I did.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On **** ****** ***** ****** (***** ***********)purchased a motor from AAA Motors and Transmissions. We received the motor a short time later. I don't remember the date. The motor was install and the motor was bad. There was no compression. I called AAA motors I was told that ***** ****** is responsible for returning the bad motor. ***** ****** contacted *** ******** ******* and on **** *** **** they picked up the old motor. ***** ****** was charged 262.98 to have the old motor shipped back. AAA Motors and Transmission sent us a new motor and that time I spoke with **** she stated that no we should not of paid for shipping. They (AAA Motors) should of paid for it. AAA motors has given ***** garage 95.16 back of the shipping cost. There is still 167.82 still on to ***** Garage. On ******* I spoke with ***** and he stated they are waiting on the shipping company to refund the money. On ******* I spoke with **** and she stated she is waiting on the shipping company to refund us the money. ***** ****** called the shipping company ( *** ******** *******) I spoke with a Linda and she stated that it is up to AAA Motors to refund us the money.

Desired Settlement: ***** ****** would like to have a refund of 167.82

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

BBB Comments: Company failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

7/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a rebuilt engine from this company, to try to save money because the company said it had a warranty, only to find out this is not true, after the machanic put in the rebuilt engine the engine did not work they replaced the engine with the same engine, after paying two different machanics the engine still does not work, and they are blaming it on our machanic, instead of trying to help us with the engine problems they choose to put the blame on someone else and are not standing behind there warranty. The engine was supposed to have low millage and warranty, and they are not standing behind there word, Do not trust this company to save money because you will only loose money!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Please we want our money back for two months of trouble, and two machanics plus towing and extra parts. Warning do not trust this company

Business Response:

The first mechanic never installed the engine.. they stated they did not believe it was good and returned it. After several conversations with them we delivered a second unit to them they contacted us saying we brought them the same engine as before but now it was good and wanted to know what we did to make it good... Again after several conversations telling them it was in fact a different motor they claimed to have installed it but called and said it has a knock in the bottom end. WE know this was not true because the engine was very clean and had no loose rods or discolored bearings. However under our warranty we did go get the engine to bring back for warranty inspection. Upon return we found clear evidence that the engine was again never installed. So they sent the actual customer to us to discuss this situation. The customer and his son came to our facility and we put the engine on the table removed both the oil pan and valve cover let them look at the engine and also put a breaker bar on it and spun it over so they could see this engine one was never installed and two was a very good clean engine . They agreed and requested we deliver the engine to another mechanic for installation we did once again pay another hot shot driver to deliver the engine at their request. This was a few weeks ago. we got a call from their new mechanic says the engine had no compression.. now at this point we have tested this motor 5-6 times and once in front of the customer and his son.  and the complaint from ** the 1st mechanic was never a compression problem they complained bottom end noise.
So we decided to send our tech to their shop to look at the engine. Upon inspection and discussion with ****** their mechanic it was determined that the timing was not correct , ****** told our tech that he did in fact reset the timing once there was an issue but it was too late the damage had been done due to the fact this was an interference engine the miss timing resulted in two bent valves.  We contacted the customer to tell them what our findings were and explained to them that due to ****** miss timing the engine it resulted in the issue they were having now.. however this was an easy fix as all he needed to do was pull the head and replace the two bent valves and reinstall the head.

As per our warranty and everyone else's in this industry as well NO one will cover an engine with miss timed installation .  

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a motor from them on **********, received it **********, had it installed on ***********The motor had a 1 year warrant. I started having problem with it before the warranty expired. I spoke to lady on the phone about it she told me to take it to the shop that installed it, I told her the place was no longer in business. She said to find a shop to look at it. I called her back once I found someone to look at it and she had a smart mouth about it, also she said the shop that called them on ********** and said I drove the car to their shop and would not leave it with them. I informed her that they was no longer in business and asked her for them name and phone number of the person she spoke to . She got mad and hung up. I called back a couple of time but no answer.

Desired Settlement: I would like some type of refund, because I would have to pay to have motor removed and shipped back to them. I feel they would find a way to void the warranty if I did ship it back to them.

Business Response:

Sir no one here hung up on you when you called you hung up on us.. there is a 1 year warranty with our engines your warranty expired 5 days ago. I am sorry about that but never the less it is expired.

You got made called the girl you were speaking with a ***** and slammed the phone down.

I wish I could do something for you but the warranty is clear it is one year , by your own time frame again it expired 5 days ago.

Regards

***

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ******' and I purchased a transmission from *** ****** on *********. We was quoted a price of $*****0 for transmission and $***** for shipping to be paid to ******* company when transmission is delivered but they deducted our account for $******, a extra $****** was added on to price. Then when the transmission arrived it was the wrong transmission. my ******' and my ******** both spoke with **** and ******* at *** ***** explaining that this was the wrong transmission. my ******' also call our **** ****** **** to make sure of the type of transmission required for our **** **** ********. The correct numbers for the transmission was given. My ******** didn't accept the transmission when delivered and sent it back, **** * *** ****** called ******* company while en route to return the transmission to *** ****** and told them to take it back to my ******** to double check to make sure it wasn't the correct transmission. my ******** once again refused the transmission. I had a conversation with **** * *** ****** and she informed me that they was going to send out the correct transmission the next ***, she stated that the new transmission should arrive within the next * ** * business days, and if we this one was the wrong one that we would be responsible for the round trip shipping but if it was the correct one we would only be responsible for one way shipping to us the $*****. * days had pasted and we still hadn't received the correct transmission. I called back and spoke with ******* * *** ****** and he looked in the computer and he informed me that he didn't see in the computer where a second computer had been sent out, but he did see where a refund was being put back on our ***** card because the transmission we are requesting costs $******* and we had only paid $*** and that we should see that back in our account in the next * business day this was on *******. On ****** we still hadn't received our refund. ******** phone conversation was exchanged with the ********** ********** and **********

Desired Settlement: *** ****** about our refund,Finally on ******* we received a portion of our refund back which was $*****5. We called to see why they only refunded a portion and we was informed that they took round trip shipping out of our refund. We was told that we didn't owe shipping bc they shipped wrong product but still refuse total cost.We would like the remaining $****** of our refund to be placed back into our account and a written apology delaying our vehicle repairs and deceiv

Business Response:

We did not ship the incorrect transmission and have gone over this several times with the both of you via phone.. Your ****** contacted us to order a transmission for his ******** the ******** took his order and then contacted him back to request sport or non sport he then told our ******** that he would have to check and contact us back.  When he contacted us back your ****** stated it was a sport so that is what we shipped.

We do have all of our conversations ******** and did go back and listen to the **********. when you called we stated what happened and told you we would go back and listen to the ********** and if we shipped wrong and he did NOT order the sport then no freight would be removed as that would be our fault.. but if he did order the sport then we would refund you in accordance of the warranty and you would be responsible for the shipping .. 

No company ships merchandise for free we have to pay freight carrier to move all shipments and we only cover shipping when it is our mistake .. I am sorry you feel the way you do but the refunded amount stands..

Regards

***

Business Response: I will have to contact the ** company that takes care of all of our computer data ect.. As I have no idea how to do any of that.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *****


 

 From: l****** ***** [mailto:l*********************] 

Sent: ******, **** *** **** **** PM
To: ******
Subject: #*******

We are still waiting on the release of the ******** conversations between *** ****** and My ******* & I. Please contact your ** department in regards to this matter and inform us of a date when can expect to receive these items or what additional steps needed to obtain the release of **********! 

******** *** ** ****** ******* ** *** *** ******* * *** ******* ** *********

 

 

**** ** ******** ************ **** *** ***** ********* ***** ** * *** *** ******** *** * ******* ** ******** *** ****** ***** ******** ****** ** ******* *** * ***** ***** ** *** ** * ********** * ****** ** *** **** ********* ******* ** ***** ****** ****** ******** **********

**********

 

***** ** ***** *** ********* **** ** *** ********* * **** *** * **** ** *** ****** *** ****** ** *** ** ********* *** **********  * ******** **** ** ***** *** *** ****** ** *** ****** ** * ******* ** ** ******** *********  * *** ***** ** ****** *** ***** ** *** ********** ******** *** *** ** *** ****** ** *** ********** * ** ***** ***** **** ** **** ** **** ** *** ******** *** *** **** ** ********** ************ ****** ******* ** **** ***** **** *** ***** ******** ******** ** **** ****** ********* ** ********** ********* ********** ************* ********** **** **** ***** **** **** ** ****** *** ** **** ******* **** ** *** **** **** ******* ** ****** ** **** *** ****** ******

 

 

**********

***** ******** **

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an ****** from them in *** ****. I received the ****** and had it installed. After about a ***** the ****** started to blow ***** out the ******** I called AAA Japanese Imports and they stated that it is under warranty. I sent ****** back on ***** **** and they received it on***** ****. I was told by **** that they check the ****** for ***** and send out a replacement the same **** I received the replacement ****** on ****** *** ****, had it installed once again and this ****** ****** as well. They have offered nothing for the* weeks of inconvenience and say that the ***** were totally rebuilt. I have *** ******** ********* that inspected the ****** the day it arrived. There is no possible way the ***** were rebuilt. I have spent over ******* at this point installing and removing the*** ******s and want reimbursement of some kind.

Desired Settlement: I would like for AAA Japanese Imports to settle with me in the amount of ****** so that I can have the ***** removed and rebuilt. This amount will cover the **** for the ******* **** and* hours ***** at ***hr for * * * of the ******

Business Response:

This ****** was returned under warranty we did send it to the ******* shop to have the ***** **** ****** and ***** replaced and return it for free to the customer.  This customer wanted ****** *** assistance which we did offer to help him with we ask that he send us a receipt for reimbursement. We received a receipt for a ****** ****** *** from ****** with no date on it. We contacted ****** sent them a copy of the invoice and they stated it was from ******* ****.  The customer never rented a car .. and this rental is apparently something he does often for his work nothing out of the ordinary for him. 

I contact the customer to tell him we could not assist him with this and all of the sudden he complains this ****** is no good either .. and odley enough the amount he all of the sudden needs to fix it is the same as the rental receipt he sent us .

I do not believe the ****** is bad but if he wants to remove it for return under our warranty he is certainly able to do so within the **** warranty he received at time of purchase.

 

Regards

AAA

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company boasts a 1 Year Unlimited Mile Guarantee on used engine purchases however in order to receive a replacement or refund the want you to ship the engine back to them at their expense. So I purchased an engine for my Honda Civic, at $1000+, then put an additional $600 in gaskets,O2 Sensors, & timing belt, and found that the engine was burning a quart of oil a week and seized 5 months later. I called for a refund and spoke with an extremely rude person who saw fit to lecture on what the warranty states. Bottom line, in order to obtain any satisfaction on the warranty I have to pull the engine out of the car at my expense and ship it to Tx.for their inspection. This is insane to spend an additional $500 to pull the engine to have them look at it, I offered to take the car to any local repair shop of their choice for an inspection however they wouldn't have it. In essence this is false advertising regarding a warranty and is financially meaningless. Supposing I decided to pull the engine and send it and they saw fit to replace it. I would again have to pay a mechanic for install, plus put in all new gaskets and external parts again. Simply doesn't make financial sense and basically the warranty is meaningless.

Desired Settlement: I want the full price I spent on the engine refunded. If they need to inspect it or pull it from the car that should be on their dime.

Business Response:

i do not own this company you may contact me at 832-433-**** was sold about 5 years ago to a *** ******* who owned ********** **** ***** in Houston tx please let me know who is useing this bussiness name and address and phone number

 

thank you **** ****

832-433-****

i would like to keep a good name with the bbb

Consumer Response:

Please find attached a clip from my credit card statement, clips from an email exchanges, as well as an invoice for all the parts installed in this engine prior to installation. I purchased this engine using the following URL - http://www.aaajapaneseimports.com/ 

The synopsis is, I purchased this engine from the above company back in October precisly because they offered this warrenty and stated that their engines come from Japan and have no more than 70K miles on them. I purchased the engine and followed all the recommended procedures, replacing all the seals, gasgets, timing belt, and O2 sensors all by a qualified and accredited mechanic, however once installed the engine was burning a quart of oil per week.  It finally seized up earlier this month.

The website boasts a 100% Money Back Warrenty and is totaly misleading. When I called to tell them about the problem, the person was extremely rude on the phone, and told me about a precondition which includes removing the blown engine from the car and shipping it back to them for inspection which of course would cost me at least $500.00 to do and is simply not worth the time and money. I offered to take it to a local mechanic but they refused and said I needed to ship it and after an inspection they would determine whether they would refund the money or send me another engine. This is totally bogus and they know it as the cost of removing the engine for inspection outweighs simply scraping the vehicle.

 

The only resolve is for this company to refund my expenditure with them including shipping for a total of $1095.00 as detailed on the credit card statement attached.

Consumer Response: May have sent this already, see the name of the associate is **** ******.

From: info aaa [mailto:info@aaajapaneseimports.com] Sent: Monday, February 11, 2013 2:16 PM To:******** ******* *************) Cc: **** ****** Subject: RE: 2000 Honda - Civic - Engine - NY

Hello, I am sorry to hear you are having an issue, you must contact our warranty department at 855-423-**** we need to receive the engine back for warranty inspection first.. Please understand we cannot foresee the future on a used motor but will be happy to try and assist you , as long as the engine has not been overheated or abused we will replace the unit for you under our warranty. Regads AAA Japanese Imports

From: ******** ******* ************** *******************************com] Sent: Sunday, February 10, 2013 9:54 AM To: info aaa Subject: RE: 2000 Honda - Civic - Engine - NY

Hello, I purchased this engine and had it installed back in October in accordance with the recommended procedures, please see the attached list of parts installed. Since the day it was installed the engine burned a quart of oil a week. The engine just seized last week and I would like a full refund of the purchase price. I have to tell you I am extremely unsatisfied!

******* ******* **********************.com From: info aaa [mailto:info@aaajapaneseimports.com] Sent: Thursday, October 04, 2012 3:03 PM To: ******** ******* *************) Subject: RE: 2000 Honda - Civic - Engine - NY

Hi, Yes we do have a nice used engine in stock. It has been cylinder leak down tested, inspected, cleaned, palletized and is ready for shipping. We make every attempt to reduce the risk involved with the purchase of used engine by being very thorough in the examination of these engines and also by offering a 1 Year Unlimited Mile Guarantee. Our ultimate aim is to supply you with an engine that is both affordable and which meets a predefined standard. The cost is $,. No sales tax No core exchange due . It comes with a 1 YEAR UNLIMITED MILE WARRANTY. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us Toll Free at 1-855- 4 A ENGIN (855-423-6446). Thanks! **** AAA Motors & Transmissions. Preffered Vendor for **** ******** *********************** Toll Free 1-855 4 * ***** A+ BBB Accredited Business

Business Response:

Sir all products purchased from any company require return for warranty or restocking before refunds can be given. It matters not what the product is it has to be returned. We will cover shipping back but we have to have the product returned to us in order to verify your warranty and or refund on it.  There is no company in the world that just takes your word for it and says okay I'll refund you. I am sorry you feel we were being rude that was not our intent when explaining the warranty. You might not have like that we require the engine back in order to refund or what we had to say but we certainly were not being rude in anyway.

As per the email to you :

 NY Hello, I am sorry to hear you are having an issue, you must contact our warranty department at 855-423-**** we need to receive the engine back for warranty inspection first.. Please understand we cannot foresee the future on a used motor but will be happy to try and assist you , as long as the engine has not been overheated or abused we will replace the unit for you under our warranty. Regads AAA Japanese Imports From

 

In no way is that rude or ugly sir just the guildlines of the warranty . If you would like to make the engine available we will be happy to send a pickup request for the engine and again as long as it is not overheated or absued we will be happy to replace it for free or refund you in full.

Regards

AAA Japanese Imports

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

I have spoken to the warrenty department, the request to send the engine back is not financially feasable unless of course in addition to paying for the shipping, the business is willing to pay for the mechanic to pull the engine out. The cost to pull the engine is at least $500 and it does not make sense from a financial perspective. I have offered to take the car to a local mechanic of the business's choice for evaluation however that was unacceptable to the business. The business in essence is asking me to spend $500 in order to exercise the warrenty and these terms were not expressley stated on the website. Further the website says "Money Back Warrenty" and the business is stepping back from that statement saying they would send another engine which I dont want.

Regards,

 ******* *******


 

 

Business Response:

Sir our full warranty is available on our website and it is clear on the warranty not only on the website but the one you recieved in writting in October that we do not cover labor and you must make the unit available for pickup in order to return for warranty or refund. I am sorry but no one gives refunds on products that have not been returned.  You do have 1 year to return the engine for the either replacement or refund .. if you will make it available for pickup we will be happy to cover the return shipping for warranty inspection.

 

Regards

AAA Japanese Imports

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

1/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a motor from AAA Jap Imports 071712. The motor had to be sent back because of noises inside of it after it being installed. Ms ****** repeatedly blamed the issue on our licensed mechanic and repeatedly promised "the motor is on its way" when the motor was not. She made the year warranty null and void after we sent the motor back for a replacement. She made us spend more money to repair, to resend back to us, to the mechanic all because of sending us a motor that was not up to par. When we received the motor back it had been beat up with a hammer or something. Parts had been beatened off of it. Our mechanic had to rebuild the motor. We had to spend out more money, wait four (4) months to get the car running, help our daughter for four months with a new baby get to work and the baby sitter, etc., all because of this company not being professional and honest along with having a bad attitude when told her merchandise has issues.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting that this company acquires better business practices so that others will not go through what we have.We are also requesting a refund of $7K due to all of the undue stress brought on our family because of her holding the motor, beating the motor up, beating parts off and not responding honestly and our daughter being inconvenience with a new baby going to work, baby sitter and doctor appointments. We did not appreciate her attitude and the financial burden we went through.

Business Response:

Mrs ****** you know that is not true.. This motor was returned to us completly overheated ALL heat tabs melted after much conversation with your mechanic it was determined that two other engines had also overheatd in his shop previously to ours then we found out he was using the same bad water pump on each engine. We only charged you after your authorazation to send the motor to the machince shop for repair . We waived all fees from our facilty to try and help you.  Your daughter also stated to you that she found it odd how the engine all of the sudden "blew up" in the parking lot of your mechanics shop as well.

I am so sorry he has done nothing but miss lead you and cheated you but the fault does not lye with our company I feel we stepped up to help you out in a situtation no one else was willing to.

Regards

AAA Japanese Imports

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company has sent me an engine with multiple problems when I called to get my money back she said I would not be refunded my money and I would not receive another engine I asked what process they went threw to make sure the engine was worth putting in a car and she responded by saying she could not disclose that information

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for this engine and shipping

Business Response:

What? Sir one we offer a 1 year money back guarantee against internal deffects and two we tell you our testing procedure at time of inquiring prior to any order being placed.. . none of your statement is true and what kind of engine is this for? who did it ship to?

 

****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 2.3 liter ford ranger engine on either ********** or **********. I'm not sure what day because I've had alot going on and this company has never sent ANY type of correspondance ,they don't call when they say they will call(***** and the guy that answers the phone). They don't send e-mails of invoice or credit card receipts. I was told by ***** that the freight would be $134.00 and that I would pay the delivery company by check or cash, when I ordered the engine was told that it would be an extra $15.00 for residential delivery, I was okay with that. It turned out to be $30.00 extra. I could have had the engine delivered to a commercial location. The delivery company called to set up delivery and I was told by ***** that the freight charge was $247.00. I called several times to AAA. I was told by ***** that I would have to pay the $247.00. After much discussion and no return calls. I called over and over. ***** finally told me that she would credit my credit card $90.00. This still dosen't add up. The engine was supposed to take 4 days to my house. As of today(**********)I still don't have the engine. The engine is scheduled to be delivered on ********** , between 1pm and 6pm. I am pretty sure that I ordered this engine on **********. I was told that the engine was picked up on Tuesday **********. This means that it will have taken 2 weeks(14 days), if it shows up on Monday. The only thing that was good with this transaction was the price of the engine. I trusted this company because they show on their website that they are members of BBB with a A+ rating. They are far from ANY rating. Now, I have very little comfort that we will be spending alot of time installing an engine that I won't know if it will run until after it is installed. This whole transaction has been a nightmare.

Desired Settlement: Since this was so messed up. I want this company to, at least refund the freight charges. If this engine turns out to be a piece of crap, I would like a full refund. This way I will be able to purchase another engine with someone that knows how to conduct business. Warranty on the engine will not cover installation. If thet were to warranty a bad engine. I wouldn't have ANY confidence in their products. If they agree to refund the freight, I should not see any more that $595.00 charged to card.

Business Response:

Mr ******* the only reason there is a delay in your order is due the freight carrier and your inabilty to pay the shipping at time of arrival.. As far as the carrier's miss billing our company can not be held responsible for that but we did get that fixed for you as well.. and also since you were unable to write the check for shipping we had the carrier reverse the billing to us and charged your credit card to assist you even further since they do not take credit cards.  Your order was placed on **** and was out for delivery last week when the carrier attempted delivery but the charges were wrong. So it took us 4-5 business days to get your engine to ********** just as you were quoted. 

Yes you left messages for me to return your call sir but as I explained to you when we last spoke I have been in and out due to my uncle being in ICU not breathing on his own. I am sorry I took some personal time to tend to him and his needs, I would hope you understand that's why I could not return your calls.

The invioce and warranty is delviered with the engine as explained to you on previous calls as well.. You have a one year warranty on the engine to be free of internal defects . Should you have any questions you are always welcome to contact us.

Regards

****

Consumer Response:

***** *******


The bottom line is that I was told that the freight collect would be $137.00, not $234.00. She is correct that I couldn't pay the $234.00, but I could pay what I was told($137.00). ***** is using the wrong words. She says I wouldn't pay the freight collect of $234.00, because when I ordered the engine I was told by AAA that the freight collect would be $137.00. Why  on earth would I pay almost $100.00 more dollars than I was supposed to pay.

 

                        ***** *******

 

Business Response:

Sir we do agree the carrier billed it incorrectly we were able to get them to fix that and you were only charged $146.00 . We do not own the carrier but we do have a contract with them and they did correct the billing for you. The only reason I was trying to do it the other way was to get the unit delivered to you quicker but you still would have only been outa pocket the $146.00 at the end of the day. 

****

Consumer Response:

***** *******


The bottom line. **** can blame the shippimg company if she wants. But I was  told 137.00 was to be collected at the time of delivery. It took days for AAA to get this taken care of. I have an invoice for the engine, but I don't have any receipts for credit charges and changes that were made. This is the most unprofessional business I have ever dealt with. Once again, I will say that I purchased this engine because of the A+ rating that shows up on AAA's website. 

 

***** Sherrod.

 

 

Business Response:

Sir no company on the planet runs without any errors even when by the shipping company they chose what counts is when you do have an issue if the company steps up and corrects the issue is what counts.. we did and you were only charged $146.00 for shipping.

****

Consumer Response:

***** *******


I was told the freight was 137.00 by AAA. Shipping company calls and says freight collect is $234.00. I had the $137.00 for the freight company. The delivery delay was because it took AAA days to get the freight charge straightened out. The delay was not because I could't pay the 137.00, but because I couldn't I was not prepared to pay 234.00. Mistakes on shipping price are a bunch of bull. You should refund the freight and also have your web master take the BBB A+ rating off of your website.

 

        

Business Response:

Sir we do not own the freight carrier we provided you with the cost we were given their company billed incorrectly and we fixed it and you were only charged 146.00 in shipping not 234.00 therefore you paid what you were quoted. The shipping money does not come to us that is paid to the carrier direct and the issue was not due to our company but the fix for it was and your engine was delivered. I can not refund shipping as it is not paid to us but rather to them .. me reversing that charge and fixing the cost from the carrier again was in an effort to help you get your engine delivered sir.

I really feel we stepped up and did all we can do to assist you properly.

****

Consumer Response:


BS, I have never had a problem like this. The delay was because it took you too long to get it straightened out.

 

                  *****

 

Business Response: No sir we fixed a freight carrier issue not a AAA Japanese Imports issue.. we did not bill you incorrectly the freight carrier did and when you contacted us we fixed it and again you did pay only the correct amount you were quoted . Had this been a AAA Japanese Imports issue I could see you being angry at us but it was not and once again we did step up and fix the freight carrier issue sir..

****

Consumer Response:


You fixed the issue without keeping me informed. Your communications skills are the worst. I was told by the guy that answers the phone on Thursday, that I would have the the engine on friday. That didn't happen. The engine was delivered on Monday afternoon. More Delay. The original Shipping was 137.00 not 147.00. What happened to your website. You are way better at answering the BBB complaint, than you are at actually dealing with a customer during the transaction.

 

                  *****

Business Response:

Sir we spoke several times everyday for the couple days it took to get it fixed and once actaully fixed I called you and left you a voicemail and you contacted me back.  We have done all we can to help you fix a freight carrier issue not caused by us or our issue we stepped up and fixed thier biling issue those funds were not paid to us they are paid directly to the carrier sir.  You know all this to be true. 

I am sorry if you feel we have done anything wrong I feel we have stepped up and done our best to assist you sir.

Regards

****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/25/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2011 Delivery Issues
1