BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

A Autoworks

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 219-6662 View Additional Phone Numbers 5243 Aldine Mail Route Road, Houston, TX 77039 http://www.aautoworks.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides general auto repair services, including: tune ups, oil changes, computer diagnostics, a/c repair, front end work, state inspections, alignments, preventive maintenance, emissions repair, fuel system cleaning, coolant and engine flushes, brake and power steering flush, and electrical repairs.

BBB Accreditation

On this business’s accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that: 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A Autoworks include:

  • 1 complaint filed against business that was not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes
  • BBB Accreditation was revoked because the business failed to honor its accreditation agreement with BBB.

The company refused to mediate or arbitrate. While this company is currently an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, the company has refused to mediate or arbitrate a complaint brought to its attention by the bureau.  Accredited Business’s must mediate and/or arbitrate unresolved complaints when requested by the Bureau. The Bureau has notified the company that its status at the BBB will be revoked if the complaint(s) is not answered.  


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 22, 2005 Business started: 02/21/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Baldwin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Baldwin, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Industry Tips
CAR REPAIR -CHOOSING A TRUSTWORTHY SHOP

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1319 Crosstimbers

    Houston, TX 77022 (713) 695-6372

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    268 East 1st St.

    Humble, TX 77338 (281) 446-3606

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5243 Aldine Mail Route Road

    Houston, TX 77039 (832) 250-7935 (281) 219-6662

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7302 Spencer Highway

    Pasadena, TX 77505 (281) 479-2886

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (832) 250-7935(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into a auto works on ****** **** ***** and got an oil change on my car, when they where done with my car the man said everything was good on the car my tire pressure right everything looks good. I paid for the service and left the business upon me leaving I got onto the freeway and my car started smoking and I'm oil light came on so I exited the free way to make a u turn then my engine light came on so as I'm coming up to the light my car just shuts off. I got a ride to the a auto works and told them what happen so we went over to where my car was and the guys pushed it back to the shop. The manager came out and said that they was gone have to keep my car for a couple of hours because when something like this happens he have to contact the owner, so I told i asked him what am I suppose to do about transportation and he said he could get me a ride home but there's nothing he can do. I'm not a mechanic but I no when a car loses all it's oil and shuts down 9 out of 10 the engine is locked up but no one never told me anything. So I'm just sitting at home waiting to hear a response about my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car to be backing running without any problems and if my engine blown I would like a new one.

Business Response: i have already talked to him

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********* i took my **** ****** ****** to get a oil change, was told that my cabin filter was dirty and needed to be replaced even though i only ask for a oil change i went ahead and allowed them to change the cabin filter, when i get my car back i start it up and it runs just fine but when i cut the air on my car cut off so i went back to them and told them what was happening and they said that my compressor locked up, i got very upset cause my car was working just fine. I went back the next day ********* to let them know that they messed up my car, they refused to check my car. I called the next morning and was told by ****** to go to **** ****** ****  which is another location only to get there and **** refused to look at my car he said that it was a case of bad luck that my compressor locked up. He was very rude and told me that he could put it on the diagnostic machine but i would be charged $*** I am very upset and i want to know what can i do to take care of this problem.Thanks, ****** *******

Desired Settlement: All i want is the $** that i was charged for the oil change and cabin filter and help on getting my compressor fixed. thanks

Business Response: That is untrue we did not tell her that we could look at it for ***** dollars.  We told her that the ac compressor went out and it was the clutch on the compressor.  We tried to explain to her that by replacing the cabin air filter it would not cause this problem.  I even had her take the car to my other store just so some else could look at it and the words out of her mouth was you are going to fix my ***!  She threw her invoice at my manager.  We tried everything to show her but she just did not want to hear it.  The service we perform was perform and it was done right so I will not refund her any money.


Thank you ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On this morning i took my vehicle A Autoworks. I intially went in for an oil change. I asked the employee do you do balance and rotation. The employee stated "YES" . I then went on to ask the employee how much is the "BALANCE AND ROTATION". The employee stated" BALANCE AND ROTATION IS $15.00". Never once did the employee explain to me that they only did rotation and NOT BALANCING.My car was complete and I drove off. As I continued to drive my car started shaking really bad. I continued home. So after driving vehicle again the same was happening, but even worse now. So , I called A Autoworks and A employee named **** answered and I explained the problems I was having with my vehicle. Well **** rude response was "WE DON'T DO BALANCING" And I explained to **** I was never told this by the employee who was helping me. **** stated" YOU NEED CONTACT CUSTOMER CARE, I CAN'T HELP YOU." If i would have known that they didn't do balancing I would have went elsewhere to get that done. I feel I was mislead and taken advantage because i was a female. All I'm asking for is a refund of my $15.00 and taxes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $15.00 plus tax that I paid.

Business Response: This issue is taking care of we are refunding Ms. ****** the 15.00 dollars.  My manager mis understood what she was looking for.  He stated he thought she just wanted a tire rotation.

Business Response: Ms. ****** I saw that you came up here and you received your 15 dollar refund .  I also saw they put on a new lug nut and check all the other wheels.  I am glad that it got taking care of for you. Again,  I am sorry for the mis understanding and I hope to see you in the future.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ****** ****, took my car in for repairs of 02 sensors on 1-19-13. I then was notified that it was also a broken thermostat that needed to be fixed. So I had given ****(*******), the ok to do the repairs. He had given me a breakdown of what everything would cost $670.00. At this time I agreed that it needed to be done so I signed to proceed. When the work was done I was told that I had received a system flush including a radiator flush and an oil change. The next day my car stalled in the middle of the road. I then called ****( he had given me his cellphone number) he said he does not know what is wrong with it and to bring it in the nex day because everything is under warranty. Well now the oil change was incomplete the oil filter was not changed but new oil put into my car. I was also charged for an inspection but one was not run on my car. That in itself is against the law! I have come to get it looked at by the same business but different location. **** had me to come to the shop that following Monday which is today so he could evaluate the problem but the location was closed. Why? All of the others are opened. I am very suspicious of this and I want justice!

Desired Settlement: I feel like I was taken advantage of and it should not continue to happend. The customer service is horrible not to mention the lies of work that was done on my car and it wasn't !

Business Response: Ms. **** came by our Aldine location because Monday humble was close because we had a death in the family and were unable to have all our stores covered. Has for ms. **** she did get her sticker put on at Aldine mail rt. the car passed and was put on.  Has far has the other services they were performed and needed to get the car to pass.  The other services were maintenance that the car needed. Has far 

Has **** the store manager goes he is no longer with the company he was terminated over how he treated ms.****. **** knows that I don't allow any to be charged for a service that has not be performed.  **** holds to his story that ms. **** want to pay for all the services at one time. I told **** that the fact of it is that he broke company policy and treated a customer unfairly so he was terminated on the spot. I am sorry for ms **** problems but I am glad that it was brought to my attention. I would like to offer her some free services for her problems that my company caused her. I would just like her to know that we value you her and her busy very much and I am ashamed that we failed to meet needs.  So ms. **** I am sorry and I hope I can do something to show you that we are the company to come to and that we can be trusted. 

Thank you

******

Business Response: I talk to my store on Aldine mail rt which is the store she took it to because humble was close.  They informed that on the invoice it didn't state he include an oil change but they went ahead on did at that store for her because of the bad service she received for our humble location. I only hope that ms. **** does not judge us by **** because he is no longer a part of this company because of his lack of desire to take care of our customers. I was told that ms. **** was very happy with the service she did get from my Aldine location. The way she was treat at our Aldine location is how we run our business and I am sad to say we drop the ball in humble.  I would like to offer ms. **** a free oil change every three months for the next year. I would also like to give here free alignment for the next year which is 2 alignments. We would also like here to know how  very sorry this whole company is at the actions of one of our managers not keeping every promise he made to her.  If she would like those service , I would be glad to write them in a form of a gift card that she can use or give to anyone she would like.  Again I AM VERY SORRY !


Thank you 

******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I feel like I was taken advantage of. I did my research and I do know I was completely overcharged for the services that I was promised that were not performed on my vehicle. Clearly, the owner and I know that a free oil change every three months over the course of one year with two alignments is not even close to the charge of $670.00 I would like to propose that I receive half of my money back in the total of $335.00. I have been through too much with this company! I have the receipts to prove it.

Regards,

****** ****


 

 

Business Response: This is only the second time I received an email from the Bbb. I respond to all claims and you can seebthatbmy company does not get many at all.  I will not refund any money for the service that we performed to ms. **** car.  When she went to the other they did the oil change and the state inspection  for her any looked at  the rest of the work we did at my humble store.  When she let she was very happy thank everyone.  The oil change that she said she paid for on my invoice shows she was not charged for one,  but instead of making a bad situation worse we did it for her.  The state inspection I was told that she wanted to pay for the whole ticket then so she didn't have to worry about it when she came back. I can only go off of what I am being told because I have not heard from ms. **** . The state inspection is a pass or fail you still pay service so it is not like she pays and you get a sticker. I my self didn't charge anyone for some thing that we did not do that day, but some customers can be can be so demanding about what they  want and how they want it that sometimes we just like in any other service providing business do it for them. My goal here is not run ms. **** off I want her to keep coming to us I felt that what I offed was more than fair. I will offer the same services again to her and again how very sorry we are that she is upset ,but her complaint does not justify a refund.



Thank you,

******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved