This business is not BBB accredited.

A Autoworks

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 219-6662 View Additional Phone Numbers 5243 Aldine Mail Route Road, Houston, TX 77039 http://www.aautoworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides general auto repair services, including: tune ups, oil changes, computer diagnostics, a/c repair, front end work, state inspections, alignments, preventive maintenance, emissions repair, fuel system cleaning, coolant and engine flushes, brake and power steering flush, and electrical repairs.


BBB Accreditation

On this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for A Autoworks include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes

Factors that raised the rating for A Autoworks include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business

The company refused to mediate or arbitrate. While this company is currently an Accredited Business of the Better Business Bureau, the company has refused to mediate or arbitrate a complaint brought to its attention by the bureau.  Accredited Business’s must mediate and/or arbitrate unresolved complaints when requested by the Bureau. The Bureau has notified the company that its status at the BBB will be revoked if the complaint(s) is not answered.  


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on A Autoworks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 22, 2005 Business started: 02/21/2002 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Baldwin, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joseph Baldwin, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Industry Tips
CAR REPAIR -CHOOSING A TRUSTWORTHY SHOP

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

A Autoworks has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of D+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1319 Crosstimbers

    Houston, TX 77022 (713) 695-6372

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    268 East 1st St.

    Humble, TX 77338 (281) 446-3606

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5243 Aldine Mail Route Road

    Houston, TX 77039 (832) 250-7935 (281) 219-6662

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7302 Spencer Highway

    Pasadena, TX 77505 (281) 479-2886

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into a auto works on ****** **** ***** and got an oil change on my car, when they where done with my car the man said everything was good on the car my tire pressure right everything looks good. I paid for the service and left the business upon me leaving I got onto the freeway and my car started smoking and I'm oil light came on so I exited the free way to make a u turn then my engine light came on so as I'm coming up to the light my car just shuts off. I got a ride to the a auto works and told them what happen so we went over to where my car was and the guys pushed it back to the shop. The manager came out and said that they was gone have to keep my car for a couple of hours because when something like this happens he have to contact the owner, so I told i asked him what am I suppose to do about transportation and he said he could get me a ride home but there's nothing he can do. I'm not a mechanic but I no when a car loses all it's oil and shuts down 9 out of 10 the engine is locked up but no one never told me anything. So I'm just sitting at home waiting to hear a response about my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like my car to be backing running without any problems and if my engine blown I would like a new one.

Business Response: i have already talked to him

7/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ********* i took my **** ****** ****** to get a oil change, was told that my cabin filter was dirty and needed to be replaced even though i only ask for a oil change i went ahead and allowed them to change the cabin filter, when i get my car back i start it up and it runs just fine but when i cut the air on my car cut off so i went back to them and told them what was happening and they said that my compressor locked up, i got very upset cause my car was working just fine. I went back the next day ********* to let them know that they messed up my car, they refused to check my car. I called the next morning and was told by ****** to go to **** ****** ****  which is another location only to get there and **** refused to look at my car he said that it was a case of bad luck that my compressor locked up. He was very rude and told me that he could put it on the diagnostic machine but i would be charged $*** I am very upset and i want to know what can i do to take care of this problem.Thanks, ****** *******

Desired Settlement: All i want is the $** that i was charged for the oil change and cabin filter and help on getting my compressor fixed. thanks

Business Response: That is untrue we did not tell her that we could look at it for ***** dollars.  We told her that the ac compressor went out and it was the clutch on the compressor.  We tried to explain to her that by replacing the cabin air filter it would not cause this problem.  I even had her take the car to my other store just so some else could look at it and the words out of her mouth was you are going to fix my ***!  She threw her invoice at my manager.  We tried everything to show her but she just did not want to hear it.  The service we perform was perform and it was done right so I will not refund her any money.


Thank you ******

6/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On this morning i took my vehicle A Autoworks. I intially went in for an oil change. I asked the employee do you do balance and rotation. The employee stated "YES" . I then went on to ask the employee how much is the "BALANCE AND ROTATION". The employee stated" BALANCE AND ROTATION IS $15.00". Never once did the employee explain to me that they only did rotation and NOT BALANCING.My car was complete and I drove off. As I continued to drive my car started shaking really bad. I continued home. So after driving vehicle again the same was happening, but even worse now. So , I called A Autoworks and A employee named **** answered and I explained the problems I was having with my vehicle. Well **** rude response was "WE DON'T DO BALANCING" And I explained to **** I was never told this by the employee who was helping me. **** stated" YOU NEED CONTACT CUSTOMER CARE, I CAN'T HELP YOU." If i would have known that they didn't do balancing I would have went elsewhere to get that done. I feel I was mislead and taken advantage because i was a female. All I'm asking for is a refund of my $15.00 and taxes.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $15.00 plus tax that I paid.

Business Response: This issue is taking care of we are refunding Ms. ****** the 15.00 dollars.  My manager mis understood what she was looking for.  He stated he thought she just wanted a tire rotation.

Business Response: Ms. ****** I saw that you came up here and you received your 15 dollar refund .  I also saw they put on a new lug nut and check all the other wheels.  I am glad that it got taking care of for you. Again,  I am sorry for the mis understanding and I hope to see you in the future.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******