BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

John Keating Chevrolet

Additional Locations

Phone: (281) 328-4377 Fax: (281) 328-1816 21001 Crosby Fwy., Crosby, TX 77532 ! There is an alert on John Keating Chevrolet !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company has a sales department that is open on Sunday between the hours of 12pm to 5pm.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 11
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 28

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://dmv.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. George Koutani
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
The Jou Group
Industry Tips
AUTOMOBILE LEASING TIPS AUTOMOBILE PURCHASING TIPS INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR THREE DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL THE TEXAS LEMON LAW & BBB AUTO LINE

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    21001 Crosby Fwy.

    Crosby, TX 77532

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P. O. Box 1409

    Crosby, TX 77532 (281) 328-4377

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.

Mail sent to the business on 01/01/2013 was returned by the U.S. Postal Service as Business No Longer in Operation.


Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: bought a truck back in May 2014 there. I traded a Honda motorcycle i had for the truck.. June comes around and i make the first payment on my new truck.. then 2 weeks later i get a call from Honda financials telling me i havent made my payment and my credit can be in jeopardy, I told them that i didnt own the bike anymore that i traded it in for a truck back in the beginning of May and that they were supposed to receive a payoff check. well they never received it and both me and Honda financial have been trying to contact someone from there to speak to. Finally someone talked to us and said that the dealership is under a new management and is now called Turner Chevrolet and they were going to look into their financials and write out pay off checks. Well here I'm in July and Honda still hasnt received their pay off check and they are calling me daily and they have been trying to call Turner Chevrolet to get answers but keep getting the run around. I been calling and i keep getting voicemails. Now my Honda is telling me I'm still responsible for the motorcycle payment under contract and if i dont pay them it will be sent to the credit bureau. I dont know what to do anymore, this people wont answer my calls or return my calls. I call the dealership and they keep giving me a number that handles "**** ********* business" but i yet to get an answer from that place and i always get a voicemail machine

Desired Settlement: i want them to be responsible for the outstanding payoff amount that is owed to honda

2/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased vehicle October ***2013 up to this date registration and plate of the purchased vehicle is still not in my possession.Per business representative ********* their regisration department has been delayed due to multiple personnel turnover and due to the ICE days.Made them aware this is not acceptable and this is a very poor business management.

Desired Settlement: Expidite registration of the purchased vehicle from October 2013.

2/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased a vehicle from this dealer on the **** of this month and some of the documents were left out for me to sign.someone from this dealership forged my signature.i was in review of my documentation and i'd noticed that the warranty agreement was not signed by me it was forged by the same person who signed their name as a representative on behalf of the dealership this type of behavior should not go on i can only imagine how many people have had their signatures falsified by the finance department. and the owner of this dealership should be made of aware that the people he has entrusted to handling his business are making illegal transactions on behalf of his customers

Desired Settlement: i would like to be able to contact the owner of this location and not the GM and speak to him directly to express my concerns

11/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: the sales person who goes by ** sold us a truck, he told us in order for it to be 0 down we had to have a co signer. we got my boyfriends mom to sign what we thought was for the co signer of the truck, I got my contract and they put her down as the buyer of the truck. needless to say we are not happy went to the dealership today, and got my contract. the ******** told us that after 8 months she would come off the truck as a co signer and our payments would drop to $450.00 a month. they have done nothing but give us the run around since we purchased this truck. I have my boyfriend, and his mother both to back me on what was said. come to find out the ******** ** as I was told today is now in rehab because of drugs. he told us one thing and now they want to tell us another since he is gone and we are not happy. then I already had to change the oil, air filter, my truck vibrates going down the road, and I had to buy a blinker switch.

Desired Settlement: I want his moms name taken off the contract and after 8 months I want our payments to $450 a month like I was told. I want a refund on all that I had to do to this truck when it should have already been done before I bought it. they only want to give me $100.00 and I spent cost more than that.

10/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a follow up to our conversation today at 1:34pm EST, in regards to 2003 GMC Yukon with vehicle identification number: ***************** , there are some items to note. First I would like to indicate how shaken I am about this conversation. I have never experienced such a condescending rude telephone conversation from someone in a professional position. Due to the abrupt ending of the conversation, I am providing response to the accusations given about the transaction.We are in agreement there was a transaction regarding the sale of this vehicle, additionally, the location of the vehicle at my residence has been fully disclosed since the beginning of the transaction. The disagreement lies wherein new representatives of John Keating Chevrolet have claimed to not receive payment for the sales transaction. The vehicle was purchased in ********* ***** and I have been in contact with numerous representatives of the dealership since that time. Initially, the sales manager who contacted me in ***** had assured me there was no concern on my part, and internally, the mix up was being resolved to finalize the title transfer. Unfortunately for me, there have been over 4 mangers involved (coming and going) since that time with no resolution. Today, I received a brief short toned letter indicating I was to provide receipt of payment for the Yukon, or deliver the vehicle to the dealership. For 19 months, I have been trying to work towards a resolution for the mismanagement of records and employees at John Keating to finalize the vehicle purchase transaction with benefit to interested parties. I am appalled that a representative of the dealership, whom I was informed has only been employed by the dealership a few months, is proposing in so many words that I am a thief. I have invested large amounts of time in following up phone calls, faxing documents multiple times and speaking to representatives at the texas department of motor vehicles. I have been adamant to resolve any disputes the most efficient/ friendly way possible and it really perturbs me to be approached this much later with an unfair demand. I was advised by the attorney Mr. ******* with the Texas DMV to file through my state or a hired party in Texas, a title hearing. It was evident to Mr. ******* and to myself I was working alone in trying to resolve an issue that John Keating had no care about. I was even told a few times by an agent of the dealership that I needed to contact the Marketing Company to procure the title for the vehicle.I am acknowledging I have received a position from ***** ****, a representative of the dealership. I am re-iterating the location of the vehicle has not been undisclosed. This vehicle was purchased with intentions as being the primary transportation for myself and my 3 children. As the sole provider for my household, I am extremely upset to be at a financial loss due to this purchase and as a consumer, I am indescribably disappointed to be associated with this company.

Desired Settlement: In progress

7/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ive been waiting three months for them to get my licsenses plates in, I call and they put me on hold till the phon hangs up i ask to speek to a ******* and they tell me to bring my new car in for emmissions cause it slip threw the cracks a car that cost $26,000 slips threw the cracks LOL ya right i wait a month and still no answer from anyone i try and and get in touch with the title lady in charge only to find out that she is on vacation 24-7 i try and talk to a ******* and their never avaliable i go threw several answering machines and this happens around 2:00 druing the day Im verry dissapointed at these people and would really like to just give the car back and get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I cant get my time spent back from talking on the phone but they need to give me my dang licenses plates and stop jerking me around.

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from John Keating Chevrolet over a month ago and my contract states they would pay off the vehicle I traded for what I assumed was an easy process. Come to find out I am now having to pay both the previous car note and the current. I have to tried to contact their Finance Manager *** on several occassions and have left several messages. To no avail he has not returned my emails nor phone calls. Needless to say, I am one very dissatisfied customer and would not recommend you purchasing from them. Customer service goes a long way.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay off the previous vehicle including all associated charges and penalties or allow me to return the vehicle and retreive my car.

4/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When i bought my car from the front driver tire was low on air and so was the back passanger tire. I.bought the car late in the afternoon and the maintenance shop was closed The sales man put air in the tire and told me to bring it back the next day so they could look at it and fix it. I dropped it off and the car sat there all day and they "said they didnt get around to it". I.brought it back a few days later when i was off work and same thing, they didnt get to it. So the next day i took it to NTB and had them take the front tire off and discovered the rim bent on the back side. I called the sales man and they told me they would repair it So i put a spare on it and dropped off the rim. For 2 weeks i got the run around saying they sent it off for repairs and finally went to speak to a manager and they had the rim the whole time. The shop maintenance guy told me the tire was damaged inside also. They said they would pay to have it fixed. Dropped it off at a auto collision shop to be sent off for repair. 2 days later i called then to pay for it over the phone, it took 8 hours of arguing with them before they would pay for it. So i went to discount and showed them the tire and they confirmed it was not repairable and needed to get another one. Called John Keating and they refused to get me another tire Had Discount check the back tire that was leaking and that too had a bent rim. They refused to help me at all. And i had to buy 4 new tires and rims because the back one wasnt repairable. John keating ignored all my calls and refused to help They were very rude. And also 3.5 months later they still dont have my tags and license plates.and refuse to tell me why its taking so long.

Desired Settlement: I paid 1400 for new rims and tires and would ask for partial refund.since they sold me a car with bad rims and bad tires and flat out refused to help me.

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a notice to bring my truck in for a 6 month service check and I emailed the person who sent the notice back Thanks but no Thanks and the reason why, after the month a half I've spent dealing with the family that runs the service department I let them know I would not return, at least not while the Brady Bunch was running the show. This is the wonderful reply I received from the manager of the service department *************************.com 11:50 AM (* hours ago) to me Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from *************************.com GLAD TO HEAR THAT, FIND SOMEONE ELSE TO DEAL WITH YOUR ISSUES THE BRADY BUNCH WILL BE STAYING AROUND FOR A WHILE ; ) YOUR EMAIL IS REMOVED. I emailed him and the ******* that forwarded my original message to him and said great customer service at John Keating Chevrolet, the service manager emails me back with this insane remark. *************************.com 1:57 PM (* hours ago)to me Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from *************************.com When you call us the brady bunch your showing that your a racist and im not interested in helping you ever again! Your a model citizen yourself right ? Good luck Dr. King would be proud... Clearly referring to him as a member of the Brady Bunch was way off..I let him know I would be forwarding his remarks to his owner and here is his reply.*************************.com 3:06 PM (* hours ago)to me Images are not displayed. Display images below - Always display images from *************************.comI have already forwarded these to her. I suppose the month long rental was something that was poor customer service or the lowering of prices on the second repair. We actually lost money on your repairs, so with that fact and your racist attitude I prefer you not come back to our dealership especially with your racist remarks. Mind you I received a month rental because after the first time they fixed it broke down again,It took a month.

Desired Settlement: An apology and the opportunity to warn all buyers about the treatment you receive from John Keating's service department. He needs to understand he didn't do me any favors. I have been inconvenienced since I let them touch my truck, it has broken down 3X since, and he did nothing for free. The Extended warranty I purchased paid for my repairs and I paid for the rental. 800 dollars out of my pocket to be exact and the truck was still not working properly the day it got out of their shop.

2/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had taken my 2009 saturn sky that was still under factory warranty in to have a new soft top put on. And it was only soppose too take two days took two weeks. And when I arrived the service employee *** ******* had wald me out to my car to show me that there was nothing they could do about ajusting my trunk lid because It was shutting to close against the soft top and my concern is the new top would get damaged. I noticed that my ****** radio antenna was missing . I told him what happen to my antenna and he told me to hold on a minute and went in and out come this older man whose name was **** ******* who was also an employee .I was assuming that he was the service dept.*** not knowing untill I called them for more Info. that they are father and son. **** ******* told me that my antenna was not there when I drop the car off and Itold that was not true the car was still new to me Ihad just purchased the car and everything was perfect on the car except for the top. and now my antenna is missing and also a little dent right above it that was not there either. He procedded to tell me that Ineeded to get my keys and get in my car and leave the premises are he will call the law and have me removed and of couse I got upset and he told me they are not responsible for any damages to any vehichles onthere property. That I need to claim it on my Insurance. I cant do that my car was new and so was my insurance policy for a claim already and it was there responsebillity not mine. I left the premesise wondering how could this man talk to me and treat me this way I did not know what to do only to get in touch with you Ican not afford a lawyer.

Desired Settlement: Something for the shame and hurt I felt from **** *******. And to have my car fixed.

1/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I refered a customer over 3 months ago and for over three months I been looking for my $100.00 referal check. Everytime I call I get yelled at by the finiance ******** are they have the desk clerk screen my call and they tell me they will call me later and just hang up in my face. All I wont is my referal money that they advertised. They are rude and very unprofessional. I was even told that I cant get my referal because the location in houston closed. However, they are still collecting payments on the car that was sold.......somebody please help!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Can I please have my referal money

1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a used vehicle from this dealership in **** ** **** and have yet to receive my title and permanent plates as of today, *********** I have had to replace the temp dealer tags three times and the current temp tag has expired.

Desired Settlement: I simply want my license tags and title. Seven months is a ridiculous length of time to already have waited. I want to get an easy tag on this vehicle but wanted to wait until I could register the tag against a permanent license number.

1/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in the market for a new ********* Suburban and started looking online during the Christmas Holidays. I found an excellent deal listed as a ********* Special at John Keating ********* in ******, Texas. I could not make it over to ****** because of the Holidays but I kept looking for over a week and sure enough the special on their website continued to be promoted. It was a 2012 Suburban Texas Edition for $37,300. I did my research and realized we could afford this car at this price. I went there on my 27th wedding anniversary with everything I needed to purchase a new Suburban. After wasting 3 hours of my anniversary at a crook's haven (Keating Chevrolet), they claimed it was an error and they could not sell the same stock number car for under $45000. We use to call this the old bait and switch and I thought it was illegal. I recommend that any interested consumer go to a more honest dealer. I hope the ********* company finds out about this dishonest bunch because we love the ********* product and cannot believe ********* approves of this sort of distortion through advertising.

Desired Settlement: I thought that if a car dealership advertised a car at a certain price that the dealership would have to sale at least one car at that price.

1/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a contest flyer from John Keating Chevrolet in the mail. It was a scratch off and it clearly says if the 3 match, I am winner. I called both the dealership and the number on the mail out. Both told me I had won SOMETHING. I begged both not to let me waste my gas to come to ****** if I'd not won something. I told them both that I am on SSD and could NOT buy a car. I spoke to ***** at the dealership to make the appointment. She told me that the least I'd won was a $25 gift card. This was done on my speaker and a friend witnessed this. She witnessed me telling them over & over not to let me waste my gas for nothing. I drove out there & of course they wanted to sell me a car. Once past that, which took me saying it 7 times to two people and then being pushed to have someone sign for me a car. I again stated that I could NOT make car payments on SSD and living 25% below the poverty level. I was told by **** that all I'd won was an entry into a sweepstakes. I came home and called **** back. I was told that the mail out was a registration form. I asked him where on this mail out does it say registration form. No where on this mail out does it say this is a registration form of any kind. **** hung up on me when I told him I'd report this to the BBB. This mail out says I won SOMETHING. Period. This is false advertising. And, insulting/degrading for them to push a disabled person on SSD to have someone co-sign for a car they couldn't make the payments on if they wanted to.

Desired Settlement: I want the $25 I was promised by ***** and mailed to me so I don't use gas again. I want $5 for the gas I wasted going out there and a written apology. I want OFF of their mailing list and to never receive any more of their advertising. I want the BBB to crack down on this type of false advertising.

12/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/25/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/5/2012 Delivery Issues
3/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/3/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues