Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

David McDavid Nissan

Phone: (713) 941-0600 View Additional Phone Numbers 11911 Gulf Freeway, Houston, TX 77034 http://www.mcdavidnissan.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells new cars and trucks.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that David McDavid Nissan meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for David McDavid Nissan include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 42 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

42 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 18 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 23
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 17
Total Closed Complaints 42

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on David McDavid Nissan
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1962 in TX Business incorporated 01/01/1962 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://dmv.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner - Texas
2601 N. Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
http://www.occc.state.tx.us/index.html
Phone Number: (800) 538-1579
info@occc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chad Milow, General Manager David Morrissey, Owner Loyalty Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chad Milow, General Manager
Principal: David Morrissey, Owner Loyalty Director
Related Businesses
David McDavid Honda
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS USED CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
McDavid Body Shop Asbury Group Automotive McDavid Collision Center McDavid Nissan Pre-Owned
Industry Tips
AUTOMOBILE LEASING TIPS AUTOMOBILE PURCHASING TIPS CAR REPAIR -CHOOSING A TRUSTWORTHY SHOP INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR THREE DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL THE TEXAS LEMON LAW & BBB AUTO LINE

Additional Locations

  • 11911 Gulf Freeway

    Houston, TX 77034 (713) 941-0600 (888) 974-7685

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/24/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Where do I begin... April 16- had my car towed to dealership April 17- I called Sandra. Have not looked at my car yet April 20- I called Sandra. Said a part needed to be ordered and it would be put in on Wednesday. I asked her why she had not called me and said she called my ********* (he was with tow truck driver when my car was delivered to them. I told her to call me and not him.) April 24- I called Sandra. Part just got there. Said she had called **** (*********) to let him know. Again, I told her to call me. **** had no missed call from the dealership. April 27- I call, again. Car still not ready. Part came in on Friday and they have not had time to put it in yet. April 28- **** calls me to tell me that there is something else wrong with my car and they have to order another part. Sandra told **** SHE HAD CALLED ME. April 28- I call Sandra. Again told her to only contact me. Asked to speak to her manager, he wasn't available. **** called me saying she called asking for my phone number- after she said she had called me but I didn't answer. Then a man named Carlos called me. I told him Sandra has been saying she had called both of us when she had not and I am getting the run around with my car and I don't trust them. He told me she did not tell **** that she had tried calling me. I asked if he was calling us liars and aggressively told me that what I said did not happen. I asked him who his supervisor was and he replied that he was over everyone and he was the boss. I told him that this had taken a long time and I would need my car brought to me when it was finished or it would have to wait until the weekend. He said to me "I will personally deliver your car to you" in a very intimidating tone. I asked him if he was threatening me and he replied "I'm not threatening you but I guarantee I will personally deliver your car to you." Told him I am calling consumer affairs and hung up. April 29- Consumer affairs called me. **** and I both called to make a report and Chris (************) took our report and we had each expressed that we were concerned about what they were going to do to my car and could not trust this dealership. He said to each of us separately on 2 different calls that if we were concerned, we could take my car to a Nissan dealership and they would cover the cost of a diagnostic. He said I would hear from him in 3 days. He also told me Carlos was not a manager. At this point, I did not want to speak to anyone and have everything done by email. May 1- Got an email saying my car is ready. **** has the loaner car so he went to go get it and I had replied to Sandra's email saying I authorize **** to get my car. **** gets there and they said I need to sign for the extended warranty. Very angry. **** decides he wants to check on my car because we are both suspicious and do not trust them after all the lies and everything. **** said the porter drove my car up and got out and said the gear stick was very tight. **** got in and said it was hard to change gears and felt at that time that they purposely did something to my car. He got back in the loaner car and left. He called me. Angry, I called Chris with consumer complaints. I told him I wanted my car towed to another dealership because I felt like these people were harming my personal property and already felt way beyond violated. Chris said I would need to have it towed and get reimbursed. I told him I was going to have this dealership fix my car but I would definitely be taking it to another dealership for a diagnostic because I am at this point terrified and suspicious as to what has happened to my car and he told **** and I earlier that Nissan would cover that if I felt like I needed that. Chris then told me that he never said that to **** or I. I know those calls were recorded and I told him I am glad they were recorded because now I feel like I need to hire a lawyer. I emailed Sandra and told her to fix whatever they did to my car.

Desired Settlement: Ideally I would like Nissan to take their car back and give me a ****. **** told me Nissan was great and now he is ashamed of himself. I regret buying this car. Since I am not that lucky, I want Nissan to cover a diagnostic and full check up of my car at another dealership. I would also like to know how Sandra will be dealt with for lying (and very poor grammar on email and writing in all caps) and how Carlos will be dealt with in regards to his intimidation tactics and his position at the dealership. I want to know that the GM knows about this situation (**** tried to talk to him today but he is on vacation) and I want to know that the franchise owner knows about this situation. This dealership has very bad reviews on their sales and service and a common complaint is that they lie. I wish I had seen these reviews beforehand. the most miserable experience ever. And I still do not have my car back.

Business Response:

We submitted a response through the login of ****************** on May 4th. I am not sure why it did not track or the register in this system. Below is the response that was submitted:

 

In response to Ms ******* concerns. We understand with the delay and miscommunications on behalf of Sandra. However vehilce status was communicated to Mr ***** who dropped the vehicle off as he insisted that we follow up with him. At drop off we let Mr ***** know that it could be a day or two before we got a chance to look at the vehicle due to being backed up in the shop. Because of the time delay we put Mr ***** in a rental vehicle at no cost. Again when Mr ***** dropped off the vehicle he requested that we update him so initially Sandra was communicating with him. Ms ***** did make a call to Sandra about communicating with her not Mr ***** and we did have a conversation with Sandra about follow up and communication VIA email.  The system that the advisors use only accepts capital letters and Sandra neglected to take off the caps lock when responding to Ms. *****. We apologized for this.

 

In reference to Carlos. He is the Service Director not the Service Manager which was explained by Chris with Nissan consumer affairs. As a Director Carlos holds the highest position in the Service Department as both Chris and Carlos had explained.  He at no time made any threats, but only offered to deliver the vehicle personally to meet the demands Ms ***** had requested. Delivering vehicles is not a common practice at our dealership hence the reason for providing rental vehicles. Ms ***** was not billed for any of the work completed on the vehicle.

The gear was sticking when the porter pulled up in the vehicle this was due to a combination of soda that was spilt on the shifter prior to drop off at our locationl and needing some lubrication due to normal use. We pulled the consul, cleaned it and put lube on at no cost to Ms. *****.

 All work was completed and the vehicle was picked up earlier today (May 4th)  at no cost to Ms *****. In addition she was given a Nissan Altima for 18 days while her vehicle was being worked on at no cost to her.

 We apologize for any miscommunication that occurred during this process. As Ms ***** has her car and was not billed for any services we are considering this matter closed.

 Warm Regards,

 

David M********

Owner Loyalty Manager

McDavid Nissan

Business Response:

We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your last visit and the poor communication you recieved. We would be more then happy to look at your vehicle to take a look at your concerns. We will assign a different advisor when you come in. Due to the recent floods we are backed up in the shop and it may take a day or two to be looked at, however we will provide a loaner vehicle and get the vehicle to the front of the work list. You may call me directly to set up an appointement or stop by at your convenience.

Sincerely,

David M********

Owner Loyalty Manager

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10605735, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  

There is no way I am taking my car back to this dealership. I will not put myself in a position to be lied to any more, intimidated or have even more damage done to my car. Like I was told before, I would like to take my car to another Nissan dealership and David McDavid Nissan or Nissan corporate cover the cost of the diagnosis and any damage that you caused my car. My car has never made the noises before it was in your possession and I am not confident in the fact that you will fix it or make some other part of my car worse than it was before. Taking it to a different service advisor would be the same as taking it back to Sandra. There is a lack of professional training throughout this facility so it wouldn't matter what other advisor would be handling my situation. I will not go back to this dealership.

Regards,

***** *****
 

5/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This has happened to me twice with this company in the past three months. I was contacted by a woman by the name of ****, she told me that I had been approved for a vehicle. I asked if my credit had been ran, she said yes, I asked how much I had been approved for, she said up to $20,000, I asked her which financial company had I been approved with, she said she couldn't say. I asked numerous amounts of times that if I took the hour and fifteen minute drive to *******, if I would be able to leave with a car, she said yes. So I took the hour and fifteen minute drive and arrived at the dealership. I was greeted right away. I asked to speak with **** and I never saw her. A sales person ran my credit, yet again(which shouldn't have been needed if I had already been approved as **** had stated prior to my arrival) and the salesperson informed me that, as per my credit, I wouldn't be able to get a car. Which is what I didn't and still don't understand because I had been told, before making a long drive, that I had 100% been approved for a vehicle. But the salesperson(******** informed me that **** had basically lied just to get me out there for them to turn me down. I believe this to be false advertising and misleading to the consumer(me) and extremely dishonest.

Desired Settlement: I would love for the company to stop lying and start being honest to their customers. If a car dealership tells me I've been approved for a vehicle, I expect to be able to go to the dealership and leave with a vehicle by the end of the day. What I don't expect is to be given the run around.

Business Response:

I just spoke with *** ******* and apologized for the incovenience of coming out.  I explained the pre-approval process and how it works as well to clear up any miscommunications. I have addressed the sales rep and explained the process to him as well so he is more educated on how the pre-approval process works.

Again we apologize for any miscommunication and look forward to serving you in the future should your purchasing status change.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *********

***** ******* ******* 

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my **** ****** ****** to David mcdavid for schedual maintenance under purchased maintenance plus package this morning 4/15/2015. Notice after leaving facility that the rpm gauge needle was moving back and forth between 0 and 1000 rpm's. And vibration when idiling . this problem did not exist prior to taking my vehicle in this morning!!! Also notice/and heard hissing under hood. This is my second complaint(not with BBB) my first complaint involved service dept not rotating my tire although it is part of my maintenance plus package service dept lied stating they rotated my tires however I pointed out defect on back rims ,that were still on the back of the vehicle in the same position as the car was brought in for service. The service mechanic as well the service manager later admitted that the tire were in fact not rotated after I showed them defect on rims proving no rotation of tires. Manager made employee rotate tires.

Desired Settlement: Fix / repair the rpm issue and the vibration /air/vacum leak issue WANT VEHICLE RESTORED TO ORIGINAL STATUS AS PRIOR TO SERVICE THIS MORNING!!! Vehicle had no such proplem until after service

Business Response:

Called and left *** ***** a message today to bring the vehicle in. We will have our Service Manager *** **** do a ride along to help identify *** ****** concerns and get them addressed with respect to the RPM needle jumping and the noise in the engine.  In looking at the notes for the service advisor the tires were not rotated as the tread didn't deam necessary. This will be checked and can be completed if it is needed.

 

Warm Regards

***** *********   

***** ******* *******   

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.

Please note, a current solution to resolve this matter is to speak with company representative regarding mcdavid service department customer and my experience/encounter with this department.


 

4/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/12/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Violations under the Deceptive Trade Practices-Consumer Protection Act, conspiracy, and invasion of privacy. Recently I made an inquiry to purchase a new vehicle online. The next day, I received an e-mail from a **** **** with McDavid Nissan of Houston stating that my credit application was "being reviewed and [she] will be following up with [me] soon." Shortly thereafter I received a phone call originating from ***** ******** that I am glad I sent to voicemail because it was **** ****. In her voicemail she states that she has a "zero down approval for me" and for more information to give her a call. Although I had not considered purchasing a Nissan, a "zero down approval" did appeal to me so I decided to schedule an appointment to visit McDavid Nissan. During the week prior to my appointment, I spoke to **** on a number of occasions and she assured me it would not be a waste of my time and that she had a "zero down approval" for me. Unfortunately, the 2 hour drive ended up being nothing more than a "lure" where I witnessed other customers falling prey to McDavid Nissan's predatory lending tactics.In my case, I have recently graduated from law school and am currently pursuing a Masters in Law and was able to immediately recognize the scam. As in other cases, **** was nowhere to be found. I was required to fill out another credit application. There was no "zero down approval" as previously promised and now my phone calls to **** were falling on deaf ears. I demanded my paperwork back, which they refused to return to me, and asked me to leave their premises. Needless to say, I ended up going to Lone Star Ford and purchased a brand new Ford Explorer Limited Edition.

Desired Settlement: I have every intent to seek all remedies under the law against McDavid Nissan, **** ***** and others for violations under the Deceptive Trade Practices-Consumer Protection Act, conspiracy, and invasion of privacy. Online I have come across an alarming number of complaints dealing with similar experiences as mine against McDavid Nissan and believe it's time a class be formed to stop their predatory practices.

Business Response:

*** ********* claims are without merit.  We received a prescreened credit application for him from a third party provider.  He was pre-approved based on the information that he submitted.  When he arrived at our dealership he refused to produce the required information such as his SSN, proof if income, etc.  In addition he also provided a different employer than he originally put online.  I can provide recorded calls that will verify this information as well as the documents that were fill out at the dealership by him when he did come in.   Therefore we were unable to move forward with his transaction. 

 

 

**** *****

General Sales Manager

******* ****** ************ ****** ************ ****** ************ *** ****************** *********************  

3/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** the loan manager gave false information after calling my phone all day on Jan **, 2014 about my approval of a vehicle. Sat morn *** **, 2014 I applied online for a vehicle and about 30 min to an hour later ******* called from McDavid Nissan saying that I'd been approved for a vehicle with 0 down. She asked if I could come into their dealership that day and I told her that I'd have to get a rentall car if I was going to be driving all the way to Houston. I asked ******* was she sure that I was approved with 0 down and she said yes. I started calling some rental car locations but most of them were closed on Saturdays. ******* called me back again and I told her I was trying to get there. I told ******* that I was only interested in a Chevy Tahoe or a Surburban and asked her if they had any on their used lot. ******** told me to go online and check their inventory. I checked the inventory and there was no Tahoes or Surburbans. I called ******* back and she said they get cars in all the time and it hadn't been updated and said we have plenty Tahoes and Surburbans here on the lot so just come in and we'll get you in one. ******* called about 4 more times within the next couple of hours and I told her that I ws still trying to get a ride. My fiance' talked to her a couple of those times and asked her if she was sure that they had Tahoes and Surburbans and she told her yes, we have plenty and its 0 down. ******* then called and said I'll set your appt for my last one which is 7pm and I agreed. ******* called several more times saying just get here and you'll be driving away today. I have all of your info here and you'll only be working with me. She said she wouldn't be able to keep hold this 0 down special so I had to make it that same day. Since I was promised a Tahoe or Surburban for 0 down and 100% approval my last resort was to rent a Uhaul cargo van since all rental locations were closed. My fiance' and I got to Houston that evening and met with ******* maybe 2 min.

Desired Settlement: We got there and there were no Tahoes or Surburbans and the guy she handed us off to said that there was no way that I'd be leaving with a car on this evening so he didn't know why ******* told me that. He said ******* had lied to me about Tahoes being there. I just want my money back for wasting it on something that was promised to me by *******...a McDavid Nissan employee. The truck was $19.95 and .59 cents per mile. The entire trip ended up being right at 200 miles. I called ******* & no answ

Business Response:

From: **** ***** **** ***************************
Sent: Wednesday, February **, 2014 12:14 PM
To: drteam
Subject: RE: Your Membership is in Jeopardy! David McDavid Nissan *******

This customer was approved for an auto loan.  The customer expressed interest in a Tahoe or Suburban and the customer was informed that we did not have one in stock.  There were also informed that we could locate them one from one of our other dealerships.  The customer arrived at our location after 7:00 pm and wanted a vehicle brought in that night.  This request was not possible due to the time of day and resources that would be required to accomplish this.

 

At this point I will send them a $100 VISA gift card as a goodwill gesture.

 

**** *****

General Sales Manager

McDavid Nissan

************ ******

************ ******

************ ***

******************

*********************

 

1/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I both a car ******** from McDavid Nissan. The sells consultant(****** ********)gave me his card and told me if I referred someone and they both a car, McDavid Nissan would give me 100.00 referral per customer. I sent 2 customers. ***********(* ******** and * ******).***** I called ****** and he said it would be 2 weeks before I receive the checks. I received no checks. I called ****** back on ***** he said he would get back with me. I did not hear back. I went to McDavid on ***** to pick up my plates. I talked to ****** and was send to ********* ******. ********* said he would have checks ready ***** and ****** asked I had anymore referrals and I said yes, but you have not paid the first 2. He said ********* ****** will take care of that. I can not get a response out of ****** or ********* as of today *****. The business card clearly says 100.00 dollar referral per customer.

Desired Settlement: I send this company business. Now paid me for the two customers I send. You said you would.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

This letter is to inform you that David McDavid Nissan has carried out to my satisfaction the resolution it proposed for my complaint, filed on ********* ******* ** and assigned ID *******.

Regards,

***** ******

8/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a car loan online on ********. I recived a call from ******** on ******** @ ***** am stating that I was pre approved for a $****** car loan zero down. ******* stated that I would have to bring my last two check stubs,id and prood of resident. Upon my arrival I signed in and presented all documents. After about 45 mins a sellsman by the name of ***** approached me and asked that we go out to the car lot to pick out a car. Every car I picked out ***** stated that the listed price was for customer with a *** credit score and that I would need ***** down. I explained that I was not informed of this and could I please have my paperwork back. ***** stated that he could not give me back my paperwork because the paperwork was needed for the warehouse. ***** couldn't explain why or what the warehouse was. Spoke with ******** who was suppose to be a manager and he was very rude,loud and unprofessional.At this time I turned around and walked out upset and blood pressure high by now. I cried all the way home because of the treatment I received

Desired Settlement: I would like compensation for my gas wasted and my information returned to me...

Business Response:

I apologize for having to communicate under these unfortunate circumstances, but I want to make sure that you understand that we want to earn your business and help you with a vehicle purchase.  When you are pre-approved for a vehicle, that pre-approval is contigent upon factors, such as income and the income must be verified with documentation.  Each lender has their own qualifications and we must make sure that we collect the documentation and adhere to their guidelines for the approval.  The total amount to be financed must fall into the range that the lender determines, and may require a down payment.  Again, I apologize for any inconvenience and misunderstanding that occurred during your visit to ******* ******.  Our goal is to sell a vehicle to you of your choice and we make every effort to do so.

Respectfully,

*** ******

General Sales Manager

******* ******

 

 

 

 

 

6/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On ***** ** **** ****** from David McDavid Nissan called me and said I was approved for a loan of 24,000 with no money down or any out of pocket expenses. I question that for a moment and she ensures me that I can come down pick out a car and fill out some simple paperwork and drive home that night. I get there and she is not the one that I deal with they send me to a sales who takes my pay check stubs. takes me for my test drive. then comes and tells me that I will not be able to take the car home tonight, that he wants to summit my app to another bank. that it would be the next day. They have been very deceitful the entire . the next day they come and tell me that the bank said they can approve me for 8500, and then tell me that that do not have any cars that are in that price range. then I talk to an manager who tells me we can find you one but i will have to come up with 1500 for ttl. when I was told the day before that I would not have to pay anything out of pocket. well when I told him I would report this to the BBB he said with a laugh do what you have to do.

Desired Settlement: For them to live up to there promises that I can drive out with a car with no out of pocket expenses. for them to be apologetic to me for wasting my time.

Business Response:

Hello Mr. ******,

I apologize for the delay in responding to your letter.  I apologize for any miscommunication concerning the pre-approval for a car loan.  The information that you submit to our internet sales persons facilitates a pre-approval, but the final determination is made when income and other qualifications have been presented and verified.  When have no intentions of being deceitful, as our goal is to put you into a vehicle of your choice and build a long-lasting relationship with you and all of our guests and customers.  The individual lenders have their own requirements for loan applications and approvals, and we must adhere to those qualifications.

 

Thanks for contacting us,

*** ****** ******* ***** ******* ******* ******

 

 

 

6/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last ********* (*********), I found the information from the dealership's *******:**** ****** ******** * ***** **** ******: *************************************************** *************** made my ****** inquiry immediately:1. Is it available2. How many ***** on the truck3. What is the **** ***** out price ****** *****, the ******** ***** *******, answered my inquiry, "The **** ***** out price is: $*********. Offer good for ***** only, ******** price will go up." and "The price is good for *****... I will be here until * pm."I arrived at the dealership around**** pm. **** the ***** ******, showed me the truck and helped me fill out ********** form.While I was waiting, *** asked me if I needed to finance the truck. I told him I would pay cash.Then, a *** (later, I found his **** is ****** *******) came to me and asked me to pay extra $****+ to get the truck. I told him I had an ******** ***** by his ******** ***** *******, ****** *****. I showed him the **** **** of email from ******. He ******* at me and claimed that he did not know ******, his ******** ***** *******. When I asked to see a ******* in charge, he told me he was the ******** Then, I asked for his business card to make a complaint. He wrote ****** ***** on a piece of card, not his own ***** When I tried to remember his**** outside glass wall of his ******* he put his hand inched away from my *** ******* to prevent me from remembering his ****. Though he lent me his pen to write down his **** later. He ******* at me repeatedly not getting the truck I wanted to buy in front of his other ***** ******. He even ********** me that he was going to call ****** to get me out of his dealership. I told him I did not do anything wrong.

Desired Settlement: I want to know why did the dealership send out the ******** **********, then, did not want to ***** the price the **** day. Is it the common ******** ********* practice at this dealership?Because it was an ******** sale, if the ***** was too high to afford, I would say "no" to the ****** I would not drive to the dealership wasting my time and gas.In addition, is it common at this dealership to treat a ******** the way ****** ******* treated me that day?

Business Response:

Mr. *****

I hope all is well with you and let me apologize for having to correspond for the purposes which you outlined in your letter.  I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and ********************** that you may have encountered during your visit to McDavid Nissan.  We take pride in treating all of our ****** and ********* with respect and courtesy, and we expect nothing less for everyone that walks through our doors. 

I would like to offer you a ***** of apology with a $** **** ****. Please contact me to  verify your ******* so that we can mail the **** to you. 

Have a wonderful and safe ******* ******** 

*** ************* ***** *******

McDavid Nissan

 

 

6/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I filled out an ****** request for **** *********, david mcdavid called me and told me I was approved for $***** no down payment, no if's and's or but's, I was approved, so I drove to the lot and filled out yet another set of *****. after a few minutes a man named ***** showed me some vehicles. after choosing one I was told that I needed money down and a ** ******. this is happening to several people as I sit there and notice all the people arguing with the ***** *****, making excuses as to why its not the ******* fault and what we should have done , rather the point is that they used ********* ********* to get customers to drive down to the dealer just to be **********. I believe its a case of **** and ****** of sorts because we are promised the financing is already there, truth is its not. its just a ****** to get people in the door so the ******** can play **********

Desired Settlement: well the issue for me is that my ****** ******* now shows a **** because I applied for ****** on the promise that the financing was already there which isn't true. I was told that it was a ****** ****** program but all it did was make my ****** ******* look worse.i would like the********* removed, but I doubt it can

Business Response:

Hi Mr. **********

I apologize for the experience you may have had at McDavid Nissan.  When you inquired about a vehicle and completed an ****** ***********, you were given a ************ for a vehicle.  We must verify the information that you included on your ***********, such as ******, and then submit your *********** to ******* to gain an ********. The final determination is made by the ******* and we must adhere to their ************** and *************  Your *********** is submitted to as many ******* as needed to gain an approval, and once submitted, there is no way to ******* the inquiry. I apologize for the inconvenience.  

We are in business to sell vehicles, therefore we have nothing to gain by not selling you a car or truck of your choice.  We want you to have what you want and we want to continue to service your vehicle as long as you own it. 

I sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your needs, but we definitely had no intentions of trying to ******* you. We want to build a lasting relationship with you as we do with all of our customers and guests. 

Please contact ***** ******, ************** *********, so that we can mail the **** **** to you.

 

Thank you,

*** ************* ***** *******

McDavid Nissan

 

 

4/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went to the delership becuse they said i was preaproved for a car i asked them how they got my infromation they said the app i fild out on line whic i did not do i did it last year. and when i asked if this was a scam she said no i was aproved for up to $24000 all i need to do was bring in 3 thing a bill my last pay ck stub and onther bill with my name and adress so i said if i get ther my credit wont pass she then told me i was already aproved just come in and pic out a car or truck so like a dumb *** i did i get ther they tell me to sing in at the front dest i asked them again do u need to run my credit she said no it all been done so i get with a sales man he starts geting my infromation agin i told him i thought thes was all done he said no they need to run my credit i told him not to worry about it i keep my car my credt wont pass so i told him again dont run it. so i left then i have an app called credit karma it showed up that they ran my credit after i told them not to so i called back and asked why they ran it she said they did not know so s the mgr would look in to it so she called me back and said as i singed in at the front desk so that they could do what ever they wanted i told thim i did not give them permishon she lauged and hung up the ph i called back and asked to speek to some one in charg she said she was the manger and not to call back they can do what they want with my infromation i told her i did not give them permishon nor i gave them my socal she said they got it off the app i told i did not give it to them she said they got it form the one i feld out in may .she was lauging and very rude about it and have i told them iwante dot speek to some one above her and she again hung up the ph.i dont know why she ran my credit report when i told them i was not intresed in geting a car i now my credit would not pass and they did it with out my permishon.

Desired Settlement: they need to figuer out a way to take it off my credit report now it shownign as a hair inquire 16 times dont know how they can get away with doining somthing like this there busnes practe are terablel and somthing need to be done about this .so i hope you can help.

Business Response:

Mr. *********,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at McDavid Nissan.  I apologize for any misunderstanding that you may have regarding the procedure for credit applications.  When you completed the credit application, you also gave authorization for McDavid Nissan to access your credit information. We do not compromise when it comes to getting proper authorization to obtain customer information. 

We value your business and would like to assist you with obtaining a vehicle, so please keep us in mind when you are ready to purchase your next vehicle.

 

*** ******
******* ***** *******

(713)941-0600

 

3/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Faslse advertising- I recently applied on line and recieved a call back from a ******* ****- telling me i have been approved for a car loan with 0 down amout up to 20,000. She states she has received my information andi was approved based on my credit. I again asked if this amount down would change in anyway once i got there. I was driving close to 200 miles to this dealership. Once there i noticed 4 others asking for the same lady-- in which none of us saw her. My appointment was for **** ****. I left the dealership at **** after being told that these are mearly calls made to customers trying to get business. I was very upset-- felt this was false advertising. I did not see the person ******* who made the appointment with me at all. I called back on todays date to speak with ******* and was told she was on the other line..then stated i need to speak with the salesperson that helped me the other day. Expressed my dissatisfaction with the dealership and reported to them that i would be contacting BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed for my time and gas spent traveling from silsbee to Houston and missed work.

Business Response:

Ms. ******,

I received your correspondence regarding your experience at McDavid Nissan on ******* ****.  I'm not sure why we were unable to assist you with a vehicle of your choice, but I assure you that we had no intention of misleading you.  Yes we want to sale you a vehicle and build a long lasting relationship of service and sales.  You were pre-qualified to purchase a vehicle, but that was based on information received on your online application.  This information must be verified and submitted to a lender for approval.  The lender has their requirements and you must meet the requirements to be approved by the lender.  Again, I apologize for your experience but we want you to keep us in mind for any future vehicle purchases or service needs on your vehicles.  I would like express my sincere apology for your experience at McDavid Nissan with a gift card.  Please respond with an address where I can send it. 

Thank you,

*** ******

McDavid Nissan

****** ***** ******

(***) ********

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. My address is *** ***** *** *** ** ******* ***** *****

Regards,

********* ******


 

2/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello *******: This email is to confirm your zero down bank approval from McDavid Nissan. Please bring in the following information:1) Most recent check stub2) two bills with your address on them (do not have to be in your name)3) Your valid drivers licensePlease come to McDavid Nissan Finance building (which is the building right between New cars and Preowned) located at the address above. Upon arrival you need to come inside the building and sign in with our receptionist and ask for me. I am looking forward to meeting you and earning your business.****** ************************** NissanI was sent this email. I called to confirm that everything listed above was correct. "******" stated that yes, I could come in and choose a NEW Nissan for purchase. There is NO ******, I took off from work because of the operating hours to see ******. I lost three hours of work from a single source income for the household to be duped! ****** ******* informed me there was nothing they can do, "so sorry"! Seriously! With today's economy with everyone trying to rebuild from something, David McDavid takes advantage of this to see if I MIGHT be a potential customer. This is what you call A- Better Business Rated Company? Get online and find out how many in Houston are not agreeing with the Better Business Bureau. I have been lied to and robbed from! Now the question is, do you work for them or for the consumer?

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay me my three hours of time I lost from work and explanation to my boss as to why they lied to me and caused me to believe I could leave work to purchase a vehicle.

Consumer Response: David McDavid Nissan REFUSES to answer my phone calls.

Business Response:

*** *******

I sent an email directly to you at **********************  If you are agreeable to my offer please contact me directly.

Thanks and have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

It was just NOT saying I was pre-approved.  I have recorded conversation where a non-existant "******" has stated that I was BANK APPROVED FOR A NO DOWN PAYMENT LOAN  which I repeatedly asked if this information was correct or just a pre-liminary approval.  I was assured I was APPROVED and all I had to do was to come in and pick my NEW NISSAN.  I again called and asked if this information was correct and I was told AGAIN that it was and to bring the documents requested and I would be able to PURCHASE A NEW NISSAN!  I NEVER ONCE TALKED WITH ****** WHEN I ARRIVED EVEN THOUGH SHE CALLED RIGHT BEFORE I SHOWED UP TO MAKE SURE I WAS COMING IN!  This is what I am upset about!  You never once stopped the lies when you could have.......no you went on with them until you were sure that I was not of any worth to David McDavid Nissan.....except one problem  YOU STOLE MY TIME, MY PAY, AND MY TRUST!!!!!!!!!!!!  I took off from work because of the lies you told and I know I can go to court and sue for the money you stole and the duress you caused me, and the jeopardy you placed me in from losing my job from believing I would be purchasing a new car.  My boss would like to see that new car David McDavid.........where is it?  Why would you not take my phone calls once I left the dealership if you have nothing to be guilty of doing?  I will submit phone records for proof!

Regards,

******* ******


 

Consumer Response: Here is another person stating basically the same story! Again, they DO NOT state pre-approval; they are stating that YOU ARE APPROVED! That is the crime here that I need the BBB to investigate, please. Again, where is this ****** that calls and makes the false promises to the public? Below is a link to another person who was lied to by David McDavid........I think there is a pattern being established. ********************************************************************************************* Recommend this dealer? No Purchased a vehicle from this dealer? No David McDavid Nissan I should have took the advice from the previous I read online about this company. I got a phone call from ****** she told me I was approved for 24k no money down. Was very leary about this so I asked her how is this possible? She said this is a second chance loan. So I told her my current situation. That I would be coming in with NO Downpayment and again she assured me it was ok I was already approved all I need to do is come in with proof of residency,check stubs driver license. She she assured me thats all I needed to bring and that I would be driving off the car lot today. It took me over an hour for me to get there in the rain and fog I may add. Just for the salesman who btw wasnt who I spoke to over the phone to tell me you only qualify for a car in the 15k range and you also need a 1,500 down payment. What!!! The salesman oh yea thats for the tax,title license. So I do need a down payment is what your telling me. He replies yes mam. That's what they do. They lie to get there and waste your time and theres. The nerve of this company. When you ask them what bank approved you they wont give you that answer either. I hope this helps someone. Read all the reviews before going to this company and compare it to what they are telling you. Trust me it will save you time and the grief.

Business Response:

*** *******

We would like to speak with you directly and find out exactly how we can help resolve the issues that you may have encountered. I have your contact phone number and you should receive a call from *** ******, ******* ***** *******, shortly.

Thank you for your patience.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******

 


 

1/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hat she didn't think my credit was pulled. She quickly pulled back from that statement cause I was getting visably upset. She even stated well maybe they have it somewhere, I'll look when we get back from the test drive. I already knew where this was going. They have you fill out this application on site telling you they need to verify everything you put online which again is a lie because they never ran anything in the first place. Long story short they couldn't approve me, even come close to approving me. I needed a co signer and a lot of prayer. Get home go online and see all the similar complaints with almost the same wording given to them. MCDavid Nissan should really change their practices.

Desired Settlement: N/a

Business Response:

Our goal at David McDavid Nissan is to assist all customers in purchasing a vehicle and we regret not earning your business. I apologize for the miscommunication about the finance process. Though we were not able to put you into the vehicle of your choice, we certainly had no intention of misleading you or attempting to deceive you in any way. We attempt to handle all customers and purchases with integrity and outstanding customer service, because we value you and your business.

Please know that we don't take the missed opportunity to meet your vehicle purchase needs lightly.

Our goal at McDavid Nissan is to assist all customers in choosing and purchasing a vehicle, and we would love the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and to help you with any future vehicle purchases.

 

Sincerely,

*** ******

******* ***** *******

McDavid Nissan

Pre-Owned

12/21/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/9/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband was told my a woman named ****** that he was approved for a car with $0 down. I even spoke with her myself and she told me what she had told him. I asked her again that we will not need anything down she said no and that the ttl would be put on loan and to come in and bring the proper papers (boils, checkstub). Why after talking to someone not ******, they tell us we need $1500 down? We drove 2 he's out our way wasted gas money to just be lied to. This is not right and I feel something should be done for false information.

Desired Settlement: I spent $40 for gas and $20 on food. Would like that back plus for my time and SN apology.

Business Response:

Ms. *****,

Let me apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit to McDavid Nissan.  The information that you provided online is used for pre-approval on a vehicle purchase.  Approvals are contingent upon verifiable information and lender requirements.  I apologize for any misunderstanding, because our goal is assist you in purchasing a vehicle of your choice and continuing to assist you with any service needs in the future.  I would like to offer you a $50 AMEX gift card for your time and expense.  Please respond and let me know where to mail the card.

Respectfully,

*** ******
*** ******

General Sales Manager

McDavid Nissan

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait until for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** *****

 


 

 

10/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues