BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas

This Business is not BBB accredited

Baker Nissan South

Phone: (713) 661-9955 View Additional Phone Numbers 2901 South Loop West, Houston, TX 77054 http://www.bakernissan.com ! There is an alert on Baker Nissan South !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells new and pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1997 Business started: 05/01/1997
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://dmv.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Contact Information
Principal: Sylinda Kenyan
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS NEW CARS

Industry Tips
AUTOMOBILE LEASING TIPS AUTOMOBILE PURCHASING TIPS INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR THREE DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL THE TEXAS LEMON LAW & BBB AUTO LINE

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2901 South Loop West

    Houston, TX 77054 (713) 349-6170 (713) 661-9955

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (713) 349-6170(Phone)
  • (877) 471-5620(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

According to information in BBB files, this business is no longer in business.


Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A clattering noise began in the engine. I called my personal mechanic and he said that it might be a spark knock and suggested that I take it to the dealer to have it diagnosed. I took my vehicle to Baker Nissan South, Friday, January 4, 2013. It was running and running well except for the clattering noise. The car had been tuned up with a throttle body cleaning two weeks before I took it to Baker Nissan. ***** ******* told me he would call me, ********* ******* * with the evaluation of my car by 10 am. I called ***** ******* at 10:04 am to ask him, "what's wrong with my car?" He replied they had just finished looking at it and he was doing a price work up on it. ***** called me back and told me that a combination of a bad coil and a bad passenger and rear motor mount was causing the car to "clatter" and I told him I would come and pick the car up. He said, "OK". He called me back in about 15 minutes and told me, "In putting the engine back together, the car would not start." I said, " when I brought it to you it was running and running well." I told him I will come pick the car up. I went to Baker Nissan South Service area. I asked to speak to ***** *******'s supervisor, he escorted me to speak with ****** ******. I told Mr. ****** what happened and initially he told me, yes I understand what's going on; what I can offer you is a free tow for your car. I looked at him and replied, "I brought the car in running well and now it doesn't run. If this is the option you choose then I will take it and write, email and telephone whoever I can find to complain about this incident. I will contact your manager, his manager, the regional manager, the store owner, Nissan USA and if need Nissan International." I told him, I am not expecting anything but my car running the same way it was when I brought it in. He decided to ask me if he could keep the car until Monday, January 7, 2013. He told me he would look at the vehicle again. I bought and brought four coils and he volunteered to install them. ***** ******* called me and asked if he could place me on speaker phone so that ****** ****** (his supervisor) and **** ******** (the ******* ********) could listen. ****** ****** began telling me that now my vehicle had a problem with the ECM connecting with the third coil and the vehicle was running bad. I asked him when you say running bad, do you mean, like it was running when I brought it in (he did not reply). ***** ******* interjected, It was running bad when you (me) brought it in. I told all of them I would pick the vehicle up by 11:00 and 11:30 am. I picked the vehicle up and on the evaluation of the car, there was no mention of problematic passenger and rear motor mounts on the vehicle evaluation. As I was driving out the dealership, I noticed the car didn't have the same acceleration as when I brought it. As I drove the car and approached a signal and had to stop, the car fell dead and it fell dead at all stops. Before I took it to the dealership, it ran well. When I arrived at my home which is 5 miles away, the car died again. I called the Baker Nissan South Service center and asked for ***** ******* at 11:35 am, January 7, 2013 and he did not answer; after waiting on hold for 5 minutes, I called back and asked for ****** ******. After waiting 3 minutes, ****** ****** answered. I told him how the car was running poorly and he said, he couldn't do anything about my car. I asked ****** ****** if I could speak with **** ******** and now he told me Mr. ******** was in Las Vegas and would not be back until Thursday, January 10, 2013. I told him that I was disappointed that he was choosing that option. I told him, "Thank You and have a good day." I called the national line and spoke to ****** and told him my story, he gave me the reference number.

Desired Settlement: I want my vehicle running the way it was when I left it with them.

Business Response:

We have attached write up sheet showing the condition of the vehicle at time of arrival along with the customers signature on the high mileage statement.

Customer came in on Friday, January 4, 2013 and spoke with ***** *******. ***** made an analysis on vehicle; initial complaint was a “clattering noise.” Service engine light was on when it arrived. Vehicle came in running rough and almost dying, technician had to push it into the Service bay. ***** contacted him and said the coils needed to be replaced in order to start before we could make a full diagnostic on the vehicle. Customer wanted to get the car running and we did so. When he left it was still running rough. Came back the next day and was told his ECM needed to be replaced. There was an electrical short which cause the ECM to short out due to bad coils. Saturday, he spoke with ****** ****** and was convinced to leave vehicle overnight for repairs. He wasn’t charged any fees and he furnished his own after market coils for us. He then contacted Nissan North America as well as a mechanic friend of his. Baker Nissan South did everything in their power to resolve the issue, but customer was still dissatisfied. The vehicle has high mileage. He has also reached out to **** ********, Service Director of Baker Nissan South. Nissan turned him down, the mechanic he spoke to, called and was explained what the problem was; he completely understood and agreed with us as well. Customer seeking 100% repairs of his vehicle, Baker Nissan South feels it’s done everything in our power to satisfy the customer. We also gave him the quote for the ECM replacement and he declined.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

BBB Comments: Dec. 30, 2010, Baker Nissan South issued a statement to the BBB demanding that the BBB no longer send complaints to the company and Baker South Nissan has asked for any and all correspondence to be discontinued and terminated.

10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1