BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Greater Houston and South Texas
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Baker Nissan North?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Baker Nissan North

Phone: (281) 890-5656 View Additional Phone Numbers 19630 Northwest Frwy., Houston, TX 77065 http://www.bakernissan.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells new and pre-owned vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Baker Nissan North meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Baker Nissan North include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1990 Business started: 02/21/1990 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Motor Vehicles
4000 Jackson Ave, Austin TX 78731
http://dmv.state.tx.us/
Phone Number: (888) 368-4689

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Godwin, General Manager Ms. Margie Tidwell, Customer Relations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Godwin, General Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS USED CARS

Industry Tips
AUTOMOBILE LEASING TIPS AUTOMOBILE PURCHASING TIPS INFORMATION ABOUT YOUR THREE DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL THE TEXAS LEMON LAW & BBB AUTO LINE

Additional Locations

  • 19630 Northwest Frwy.

    Houston, TX 77065 (281) 890-5656

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 251-2268(Phone)
  • (281) 897-1658 (Fax)
  • (281) 897-1687 (Fax)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Kempner, TX which is 4 hours from Houston, TX. I went through my bank **** and to purchase a vehicle. I had 100% loan approval and everything to purchase said vehicle from Baker Nissan. I spent Friday (********) negotiating with my salesman via telephone. He called me and asked when I could have THEIR car their (referring to my trade-in). He told me that we had a deal and asked when could I be in. I explained to him that I would be there in the morning because I am 4 hours away and it was already 7pm and I couldn't make it before they closed Friday. I left my house at 7AM Saturday (********)...I even called them and let my salesman know that I was on my way...deal was good and we were all set, I just had to "test drive". I arrived and everything was fine. I test drove the vehicle and was in process of completing the sale as we had agreed...I had already been approved through MY bank. Another salesperson then came in and took the keys to the truck and said he sold the truck to someone else. The Sales *******, **** ****, even said the deal was WRONG but the ******* ******* approved for it to be sold out from underneath me. The ******* *******, ***** ******, said too bad and not his problem "first come first serve". This is VERY shady!! They didn't even offer to pay for the GAS that I WASTED for an 8 HOUR ROUND TRIP! Now I have unnecessary miles on a vehicle that I was going to use as a trade-in. They used this tactic to try and SELL me an inferior vehicle to me for the same price as the original vehicle I was purchasing. My salesman AND the Sales ******* were BOTH shocked that this occurred. The ******* ******* was WAY out of line and was "playing" a "who can I get more money out of GAME." They should be fined for POOR BUSINESS PRACTICES.

Desired Settlement: I think that the dealership should be fined for unsavory business practices! I also think that they should be required to reimburse me for my time, fuel, stress and the unnecessary mileage on my vehicle. $240 for 12 hours @ $20 an hour, $85.00 Fuel, $500 for the unnecessary wear and tear on my vehicle, mileage and my STRESS. For a total of $825.

Business Response: ******* agreed that it was a unforunate situation and never commented that he felt it was an unreasonable resolution. The customer called **** who also informed the customer that although it was unfortunate that it sometimes happens when you have multiple people on  with an appointment on the same vehicle. The online complaints can stand and we are satisfied they we made an effort to resolve this complaint. What is unforunate is that a reputable dealership must suffer from a customer's unfounded and unreasonable complaints. The customers version of the events are simply untrue. I am now going to give thanks for the wonderful employees that I have that must deal with customers who have unrealstic expectations and personal agendas that question the integrity of a business that has emphatically done the right thing under the circumstances.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

We are no longer engaging in this matter with the dealership.  There is no resolution to be made and now we are being personally defamed by implying that we are telling untruths and having a personal agenda!  Nothing in our complaint has been made to be untrue and there is no personal agenda either.  We even declined the $100 gift card and said an apology from the General Manager would be more acceptable because it wasn't about money it was the principle of the matter.  They declined to do so.

Yes, **** did say that these things sometimes happen and are unfortunate but they in no way approved of the "treatment" we received and they also said that their department would make note of it and they need to hear complaints like this.  This whole matter is very stressful and we don't want anymore dealings with the dealership.  We simply wanted to file a complaint with the BBB.  Now I feel this has turned into mud-slinging which is completely unnecessary or professional.  If the BBB feels there are OR are not grounds for a complaint, we are 100% understanding in the matter.    

Regards,

*** * **** ******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

BBB Comments: BBB determined the company made good faith and reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2003 Yukon XL on 12/03/11 with an extented warranty. I cancelled the warranty on 3/01/12. I paid $1500.00 for the warranty and only got back $835.00. All I am asking is too see something in writing on how they prorated my refund. I have talked to *******, ***** ** ,**** *****, and asked to speak to the general ,left him a message and never called me back. And there is no sense to ask to speak to the owner because I think he is the general manager. Now they say they treat their customers like family, but with a family like this who needs enemies , all they do is pass the back to one another and ignored my calls.

Desired Settlement: I would like to see something in writing on how they prorate refunds on warranty cancellations.

Business Response: From: ****** ******* *******************************
Sent: Tuesday, November 20, 2012 5:33 PM
To: drteam
Subject: Case # 
******** ****** ****** ******   
November 20, 2012                                                
Re:   Case #  *******                                                                                            

 ****** ****** ****** 

To Whom It May Concern: We have contacted Mr. ****** and explained the warranty cancellations are regulated by the insurance companies. The cancellations are based on time and mileage.  Mr. ****** did express that he had placed phone calls to the dealership that were not returned.  For the inconvenience, we offered him a gift card to take his family out to dinner and a check for two hundred dollars.   We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused Mr. ****** and hope this satisfies his concerns with the cancellation amounts. 

 

****** ******* Customer Relations ManagerBaker Nissan North19100 Northwest Frwy.Houston, Texas 77065Direct: ************************************

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/4/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/15/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
1