Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (808) 823-0077 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers wedding constultant, wedding planner services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alohanas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alohanas include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alohanas
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 09, 2009 Business started: 07/01/2002 Business started locally: 07/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W00443712-01.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Diana Jane Gardner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Diana Jane Gardner, Owner
Business Category

Wedding Consultants

Alternate Business Names
Alohana Weddings
Industry Tips

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Diana G****** as my wedding coordinator for our wedding in October of 2015. At the beginning of April we finalized the contract and paid the deposit. Over the next couple of weeks I sent Diana a few emails with what I had picked for my wedding (photographers, menu, decorations, etc). Since the beginning of April I have not had any contact with Diana or anybody else regarding my wedding in October which is only about 2 months away. I have sent her various emails throughout the months of April, May, June and July and also left her voicemails as well as contact requests on LinkedIn and other social media accounts. At this point I have been forced to continue my wedding with another company as Diana has still not returned my phone calls or emails.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my deposit of $300 refunded as I did not receive any type of service. My wedding is in 2 months on October 9th 2015 and I am already moving forward with another company.

Business Response: Hawaii's BBB,

Thank-you for your attention to this matter.
I sent correspondence via email to this customer on July 24th 2015 to plan for their October 2015 wedding. This was three days prior to them posting a complain with the BBB.
 In their complaint they wrote that they had not heard from anyone, which is untrue.
There were a total of 11 e-mails sent as well as phone consultations, providing them with the best vendors on island to choose from, decor ideas and catering options.
We hired their musician that they had decided upon as well as in room stylist, which we then cancelled on their behalf.
I sent another email to the customer to resolve this matter on August 16th 2015, and offered a full refund of deposit and settlement agreement, with no response to date.
It is clearly stated on the Wedding Agreement that the deposit is non refundable, which they signed upon booking in March 2015, though it was offered to satisfy the customer and resolve this matter.
It would be ideal and appreciated to not have a complaint against my business in any public forum, and resolved between the customer and myself and refund of the deposit.
I wrote that I simply do not want any hard feelings, understand that they have began to work with another company due to not hearing from me and felt concerned.
I  truly want to offer great customer service and care deeply about my clients satisfaction. I wished them the very best in their future and wedding plans.

Diana J. G******
Alohana Weddings