Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

A Fairy Tale Wedding

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 246-3922 P.O. Box 10590, Honolulu, HI 96816 http://twitter.com/wedtale View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers wedding planning, officiating wedding ceremonies, and wedding vow renewals in Oahu, Maui, Kauai and the Big Island of Hawaii.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Fairy Tale Wedding include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Fairy Tale Wedding
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 16, 2005 Business started: 09/01/1997 in HI Business started locally: 09/01/1997 Business incorporated 04/16/2014 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W00279816-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W01418094-02.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Rev. Jennifer Stiastny, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Rev. Jennifer Stiastny, Owner
Business Category

Wedding Consultants Wedding Supplies & Services Wedding Chapels & Ceremonies

Alternate Business Names
A Fairy Tale Wedding LLC
Industry Tips
PLANNING YOUR WEDDING

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 10590

    Honolulu, HI 96816

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 10590

    Honolulu, HI 96816

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wedding planner and officiant changed location of my wedding and did not ask me if this was ok nor advise me of this change. On April 1 2014 I chose A Fairy Tale Wedding to handle all of my destination wedding needs for my upcoming August 9, 2014 wedding to be held on Anaehoomalu Bay, on the Big Island of Hawaii. For the past 5 months I was under the impression that ******** and ***** ******** (owners of Fairy Tale Wedding) would be at our ceremony as officiant/coordinators. On July 20 I received a phone msg from ******** letting me know that ***** *** would be phoning me and he would be our officiant. No problem. I am planning my wedding from Seattle, WA and putting all trust in ******** to plan a "Fairy Tale Wedding" as promised. ******** stated that she lives on the island of Oahu and would not be present at my wedding as she would be conducting someone else's ceremony on Oahu that same day, August 9. On July 21, I spoke with ***** *** and planned out our entire ceremony. All details were in place, time and location of wedding, etc. We arrived on the Big Island on August 6, 2014. I spoke with ******** once as we were dealing with the threat of 2 hurricanes, possibly causing us to move our ceremony indoors. Fortunately the hurricanes passed us by and we had beautiful weather on the 9th. On Thursday August 7, our photographer **** ***** called to confirm our location on "A Bay" and he would see us Saturday. On Saturday August 9, day of wedding, I received a voicemail from ******** wishing me a happy wedding and if I had any questions she would be on call, and to call her if needed. My wedding ceremony was set for 6pm at A-Bay. From the get go, the plan was to meet the wedding team in the parking lot of A Bay at 5:45pm. At 5:50-5:55pm I received a phone call from our officiant ***** asking where we were. I said I am at A -Bay waiting on all of you, with the groom and 10 guests. ***** proceeded to tell me that the location of my wedding was changed and ******** was supposed to call me. They were waiting at the parking lot across from my hotel, ******** ***** ********. Not one phone call to ASK me if I was okay in changing my location. My husband and I had all of the details and location planned out and had done so the day prior to wedding so there would be NO PROBLEMS finding a good spot on the ***** to be married. The woman that ******** sent to take care of our flowers was also waiting in the same parking lot as no one told her there was a change. Per **** our photographer, ***** called him on Aug 8 and told him location was changed. Because of all the disaray and chaos, we lost 25 minutes of daylight for our pictures. Our photographer has been wonderful and feels horrible with what took place. He normally takes about 500 shots for a wedding and only was able to get about 200. He has offered to take more photos for us on the ***** but it is IMPOSSIBLE to reenact your wedding day!! I have left ******** two messages. She returned my call the first time and completely glossed over all of the details and is pointing blame to ***** *** the officiant for the location change. Either way, ******** should take full responsiblity. I PAID her to handle everything and trusted her. Her website is also misleading stating that you can have a wedding on any of the islands and she will come to you. Not true. She contracts out and you never meet the woman in person. Knowing what I know now, I NEVER would have gone through this company. Complete rip off!

Desired Settlement: First off, I would appreciate a phone call from ******** apologizing instead of glossing over the fact that there was a BIG screw up on my wedding day! Secondly, I would like a refund of $300 for the photos taken which is included in my package cost of $1565.44

Consumer Response: Please go ahead and close this case. We received and deposited a second check from A Fairy Tale Wedding. As of today, it has cleared the bank.
Thank you.

7/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure from company to refund full amount of payment for wedding coordination services. Request due to what we believe to be illegal work practices. Problem Date: Throughout the process April 2013-Present Purchase Date: April 3, 2013 (deposit) & December 9, 2013 (remaining amount) Payment Amount: $1242.15 (deposit) $3476.44 (remaining amount) Payment Method: Deposit : Credit Card (Mom's- Maranatha Mulhern Remaining amount: Credit Card (Zachery Mulhern) Order #s: Deposit: Transaction ID: ********** Invoice and Customer ID#:**** Remaining Amount: Transaction ID:********** Invoice and Customer ID#:**** The reason(s) we are asking for a refund vary and will be included in the following sentences. We have had the most unpleasant and stressful experience with ***** and ******** ******* at "A Fairytale Wedding." Communication throughout this process has been little to none, and follow-ups on phone calls have taken as long as a two- three weeks to receive a reply. It was a quite a bit of a hassle to get the song for my bride to walk down the aisle to, but hair dresser, limo, and other various services have been difficult to get straight answers on. We have heard through other coordinators that the beach we want to use was very rocky, and this was not disclosed. Also not disclosed is that it is hard to get a picture without a parking lot in the background. We also have spoken to the DLNR about the legality of chairs and a trellis on the beach, which they said are illegal. ***** has assured us it is, by "special permit" but as the DLNR says it, that is not the case. All of this being said, Thursday last week, we asked for a full refund, which they would not comply with. We are requesting the remaining balance ($3476.44) back immediately, and are prepared to take legal action on getting the deposit ($1242.15) back, on the grounds of illegal practices and lack of trust in the coordinators. This has been an ongoing process, as we have been with the company since April of last year(2013). We are very disappointed with the services and would not be willing to work with them further, we are simply asking for a refund so we can rush to pull our wedding together for the same dates as we are not the only ones flying out. We appreciate your hearing our concerns and hope to hear back from you promptly. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: A full refund of $4718.59 $1242.15 (Deposit) $3476.44 (Remaining amount) This amount by contract is guaranteed up to 45 calendar days before the wedding. When we called to request the money back, there was 50 calendar days.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/03/17) */ Re: Case ********: Mr. ******* ******* Dear BBB: I want to respond directly to this Customer Complaint. 0n April 3rd 2013 ****** ***** and ******* *. ****** of *********** ** reserved their April 4th 2014 wedding with a deposit of $1,242.15. In doing so and paying the deposit the electronic web version of the "Wedding Reservation Agreement" was submitted. It states that I've read and agree to it. For the last 12 years I do not go forward with a wedding unless this box has been checked. Please review the document that was submitted on Wednesday April 3rd 2013. If anyone attempts to submit a wedding order by clicking the Submit Form (bottom of the page) a 4.5 by 2.5 pop up box appears stating "You failed to provide the following information: Wedding Reservation Agreement You must fill in these missing Item(s) to submit this form". Client clicks "OK" and is taken back to complete their order. The client has to check the Wedding Reservation Agreement box before they can submit the form. Otherwise their wedding order cannot be submitted. I invite you to go to my website at http://www.getmarriedinhawaii.com and try this out for yourself. I do not go ahead and perform any action on any wedding unless this box is checked. In fact, it is impossible for anyone to order their wedding without acknowledging that they have read and agreed to the Wedding Reservation Agreement just as ********* ****** did on April 3rd 2013. The Reservation Agreement clearly states: "As wedding consultants we do not reserve dates or make wedding arrangement on behalf of a client until receipt of this form and a non-refundable deposit of $200 or 25% of the total order, whichever is greater, in U.S. dollars which authorizes and funds us to make wedding arrangement on your behalf. Note: Receipt of this form is also acceptable by submitting the electronic web version of the same, indicating that you have read and agreed to this agreement. We accept Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, certified check and money orders, your personal or business check will also secure your deposit and wedding reservation." The cancellation policy clearly states: if for any reason you need to cancel your wedding 45 calendar days or more before the wedding date, $200 or 25% (whichever is greater) will be retained to cover the cost or arranging and canceling your wedding. Canoellations less than 45 calendar days before the wedding date are non-refundable. I have a full wedding file on ****** ***** and ******* *. *******'s April 4th 2014 wedding. I am also sending: A copy of A Fairy Tale Weddings Reservation Agreement. A copy of a Department of Parks & Recreation Facility Permit allowing us to set up 20 chairs and an arch at Waimanalo and Walalae Beach. It is absolutely true that the State of Hawaii doesn't allow chairs or arches on any State Beaches. The County of Hawaii issues permits to the person who sets up the chairs and arch for us and don't move forward without a permit. ****** and ****'s Cover Letter Communication that we received confirmation from ****** and ****'s singer/guitar player that he will perform Canon in D for ******'s Processional. ****** ***** and ******* ******'s Wedding Order with notes and the submitted "I've read and agreed to it." Letter to ****** and **** concerning asking for police protection at their wedding since ****** asked me for it since in her words both families have a history of physical violence. This was a warning sign for me for after over 1500 weddings I have never had such a request for A Fairy Tale Wedding. I don't take any issue with ****** ***** and ******* ******* wanting to cancel their wedding. ****** and ******* mentioned that they didn't feel special. They also have commented that their wedding site was less than desirable. Over 90% of Oahu's weddings are performed at Waialae Beach. I have never had a complaint and it is a dream location for wedding pictures. With over 50 weddings booked in the future I do everything possible to make everyone important just as I have done with the previous 1,500 brides and gave ****** the best advise that I have to offer. As per the Reservation Agreement the $1,242.15 deposit is non-refundable and I will return the remaining balance of $3,726.44 in a timely manner. After I spoke with ****** everything was fine. I did mention to her that it would better if they appointed a member of their wedding party who is a strong guy to police their wedding instead of having Police presence. The last thing that I mentioned to ****** was that I had checked with our floral designer to see if Peonies are in season to order from the Mainland for the wedding bouquet. Our floral designer said that they are not. I suggested some beautiful alternatives. It appears that the couple have talked to other wedding coordinators who effectively negatively dumped on my company about the wedding location and also obtaining permits for chairs and an arch on Waialae and Walmanalo beaches. There are over 200 wedding coordinators on the Island of Oahu so I am familiar with competition. The best approach I believe is to stay positive. It was only after a very disturbing call from ******* ****** where he swore, cursed and accused me of not being a wedding coordinator and shouted in an awful tone when I asked why are cancelling your wedding, to which he replied "it is none of your business." He said that he didn't give a crap about what I was saying. I commented that I am your wedding coordinator and I do deserve to know why you are cancelling your wedding. In over 1.500 weddings I have never had a groom talk to me in such an abusive tone. Out of 1,500 weddings I have never had this experience. I pray that I will never have to experience this level of abuse again. Thank you for allowing the opportunity to express my feelings about this wedding. Sincerely, ******** ******* Owner, A Fairy Tale Wedding Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/03/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We Do Not accept this response letter that was just recently submitted by A Fairytale Wedding. No where in this letter did we receive a confirmation as to what amount we would be refunded and on what date that would occur. We have read and reviewed the contract, involving our handling in your services and agreement to pay the amount of money totaled, along with the 25% deposit. In this case, we feel as though we have been mislead in our services with A Fairytale Wedding. Since this time of canceling with this company, we have interviewed and strongly questioned other wedding coordinators, all of whom were not putting down the company, but were in unison with the law and rights of Hawaii. They have all stated that it is illegal on any public beach to have any type of arch or chairs set up on the beach. We were told that in our package with A Fairytale Wedding that we would receive both the arch and chairs for Waialae Beach and were told the company had a special permit. Looking over the above document included in the above response, it states the rules and regulations for the permit, yet nowhere does it give permission for use of chairs or arches. This also brings to question why only one wedding coordinating company in the State of Hawaii would have such a special and unique permit. Speaking in terms of language used in the call with ********, ******* claims to have only cussed once, and felt he was led to this frustration as he was interrupted time and time again. He states that he was extremely upset during this phone conversation and repeatedly claimed to ******** that he was upset and did not want to speak of the reasoning behind the cancelation at the time, but wanted to begin processing the refund. Continuing to be driven to frustration, I can imagine his tone of voice not to be the most pleasant. The last phone call between us and the company, was with ***** from A Fairytale Wedding. During this conversation, ***** informed us that he would process a refund, but that it would not take place until early April. We did not however receive this in writing, and will not be satisfied until our payment is received. ***** also mentioned that our phone calls were recorded, which was undisclosed ahead of time. Not that we are against recorded phone, but would like to be made aware of the fact. All of this being said, we are just wanting to move forward with the amount due to us. We do not want to drag this further then necessary, just want our refund. Thank you. ****** ***** and **** *******

10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service