BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

This Business is not BBB accredited

Paradise Island Concepts, Inc.

Phone: (808) 671-4507 Fax: (808) 671-2400 94-810 Moloalo Street, Waipahu, HI 96797

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacuum cleaner sales services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Paradise Island Concepts, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Paradise Island Concepts, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 18, 1973 Business started: 09/25/1987 Business started locally: 09/25/1987 Business incorporated: 09/25/1987 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20393666-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Roger Nguyen, OM Mr. Jackie Caballero, Manager Ms. Kathy A. Welch, Vice President Mr. Thomas Welch, Owner/Semi retired Mr. William Welch, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Roger Nguyen, OM
Customer Contact: Mr. William Welch, Owner
Business Category

Vacuum Cleaners - Household - Dealers Vacuum Cleaners - Service & Repair Vacuum Cleaners - Supplies & Parts

Alternate Business Names
JC Kirby W & W Kirby Waipahu Kirby

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    94-810 Moloalo Street

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 671-4507

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We agreed that the price for the vacuucm was 1500.00. He written the amount for 2900.00. The salesman was polite. After he demonstrated the vaccuum system. He ofered that we could lower the price with a military discount and to refer 3 additional people. With everything he asked us to do we did on our part including giving a down payment. We sign. He left our house a little after 11:00 pm. When looking at our bills i recently notice the amount that we were financing was over 2000 dollars. I checked into it. I was told by Kirby personnel our contract was for 2080.00. We did not agree upon 2080.00 We agreed upon 1500.00

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a full refund with the returning of the vaccum system. I am know longer interested in the system. I do not like how we were taking advantage of by the salesperson.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/06/12) */ Note #1 the BBB auto system of e-mail notification is evidently not working. We have received no notice of this complaint until final letter mailed. I received the 1`st notice of complaint on 6/10/13 and reviewed the account today. The sale was made back in November of 2012 and the paperwork very clearly shows the amount financed of $2000.00 with a down payment or $200.00 for a total sales price of $2200.00. with payments of $81.60 starting on December 15th 2012. I checked with the finance company and they did a verbal verification and went over the price and the amount financed verbally with the customer as well prior to funding the account. I am sorry they are not happy and do not know where the figures she has mentioned came from. The sales representative is still with us and also has no idea where the figures she mentioned came from. We would like to have all happy customers but we are unable to change what is in writing and to be honest is over 6 months ago so we are very surprised to hear anything at this point. Please let the customer know that we are their to service them and are open 7 days a week at the Waipahu Location should the need for service be required or if more bags and belts are needed. the direct line number for service is ************ If more information is required or if I can assis t an any form please let me know. with Aloha Tom Welch Waipahu Kirby (808)671-4507 welch@pixi.com

2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kirby Vacuum contract states that I have until midnight on 01/03/13 to provide cancellation notice for vacuum. They are not honoring policy. My wife and I purchased a vacuum on 12/28/13. During the purchase, we inquired of the interest rate and were told that the sellers did not know. After the final sale (after they left and we were contacted by the credit company), we discovered that the interest rate for the product is 24%. We feel misled, and believe they knew the interest rate and were not going to tell us since they knew it would dissuade the sale. The interest rate increased the price of the vacuum substantially (from $2200 to $3000) and this caused me to want to return the vacuum. The cancellation policy states that "to cancel this transaction, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other written notice, or send a telegram to business address no later than midnight on 01/03/13." On 12/31/12, my wife mailed a cancellation form via USPS to the store. On 01/02/13, I called the office and informed them of my intent to return the vacuum. I was told that sending the form was all I needed to do, and that since I had done that I did not need to do anything else. Today (01/03/13), for added security in case the first form was lost in the mail, I mailed another copy of the cancellation form via certified mail. The seller contacted me (in person once as well as on the phone once) and informed me that since the cancellation requests were not yet in the office, we would be unable to cancel. After this interaction, I also traveled to their business location and placed two more cancellation requests inside the office (slipped under the door at 8:00 PM). I was then told that this action would not matter since the office was closed. However, the cancellation request informs me that I have until midnight of 01/03/13 to return the form, and I have fulfilled that aspect of the obligation. The sellers are still refusing to return the vacuum. I feel like they are being shady in the way they are handling this, and that they are breaking the law by not honoring their own cancellation agreement. I need to return this vacuum, they know of my intent and the actions I have taken, and they are not letting me.

Desired Settlement: A refund of my $400 deposit. I also want them to pick up the merchandise and cancel the auto-payments they have scheduled.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/02/14) */ Aloha ****, Thanks for your help on this case. I don't know why the mail did not make it nor the e-mail But at least we got the last one. Case # ******** This has been taken care of, the machine has been picked up, the monies refunded & the contract has been cancelled. All during early /mid January. As far as the salesperson not knowing the APR even I can't figure that out because it's the same for all and its on the delivery receipt and the contract. Which both need to be signed. Anyhow thanks for your help With aloha, *** ***** Paradise island concepts inc Waipahu Kirby (808) ***-****

5/21/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues