Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Maui Condo and Home, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 879-5445 Fax: (808) 874-6144 View Additional Phone Numbers 1819 S Kihei Rd Ste D103, Kihei, HI 96753 http://www.mauicondo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation rental condo and home rental management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maui Condo and Home, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maui Condo and Home, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maui Condo and Home, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 1991 Business started: 10/01/1988 Business started locally: 10/01/1988 Business incorporated 10/27/1988 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB14783.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB20035.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20405750-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Dawn Kane, Vice President / Principal Mrs. Tiana Raymondo, Guest Services Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Dawn Kane, Vice President / Principal
Customer Contact: Mrs. Tiana Raymondo, Guest Services Mgr
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Apartments Property Management


Additional Locations

  • 1819 S Kihei Rd Ste D103

    Kihei, HI 96753 (808) 879-2235 (800) 451-5008

  • PO Box 1840

    Kihei, HI 96753

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: doesn't want to refund stay This is the email I sent them on Sept 22nd and still no reply this is why I'm writing this complain. I'm getting back to you regarding the condo ***** where I was suppose to spend 1 week with my girlfriend from Sept 11th to Sept 18th. We only spent 1 night and were very disappointed by the condo and felt deceived. The condo had barely an ocean view, there was no A/C, no wifi connection, the condo looked very old and it didn't appear to have been cleaned and refreshed before our arriving. The description of the condos you rent are very different from the one we had and felt deceived by what we had and is different from what has been described on the website. We called you on Sept 12th in the morning to complain, the next day of our arrival, and you told us to call ******. We called ****** and spent a ginormous amount of time on the phone with them for absolutely nothing. They told us that you didn't want to refund the remaining nights because you could move us to another condo??? and that the one we were in (*****) was an UPGRADE??? This is totally ridiculous and deceiving. You are not able to deliver what you promised so you are trying to find some ways to work around that??? This is totally not professional and not a way to make business. We were willing to pay for the night we spent and even a late cancellation fee if needed and still you disagree to refund part of the money we spent. We know that we have to go through ******, you like to use them as man in the middle to deal with unsatisfied customers, but as long as you don't want to refund them, they won't refund us too. This is why I'm sending this email directly to you to fix this issue once and for all. After, spending more than 1hr on the phone with ******, we decided to move out the condo, and stayed in another hotel for the rest of the trip. We are just asking for a refund of the nights we didn't spent in your property and nothing else and settle this problem in a nice way.

Desired Settlement: refund of the nights we haven't spent in the condo.

Business Response: Aloha ****** ********,
First and foremost I'd like to thank you for choosing to stay with a Maui Condo and Home, LLC managed property. We do try our very best to make each guest's visit enjoyable, leaving with fond memories of our beautiful island, Maui. We are committed to providing the best guest service and appreciate your comments and concerns as we strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectations.
Our records reflect that you booked your reservation through an online travel agent, ******.com for a 1 Bedroom, Ocean View unit at the Maui Kamaole on 07/18/14 for your arrival on 09/11/14. All 1 bedroom units at the Maui Kamaole are on the ground floor, whether it be garden view or an ocean view unit. Each building is set up into clusters only being 2 stories high; the 2 bedroom units are located upstairs. At the time of your booking we unfortunately did not have any 1 bedroom ocean view units available, so we took the initiative and upgraded you to a 2 bedroom ocean view, thus giving you a larger unit and a better ocean view then the ground floor. We do apologize if you felt that this upgrade was insufficient.
All units are inspected prior to each guests arrival, and if during the inspection the unit is not deemed clean and ready for arrival after housekeeping has been completed, the cleaner is called back to take care of the area(s) of concern. There are no excuses for your dissatisfaction and I certainly will not make any with regard to your accommodate experience except to say how sorry we are that we did not live up to what were reasonable expectations. We do make every effort to try and rectify a guest's dissatisfaction while you are here. Although the unit was inspected and deemed cleaned on the day of your arrival, we do apologize you felt otherwise. All Maui Condo and Home managed units do have a/c and had also been working during inspection. Once we were made aware of your dissatisfaction of the condition with the unit at the Maui Kamaole, claims of no a/c and internet trouble we did immediately offer alternate accommodations at the property. However, It is unfortunate that even after speaking with the ****** agent, then the ****** Supervisor and reaching out to you directly via phone, leaving a message, we were not made aware of your continued disappointment and departure from the property nor were we given the opportunity to impress upon you one of our many different units at the same property or elsewhere.
We do make every effort to ensure that the photographs on the Maui Condo and Home, LLC managed websites and all marketing material produced are a true representation of the condo properties and the individual units. Thank you for bringing these matters regarding the unit (*****) at the Maui Kamaole through the Better Business Bureau. We will be sure to inform the owner of the individual condo as well as work with ****** to ensure they are truly representing the property for all future guests. Despite your disappointment with the accommodations, I do hope that you were able to enjoy the beauty of our island home, Maui!

Sincerely,
***** ********
Owner Services and Guest Services Manager

4/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a condo from Maui Condo and Home LLC on March 24 2014. After unpacking our groceries and beginning to cook lunch we found the kitchen to be infested with cockroaches. We called Maui Condo and Homes they would not return our call. We called the front desk and they sent up a maintenance man. He commented on how bad they were. We kept contacting Maui Condo and Homes as we threw out our groceries and watched our luggage. We had to order take out. We were finally contacted in the late afternoon the next day where they offered to spray while we were staying there. They finally moved us and we spent the rest of our day 2 of our vacation moving. We asked to be compensated for our time, food and our night. We were told that we could get half of a night's stay. We asked for our food, time and our night's stay and they refused. We lost 2 days of our vacation and money. The day we were checking out housekeeping called us to tell us that we needed to wash our linens since they would not have time to clean up after us. That was WAY out of line.

Desired Settlement: Monitary compensation for our time, a night's stay, our food that had to be thrown away and the restaurant food that we would not have bought.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/09) */ April 9th, 2014 Aloha ***** and *** ********, First and foremost I'd like to thank you for choosing to stay at a Kamaole Sands - Maui Condo and Home, LLC managed property. We do try our very best to make each guest's visit enjoyable, with the hope that you will leave with fond memories of our beautiful Island, Maui. We are committed to providing the best guest service possible and appreciate your comments and concerns as we strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectations. Thank you for bringing your lingering concerns to our attention through the Better Business Bureau. I appreciate the opportunity to address them. Our records indicate that on March 24th, 2014 the day of your scheduled arrival, the lock audit reflects that you entered the unit at 6:10 PM. Our regular office hours are from 8-5 PM Monday - Friday and from 8 -4 PM on the weekend additionally we have after-hours services available 24/7/365. Our after-hours service reported that you contacted them at 6:27 PM. 17 minutes after you first entered the unit. The call was to report insects in the kitchen area. Our after-hours customer care response was to immediately dispatch a maintenance man to assess the situation. Within 45 minutes of your initial call minutes our maintenance man advised that he had gone to the unit and laid down unobtrusive insect traps. Please note that a different guest had been staying in the unit and departed the same day you arrived, they did not report any insects or problems with the unit additionally the unit had received it's regularly schedule pest control treatment earlier in the week. The next morning, March 25th, 2014 at 10:39 AM our office called the unit and spoke to Mr. ********, we offered to have an all-natural pest control company come out to the unit to treat it, this service does not use harsh chemicals it is environmental friendly and is not harmful to children or adults. Mr. ******** declined the offer of pest control service. He was also asked if we could have housekeeping come back through the unit for touch up and as a precautionary measure which was also declined. The services offered would have addressed the issue of insects/pest with no loss of vacation time or inconvenience to you. At 11:13 AM we show that our Unit Quality Control Coordinator assisted Mr. ******** offering him the option of moving to a different unit, since he had declined pest control and housekeeping and did not want to continue to stay in the original unit. Despite your comments in your BBB compliant our office did contact you quickly and responded with options to address your concerns it was your decision to relocate to another unit. Customer service is of utmost importance to us and we make every effort to resolve problems expediently, as well as satisfy our guests while they are in-house. The housekeeper who contacted you is not our employee but an independent contractor who works for the unit owner. They are not to contact guests or make the type of request you reported. We will definitely address this violation of customer services standards with the housekeeper directly. At Maui Condo and Home, LLC the Kamaole Sands AOAO, hire professional pest control services, unfortunately your experience in the tropics may include pests, which cannot be completely controlled. Pests include insects, rodents and friendly geckos. Packaged food and food in the refrigerator would not have been affected by pests and it was your decision to relocate rooms rather than have the issue treated. As a matter of customer service a 50% refund for the first night of your stay had already been extended to you during your stay and is being processed through your booking agent, Orbitz. As a gesture of good faith and our commitment to customer service we will increase the credit to include one full night. This credit will be applied via Orbitz, as your payment was collected through Orbitz. It is our hope that this gesture of good faith will display our commitment to providing the best possible customer service and care. We do hope to regain your trust and confidence in our service and products in the future. We want to assure you that we take these concerns to heart. I deeply regret that our best intentions resulted in disappointment for you. Despite your dissatisfaction, we do hope that you took home many fond memories of Maui and that you will return again in the future. Mahalo, ***** ******** Owner and Guest Services Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/04/10) */ We thank you for being willing to compensate the entire night. When will we see this? We do have a few corrections to your timeline. We entered the room at 3 pm not 6 pm. The key pad did not work at 3 pm thus in the time that we went to the front office to get the correct code, a made was in the room. I guess at that point we did not use the key pad to enter we just used her access. The front desk should have record of our checking in. My daughter's went down to the beach then and I washed the linens in the apartment at that time since they appeared to not have been washed. We exited the condo at about 5:30 and came back in for dinner around 6. We did not contact the main office about the linens as we just wanted to enjoy our time. The cockroaches put us over the edge. When the maintainance man came up he told us that they were a terrible kind. He did tell us that there were cockroaches here and we would see them. We understood this but they were crawling out of the sockets in the kitchen, over the silverware, in the sink, across the counter, on the floor. We were also asking for food compensation as we had left our food in the kitchen from 3 pm until 6 pm while we washed laundry and went to the beach. We through out most of our food as we were cooking some of it when we discovered that there were cockroaches running across the dishes and silverware. We through out the food that was on the counter (uncooked food since they had run through or possible gotten into those. We had to then eat our dinner out. As we waited for the emergency line to contact us back the next day, we went out for breakfast and lunch. We were not offered a new room until 2 in the afternoon or around that time. It may have been a little bit earlier as we then waited for the maids to clean the room so we could move in--we helped with this process. My parents took our daughters at that time so we could move all of our stuff from the 3rd floor to the 1st floor. We had eaten lunch by this time. Yes, we were offered the spraying but from past experiences we were not willing to take the chance of the spray while occupying the room. We wanted a new room. We were VERY happy with the new room though (aside from the maid calling and asking us to clean up and several other things we chose to ignore because we wanted to enjoy our time).

10/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Via ******** ********, I booked an 8 night stay at ******* ***** in Kihei, Maui, managed by Maui Condo and Home. The unit was extremely dirty. My reservation was made via a vacation package through ******** ******** (flight/car/condo) with a Sept. 3rd arrival date. This was about my 30th trip to Maui over the past 25 years, renting a condo each time. All previous stays have been fine. As I would be traveling alone, I called Maui Condo and Home a week before and requested a unit above the 2nd floor. I was told the request would be noted, but no guarantee. I was also told I would be receiving an email 48 hours before arrival with my parking space number, unit number, and pass code for the door. I did not receive this, so I called Sept. 2nd and was given the information (unit 207). When I asked if they had a unit on a higher floor I was told there was none available. They did not know why I had not receive the email. When I entered the unit the first thing I saw was a very badly stained carpet. About 1 minute later there was a knock at the door. A gentleman said there was a problem with the stove and he needed to repair it. He commented on how dirty the carpet looked. The screen door would not open properly and did not close completely. The table on the lanai was dirty with lots of ants on it. The face and hand towels in the bath were badly stained and shredded. On opening the shower curtain, an old dried piece of soap fell out of it. The folding doors next to the bath sink were very dirty. There was one pot holder in the unit. It was in a drawer with dried food on it. There were lots of crumbs in the utensil drawers. Some plates in the cupboard were dirty. The side of the refrigerator next to the sink was grossly stained with some kind of grease. There were crumbs in the dresser drawers. I called Maui Condo and Home, the company assigned to my reservation. I gave them all the above information and asked to be moved to another unit and was told there was none. They offered to have housekeeping come back and spot clean the rug and bring new linens and have someone fix the door to the lanai. I kept asking how this unit could have been declared ready for a guest's arrival. The only response I kept getting is we will send someone to clean and she was sorry the unit did not live up to my expectations. You mean clean? I did agree to have someone come and fix the lanai door. I did not want to spend any extra time there, so I would just make do with the other issues. Sept. 4th I went to rearrange the cushions on the sofa. I picked one up and underneath it was a broken red crayon and lots of crumbs. Sept. 6th I wanted to use the TV in the bedroom but no remote from the living room worked. Sept. 7th I wanted to sleep on the other side of the bed near the wall for the second half of my stay. There was an old kleenex on the floor by the nightstand. I got something to pick it up. I did not want to look at it again, then saw something shiny in back of it. There on the floor between the bed and nightstand was the bedroom TV remote. In back of the nightstand against the wall was an empty water bottle. I arrived home late Sept. 11th. On Sept. 13th I called Maui Condo and Home and spoke with *****, manager on duty. I had left 4 pages of notes detailing my experience and wanted to understand why such a thing could happen. She asked if I'd been offered to relocate to another property and I told her I was not offered that and I would have accepted if offered. She was going to review with the person I talked with and get back to me. She asked if I wanted some kind of monetary settlement or discount on my next visit. I said I would not want to deal with their business again and would like a full refund. She called me Sept. 17th. She said the manager who releases the units as "ready" had asked housekeeping to return to fix some things, but the housekeeper never did return. She said that person has been terminated. She said they have agreed to refund me one night's stay - $111, and it would come via ***********, the contracted company used by ******** ********.

Desired Settlement: My previous visits to Maui have been great. This was totally unacceptable and I would like a full refund. I would also like to understand how this company could have an A+ rating with Better Business Bureau.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/01) */ This is to address the BBB Case #********. The unit was inspected, as is every unit, prior to the guest arrival and was deemed not ready. According to our arrival inspection notes, the housekeeper was called back to the unit to take care of numerous cleanliness issues. After speaking with the guests, the day after arrival, it was apparent that the cleaner did not go back to the unit as required. The guest called our office to advise of her dissatisfaction of the unit's cleanliness. We take these types of concerns very seriously and respond immediately, we offered to send the housekeeper to the unit. The guest refused to allow for the cleaner to come back. We did not have availability at the ******* ***** property to relocate the guest to; however we did offer to move her to another "ocean view" property, which she declined. The guests were offered should she change her mind to please let us know, we would be more than happy to have her enjoy her time in another unit. She chose to stay in the unit. We did have availability elsewhere. A week after the guest departure date of the reservation, I received a phone call from the guests. At that time the guests wanted to ensure that a manager was aware of her recent visit. After listening to the guests, I had asked her what her ideal resolution from this situation would be. She stated that she wanted to know what types of policies we have in place to ensure that this type of situation doesn't happen and how this happened. She couldn't understand how we could be rated A+ with the BBB and this type of situation occurred. I did review with her our policy that the units are inspected by a trained professional prior to each arrival. And I did let her know that I would have to review the full details of the report from her arrival date and would need to call her back. She did not request compensation at that time. After reviewing all the detailed notes from her initial conversation with our reservation supervisor and the notes from the arrival inspection report on the day of her arrival I called her back. We do take cleaning concerns very serious and the cleaner had been terminated from this unit. Since no compensation was expected or requested, as a sign of good faith I had offered a refund for one night's stay and an additional discount on a future stay even though she was offered alternate accommodations but chose to stay in the unit. The guests agreed to this amount and did not express that she was expecting or wanting any further compensation. To receive this complaint after a resolution had reached comes as quite a bit of a surprise as I had personally worked with the guests and reached an agreement. We at Maui Condo and Home, LLC take call concerns seriously and response immediately. We do try our very best to be proactive to avoid a situation where a guests is dissatisfied. We made every effort to assist the guest and resolve the raised concerns from the time of awareness. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When I called Maui Condo and Home the second time on 9/4 and asked to speak to a manger. The supervisor who answered kept saying she could help fix any problem. The conversation went back and forth as she kept wanting to send housekeeping and rug cleaners and linens, etc. I kept reiterating I expected a decent unit and I was not there for inspection and housekeeping. I expected, as my previous visits over the past 25 years at other properties not managed by Maui Condo and Home, to walk into a unit, unpack and enjoy my vacation. She responded as if she didn't hear me and repeatedly said there were no other one-bedroom units. They had some 2 bedrooms but I would have to pay more. She said they would call if another unit became available. I never received another call. Thank heavens there were many things for me to do outside the unit as I wasn't going to let this ruin my retreat. In response to the business reply 10/8/13 above, I have repeatedly stated I was never offered to move to another unit, either at the same property or another location. When I called on 9/13/13, not 9/17 as noted above, I was specifically asked whether or not I had been offered to go to another unit. When I said I had not been given that offer after repeated requesting to be moved, Tiana (on duty manager) apologized that it had not been offered. If it was on record at that time that it had been offered, why did she have to ask me? She was quoting the other things in my original concerns, many of which are missing from above. She asked what could they do to make it right. I asked to try and understand how such a unit could have been offered to a guest, and I asked for a full refund. She said to give her time for their weekly review meeting and she would get back to me next Monday or Tuesday. She called Sept. 17th and gave me the housekeeping excuse stuff. She said they would be reimbursing me for one-night's stay and a 10% discount on a returning trip as a compensation. I laughed and said that surely was not making it right as far as I was concerned. On 9/13 I was very clear to her that I was not interested in renting from Maui Condo and Home in the future. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/10/11) */ Maui Condo and Home prioritizes customer service and has made its best effort to assist this customer both while she was in-house and since her departure. Guest says she was not offered alternate accommodations our records indicate in notes made at the time of each conversation that guest was offered alternate accommodations but at a different property from ******* ***** as no one bedroom ocean view units were available there. Guest declined those offers. When guest spoke with our Guest Services Manager after her departure she was of course offered an apology for our not being able to provide an alternate unit at ******* ***** although an alternate unit at a different location was offered and for our not being able to address all the guest concerns during her stay. The guest was offered housekeeping service to return immediately while guest was in-house upon our being advised housekeeping issues existed which would have correct her concerns for the remainder of her stay and unfortunately guest declined that service. All issues could have been corrected for guest the first day of her stay. She declined the services and offers made to correct the problems. Maui Condo refunded one night stay to guest via her agent based on the one day she was affected prior to our being made aware of situation and when it could have been corrected had guest allowed for same. In an additional offer extend as a matter of customer service and good faith Maui Condo has processed a refund for a second night of guest stay via guest agent. The guest did utilize the unit at ******* ***** for eight nights and Maui Condo could and would have corrected all the guests concerns on the first day of her stay had she allowed us to do so. No additional refund will be issued. We wish the guest had allowed us to assist her unfortunately she tied our hands and did not allow us to do so. We are glad that she noted in her response she did do many things during her stay so that her retreat was not ruined. Sincerely, Maui Condo and Home, LLC Management


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maui Condo and Home, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)