Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC

Phone: (808) 331-8878 Fax: (808) 443-0220 View Additional Phone Numbers 80 77-6425 Kuakini Hwy. #C2, Kailua Kona, HI 96740 http://www.konarentals.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation rental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20152988-01.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB19275.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB20885.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Dan Monck, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dan Monck, Owner
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Property Management


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 80 77-6425 Kuakini Hwy. #C2

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (808) 331-8878 (866) 456-4252

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/1/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rented a rental property under contract that was suppose to be in good working order but was not. My wife and I checked into the Kanoloa unit 2201 on Sat June 22,13 for a week. When we arrived everything seemed perfect so we went to sleep and only to wake up in a sweat. The AC was not working so we tried the overhead fan and a bearing of something was going out but it was very very noisy. We just grabbed a blanket and went into the living room and used the overhead fan there. We woke up and turned on the AC and it went on so we thought it was working okay so my wife and I went off to look at land to buy in the area..upon our return after a long day of climbing in the hills looking at land to grow coffee we came back to only find AC was not working at all again. We called ABBEY Vaction Rentals number and they had just closed so we left a phone number and slept in the living room again trying to cool down... We also noted that ants had taken over the sink and medicine cabinet area so we left that message as well. Monday morning after two long hard nights we dig get and apology email and phone call and ***** with Abbey vacations told us that she would take care of a refund for us and even left an email stating we deserve some compensation. Abbey Vacation Rental did send someone over to fix on Monday but it was not with two hours as ***** Claims and is a flat out lie as our cell phones will prove they called us Sunday night and were aware of the problem the day before. Here is what we asked: the unit was not in retalable condidtion for two days so please just take two days off our bill and all will be good. They said no....then we explained that they did not have anyone else booked on their calendar so why was that a problem...Anyway, we then said well please just give us one extra day at the end of the vacation since now that the place is fixed and in rentable condition it is nice...again they said no. They did offer 100 dollars and I asked where this came from and they said this is what we have done in the past so it seems this is a regular thing maybe? I thought that since the place was unrentable for two days that we deserve at least the two days we paid for a fully functional unit returned back to us and they said no. The third day of technicians and repair people on Monday we said we would overlook the loss of our privacy on that day and also on Tuesday for Abby to do the needed repairs: replaced a faulty thermostat and change fan configuration so it was not so noisy while running. The technician documented the problem so we were not just making these problems up. The ants we killed and the inside the place was sprayed in the kitchen bathrooms and hallway. We got the spay all over our feet and hands when we returned to the unit so we hope it was non toxic as it did kill the ants. Anyway, it is a shame it had to go this far.

Desired Settlement: we want full refund for the first two days of they rental not being in full functioning order. My records indicate that we paid $1546.95 for the week or $442 dollars for 2 days use of the rental (1546.95/7x2). WE THINK 442 DOLLARS IS A FAIR REFUND CONSIDERING WHAT TRANSPRIRED.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/07/16) */ As discussed, below please find the email we received from this customer summarizing their complaint to us, and our subsequent response to this customer. The customer has not been accurate with their conveyance of correct information, as you will see below. From our perspective, our email response to this customer is accurate and inclusive of all pertinent information concerning their stay with us. Also please note the attachment to this email of the paid in full statement emailed to the guest upon their making their reservation with us. I will forward one additional email to you from the customer which we received in response to our email below. The customer's email response speaks for itself. Mahalo, *** ***** Abbey Vacation Rentals -------- Original Message -------- Subject: Re: Res. # 23604 KANALOA 2201 - Restitution Date: Sat, 6 Jul 2013 10:37:38 -1000 From: **** ******** <***********@gmail.com> To: Abbey Vacation Rentals <****************.net> ***, I simply do not agree with you. I received no email no text absolutely nothing to explain any additional charges period. The fraudulent use of extra charges is a separate issue completely. Yes, I was in a hurry to find a place but there were many other places to chose from, yours just seemed the best based on what I was told on the phone. I am not discounting that the place is not a nice place. I am saying I was offered a unit in good working order...it was not. I find it ludicrous that you now bring region to the table...Your AC unit not being in good working order as an "Act of God" description of what i am suppose to absorb is not an 'Act of God" .. YOU or Abbey rentals is in charge of this type of thing....certainly not God... Wow!!! you guys do not take responsibility to anything except collecting the funds..... Bad weather ***, well if I complained about that then I would understand your statement regarding God. Further missing the point that out of the three days my wife and I were greatly inconvenienced we simply asked for one day longer which you had no one scheduled in the rental unit nor was there after we left so no one would have been hurt by this but you and your firm said no to all my requests for simple restitution. Let's just see how other feel about this as I plan to pursue this issue to the extent law allows as I find this entire ordeal a shame when we asked for so little--just one extra day to relax. **** Subject: Re: Res. # 23604 KANALOA 2201 - Restitution Date: Sat, 06 Jul 2013 09:01:38 -1000 From: Abbey Vacation Rentals <****************.net> Reply-To: ****************.net To: ***********@gmail.com CC: Abbey Vacation Rentals <****************.net> ****, We are in receipt of your email of Saturday June 29th. While it is unfortunate that you had problems with your AC on the Saturday night of your arrival, and the subsequent Sunday night, your AC problem was rectified on Monday morning within two hours of our people speaking with you that morning. As you know, and described in detail in the correspondence you sent us in making your booking, you were an "Emergency" last minute booking due to you not having a place to stay for Saturday the 22nd of June. We facilitated to the best of ability securing you a condo to help you in your situation, and were able to do so after business close on Saturday. The condo had been cleaned, but had we known of an impending arrival from a standard practices perspective, the unit would have been freshened up, and a final inspection of all aspects of the unit would have been made prior to your arrival. Obviously with your need, and your arrival the same day after hours, this freshening up of the unit and final inspection of systems could not take place due to your emergency arrival. You were informed of this prior to your booking by one of our people after hours on Saturday, and you made your booking for Kanaloa 2201 using our online system with this prior knowledge and understanding. To the best of our knowledge, the AC was working in this unit at the time of your booking. Unfortunately, it is not possible to secure AC repair persons in Kona to perform work over the weekend, particularly on Sundays. We did secure a repair person to fix your AC first thing Monday morning, and our understanding from the vendor, the repair was completed within 2 hours of your Monday morning conversation with ***** of our office on this matter. We were unaware of the AC system having a problem, and sought to get it fixed as quickly as we could. The unit you rented is a beautiful two bedroom direct oceanfront unit at Kanaloa. Your own emails testify to the unit's condition. Things happen, and we address them as quickly as we can. This was done in this case. Your point that since you did not have air conditioning for the nights of Saturday and Sunday that you should not only have these two nights at no rent, but additionally we should refund you an additional $49.50 for the Accidental Damage Insurance you paid is not reasonable. Acts of god such as an air conditioner suddenly not working is not something we are responsible for from a liability perspective per the rental agreement your agreed to online when making your booking with us. We don't have to offer anything to you from a compensation perspective; the failure is not our fault. While this is the case, we did offer you compensation for your AC not working because we believe it is the right and fair thing to do. The compensation we offered you was $50/Night off the rental charge/night for the two nights you did not have AC in your unit, for at total of $100 plus taxes. The $50/night offer was a 27% discount off the rental price you paid for these two nights. While AC can certainly be nice to have, you still had 1200 sq/ft, a kitchen, a dining room, a living room, two bedrooms, and an oceanfront lanai to enjoy these two days. This discount is significant, reasonable, and consistent with our past practices, when events of this nature occur. Responding to the irresponsible and incorrect assertions made in your email of June 29th 1) You assert in your email that should have been charged $1546.95 and not a penny more. Incorrect As you know and stated in writing when you contacted us on Saturday evening of June 22nd with your emergency need to find lodging starting that night, our online booking system does not permit making a reservation the same day as the arrival. In other words, you could not book a reservation request on our system to arrive on Saturday the 22nd. One of your first emails to us highlighted this. When you communicated with ***** of our organization on Saturday night, she explained to you that the only way for you to do so was to change the arrival date to a few days into the future, confirm the real dates you desired by placing what they are into the comments box while making your reservation request online, and we would confirm these dates when we confirm the reservation with you. You did this by making your reservation request on our online booking system arriving June 24th. Unfortunately for the arrival date you chose, we had a guest arriving on June 30th, so you did not set your departure date to July 1st because you couldn't, you elected the day prior, June 29th, for a stay of six nights. In the comments field of your reservation request that you filled out online Saturday night you clearly state: Comments: arrival 6/22 for 7 nights. Prior to charging your credit card, the arrival date of 6/22/13, departure date of 6/29/13, the unit Kanalola 2201, and the price for 7 days in this unit, $1762.15, were reviewed with you over the phone by *****. Only at this time with your agreement, was you credit card charged for this amount. Additionally, the Statement for this reservation detailing all charges was emailed to you by ***** Saturday night at 5:09pm HST. This statement is attached to this email for your reference. The amount of $1546.95 referenced in your email is for a 6 night stay, 6/24 to 6/30, where you had to "fool" our online system as discussed above, not the 7 day stay of 6/22 to 6/29/13 that you requested, and then occupied Kanaloa 2201 for these 7 days. 2) You accuse Abbey Vacation Rentals of fraudulently charging you Nordstrum credit card. This accusation is not only irresponsible, it is obnoxious as well as incorrect. Abbey Vacation Rentals has only one credit card on record for you, and that is the Visa Credit Card with the last four digits of ****, which you input into our secure online booking system when making your reservation request with us. We have no knowledge of your Nordstrom credit card, or will our credit card merchant account process credit cards other than, Visa, Master Card, or Discover. We nor our credit card processor accept Nordstrom credit cards. The Charges made to your Visa credit card on Saturday night 6/22/13 were as follows: $95.33, $1882.04 and a credit of -$215.22. The reason for the credit of -$215.22 was upon charging your card, ***** realized she had over charged your card $215.22. Upon realizing this Saturday night, she immediately processed a -$215.22 credit to correct this error. Adding $95.33 + $1882.04 less this 215.22 credit yields a total net charge for your stay, charged on Saturday night June 22, 2013 of $1762.15, the correct total for your stay of 7 nights as illustrated in the attached statement. There was no fraud or improper charging of your credit card. The mistake that was made of $215.22 was corrected and processed immediately. The accusations within your email are without foundation or credibility. It is unfortunate that your unit's AC failed to work during your stay over the weekend. No one has ever attempted to suggest otherwise. You sent us an email Sunday night informing us of the problem, and within a half an hour we replied to your email letting you know we had received it and that one of our agents would be contacting to have this problem addressed. This contact took place first thing Monday morning, a technician was dispatched, and the problem was resolved to our understanding within 2 hours of our agent speaking to you Monday morning. This is the two hour period you referenced in your email. ***** of our office spoke and emailed you multiple times during your stay to make sure that if there was any other concerns you might have, that they were addressed immediately. To that end, when you complained about a "squeaky" fan or that you had sugar ants around your bathroom sink, both of these issues were dealt with directly an in a timely manner. During your stay you received excellent customer service. Our people were polite, professional, empathetic, and as rapidly as possible addressed any concerns that you raised during your stay. Your issue is that we wouldn't refund to you two free nights plus the cost of the Accidental Damage Insurance for the two nights you did not have AC. We seek to be fair to our guests, and we provided you fair compensation for a non functioning AC. We also have to be fair to the owner of the property that you are leasing from, and act fairly in their behalf as well. Requesting the condo's owner to effectively pay you two nights rent plus accidental insurance $49.50 for you to stay in his property Saturday and Sunday night is not fair to the property owner. A $100 plus tax credit is fair, which is the amount that was credited back to your credit card for this two day problem. *** Abbey Vacation Rentals From: **** ******** (mailto:***********@gmail.com) Sent: Saturday, June 29, 2013 8:37 AM To: Abbey Vacation Rentals Subject: Re: Res. # 23604 KANALOA 2201 - Restitution *****, According to the legal entities I have contacted and presented information too it appears you agency has fraudulently charged my Nordstrom Credit Card without my knowledge. As proof of this action I have sent the various agencies the email where we agreed upon the $1,546.95 and not a penny more. This fee was for a fully operating unit that may have been a little dusty...with no other problems. These legal agencies are asking me to first try to settle this amicably even though I have tried already to make offers that were refused and though generous by these agencies. Now after a review of the charges and the lie about within 2 hours you fixed the units (when I have phone records that prove you were aware of the problem for a much longer time) further supports the misconduct by your agency; however, these agencies have now told me that I must point out what I want since the extra rent option is now not available so I must request what I feel is a fair equitable amount first and then submit this documentation prior to court. I was charged an unauthorized amount of $1,882.04 when I should have been charged only $1,546.95 I was also charge an additional unauthorized amount of $95.33 I was credited $215.41 but this still mean that there is another $215.41 which is considered fraud. As a secondary problem the when we arrived the air conditioning was not working correctly it would work for ten minutes and then shut off...Then we tried to use the fan in the master bedroom but it was also defective. Both maintenance people have verified there was indeed problems with both the AC and the master bedroom fan. Because I am over 6 feet the smaller bed would not work for us so we attempted to sleep for two night in the living room. During our stay and to try to be amenable we requested, not demanded that we get two days rent back. You denied this request. Then we asked towards the end of our stay after everything was in good working order and the ants killed that invaded the master bathroom area we again thought a kind restitution would have been to just let us stay on extra day free to cover the more than two days lost from the not properly operating unit, again you said no. We now request two days rental back ($441.99 plus the $215.41= 657.40) this equates to within one week to avoid further legal action. We are not asking for any damages and we will be taking photos of the place to show the condition of the place after we leave today by 11:00 Please put the $657.40 back on my credit card used or send a check to my address provided and this will stop all further legal action. Please note that refusal to refund this amount will cause damages to my company and me personally, so we will then be looking for interest and other punitive damages allowed by law. Sincerely, Dr. ******* & ********** ******** **** ***** ****** ***** ******, CA ***** Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/07/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never received any documentation in the form of email regarding payment all I was told which my dated emails provide show that $1,546.95 is what we agreed to. Showing me a bill they made up after we left is not what we agreed to. Please provide any documentation showing I agreed to this 1700 dollar rate BEFORE I stayed at the condo. They could have put any amount for that matter. I did not agree to this...they are fraudulent charges period! as far as the two days without AC and/or fan is master bedroom they claim this happens all the time so the 50 dollars a night is a standard payment for such trouble...Clear to me they do not perform proper maintenance on their units or how would they come up with this number? Not to mention having multiple repair people in our room on the third day...wow. I was willing to accept one day longer to relax but they said no..instead it went unrented...this is ridiculous. If the unit was in proper working condition I would have had no problem with the agreed upon rate before we moved in. It is clear they are very unreasonable business conducting fraud and not compensating people for rentals that are not in good working order....let them complain they don't care type of thing. They even agreed in an email that we deserve some sort of compensation for our loss! please post this information publicly. Business' Final Response /* (1000, 15, 2013/08/01) */ From: Abbey Vacation Rentals (mailto:****************.net) Sent: Wednesday, July 31, 2013 12:37 PM To: **** ******** Subject: FW: RES #23604: ACTUAL DATES = 6/22-6/29/13 - 7 NIGHTS 06/24/2013 - 06/30/2013 K4-KAN 2201 Guest - **** ******** Cell Phone: Home Phone: *** ***-******STATEMENT ATACHED** Aloha ****, Below please find the reservation request Mr. ******** made with us on our online web system. As previously overviewed, the reservation request below is based upon the start date he input into this system of 6/24/13. The system could only do 6 night period due to another customer arriving 6/30/13. (Mr. ******** could not choose his true arrival date of 6/22/13 due to this online system not permitting same day booking.) You will note the "Comments" section of Mr. ******** reservation request clearly highlights that he will be arriving 6/22 for 7 nights. This is the trued dates of his reservation. This comment, as with all of the information from the form, was inputted into our online system by Mr. ******** himself. Mr. ******* desired a stay of 7 nights starting 6/22/13; Mr. ******* stayed 7 nights starting 6/22/13, and Mr. ******** was charged as described in the attached statement, for 7 nights. I hope this provides you the information you desire. We consider this matter now closed. Mahalo, *** ***** Abbey Vacation Rentals Online Reservation From konarentals.net******** ========================================================= Reservation made on 06/22/13 17:09:48. Reservation # ***** Specials: Last Minute Special, Summer Special! Total: $1,546.95 PropID: K4-KAN 2201 CheckIn: 06/24/2013 CheckOut: 06/30/2013 First Name: **** Last Name: ******** Address 1: **** ***** ****** ** Address 2: City: ****** State: CA - CALIFORNIA Postal Code: ***** Country: usa Home Phone: *** ***-**** Work Phone: *** ***-**** Cell Phone: Email: *****@***********.com Adults: 2 Children: Vacation Rental Insurance: No Comments: arrival 6/22 for 7 nights