Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC

Phone: (808) 331-8878 Fax: (808) 443-0220 View Additional Phone Numbers 75-1029 Henry Street, Ste. 103, Kailua Kona, HI 96740 http://www.konarentals.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation rental services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 14, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20152988-01.

DCCA Regulated Industries Complaints Office (RICO)
235 S Beretania St Fl 9, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
rico@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB19275.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RB20885.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Eme Manley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Eme Manley, Owner
Business Category

Vacation Rentals Property Management


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    75-1029 Henry Street, Ste. 103

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: From 12/18 – 12/26/15, we paid $10,264.38 to stay at Kolea 6B and from 12/26/15 – 1/2/16, we paid $6,516.95 to stay at Estate *** from Abbey Vacation Rentals (AVR) for an expensive grand total of $16,781.33. Both “luxury” properties were on the Big Island of Hawaii. Unfortunately, we have had issues from the very beginning. We left a voicemail the first evening upon check-in to alert them that the wi-fi was not working. The maintenance man came the following day but I also pointed out other problems I noticed the first night. They included 2 live cockroaches upon arrival, 1dead cockroach, windowsills covered with dust, broken drawer knob (which fell out). I ended up cleaning them and ignored using that particular drawer. And of course as we learned a few days later, the clothes dryer would require 3 attempts to properly dry clothes, the dishwasher would sometimes leave a slimy film and the thermostats were inconsistent even though they regulate certain zones. For example, the MBR would be warmer than 2nd BR and the 3rd BR warmer than Living Room. Again, I tolerated these issues. But I kept thinking that this is supposed to be luxury rental. When we arrived at our second rental, Estate ***, on Saturday, December 26, we checked in at 4pm and we realized that the pool was not maintained. There were sizeable worms in the shallow end and in the deep end as well. There were particulates covering the entire pool, making it completely gross. As desperate as we wanted to use the pool, we held off until it was cleaned. The water level of the pool was about 1 foot lower than it should be. The lanai also had a huge cobweb (3’x5’) in the corner. The cleaning fees I paid for both properties totaled $660.30 ($263.35 for Kolea 6B, $396.95 for Estate ***), which I thought was exorbitant and did not reflect the services rendered. Other maintenance issues include 2 key middle lights facing down on the dining table not working, 2 front keys that did not fit, Tiki torches that had no fuel yet is prominently advertised on their website as the FIRST picture, thermostats again that were inconsistent (LR/DR were colder than 2nd BR, MBR was always too cold, no matter what the setting was and the 3rd BR was the only one working properly) and the pocket door to the 2nd BR did not close. My wife & I ended up sleeping in the 2nd BR since my handicapped 87 year-old mother has difficulty climbing up stairs. She ended up in the MBR since it was on the same level, which fortunately it worked out. In addition, every time we went out, we had to pick up my mother by the front door since she could never get to the garage (too many stairs). My mother could not see the rest of the house so she couldn't visit the rest of the family in their rooms since it was a multilevel house. There was/is no mention regarding accessibility for handicapped people within the advertisements. What would happen if two or more parties were handicapped? So again, I left a voicemail since it was afterhours, which is in itself an issue. Renters can only check-in after 4pm, but the offices close at 4pm (3pm on Saturdays, closed Sundays). Typically, renters notice problems usually within the first hour upon arrival (e.g. something is broken, missing, etc.), but in the case with AVR, renters cannot reach anyone live and are thus stuck with leaving a voicemail. Although, there are two options, emergency and non-emergency issues, I felt inclined to leave my messages as "non-emergency", because it was not a 911-type emergency like being locked out. I was lucky that the garage door opener code worked because the house keys did not work. On Monday, the pool cleaner finally came and fixed the issues. The maintenance man came also. AVR said that service could not be done on Sundays. So that disrupted our peace for Monday (& Tuesday, when the maintenance man had to come back again) by banging away and fixing the pocket door and replacing light bulbs in the high ceiling. It was not until Monday night could we use the pool when it was thoroughly cleaned and filled properly. On Monday, I had asked the pool cleaner to speak with management but did not receive any calls back. After I arrived home from vacation, on Tuesday, January 5th, I directly called and addressed these issues to Dan M****, owner of Abbey Vacation Rentals, but he kept on making excuses like, “Oh, I didn’t know that we were supposed to call you back.” I then created a paper trial via email to address ALL of my concerns. His original response was lukewarm and did not respond to my issues. I had asked for some compensation for my disastrous stay, at least 2 nights worth (of 15 nights paid). In his last email, he responded by saying, “By way of example, ******* ******* *** the property you identified to me in our phone conversation as being the property where your issues primarily centered had 3 guest stays in the 30 day period prior to your stay. None of these earlier guests identified any of the concerns your raised. In fact, the last guest to depart ******* *** prior to your arrival left the day of your arrival at 11am, 5 hours before your entry. These guests raised no concerns, nor did they identify a problem with the pool.” I responded by saying that past history has no relevance. Maybe these issues did not bother his last renters, but it had upset me. With that last email sent on January 22nd, he has yet to respond back.

Desired Settlement: I think Abbey Vacation Rentals should reimburse me 2 nights worth or $1,861.99 ($931/night) since we could not use the pool for ~3 days (Saturday 4pm- Monday 8pm), had the maintenance man come to both of our places on 3 separate days with disruption, the misleading of the website and amenities and restrictions (e.g. handicap friendly), all the other mishaps and inconveniences. This was after all, a Christmas holiday vacation in Hawaii, a once-in-lifetime experience in "luxury" accommodations.

Business Response:

Our goal as Vacation Rental Managers is to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. When this does not occur in spite of our best efforts, it is discouraging. We take each guest concern very seriously & respond to it swiftly and with an earnest resolve.

It is clearly an unfortunate situation that this guest’s elderly parent could not experience the full range of the home they rented as it is truly a lovely place. Our website provides comprehensive detailed information through photography & written description. Under no conditions did we represent the home as being handicapped accessible. Rental  agents are available to answer questions & provide additional information 7 days per week.  We telephone all guests the morning following their arrival to ensure their satisfaction and to encourage dialogue should they have any concerns at some point latter in their visit. Every effort is made for an ideal, problem free vacation.

It is with a clear conscience and a decisive resolve that we attest this guest has grossly exaggerated the condition and /or situation described and our response is compensation by way of monetary reimbursement was not consideration as virtually every avenue was exhausted (at the property owners expense) to win their approval.

Mahalo,

Eme M*****

General Manager

***** ******** ******* ******* ************ **** ***** ************

2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We booked in 2015 for a Condo with Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC for a cost of $4930.49 for March 6th through March 13th 2016. Our reservation number is: 28676. However on February 9th Hawaii's Big Island declared a state of emergency over dengue fever infections. The upcoming stay involved my pregnant wife, my 1 year old daughter, and elderly grandparents. I called the local health department and asked what they advised. The lady advised that it would be hard to control a 1 year old and that several areas of the island are closed to tourists. Her advise was that if I could choose a different island I should. With over 250 cases reported in 4 months I was inclined to take the advise of the Big Island's Health Department. ****** ******** has already told me they will refund our ticket costs. I called and talked with Abbey Vacation Rentals and they said there was nothing they could do. Because we are less then 60 days from the reservation they would not do anything to help us. I contacted Abby Vacation Rentals the day after the advisory was released, I asked for either a refund or to move the reservation to next year. They declined to do either. I asked if they thought that was ethical and their response was they don't care and they are just following the contract. Abbey Vacation Rentals is an unethical group that doesn't care about customers and only cares about contracts. I highly advise not using their services and do book with a company that does the right thing.

Desired Settlement: A refund or allow us to move the reservation to 2017.

Business Response: In response to complaint received by Mr. *** *********:

On Febn;ary 10, 2016 we were contacted by *** ********* with a request for a full refund of a reservation that was booked by *** ********* on January 4, 2016. At that time, per our tenns and conditions, the reservation was paid in full. We notified him that If *** ********* sent us an email request, we would free the condo up for possible re-rental. lf the condo was re-rented,we would be able to refund the guest that amount  With more than a month before their arrival, we suggested they email right away, so they had the best possible chance of a refund. They were not satisfied with this answer and instead decided to post a bad review of our services as well as sending in this complaint to the Better Business Bureau.  Mr. ********* called our office multiple
times and spoke with 3 different agents that all advised them to email a cancellation request as soon as possible to give him the best chance of a refund,  We have still to date not received a cancellation email, thus, not making it available for another person to re·book any of the dates that he currently has blocked and paid for his use. At this point, the condo he has reserved is
being held for their arrival, as promised. The owner of the condo should not have to take the financial loss due to the fact that the guests have not followed the proper procedure to cancel the booking.  At no point in time did any of the 3 agents tell the guest that we didn't care, instead we offered all options avallable to him and his family.  Had we been given the opportunity, we would have done our best to re-rent the property and refund the guest.


Sincerely,

Abbey Vacation Rentals

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We have already called and asked for termination and a refund.  My wife was not given cancellation terms in any agreement that she signed. We don't need to email to tell them. We have already told them via a phone call. Abbey Vacation Rentals should not be holding the unit for us. We are not visiting an Island in a "state of emergency".  The fact that this company would not allow us to use the rental next year or cancel shows they are all about taking people's money for services not provided and don't care about visitors. They ignore the facts presented by the mayor and now the Governor.  Horrible company to talk to and they show bad customer service. All the major hotels and ******** on the Island are offering accommodations.  The Mayor advised businesses in November 2015 to alert people; this company choose not to disclose the outbreak that would effect visitors' health. Frankly this company and all the others on the island should be sued with a class action lawsuit for not disclosing an outbreak and state of emergency.

Sincerely,

*** *********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Abbey Vacation Rentals, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart