This Business is not BBB accredited

New Creations

Phone: (808) 847-6600 Fax: (808) 847-6677 View Additional Phone Numbers 2016 Colburn St, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://www.nchawaii.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers design, printing, embroidery and distribution of uniforms.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for New Creations include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for New Creations include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on New Creations
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 18, 2002 Business started: 04/01/1996 Business started locally: 04/01/1996 Business incorporated: 01/11/2001 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40783036-01.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W04713912-01.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Norman H. Moriya, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norman H. Moriya, Member
Business Category

Uniform Supply Service Embroideries - Uniform Screen Printing Garments - Printing & Lettering Uniforms Designers - Apparel


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2016 Colburn St

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (866) 296-8585

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 296-8585(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.kulathreads.com/
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In May of 2013, an order form for uniform shirts for Waipahu Elementary School was distributed to students for the new school year 2013-2014 from Kula Threads/New Creations. An order was placed through the website for Kula Threads. Per the website they advertised starter packages and two new items which were the Heather longsleeve shirts and Heather Hoodies. In May of 2013 prior to the 2012-2013 school year ended an order was placed with Kula threads for 1 Starter Package 2 Longsleeve shirts and 1 Hoodie. After placing my order on line for these items I called the office of Kula Threads and spoke to ******* she informed me that all orderes will be delivered to the school for pick up during open house which was on August 2, 2013. My order was not at the school during open house nor was it there until 2 weeks after the new school year started which was August 5th 2013. Then when I did get my order they gave me youth large shirts instead of youth small. So I called Kula Threads and spoke to ****** explained to her I ordered youth small but received youth large, she told me to come down and they'll make the exchange for me which I did a few days after receiving the wrong order, it was then that I spoke to Norm regarding my back order of longsleeves and hoodie he told me they wont be printed until October 2013 because I was the only one from that school that ordered the longsleeve and hoodie. Since then I've been calling every other week to check on my order and nothing has been done. I spoke with ******* early November and she assured me my order was printed and sent out and that she was compensating me for the long wait for my order I called back 2 weeks later ******* wasn't in so I spoke to ****** that my promissed order hadn't been received along with the compensated check that ******* said she was putting in the mail. She said she'll leave a message for ******* to call me to no avail. This is now December 31st of 2013 and I still don't have my backorder of longsleeves and hoodie. Product_Or_Service: May 2013

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for my items be printed, however I would now need to order Medium longsleeves and Medium hoodies instead of the small I originally ordered. I would like the vendor to call me when my items are ready so I can personally pick it up. If I am the only customer ordering an Item and you the vendor cannot fulfill my order then I think I should be notified immediately instead of having it drag on for months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/30) */ From: ******* ****** (mailto:*******@nchawaii.com) Sent: Wednesday, January 29, 2014 4:21 PM To: Better Business Bureau Cc: ******* ****** Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#86-14002007-********-7-401) Aloha *******, Im so sorry I only now got this email. The situation has been resolved with Ms. *******. We did contact her directly and we got the situation taken care of. Mahalo, ******* ******- *******@nchawaii.com School Operations

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB: I would like to file a sales issue complaint against New Creations based on the following series of events: 1. On November 20, 2013, I placed on order for 3 t-shirts on their website (www.kulathreads.com) and received an email confirming my order (see Attachment A). The confirmation noted that, "Orders typically ship out 1-3 days." 2. On November 29, 2013, I called their office at ***-**** at 10 a.m. since I had not received my order nor was I informed of the status of my order. After several rings, it went to an automated greeting which said I would be transferred and then it hung up on me. 3. After being disconnected. I could only assume that they were closed. However, nowhere was this closure mentioned - not on their voicemail and not on their website. In fact, on their website they posted an announcement that they were closed on July 24th and July 25th. Why not notify their customers that they would be closed on November 29th too? (See Attachment B.) 4. On December 2, 2013, I called their office at 9:30a.m. again to follow up on my order. This time I spoke to a woman named *******. She pulled up my order and told me that the 2 adult shirts were not yet available and that she sent the youth shirt to my son's school (Ali'iolani) on November 20, 2013. I did not select the option to have the shirts sent to the school- in fact I paid for postage to have the shirts sent to my P.O. Box. Why was it not communicated to me that the shirt would not be sent to me? Why make a decision that is not what the customer requested? I told her that my son to date has not brought home any shirt. She offered to resend the youth shirt and I told her not to. ******* was pleasant enough on the phone; however, at no time did she offer any solutions regarding the adult shirts or apologize for the delay or even offer an explanation. I asked her to cancel my entire order, which she said she would do. 5. The Kula Threads website makes the following statement: "As a company we take pride in servicing our customers with Aloha, making sure their concerns are eased and their needs met." I can attest that that is not a true statement- my concerns were not eased and my order needs were not met. For 11 days, from the time I placed my order was there any communication from this company that my order could not be fulfilled. There was no indication when I placed my order that they were out of stock or any notiCe of an estimated time frame. These shirts were ordered in ample time to be worn in the Kaimuki Christmas Parade on December 5, 2013. I am unhappy that this company could not make that happen. For an A+ accredited BBB company, I expected better. I am requesting that New Creations not bill me for anything, verify my cancelled order in writing, and do a better job with communicating with their customers. Sincerely, ***** ********** P.O. Box **** Honolulu, Hawaii ***** Email: ************@hotmail.com

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that New Creations not bill me for anything, verify my cancelled order in writing, and do a better job with communicating with their customers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/12/30) */ December 30, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1132 Bishop Street #615 Honolulu, HI 96813 Re: Case #******** Aloha Mr. **********, Mahalo for bringing this matter to our attention. Per our conversation last week, we sincerely apologize for the poor experience you had with our company. I would like to address your concerns as well as discuss resolutions so that you can be confident in knowing that customer satisfaction is very important to us, and that as a company we do strive for excellence in all aspects of our business practices. (The issues are addressed in the order of which you wrote them.) 1. "Orders typically ship out 1-3 days,"- If the items are in stock, this is a true statement. We have items readily available on our shelves that we pull from daily. If you opt for USPS home delivery, like you did, orders are shipped out within this time frame. If the items are unavailable, the website does let you know that you are pre­-ordering that item. Please see the screen shots below of the items that you ordered. Solution: We will be working closely with our web technicians to change the verbiage on the notifications to communicate more effectively that the Item Is out of stock and will take longer to ship out. 2. Automated Greeting: We have two phone lines here at New Creations, and when line one is in use, the automated message is supposed to transfer you to our second line. We have not been able to use this line for quite some time. We have contacted Hawaiian Telcom on several occasions, and filed a case regarding it. Solution: Hawaiian Telcom has been contacted and notified of this complaint,as well as a complaint of our own. A technician has been scheduled to come out and repair the damage to the line. (Case# ******) 3. Closure Notification: This was an oversight on our part. We strive to post all information on our website that affects our customers, unfortunately in this case we failed to post the notification. Solution: This task has been re-assigned to our technical support team, and they will be posting all closure information on a regular basis. 4. *******: She was hired here as a temporary intern for our company requesting training in the customer service department. She was assigned to pull and ship all incoming orders from our web system, as well as handle phone calls regarding these orders. As a company, we do not make a habit of changing shipping methods, especially without first notifying the customer and getting approval of the change. Unfortunately this was a rare mistake. Solution: ******* Is no longer an intern with our company. We have started a search for a replacement, and we will take all necessary steps to hire a more qualified assistant. We will also ensure that any and all staff,permanent or temporary will go through to same thorough training process to better assist and handle all customer communications and orders. As a company we do strive to serve all of our customers with aloha. It is very unfortunate when situations escalate to levels of this magnitude. I can assure you that moving forward, all staff will be trained to better assist and answer all customer inquiries, as well as thoroughly communicate any and all issues regarding the order within a reasonable timeframe. Your request to not be billed for anything, has been honored, a refund for the entire order amount as been confirmed. As of December 27, 2013, your order has successfully been cancelled, and refunded. Once again, we do sincerely apologize for the experience that you had with our company. We do hope we have addressed your concerns adequately, and ask that should you have any more questions or concerns, that you contact us directly, as we will be more then happy to talk with you and address any and all concerns that you have. Sincerely, ******* *. ****** Department Manager Kula Threads, LLC (808) ***.**** *******@nchawaii.com Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2014/01/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

8/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues