Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Travel Hawaii, LLC

Phone: (808) 737-7726 Fax: (408) 332-5453 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 297, Kailua, HI 96734 http://Travel-Hawaii.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers hotel stays and car rentals in Hawaii.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Travel Hawaii, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Travel Hawaii, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Travel Hawaii, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 12, 1998 Business started: 05/01/1998 in HI Business started locally: 05/01/1998 Business incorporated 05/01/1998 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20535326-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is TAR5110.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John Lindelow, Manager Ms. Roz Rapozo, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Lindelow, Manager
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Travel-Hawaii.com
Industry Tips
TRAVEL TIPS USING THE SERVICES OF A TRAVEL AGENT

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 297

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 737-7726 (888) 373-2422

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Travel Hawaii did not return phone calls to their main business line or their "emergency" line which prevented us from cancelling our reservations in the time window they allotted for cancellations. They waited 5 days to return our phone calls and then informed us it was too late to cancel. We called the hotels and informed them of our cancellation and they were willing to refund our reservations if only Travel Hawaii had bothered to pick up the phone or return a call. We will never use Travel Hawaii again and strongly suggest no one else does either.

Desired Settlement: We would like a full refund and an apology.

Business Response: Travel Hawaii was notified by the ***** that they could not make their trip to Hawaii due to a death in their family. They notified us after our business hours on Friday, July 1, 2016. They had two hotel reservations, one at the ****** ******** ******* and the other at the ******** *** **** on Maui.

For both of their reservations, their notice of cancellation on July 1 was AFTER the late cancellation penalty date that is imposed by the hotels, and not by Travel Hawaii. For the ****** ******** ******* this was June 30, 2016. For the ******** *** ****, this was June 28, 2016. The ******'s penalty for late cancellation is one nights stay. The ********'s penalty for late cancellation is two nights stay. These conditions were clearly communicated to the ***** in multiple emails. A copy of their itinerary, containing the hotel penalty terms as found in those emails, is further below.

Travel Hawaii worked through our wholesaler, All About Hawaii, to see if we could get these penalties removed by the hotels. The ****** would not remove the penalty, but the ******** offered to rebook the clients at a later date without the two-nights stay penalty. These facts were also communicated to the ***** via email.

Our wholesaler also indicated that the hotels might reverse their penalties should the ***** provide the following information: 1) Who they spoke when they called the hotels direct on July 1 to indicate they could not make the trip, and whether any indication was made by hotel staff about the cancellation penalties; and 2) The death certificate of the person who died. This information was communicated in an email to the ***** on July 6. A response was never received.

All Travel Hawaii clients are asked to review all of the terms and conditions of their reservations before they apply payment. They must click a box indicating that they have read and understand all the terms and conditions, including the cancellation terms.

We are still more than willing to work on getting the ****** and ******** penalties reversed. But we need to hear from the ***** to proceed further.

Following are the hotel itineraries as emailed to the ***** on multiple occasions, showing the hotel cancellation policies.


ITINERARY

04Jul2016:  ****** ******** ******* (2 nights) [Travel Hawaii Res *******              **** ***** ****              ********* **  **********              ****** ************              **** ************             *******  ***** ***** * ***** ****             ******* ***** ********    ******** ***** ********             **** ********* ****** **** ****             ***** ************ ******* **********             ******* *********             ********* ***** **** * ******** ********* ****             ******** ******* *** ***             ********* ***********             ****** *******  
            Resort Fee: $30.00 Per Room Per Day (NOTE: The Resort Fee is NOT included in our rates.)
The Resort Fee provides the following: WiFi and wired Internet access in your room; ************ * access with unlimited movies and games (DVD Now card given to you at check-in can only be used in your specified tower. One movie/game can be removed at a time.); Local, toll-free, and credit card calls (No access fee); ******** Cultural Activities; Resort Audio Tour; Dive-in Movies on Wednesdays and Saturdays at sundown (See Dive-in Movie titles and location on your in-room television channel #5.); Outdoor Morning Exercise Classes. One personalized photo postcard per stay from Xerox Business Services.
            Cancellation Terms: Cancellations not made by 2016-06-30 or "no-shows" are subject to a 1 night room cancellation charge that is imposed by the hotel, and which is in addition to Travel Hawaii's normal cancellation charges.  


06Jul2016:  ******** *** **** Maui (3 nights) [Travel Hawaii *** *******              **** ****** ******              ******* **  *****              ****** ************              **** ************             *******  ***** ***** * ***** ****             ******* ***** ********    ******** ***** ********             **** ********* ******** *****             ***** ************ ******* ********             ******* *********             ********* ******** ****** ********* * ****** ****             ******** ******* *** ***             ********* ***********             ****** ********  
            Resort Fee: $35.00 Per Room Per Day (NOTE: The Resort Fee is NOT included in our rates.)
The Resort Fee provides the following: Internet access; local, domestic long distance and 800 access calls; Self-parking; Shuttle service within the Wailea area; In-suite bottled water; Access to ******* ******* Center; Daily beach umbrella rental; 1-hour snorkel equipment rental; Cultural activities.
            Cancellation Terms: Cancellations not made by 2016-06-28 or "no-shows" are subject to a 2 nights room cancellation charge that is imposed by the hotel, and which is in addition to Travel Hawaii's normal cancellation charges.  


TOTAL PRICE FOR THIS ITINERARY: $  2201.00 (includes all hotel taxes)

1/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid in advance for a rental car via ***** through Travel Hawaii (reservation #******.When we arrived on Maui 12/27/2014 the ***** had no record of the reservation and had no other cars so we were forced to rent a car at another agency. Thus far Travel Hawaii has refused to refund our money.

Desired Settlement: We believe we took reasonable measures to resolve the matter with Travel Hawaii. We wish the funds to be returned as a credit on our credit card.

Business Response: Dear BBB:

On December 4, 2014, the following rental car reservation was booked and paid for via our web site at ************************:

27Dec2014: ***** Midsize Car for 9 days
            Driver: ****** *********
            Location: Kahului Airport (Maui)
            ***** Confirmation Number: ***********
            Status: Confirmed
            Pickup Time: 4:00P on 27Dec2014
            Dropoff Time: 12:00 Noon on 5Jan2015 (or earlier)
            Special Requests: Toddler seat, Booster seat
            Price: $665.59
ALL INCLUSIVE RATE: Rental Car Price includes Unlimited Daily Mileage and ALL Fees and Taxes including Hawaii General Excise Tax, Airport concession fee, Highway Surcharge, Vehicle licensing fee, and Customer Facility Charge. Rental car insurance is not included in the package price and is optional in the state of Hawaii.

The contact information entered was the driver, ********* *****, with email ********************* and phone number ************.

The reservation was paid for using a credit card with information as follows:

Name on Card: ***** *****
Card: VISA ending in ****
Billing Address:
***** ***** *** *****
******** ***** ** ****** ***
Phone: ************

The terms and conditions for rental car reservations are available via links that are obvious and placed for easy customer access as follows:

1) On the initial car rental booking page at ************************************************
2) On the third screen where a client fills in their name, email, and phone number
3) On the payment page

On the payment page the client must check a box indicating that they have read and understand the terms and conditions.

The  terms and conditions read, in part:

--> If you fail to pickup your car, or cancel on or after your pickup date, or if you return your car early, your reservation is non-refundable. So partially used or totally unused rentals are nonrefundable beginning the day of pickup.

After the rental car was booked and paid for, the next we heard from anyone about this reservation was on December 31 at 11AM, four days after the car was to be picked up, when we received a voicemail from ***** *****. We returned the call at 11:16AM and spoke with Mr. *****. Mr. ***** said that he and/or his wife were traveling with Mr. ***** (*****'s son, said *****) and they said that they were unable to pickup the car from ***** because ***** could not find their reservation. Mr. ***** also said that they had called Travel Hawaii more than once that day but did not leave a message.

During the call with Mr. ***** we checked the Travel Hawaii call system, which records ALL calls to our company even if the person hangs up immediately. We could not find any calls from the phones of Mr. *****, his wife, or the driver ********* *****. In fact, we had no calls at all from the *** area code (the area code of the cell phones of Mr. ***** and his wife) from Dec 1-30.

We told Mr. ***** we would have to research his situation and get back to him.

We contacted ***** and re-affirmed that the reservation was indeed in place and that a car was available for pickup on Dec 27 at Kahului airport in the name of ********* *****.

Travel Hawaii has sold many thousands of ***** car reservations in Hawaii over the past 12 years and has NEVER had a case of a ***** reservation disappearing.

We also attempted to contact Mr. *****, the driver, via email. We emailed him on 12/31/14 and on 1/7/15 but have never received a response. Following is the email sent on both those dates:

==================================

Date: 2014-12-31 11:37:52
From: Travel-Hawaii.com (**** ********) ***********************
To: ********* ***** 
Subject: ***** Hawaii Reservation ******


Hi ********* -

I talked to your father earlier today (***** *****).

We have no record of calls from your phone number or from any phone number in area code *** on Dec 27 or at anytime in December prior to today. So apparently there was actually no attempt to contact us about your reservation via phone. Also there are no emails regarding this reservation from anyone.

We are working with ***** now to determine if inquiries were made by you on Dec 27 at the ***** counter at Kahului.

As it stands right now, this is being treated as a "No Show". Any evidence you have of inquiries made to ***** or to Travel Hawaii regarding this reservation would be most welcome.

Aloha,

****
=====================================
Based on the above information we concluded that no attempt had been made to contact Travel Hawaii about this reservation until 4 days after the reservation was to begin.

We also spoke with Mr. ***** on Jan 7 about the situation and how we were working to get some portion of refund for him.

On Jan 10, despite the fact that the reservation was a no-show, we refunded $332.80 to Mr. *****'s credit card (50% of what he paid). We conveyed this information to him in a voicemail since we did not have an email address for him at that time.

In summary:
--Travel Hawaii worked diligently with this client and attempted to determine the veracity of their claims.
--Our terms and conditions were clearly stated and agreed to by the client.
--We refunded them 50% of what they paid, even though they were a no-show and made no attempt to contact Travel Hawaii until 4 days after their reservation was to begin.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: despite reading the response from Travel Hawaii nowhere do I see any admission of even the possibility that Travel Hawaii had any responsibility for the circumstances we faced. Travel Hawaii office was closed at the time of our arrival on Maui, and we feel that our inability to immediately connect with a live person at Travel Hawaii who might have helped us and ***** locate the reservation. We appreciate the generosity of ***** in refunding us half our money, but we continue to feel Travel Hawaii should make up the difference to make us whole. We were told by ***** they had no reservation for us, and that required us to pay for another car out of pocket. Why would we not pick up the ***** vehicle we had already totally paid for in advance? I am unable to account for the failure of Travel Hawaii's phone system to log our calls to them attempting to obtain their help on the 27th. Apparently their system is not foolproof. Good customer relations to a customer who rented 3 cars from them this trip apparently is not sufficient reason for Travel Hawaii to do the right thing.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Travel Hawaii, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)