BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Regal Travel

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 566-7620 View Additional Phone Numbers 615 Piikoi St Ste 104, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://regaltravel.com

! There is an alert on Regal Travel !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full travel services, providing cruise, tour, air, hotel and car in packages or individually.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Regal Travel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Regal Travel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Regal Travel include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Regal Travel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 19, 2013 Business started: 11/28/2012 Business started locally: 11/28/2012 Business incorporated: 05/25/2012 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The license number is TAR-6918.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W04204522-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Sonya Miyashiro, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sonya Miyashiro, Member
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
SRT LLC

Additional Locations

  • 116 Hualalai St STE 201B

    Hilo, HI 96720 (808) 935-5796

  • 615 Piikoi St Ste 104

    Honolulu, HI 96814 (808) 566-7620 (800) 799-0865

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 799-0865(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

X

On 9/9/2013, Hawaii's BBB was advised by this company that they have been receiving calls from consumers about travel package offers made by Regal Travel at 800-209-1253 with a web site, regaltc.com. However, the telephone number and the web site do not belong to this company and this company has no affiliation with the referenced Regal Travel. It appears that the referenced company is Regal Travel And Cruise, Inc. in Maitland, FL with a main telephone number of 321-221-0216, based on the license number posted at http://regaltc.com/Contact.html, according to State of Florida's licensee record available here.


Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Booked a trip with regal travel and ran into travel complications and missed flight. Received no help when attempting to go on with the trip. Booked travel plans with regal travel. Paid for airfare, cruise, and travel insurance. Missed flight out and regal has been horrid in responding to my requests for assistance. I have been told to cancel the trip, pay for another flight, and been hung up on over a 5 hour time frame. I'd like to go on the trip I paid for. I have repeatedly asked multiple agents of regal travel for this and continue to get the run around.

Desired Settlement: Find me a flight out at no additional cost to me to connect me with the cruise ship with no missed days. Full Refund of the hotel booking I am now missing due to their lack of assistance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/12/06) */ SITUATION: The client, after missing her flight, called and spoke to 6 people in the office. Each person tried to determine what she wanted to do as it involved an imminent cruise departure. The client repeatedly hung up on each conversation so it was difficult to determine the best solution. We were not able to successfully communicate with the client. We believe, for whatever reason that the client did not want to go on the trip. The airlines does not show the client checking in for the flight, nor does the airline show an incident report for a late check in. As we were not able to communicate with the client, we met with the client's family member on 12/5/13 to determine details of the abrupt cancellation and work out insurance filing details. We will continue to work with the cruise line for a possible refund although we're not able to speak directly to the client. For the record, it would be helpful to know what cause the missed flight that precipitated the subsequent string of events. We have not been able to get an answer from the client. CONFIRMED BOOKING FOR CLIENT: 12/2 1140am Flight depart Honolulu to Sydney 12/3 720pm Flight arrives Sydney; transfer to hotel for 1 night 12/4 400pm Ship sets sail from Sydney AGENCY'S PHONE & DOCUMENT LOG INDICATES: * 12/2/2013 11:54am Call received from client asking for agent-on-record. Client told agent is off and would she like to leave message. Client said no and would call agent directly. 12:17pm Client calls and asked if someone can help because she missed the flight to Sydney. Agent-A tried to determine what time she arrived at airport to miss boarding and was told it was not relevant or important. Agent-A said needed few minutes to check alternatives and would call client back. 12:28pm Agent-B called China Air to see if 1pm flight could be held as connection via Taipei or Narita would allow her to make cruise. China agent checked with airport and told flight was already closed and in process of boarding. 12:34pm Agent-A called client to advise of China situation and alternative would be to fly to West Coast and take direct flight to Sydney and gave cost. Agent-A told client that air cost would need to be paid by client. Client indicated that she had already paid agency and it was our responsibility to get her to the desintation and she would not provide any upfront money. 12:36pm AgentB contacted Hawaiian Airlines and was told that if client wanted to file incident report, would need to be done online. 12:56pm Agent-B spoke to client that we were still checking flights to Sydney and asked client if she had credit card for payment. Client said she paid money to agency to get her on the cruise and its the agency's responsibility to get her there and on the cruise. She said she had no money to pay for a new ticket. She said she needs Hawaiian Air to return her money. Client asked to speak to someone else in the agency to help her. 12:58pm Client spoke to Agent-C who said she could check next available flight that may get her to Sydney by Dec 4. 1:20pm Client spoke to Agent-D. Client did not want to listen or discuss how we could resolve the problem and get her to her destination. She repeatedly said it was the agency's problem to get her there. Difficult to solve when problem is created by client. Client hung up on Agent-D. 1:27pm Agent-E spoke to client who said she was delayed and missed her flight and she needed to catch her cruise. When Agent-E checked her record, he noted the client missed flight and had already spoken to Agent-C. 1:28pm Agent-B spoke to cruise line to see what assistance could be offered to client who missed flight. Was advised that client needs to arrive in Sydney by 7pm on 12/04 and ship will not wait for her. The next port of call is Bay of Islands on 12/7, so it would be easier to fly her to Auckland for 12/8 possible boarding. 1:30pm Agent-D called client again to try and discuss situation with her. Client hung up. 3:00pm Agent-E spoke to client who said she showed up at airport when she was supposed to and plane left without her. Agent-E offered option of paying $1062 for Air New Zealand flight tonight that would get her there by 830am. She said she paid cash to agency already to agency and we need to get her there. 3:15pm Agent-E emailed client and asked client to respond by 4:00pm. Email text: "I am sorry to hear you missed your flight to Sydney at 1140am today December 2. As our agent xxx explained to you at the time of booking you need to check in 3 hours prior to departure to make sure everything is processed correctly and you are able to get on the plane. I am not sure what time you checked in but if you checked in late and Hawaiian would not board you there is nothing we can do about this. Hawaiian Airlines made a temporarary booking for you on 03Dec on the Honolulu to Sydney flight but that arrives Sydney on 04Dec at 750pm but that would mean you miss boarding your cruise. It is now 315pm. As I explained to you on the phone I can get you out tonight on Air New Zealand but a new ticket has to be purchased for an additional $1087.00. I need to hear from you with payment by 430pm today Monday 02Dec in order make the ticketing deadline for you to leave tonight. Your 2nd option is to take a Hawaiian Airlines flight to depart on 06Dec from Honolulu to Auckland which will put you in Auckland on 07Dec at 1005pm. You could get the ship in Auckland on 08Dec. You would have to pay for a $300 change fee with Hawaiian Airlines plus 1 night in an Auckland hotel. With this option you will miss the lst 4 days of the cruise. You can get back to me Tuesday morning 12/3 should you decide this is a suitable option. You have indicated to me over the phone that the first option is unacceptable and you would not pay any more money. That leaves only the 2nd option which also requires you paying more money. Since you say you would NOT pay any more money, I have no options for you. We are doing everything we can to get you to Sydney or Auckland but since you missed your flight, all the options require an additional amount of money to be paid. If you decide one of these options work let me know by the times listed in the email. You can reach me at xxx-xxxx." 4:45pm Agent-E called client as there was no response to email and reviewed details with her. Client was adamant that she would not pay anything more and that she filed a claim with the Better Business Bureau and she would tell everyone how bad the agency was. She called the owner rude and said we were all not helpful. INCIDENT REPORT - 12/3/2013: - Agent-F spoke to client with offer to leave on 06Dec to join cruise on 08Dec in Auckland. Client refused. Agent-F advised client that all reservations would be cancelled if she refused offer. Client continued to complain that no one at the agency assisted her. Agent-F cancelled cruise and air reservations. RESPONSE TO CLIENT'S DESIRED RESOLUTION: 1. The client was advised to check-in 3 hours prior to flight departure in event of contingencies - traffic, long check-in lines, etc. All travelers must adhere to standard airport check-in protocol - both airline and TSA. If the requirements are not followed, the responsibility to "find a flight at no additional cost to connect with the cruise ship with no missed days" as the client indicates is at most, capricious and nonsensical on the part of the traveler. 2. We will continue to work with the cruise line for possible refund although we're not able to communicate directly with the client. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The resolution requested in this complaint is what I requested of Regal Travel that day. I made travel arrangements through regal travel. I showed up for the flight. It left without me. I attempted to make arrangements through Hawaiian airlines and they could only put me on standby the next day. Contacted regal travel for assistance with continuing my trip. They could not connect me with the beginning of the cruise. I asked for a full refund.