BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Panda Travel

Phone: (808) 734-1961 Fax: (808) 737-5272 View Additional Phone Numbers 1017 Kapahulu Ave, Honolulu, HI 96816 http://www.pandaonline.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full travel agency services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Panda Travel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Panda Travel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Panda Travel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 22, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20336510-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is TAR365.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lydia Tsui, President Mr. Ken Ikeda, Director of Operatio
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ken Ikeda, Director of Operatio
Principal: Ms. Lydia Tsui, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Panda Travel Hawaii Panda Travel, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1017 Kapahulu Ave

    Honolulu, HI 96816 (808) 734-1961

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 726-3288(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made online reservations through Pandaonline. I thought I reserved 2 rooms/cars packages. When I got to Kauai I found out it was not as I thought. I have enclosed a letter that I wrote to Panda Travel as suggested by Action Line. My problem occurred on December 24, 2012 and my confirmation number is *******. My problem is with Panda Online in which I booked reservations. I needed two rooms and two cars for a trip to Kauai. When I got to Kauai I found out that I could only have one car and this car could only fit 5 people. I had 6 people in my party. I looked at my confirmation information and I still can't figure out why I didn't have two cars. When I called to try to clear up the problem from Kauai I was told on the phone by Panda Online that I could only rent one car under one name. I did not know that. I do not recall anything on the website telling me this. When making the reservations online I really thought I went through the process of making two separate room/car reservations. (I received a response from Panda and they said, "Our booking system does not allow for the booking of multiple vehicles within the same booking.") For someone who is a casual online user I didn't even pick up on this. I just don't think that the reservation system has flaws. Thus, I needed another vehicle and I ended up paying for a van so all 6 of us could be accommodated. I didn't use the car I had already paid for. I paid $115.74 for the van for two days. I also asked on the phone if I could be credited for the car I didn't use. The response was no. (If you need to see the e-mail from Panda please let me know.)

Desired Settlement: I want Panda to credit me for the car portion. I asked them for the breakdown of charges and they did not give me one so I don't know what the car portion of the package deal was. Or I want them to pay for the cost of the van for two days. I think they need to make their website clearer so consumers like me really understand what they are paying for. I feel that I got "ripped" off and truly feel that they are not consumer friendly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/01/23) */ First, we would like to apologize to Ms.***** for any inconvenience she and her family experienced. More so because it was during the Christmas Holiday season and the vacation trip was a special Christmas gift to her parents and aunt. We acknowledge that Ms. ***** did purchase an online Interisland Package from our Pandaonline website for the island of Kauai, a two night stay(two rooms) and a (1) car rental compact. The assumption and expectation by Ms. ***** that her booking included two (2)cars is incorrect and this is where she encountered the problem in Kauai airport when attempting to pickup two compact vehicles. The itinerary that was transmitted once the online purchased was clearly displays that a booking was made for 6 adults, 3 adults in each room. It indicates that for the ***** ***** ****** Number of room(s):2. Car - shows Compact max 5 passengers, 2 days. (it does not indicate 2 cars) Ms. ***** attempted to resolve this matter by writing to our President, Ms. ***** **** and our Accounting Assistant Manager replied by email to Ms. *****, explaining that our booking system does not allow for the booking of multiple vehicles within the same booking, therefore there is no drop down option to purchase multiple cars. Multiple rooms may be booked due to the room restrictions of certain hotel properties with regards to the number of adults allowed in a room. Realizing that she needed and would have to pay for another vehicle she opt to pickup a van to accommodate the 6 of them. She did not lose the credit that she paid for the two day compact. The $115.74 she paid at the counter was to upgrade her compact vehicle to a minivan for two days.In essence she paid a $50 per day upgrade fee from her compact price. We have worked diligently to make our Online booking website as user friendly as possible. We rarely have issues with clients not understanding the travel components that they purchased. We value our clients and we hope that we give them a value in what they purchased. Since we did not receive or keep any residual or credited monies and provided the products as purchased, regretfully, we are not able to grant a refund as requested by Ms. *****. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not understand why the company thinks that I should have realized that I only rented one car when I rented two rooms under the room/car package deal. It does not clearly indicate that I could rent only one car. The travel agency even indicated that it is not stated that there weren't two cars rented. If the company noticed that there was a discrepancy with the number of occupants in the rooms and the number of occupants in the vehicle why wasn't I notified? When I contacted the travel agency I asked them for a break down for the rooms and car rental. They did not respond to my request. I don't know how much the car rental was because I was given one lump sum fee. I disagree about my having a credit for the car rental. When I spoke to an employee on the phone and asked if I could receive a credit to rent a van she told me no. The rental of the van was a separate transaction since the travel company denied me credit. The employee at the car rental agency really tried to accommodate my dilemma. I may be one of the rare ones that have issues with the online website as travel company stated. Thus, they need to continue to work on making it user friendly so they have no issues with clients. I am disappointed with the contradictions that I continue to receive from this company. Their communication to me have left me completely unsatisfied. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/02/04) */ Ms. *****, I'm sorry that you're having a difficult time in understanding the package you purchased, which was for a room(s) and car. After going online and booking a package from the list of hotels in Kauai, you are given or advised that you can indicate of the number of rooms with a drop down menu and you entered the list of names who would be occupying the rooms as the maximum number was 3 people per room. You then select a car, which does not give you a drop down menu to select the number of cars to rent. On your second page of the completed itinerary Traveler Information, it displays the number of rooms reserved and in Car section it only indicates a ****** - Compact car with a max 5 passengers for 2 days. At no time does it indicate more than 1 car. As to your question, why weren't you notified. Our system doesn't alert us that you have 6 people book and booked a car for 5 passengers. Thank you this information as we are having our IT people look into this. In hindsight, you could have notified us that there is a discrepancy and we would have assisted you to get a larger vehicle. I apologize that your request for a breakdown for the cost was not provided. The Hotel was $772.31 for the two rooms for two nights. The Compact car was $71.20 for two days rental. If you look at the tape register receipt that you forwarded to us, it indicates that the $115.94 was for an UPGRADE to your car. $50.00 per day x 2days plus taxes and fees.You were credited with the $71.20 plus you paid at the counter $115.94 so the total rental for the Mini van cost $187.14 for two days which equates to $93.57 taxes and fees inclusive. I might add that being that it was Christmas Eve day, we would not have been able to secure a Mini van on the date of your actual purchase as there was a blackout on those type of vehicles. I'm glad that ****** *** ****** was able to accommodate you. I can only imagine your frustrations and disappointment in all this and spoiled a special Christmas gift to your family. I can only apologize again however, I cannot refund monies that we do not hold or have as a residual.

10/22/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service