Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Ken's Towing Service, Inc.

Phone: (808) 959-3361 Fax: (808) 961-6361 55 Kukila St, Hilo, HI 96720 http://www.usedparts96720.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers emergency road services as well as trucks for hire.  . license salvage rebuilt vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Ken's Towing Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Ken's Towing Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken's Towing Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1986 in HI Business started locally: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated 12/06/1999 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20570354-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RDS3730.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cynthia Honma, Personnel Mr. Kenneth L. Antonio Sr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cynthia Honma, Personnel
Business Category

Towing - Automotive Metal Salvage Yards

Method(s) of Payment
Credit cards, cash or local bank checks

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ken's Towing told me one price over the phone and I had to pay a higher price when I got to their shop. On Dec. 26,2013 Ken's towing picked up my truck at 6:30 p.m., due to flipping my truck (very traumatic experience). Dec. 27,2013 I called to find out what I owed. They said they didn't have my truck, but when the police called, they seemed to have found it. They said they would call me back with the amount, but didn't. Dec. 28,2013, I drove to their place, but they were closed. Days of operation unclear on their web site. Dec. 30, 2013, called again, they said they would call back with total owed. At 9:25 am, they called saying I owed $216, break down was $60.00 for hook-up, $116.00 for mileage and $40.00 for storage. I stressed the fact, that I called to take care of the bill the next day and they said they would take off two days of storage fees, bill should've been $196.00 (they should've taken off 3 days making the bill $ 186.00). Also, if I did not come in that day the would add back those days. We had a storm that day and I had to drive 50 miles, to them! When I got there, I was told I had to pay $261.00! Needless to say I was shocked and angry. I did my best to settle this in a timely manner and Ken's Towing, decides to traumatize me more! The woman said that, the other woman forgot to add something. The woman I spoke to on the phone said she had to speak to her boss when she came in, about reducing the storage fee, so you would think that they cost they quoted me over the phone was approved by her boss. I don't believe they should be tacking on more cost. I paid the bill only because, I would not have been allowed to retrieve my personal belongings from the vehicle, otherwise. I signed the credit card slip with my signature and wrote in "under duress" nor would I sign their invoice!

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund of seventy-five (75) dollars. The $65.00, they added on when I got there and another $10.00 for storage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/03) */ Our towing rates are regulated by County law HRS 291C-165.5 and 290-11b which are higher than what was charged to Ms. *********-*********. The amount charged to her was significantly less. She was charged a hookup fee, mileage fee, recovery fee, and storage fees. Had we charged her according to county law, she would have paid $447.50. However, consideration was given to her since she was paying out of pocket and was not covered by any type of insurance for these charges. She was discounted $186.50 without knowing it. When she came in on Monday the 30th to pay for her charges she mentioned that she drove in 50 miles and discovered our office was closed on Saturdays. She asked for a discount and we discounted two days of storage $20 for Saturday and Sunday. Our office personal apologized for not having a record of her vehicle at our lot when she called Friday the 27th at 3:30p. Her vehicle was not logged into our database so it seemed that it was not at our lot when it really was. Our office hours are Monday thru Friday 7:30-12 and 1-4p. Being that she would be driving 50 miles to get to our office, she would have not been able to beat our 4p closing time on Friday so the earliest she could have came into our office would have been Monday. Our office personal did quote her the incorrect total over the phone but was able to show her the charge on her invoice that was over looked was for a roll over service that was performed. This charge was not a last minute add on, it was missed when first calculating her total. We have gone above and beyond discounting Ms. *********-********* and any further discounts would be as if she wanted free services. No amount of discounts on our part could take back the situation that resulted from her auto accident. By no means did we take advantage of her situation by over charging her. She simply paid for services that were provided to her. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 8, 2014/01/06) */ In response to the company's response, one I did not call at 3:30pm I called in the morning of the 27th, and was told the vehicle is not there, it took the police to call them for them to respond in an untimely manner. As for me not being able to get there before the end of their business day, it falls on them due to the fact that they actually did not call me back. I had to call them again after the police called me and said that in fact my vehicle was there. I do not, as they so rudely put it, want free services! I do want to pay what was quoted over the phone, minus one extra day of storage. As to them , "discounting" due to me paying out of pocket, stating I had no insurance, I have insurance and at the time they did not know whether or not I was using insurance or not. It was not discussed in any conversation with the office nor the tow person.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ken's Towing Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)