Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All Island Automotive Towing

Phone: (808) 456-5655 Fax: (808) 677-6930 View Additional Phone Numbers   http://www.allislandtowing.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto and light truck towing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All Island Automotive Towing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for All Island Automotive Towing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on All Island Automotive Towing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 31, 2008 Business started: 03/29/1999 in HI Business started locally: 03/29/1999 Business incorporated 03/29/1999 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20551556-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul Perry Jr., President Ms. Kanoelani Hamilton Hamilton
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Perry Jr., President
Business Category

Towing - Automotive

Alternate Business Names
P M Autoworks, Inc.
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My truck was towed from ****** ******* *** ** *** ***** ** ******** at 9pm. I arrived on the scene when the tow track driver was hooking up my vehicle. I asked him to drop down my vehicle but the driver said, "Too bad it's in the air". Also he said "This is how I make my living." He continued to process the towing and I ended up to having to go to their location to get my vehicle back. I had to pay total of $157.50 which I still have the receipt. Hawaii states laws requires the tow truck driver to drop the vehicle if the owner of the vehicle is on the scene. All Island Towing website states this hawaii towing laws. I have multiple witnesses over there. This is totally against the law. If there is anything else I can provide for this issue please feel free to contact me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have all my money refunded. $157.50.

Business Response: First I'd like to apologize for the delayed response. For some reason this complaint was sent to our Physical address and not our Mailing address on file.                                                                  ·                 .

After review of the complaint, I had pulled all information pertaining to this Vehicle & Customer. I had  also interviewed the Driver who was dispatched. AIAT had gotten the call approximately 21:18hrs on November 26, 2014 . The driver pulled up & immediately noticed a large party was going on in the area that the Honolulu Police Department had requested the Tow a vehicle blocking the Fire Hydrant.

With the requesting officer on scene the driver had proceeded to hook up the vehicle, Shortly after proceeding there were approximately 15 people who had come out from the party. All were screaming & yelling at once, pretty  much surrounding the officer & driver. It was complete chaos as they were all noticeably infuriated at the situation and noticeably intoxicated.

During the commotion no time did 1 particular person approach the officer&. state he or she was the registered owner & provide identification. Instead at that point the crowd had gotten unruly; back up was called a   both the officer & driver were EXTREMLY fearful for their safety There were individual attempting to get into the assumed locked vehicle; individuals  are also climbing
on the Tow truck. The officer & driver had made it out of there are & proceeded with caution as the roadway was littered with belligerent individuals yelling, screaming & throwing unknown
objects. The vehicle was then brought to our Police Impound Facility. ,

 Approximately an hour after the vehicles arrival a male & female (separate phone calls) had called repeatedly screaming threats to Employee answering the phones. Our office staff was advised of the occurrence at the pickup location when the vehicle arrived.   combined with the continued harassing demeanor the staff was instructed to call the HPD in assisting with safely identifying the registered owner & returning the vehicle to him or her. @ hours it they'd arrived and seemed to have aimed after being told repeatedly that HPD would be here for the safety of AIAT        midnight shift.

 First & foremast it's  ur job to ensure that our staff is safe & not in harm's way I Our employees under and that the conditions can get a little crazy out there but for no reason should they be made to be "FEARFUL For ThEIR LIVES" . In my opinion all parties  that participated in that chaos are lucky to not have ended up In Jail that evening  With that being said, AIAT respectful y denies the request of impound fees to be refunded.

9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have called to find information on my boyfriend's car, who is currently serving in Afghanistan. I was cursed at and hung up on by the employee. On Sept 16th 2014 at 11:30 am I asked to speak to the owner. The employee replied no, threatened to hang up the "god damn phone" on me when I asked for the manager and then actually did hang up. I called back to find out the representative's name and she refused to give me any information, hanging up on me a second time. This is extremely inappropriate, especially since I have power of attorney over the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: I would like a representative who will answer my questions without cursing or hanging up on me.

Business Response: I received Ms ******** complaint she had filed with the BBB. I do recall her numerous phone calls to our office. She had requested information about the vehicle that was impounded and was outraged at the fact
the vehicle was towed to begin with. She had stated she was NOT the Registered Owner as required by HRS 290-11 upon release of a impound vehicle. It was clearly explained by the Office personnel as to what documents needed to be provided at the time of pick up, Power Of Attorney stating all vehicle information, Registered Owner Info, as well as who is Authorized to be dealing with the affairs. During the entire conversations, she was screaming, yelling and swearing at my staff while they were trying to help and advise on what needed to be done and what was required by law.

After no end in sight as far as her calming down, she was told if she didn’t stop yelling and swearing they hang up the phone, which is exactly what had happened. The 4th call she had made, she requested the Manager, I took her call only to reiterate what was already told to her by my staff. She continued with her rude, ridiculous comments, remarks and name calling of myself, staff and business. She claimed to be out of state as well but possessed POA for her boyfriend. I explained at that point all we could advise her to do was create another POA from herself to someone physically on island to retrieve the vehicle. Ms **********, asked by what law or order are we allowed to request such information, I let her know it was clearly stated in the HRS 290-11 as well as on our website; allislandtowing.com & the City & County website for HPD initiated tows; knowyourtow.com she was still not having or hearing it & stated she’d complain to BBB if we didn’t release the vehicle, she was told to go ahead and do so as we All Island Automotive Towing and our staff are only following what is required by the Law. Ms. ********** was also told all Documentation needed to be Original documentation, with Notary to show its legality. This she stated she didn’t have.

I understand that no one is happy when their vehicles are towed but we do have an obligation to the Registered Owners of every vehicle we do tow to ensure we release their vehicles to the proper parties.
All of Ms. **********s questions were answered appropriately, we do reserve the right to refuse to speak with any persons with the type of demeanor she had displayed during those phone calls that we
borderline harassing at that point. We also do not have to release any information to anyone other then the registered owners of vehicles, such as charges. If any further information is required, please contact me a *********

Thank You 

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am completely appalled in the lack of professionalism demonstrated by All Island Towing and specially Ms. ********. Not only was I verbally ill-treated, but now they're claiming to have given me information they never did. Had they provided me with the information, I would have never filed a complaint with the BBB. I called Island Towing on the evening of 15th and was told (by a different employee) to call the following morning, and request to speak to the owner. That's exactly what I did. When I called Island Towing and requested to speak to the owner as instructed, Ms. ******** got infuriated and sarcastically replied "nobody talks to the owner!" Therefore, I was never told the proper procedure to handle the problem. No foul, rude or ridiculous language was used on my end since I needed the information to properly handle the claim.

A customer should never be spoken to in that unprofessional manner, and this can only indicate Ms. ******** lack of professionalism. One can only assume that this unacceptable behavior will continue with other customers. Now, to add even more unwanted confrontation, the lack of customer care is being turned into a "he said, she said" affair. Is this how All Island Towing does business?

I would also like to point out that in the original complaint written on Sept. 17th my resolution request was to speak to a representative who will answer my questions without cursing or hanging up on me. According to Ms. ********'s inconsistency, and I will directly quote her, "I would complain to BBB if you do not release my vehicle." This is untrue hence why I never wrote that in my original complaint to the BBB. As the Honolulu Police Department contract holder for towing vehicles on the island of Oahu. All Island Towing did not show a level of efficiency that would be expected from a reputable company. Ms. ******** lack of professionalism, and incompetence is a direct reflection of All Island Towing. Perhaps this is something that Honolulu Police Department should be aware of.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Office personnel refuses to produce a copy of an invoice and in the process of asking for said invoice personnel cusses at me and hangs up on me. My husband's vehicle was towed on September 29, 2011 by PM Autoworks Inc off of H1 to Ewa Auto Repair in Waipahu after a break down. The police officer on the scene arranged the tow. The tow truck driver took our credit card and we were charged $104.71. We never received a receipt or an invoice for the transaction. Upon discussing towing with my insurance agent in January of this year, it came to my attention that the towing had never gone through the claims process. He asked me for a copy of the invoice or a receipt for the towing so he could file the claim for me. I located my bank statement which showed the charge of $104.71 to PM Autoworks with a phone number listed. On 2/28/14, I phoned the office to ask for an invoice. The female that answered the phone told me that they don't keep invoices for more than year or two, and began questioning me as to why I hadn't called before now. I tried to explain that my insurance company was requesting it, but she insisted that they don't keep invoices. When I asked her whey they don't keep invoices for 7 years as required by law, she became belligerent and hung up on me. When I called right back, she began yelling at me and hung up again. At that point, I contacted my insurance agent to tell them that I didn't think it was going to be possible to get the requested invoice. They offered to give it a try for me. Shortly thereafter I receive a phone call back from my insurance agent saying that PM Autoworks had aggreed to retrieve the receipt but it would take 4 to 6 weeks and they needed all the info on the vehicle (make, model, license), date, location, and amount of charges which we provided. On 3/28/14, my insurance agent had not received the invoice yet so they made a follow-up phone call. The same female who claimed she was the manager when asked to speak to one on 2/28/14 claims she has no recollection of the conversation and that she is not the manager, someone else is but is not available, nor is the owner when asked to speak to him. My insurance agent calls me to give me an update as promised and it seems like we are back to square one. So I tried to call PM Autoworks on 3/28/14, and asked to speak with the owner by name. Again, I was given the run around and asked why i wished to speak with him. When I refused to tell the same female who I have spoken with every time I have called, she said that i sounded like I was trying to play some kind of game and hung up on me again. I gave her about 5 minutes to cool down and called back. She refused to tell me if and when the owner would be in or if he had another number to be reached at. I asked her to please take down my name and number and have him call me. I only got as far as my first name before she hung up on me again. I received a phone call from my insurance agent about 2 hours later telling me that the female from PM Autoworks had called their office claiming we were all harrassing her, so at least I now know that she did take down some information during at least one of the phone calls in order to know who to call back and complain to.

Desired Settlement: All I asked for was a copy of an invoice. With the way I and my insurance agent have been treated by the female employee I feel like I should be refunded the entire $104.71. There is no reason to hang up and cuss out a customer. Period.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/10) */ see attached documents Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/04/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have an Indiana phone number but I live in Ewa Beach. I would be happy to come pick up the invoice in question as soon as PM Autoworks has it ready. Here is all the info that PM Autoworks needs in order to find my invoice plus more that I have provided to them. Date: 9/29/2011 Location Picked up from: H1 near Kunia exit Location Towed to: Ewa Auto Repair, 94-303 Waipahu Street, Waipahu, HI 96797 Make: Ford Model: Excursion Year: 2004 Color: Gray License: ******** Vin: ***************** Total amount: $104.71 Name: ******* *********** contact #: ***-***-**** Thank you and I hope this will help resolve this issue. Final Business Response /* (1000, 22, 2014/06/16) */ To Whom It May Concern, In response to this complaiant All Island Automotive Towing (AIAT) had provided the Complainant with an Invoice dated to when their vuhicle was towed. Unfortunatley in situation such as these if a customer doesnt accept or request an Invoce from the driver at the time, NO invoice is created. Therefore when Mrs Baskerville requested one for Insurance reimburstment purposes AIAT had infact generated an invoice stating so. Our office had check our files for an original & there isnt one, best thing we could offer was what was created based on the information we were provided by the consumer. If the Complainant is requesting cc invoice, id advise for them to contact their Financial Instiution for that information. But with whats been provided, it is sufficent to aquire a Refund which they had stated was the purpose for this request. There is no further information that AIAT can or could provide to be deemed satisfactory by the Complainant. AIAT feels we have fulfilled the request, in no way are we trying to waste anyones time with what was provided, as that had also costed us in labor to do. We strive to give the BEST Service possible to every Customer we encounter. As we are one oh the States Lagrest Tow providers, we take Customer Service and satisfation very seriously and is one of our main goals! Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2014/05/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This company knows that they towed my vehicle!! I refuse to let them insinuate that I didn't in fact pay them $104.71 to have them do so. The "invoice" they sent me in the mail is not a copy of the original invoice and I would appreciate it if they would quit wasting my time and just go retrieve the original.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on All Island Automotive Towing
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)