BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Kauai ATV's LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 742-2734 Fax: (808) 742-9939 PO Box 800, Kalaheo, HI 96741 http://www.kauaiatv.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the services of guided sight-seeing, off-road tours on all-terrain 1 seater, 2 seater or 4 seater vehicles. Choice of 3 hour, 4 hour or private tours.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kauai ATV's LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kauai ATV's LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kauai ATV's LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 21, 2003 Business started: 06/21/1999 Business started locally: 06/21/1999 Business incorporated: 06/21/1999 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W20556284-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Olegario Rivera, President/Owner Ms. Marleny Cotrim, Marketing Mgr. Ms. Malia Fu, Bookkeeper
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Olegario Rivera, President/Owner
Business Category

Tours - Operators & Promoters Tourists Attractions

Alternate Business Names
Kauai ATV Tours

Additional Locations

  • 3477A Weliweli Road

    Koloa, HI 96756

  • PO Box 800

    Kalaheo, HI 96741 (808) 742-2734

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: August 12, 2013 This letter is to inform all parties concerned of my poor experience at Kauai ATV on August 4, 2013. Of most importance, my 14 yr-old son ***** suffered a 1-1/2 cut on the bottom of his foot due to the willful disregard of Kauai ATV rules by tour guide ****. **** told my son that the rules say you must have your shoes on, but go ahead and take them off. Moments later ***** cut his foot, leaving a pool of blood witnessed by many, including ****. At no time did **** look at the injury, or offer any first-aid at all. This is completely unacceptable.Second, I was berated, threatened and embarrassed by **** by singling me out for passing while driving the rented ATV. He even stopped the entire tour, got off his ATV and went to tell the owner. It was incredibly inappropriate, humiliating and essentially ruined the day for my family and I. Lastly, **** strongly suggested that we not bring our cameras. We were told that they could get ruined, but as it turned out, there was almost no chance of that. What there was though, was a chance to rip us off by attempting to sell us a CD of photos for $30.00! Attempts for remedies through Kauai ATV were met with lies, excuses and total dissatisfaction. I have contacted by credit card company to dispute the charges, but want to go on record to voice my incredible displeasure with Kauai ATV. Regards, **** ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund money refunded in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/21) */ The guests of our tour sign safety waivers and liabilities before going out on tour that state that they will follow rules set by our company or risk ejection from the tour without refund. The tour was stopped when the guest in question passed several vehicles on trail which is a safety violation. The lead guide spoke to the guest and reminded him that passing was dangerous and not allowed. The guest responded that the other guests on tour didn't know how to drive. The lead guide asked the guest to get back into his original place in line and was met with refusal. At that time, the lead guide felt that this particular guest could pose a safety hazard to the rests of our guests on tour and called the owner for advice. The owner gave the guest the option to remain on tour and follow the rules or quit the tour and be refunded in full. The guest chose to stay on tour. The tour continued to Wilcox tunnel where they stopped briefly and took pictures and then continued through the dark and narrow 1/2 mile tunnel. While in the tunnel, the car in front of said guest slipped out of gear and slowed to a stop. The guest passed the broken vehicle and was close enough to rub tires with the injured vehicle. The lead guide was not privy to the breakdown, because said guest had taken the spot at the front of the tour which made it look as though his tour was still intact in the dark tunnel. The safety guide at the back of the tour took care of the injured vehicle and moved the tour forward. At the waterfall stop, (the next scheduled stop) the lead guide recommended the guests keep their shoes on while swimming. The guest in question and his family removed their tennis shoes and socks and got into the water. The Lead guide and Safety guide were busy helping other guests and taking pictures during this time. When the guest's son scratched his foot getting out of the waterfall, another employee of the company who happened to be on tour, (for training purposes)noticed the scratch and asked if he was okay. The guest said that he was. Noticing the guides were still busy with other guests, she offered a band from our safety kit. The boy declined and put his shoe back on. The lead guide was notified of the cut after the boy's shoe had been put back on and asked if the boy was okay. The boy said he was fine. The guest finished the tour and then came back to our check in office. He expressed his displeasure with the cost of our picture CD to our office staff because it was a rip off. We do recommend guests with expensive sunglasses, jewelry, and non-waterproof cameras leave them behind. Guests are welcome to bring them as long as they understand that they may be damaged, broken, or even lost. The guest sent his complaint to our info email and it was forwarded immediately to the owner. The owner and his assistant responded to his complaint in a very professional manner. The guest was not pleased with the owners response and the next few emails from the guest were full of attorney threats and name calling. It is the owner's feeling that this particular guest had the opportunity to leave the tour and be refunded at the outset of the tour. He chose to stay and continued to break safety rules, endanger the rest of the guests on the tour, and ignore the direction of the guide at the waterfall. The owner does not wish to give him a refund. We do have statements from the 2 guides, the training employee, and a guest if needed. We also have the copies of his signed liabilities, and safety waivers. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) this is an outrageous misstatement of the facts. at no point did i endanger anybody via driving. i am an expert driver with 40 years of experience both on and off road, as well as motorcycle and race cars. the tour and tour guide made no effort to qualify anybody,started us off randomly with no concern for anyone's driving ability. it was haphazard at best, dangerous at worst. not to mention the fact that the carts are shoddy, in disrepair and the brakes on our four seater were so poor that i could barely stop the vehicle. as for my son getting injured, the guide stated out loud that "the rules say shoes are required but you may remove them" to my son. again, at no time did the guide, who had a clear bias against me, examine the cut, which bled profusely, or offer any medical treatment whatsoever. as for their claim of waivers, it is simply a way for this company to cover their poor preparation, poorly maintained vehicles (of which at least one broke down during our tour), poor leadership and poor management. that i am furious at such mistreatment and lack of customer service is an understatement. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/08/26) */ We do not dismiss Mr. *'s driving experience. He may very well have more experience than our other guests. Our tour is offered to all guests and levels of experience. The soil, terrain, and weather patterns on Kauai are very different from other mainland environments and although some guests may have experience on their own turf, few have experience on ours. Having experience however, on any terrain, does not mean that safety measures can be broken. We do offer private excursions for guests who may prefer an adventure away from other guests. We can tailor these tours to the guests needs. It is still a guided tour however, and the safety rules and regulations remain the same. Please understand that it was not our intention to give Mr. * a less than stellar experience. We pride ourselves in being able to balance great guest service with the level of safety required to run a tour such as this. The Safety form that was signed by Mr. * and verbally discussed during our tour briefing asks the guest to inform a guide immediately if the guest feels uncomfortable in the vehicle or has any difficulty with the machine. Had Mr. * mentioned his concern about his vehicle's brakes to our guides, the vehicle would have been switched out immediately. We take the tour on a short tester track prior to the actual tour to ensure that the vehicles are functioning properly and that the guests are comfortable with their vehicle choices. I have attached both Liability and Safety forms for convenience. It is our belief that our tour just didn't meet Mr. *'s expectations from the very beginning. The owner offered him a refund, (through our lead guide) if he chose to leave the tour at the onset. Mr. * turned it down to continue the tour. He agreed to follow the rules yet continued breaking rules and ignoring recommendations. To be clear, we are not a company who automatically sides with an employee when a guest complaint arises. We gather facts from everyone involved and make decisions based on the facts received from both the guests and staff. We have statements from 3 of our employees showing that Mr. * broke safety rules and ignored instruction. A statement from another guest on tour states, "The problem customer put a real damper on my fun time". His actions clearly affected others on tour. It is still our belief that Mr. * not be rewarded a refund for continually ignoring safety rules regardless of his experience with on and off-road vehicles. We do not feel that a reward is owed for bad behavior.