Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Polynesian Cultural Center

Phone: (808) 293-3005 View Additional Phone Numbers 55-370 Kamehameha Hwy, Laie, HI 96762 http://www.polynesia.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a cultural center created to preserve the arts, crafts, and cultures of Polynesia.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Polynesian Cultural Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Polynesian Cultural Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Polynesian Cultural Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 1973 Business started: 10/15/1963 Business started locally: 10/15/1963 Business incorporated 10/11/1963 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20277158-01.

Business Management
Mr. Alfred Grace, President Mrs. Iraani Bridges, Credit & Collection Manager Mr. Kealii Haverly, Director of Ecommerce Sales Mr. James N. Hopkinson, Vice President of Finance Ms. Kathy Tolleson, Customer Experience Manager Mr. Eric Workman, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alfred Grace, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Eric Workman, Vice President
Business Category

Tourists Attractions Dinner Theatres Amusement Parks & Places


Additional Locations

  • 55-370 Kamehameha Hwy

    Laie, HI 96762 (800) 367-7060 (808) 293-3333 (808) 293-3351 (808) 293-3005

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family and I (group of 4 people) visited polynesian cultural center on Nov. 10. We used two entertainment.com coupons but only got one refund into our discover card. We made two reservations online for AdmShow Free Buffet package, confirmation # ******* and ******* and used the same Discover card for both transactions. I called polynesian cultural center multiple times and every time they promised to resolve this issue but never got it done.

Desired Settlement: Please refund to my discover card asap.

Business Response:

From: ********** *****

Sent: Tuesday, January 06, 2015 11:42 AM

To: ******* ******** ***; ******* ****

Subject: RE: *** *** refund

The customer *** *** called yesterday and I refunded her card yesterday. She also insisted her husband's card was not refunded. I sent her proof of her refund and the refund to her husband's card. Her husbands card under customer #******* was refunded the day they came into the center-11/10/2014 in the amount of $41.20, the refund was done by the cashier directly at the box office.

Customer #*******-under the name of ****** ***

#******* under the name of *** ***

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: our credit card's statements since Nov. 2014 has never shown a refund for my husband. It only showed a refund for myself. Since for some reason the initial refund didn't go through, ***** said that she manually refunded me yesterday. I was told to wait for several business days for that to show up. Therefore I'll keep this complaint open before I make sure we do receive the refund.

Sincerely,

*** ***

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The staff failed to act on my complaint of being provided false information in regards to being up sold on a package that did not exist. On or about August 2, 2013 I booked a tour at this location as part of a package deal with my hotel stay through Costco travel. The cost of this particular tour was $238.00 The tour was booked for September 3 , 2013. On September 2, 2013 I called to confirm pick up from my hotel. I was told my Wife and I would be picked up at 10:25 A.M. We arrived at the pick up location at 10:20 A.M. We were met by a very rude lady who told us we almost got left. After explaining to her the time I was told I learned that the bus had no yet arrived. So how were we about to get left? Once we got on the bus (from ************ Transportation) the driver (***) made an announcement several times that anyone without the "Ambassador Package" should upgrade to that package so they could have a tour guide, a buffet lunch, and receive a lei. upon arrival at the center we were directed to the desk to upgrade. I was charged an additional $52.00. As we stood in line to upgrade *** handed me our tickets then disappeared. After upgrading we were directed to the Ambassador Center. Shortly after sitting down we were told we needed to go eat then return to the spot to meet our tour guide. After eating we walked back to Ambassador center and asked about out tour guide. The young lady there had no clue as to where a guide was and directed us back to the buffet. We saw our driver *** and asked about out tour guide. He called another employee over who walked us across the center saying he would try and find a guide for us. We finally met a guide who had already started a tour with a group and were left in his hands. I guess being late we had missed art of the tour certainly not our fault. We saw a total of 3 !/2 shows before being told that was the end of the tour. I was directed to customer service once I complained about out treatment. I was told by customer service that we did not have the package I thought I had paid for and the had no idea aha I hadpifo The tour guide had told us the same thing. It now appeared that we were being scammed. I requested a supervisor who had my $52.00 refunded. I also requested a cab back to the hotel at their expense since I now had no desire to stay at this place full of lies and deceit I was told they would not provide a cab back to our hotel. We were directed to a dinner in which the food was terrible. Having not eaten since the buffet we went to the theater for the final show. As I approached the young lady directing people to their seats i had the 2 tickets extended so she could direct us to our seats. She completely overlooked me and asked the family in line behind us for their tickets. She asked if we were all together as she directed us to the wrong seats. I went back and explained to her that the fact the family behind us was Black and myself being Black she should not assume that we were together. This is very racist and should not be tolerated anywhere..My Wife and I were not able to enjoy any part of the center because of the mishaps they put us through. It appears that the driver *** is trying to pad his pockets by up saleing non- existant packages but got caught on this one. Our dilemmas seen to have no effect on anyone at the center. Lies and deception is all I saw.

Desired Settlement: Due to the total set of circumstances I am requesting a full refund of all monies paid and a formal apology from both the contracted bus company and the center.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/10/02) */ October 2, 2013 Dear *********, I am sorry that we have not answered your previous emails. We show no record of them in our department but are glad to let you know what we have done on this complaint. On September 16th the Polynesian Cultural Center was notified by Costco of **. ********'s complaint. I called him that day to talk about his complaint. He felt mislead by the driver on the bus which is contracted by PCC to upgrade for lunch and guide charges. On the day he visited the PCC those charges were refunded due to his not being satisfied. He ask for a full refund due to other complaints which I processed and it was mailed to him on September 27th. I will attach a copy of the check and letter to this email. Sincerely, ************** Quality Control Polynesian Cultural Center Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 13, 2013/10/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was refunded my money.