Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Firestone Tire and Service Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 488-5551 Fax: (808) 488-5991 View Additional Phone Numbers 98-141 Kamehameha Hwy # A, Aiea, HI 96701


Click for BBB Rating on Firestone Tire and Service Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Tire and Service Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


BBB Complaint Information

Find aggregate BBB complaint information for Firestone Tire and Service Center. BBB of Chicago & Northern Illinois has the full report as that BBB handles all complaints for Firestone Tire and Service Center.


Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is RD3189.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20131118-01.

Business Management
Mr. Delmar Agbayani, General Manager - Kaneohe Mr. Richard Baltazar, General Manager - Kailua Kona Mr. Kristian Chinen, General Manager - Ft. Shafter Consumer Affairs Mr. Sean Izutsu, General Manager - Schofield Ms. Jessica Mau, General Manager - Dillingham Mr. Troy Ribuca, Assistant District Manager Mr. Troy Ribuca, General Manager - Pearl Kai Ms. Chelsey Rodrigues, General Manager - Hilo Mr. Jason Saba, General Manager- Hickam Mr. Scott Sato, General Manager - MCBH Mr. Ronald Tanaka, General Manager - Schofield Ms. Jennifer Wilson, General Manager - Kailua
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Toby Ohira , Area Manager
Business Category

Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies

Industry Tips
CAR-REPAIR FIRESTONE TIRE ADVISORY

Additional Locations

  • 1414 Dillingham Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 847-4251

  • 1528 Fort Shafter PO Box 17846

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 845-9351

  • 201 Hamakua Dr

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 263-2009

  • 26 Kekela St

    Hilo, HI 96720 (808) 959-7654

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 E Lake St
    Retail Division Headquarter

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108 (630) 259-9000

  • 45-934 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744 (808) 247-7422

  • 75-5629 Kuakini Hwy Ste A

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (808) 329-2488

  • 94-267 Farrington Hwy

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 677-9141

  • 98-141 Kamehameha Hwy # A

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Headquarter
    50 Century Blvd.

    Nashville, TN 37214 (615) 872-5000

  • PM BK 122 PO Box 349000

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 254-2258

  • PO Box 128
    Hickam Afb

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 423-8755

  • PO Box 128
    Hickam Afb

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • Road A Bldg 80

    Schofield Barracks, HI 96857 (808) 624-0204 (808) 486-1582

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i brought my Honda civic to this auto repair shop on 11/20/2014 because my car was not starting. they replaced the alternator and I paid $440. the car is still not starting correctly. I brought it back on 11/28/2014 to get it rechecked by a master mechanic. they said there is nothing wrong with my car. the car turns over about 8 times before starting. I tried to ship my car to maui and Matson refused since the car is not starting properly. Firestone needs to fix this. I have taken 2 days off of work to try to fix my car and so far I am just stuck with a big bill. No one there is helping me.

Desired Settlement: Problem fixed or refund. I cant take any more time off work.

Business Response: We will issue a full refund and do our best to help the customer any way possible.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

We would like a refund but we have not received any communication from the company.   How do we proceed in getting a refund?

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

Mr. ****** may contact the store and speak with **** or ********. They attempted to call him and left a message. The credit is ready at the store.

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the Ft Shafter Hawaii store to service my Air-condition on 13 Oct @8:00 AM, the professionals made a recommendation to me, I accepted their recommendation and it cost me $450.00. The very next day the AC didn't work and the shop asked me to bring the vehicle back in. About 6 hrs. later they called me and said they found another problem and it would cost another $900.00 to fix. I do not have another $900.00, my AC doesn't work and I'm out $450.00. This is an unacceptable practice and I will be notifying my colleagues my experience in this particular shop. Mahalo*** * *********Supervisor Support Tech************ Cell ************

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund.

Business Response: We will refund the customer for the AC services.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

*** *********

11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 10-02-2014 09:12 am Brought Vehicle in for Battery Corrosion package,Standard oil change,Coolant system flush,Fuel system cleaning Picked up 10-02-2014 02:22 pm.Later noted while driving back home Vehicle idling fluctuating when A/c turned on. Warm air blowing out of A/c vents and white smoke like R-134 coming from engine compartment. (Check ENGINE LIGHT NOT ON AT THIS TIME AND VEHICLE NEVER OVERHEATED).10-02-2014 at 3:00 Pm vehicle was brought back to FIRESTONE. Got the mechanic to visually check the A/c outside. He said to turn on the A/c and let me see whats happening. He stated it was an A/c leak coming from the a/c condenser and suggested to get an a/c inspection.Left car there received a call later that evening its not my a/c condenser it was my radiator that has a hole in top near the filler cap. Also found a small leak from the Evaporator.10-03-2-14 01;12 Pm Replaced radiator and picked up car. Noted Check engine light on brought to mechanics attention prior to leaving. He stated to drive it for about 1-2 weeks and it should reset itself. If it doesn't reset on its on then bring it back and well reset it. -Also noted on the work order when I reviewed the details later that night it stated check engine light on upon arrival. THIS WAS NOT TRUE.CHECK ENGINE LIGHT WAS ON WHEN I RECEIVED THE VEHICLE AFTER REPLACING THE RADIATOR AND A/c DIAGNOSTICS. Also Called Firestone and spoke with the same mechanic I notified him that the check engine light was not on upon arrival when I brought it in, but was on when I left Firestone after radiator was installed.Check engine light did not reset brought back to Firestone 10-11-2014 07:55 Am for a Free check engine light diagnostic/reset. THIS TIME LIGHT WAS ON CODE FOUND-PO340 Cam shaft position sensor malfunction.Replaced/CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON/CRANK SHAFT SENSOR REPLACED/Recommend Timing belt kit.Replaced,water pump, timing belt,tension-er,idler pulley,crankshaft seal,camshaft seal.ENGINE CODE STILL ON. Charged 1,029.20 recommend Dealer.

Desired Settlement: I fixed everything they stated and recommended. I was Charged $1,029.20 for repairs for a CHECK ENGINE light that is still ON. I want that back, and Id also like what I spent for the rental vehicle $255.14 that I was forced to get and pay for. To go to and from work. I don't hate Firestone I just want to pay for what is fixed, and not what is not.

Business Response: We have refunded the customer for camshaft sensor which was defective and didn't not charge him for any labor.  The dealer confirmed the other parts were ok. We can reimburse him for the rental car. We will just need a receipt.

11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a flat tire last week and went to Firestone in Kaneohe to get a new one... Ended up getting two new tires because one was wore down due to bad ball joints and tie rods. They gave me an estimate for almost $1100 to fix the ball joints (which I didn't have) so I asked a friend if he knew a mechanic who could do the repairs. I went to the mechanic on Thursday. who did the work for $300 less and because I have lifetime alignment with Firestone, I went back there the next morning (Friday) to get the alignment done and was told I couldn't get in until next Tuesday (which is today 10/28/14). When I came in for my 7am appointment, I was told that 3 mechanics had called in sick and could I come in another time. I explained to the guy behind the counter that I had been waiting for 5 days and because the balls joints were changed, I needed to get the alignment done as soon as possible. I also had an appointment to get a safety inspection. The guy waiting on me was curt and bordering on rude because I had gotten the ball joints done elsewhere. He was grilling me where I got them done and asked the mechanics name, like it was some crime to go elsewhere.He then told me there were two bulbs out and asked in a snide voice - did I want to go somewhere else to have them replaced. I told him I didn't know about the bulbs and to go ahead and change them. He told me it would probably take longer than three hours and in a curt tone asked if there was anything else he could do.By this time I was feeling like a big imposition so I said "you could try being a little nicer" to which he started raising his voice. Then I said "I don't need to take **** because I did the ball joint someplace else" and he started yelling and throwing my keys and paperwork at me and telling me to take the car elsewhere. I told him I couldn't because it had already been 5 days and my tires were going to be ruined. If I had extra money, I would have left right away, but I was kind of stuck at that point.He stomped out to the garage and then came back and said they would stop work on everyone else's car and I would be out in a half hour because he wanted me out of there. All this was said with raised yelling voice. At one point I looked him in the eye and said "Please stop yelling at me" to which he replied in a yell "I am not yelling at you"... he was totally out of control and it was a little scary.After he went back to the garage, I looked up the corporate office number and called them to relay what had happened. The guy at corporate apologized and said he would find me another store to take it to after I explained what happened, but by this time the car was already in the bay.Well guess what, the tires are ruined anyway (or at least he told me they wouldn't pass safety inspection unless I bought 2 new tires for the front... Now I have to pay for new tires and have to deal with rude, yelling sales people.On the way into work after this horrible ordeal to which I was in tears the entire time I was in their store, I could feel vibrations in the steering wheel. I am pretty sure they didn't do a good job on the alignment and now I have the added expense of taking the car in to some one else to have it checked.Needless to say, I will never step foot in this establishment again. It is not my fault their staff called in sick, and it was probably because they dont want to work with this person - and no one should ever be treated like this in a place of business.

Desired Settlement: This sales person should not be allowed to yell at customers - especially elderly women. I have friends who had the same complaint about him, all of them women and some younger than me, so it seems like he is discriminatory against women in general. I have been traumatized to the point I spent the morning crying in their store and have medical conditions which were affected by this persons treatment. I would like a refund for the lifetime alignment and the costs of going to another mechanic.

Business Response:

From: ****** **** [mailto:***************]
Sent: Friday, November 14, 2014 9:26 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: Response for case ********

After speaking to the customer and the store manager ****** I do not believe ****** yelled at the customer. There was another customer in the store when the incident happen and confirmed that ****** was professional during the incident. ****** brought the customers car in right away and informed her of some other issues to pass the state inspection. ****** changed the light bulbs and wipers at no charge to help the customer. She agreed to pay for the tires.

When speaking with the customer on the phone she said she was yelling and swearing at ******.

If the customer has any concerns with services performed by us she can contact me directly and will be more than happy to help.

**** *****

Area Manager - Hawaii

Firestone Complete Auto Care

Phone#************

eFax#************

Mobile#************

***************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
There was no one else in the store at the time ****** was yelling at me, so they are lying.  And I did not swear at him, I mumbled under my breath that I didn't need to take this ****.
 
I have never been treated so badly in a place of business, and it was all because I took my car elsewhere to have the ball joints and tie rods worked on, and ****** was short staffed and didn't want to uphold the lifetime alignment agreement because it would take time.  I will never do business with this establishment again.  Its a shame when businesses think because they are the only one in town, they can treat people anyway they like.  

Sincerely,

***** *****

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized repair changing oil pan & returned truck without replacing filter so oil leaked everywhere. We brought in a 2007 Toyota ****** to remove a stuck bolt from oil pan & change the oil. Shop could not complete the task & forgot to put in the filter. Oil leaked everywhere & could not drive the car. We informed them to clean up the mess due to oil on tires and it was leaking like a waterfall. The shop then processed to change the oil pan with out calling to check with us on the price. $474.00

Desired Settlement: Refund labor cost

Business Response: We are contacting the customer to come up with a resolution to her issue.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The repairs serviced by an unlicensed technician employed at the Firestone on Hickam AFB our car resulted in blowing a head gasket soon after. After inially taking our car in for repairs at Firestone on base for a rattling engine noise and because it was running not as it usually does. We paid our bill of $861.29, received our car back, and it ran fine. About three weeks later, and driving it very minimally, it started shaking, overheating, and immeditaley refused to start. We took it to a different mechanic for a diagnoisis this time, and was told the head gasket had blown. The technician I spoke with implied the work I had done on the cooling system certainly led to this much more serious problem. Being concerned, I searched everywhere online for some answers. Out of curiosity I searched if any other Firestone customers had any similar complaints, researched the shop we got the repairs at, and then researched the mechanic who worked on my car and performed the repairs. When I searched within the Hawaii Department of commerce and Affairs Regulated Industries complaints Office, I learned that Firestone technician ************* is not currently licensed in the Hawaii and that his license actually expired on June 30, 1996. I filed a complaint with the corporate office of firestone with the help of a Navy JAG attorney, and did not get a response. After calling them again and again, an employee working on our complaint file requested that I sent pertinent documentation of anything pertaining to our case. I then received a phone call from ****, the case worker, who told me I would need more statements from the third party mechanic, and that Firestone must be certain that their technician's repair service directly led to caused this much more severe damage to the car's engine. When I brought up legal issue the fact that Mr. ****** should not even have been allowed to work on my car at all, he brushed it aside and told me that that is not really the issue at hand. I could not disagree more. Firestone is operating business at a huge joint Navy and Air Force base. They are directly harming the lives of service members and their familiies by choosing to allow Mr. ****** to remain an employee. This illegal practice should NOT be allowed to conduct business on a federal military base. They are representi

Desired Settlement: We initially took our car into Firestone on base for a rattling engine noise and because it was running not as it usually does. We paid our bill of $861.29, received our car back, and it ran fine. About three weeks later, and driving it very minimally, it started shaking, overheating, and immeditaley refused to start. We took it to a different mechanic for a diagnoisis this time, and was told the head gasket had blown. The technician I spoke with implied the work I had done on the cooling system certainly led to this much more serious problem. Being concerned, I searched everywhere online for some answers. Out of curiosity I searched if any other Firestone customers had any similar complaints, researched the shop we got the repairs at, and then researched the mechanic who worked on my car and performed the repairs. When I searched within the Hawaii Department of commerce and Affairs Regulated Industries complaints Office, I learned that Firestone technician Roland Ubaldo is not currently licensed in the Hawaii and that his license actually expired on June 30, 1996. I filed a complaint with the corporate office of firestone with the help of a Navy JAG attorney, and did not get a response. After calling them again and again, an employee working on our complaint file requested that I sent pertinent documentation of anything pertaining to our case. I then received a phone call from Andy, the case worker, who told me I would need more statements from the third party mechanic, and that Firestone must be certain that their technician's repair service directly led to caused this much more severe damage to the car's engine. When I brought up legal issue the fact that Mr. Ubaldo should not even have been allowed to work on my car at all, he brushed it aside and told me that that is not really the issue at hand. I could not disagree more. Firestone is operating business at a huge joint Navy and Air Force base. They are directly harming the lives of service members and their familiies by choosing to allow Mr. Ubaldo to remain an employee. This illegal practice should NOT be allowed to conduct business on a federal military base. We seek a reimbursement and of the initially repair bill we paid for which caused my car's head gasket to break. Andy stated multiple times that we would need an additional statement from the second mechanic who looked at the car and diagnosed the head gasket blowing out and the car completely overheating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/07/31) */ Hi *****, Sorry for this late response to this customer concern. This was turned over to our claims department for investigation. Adjuster **** made contact with customer and requested information regarding how it was determined that the work that we did caused the blown head gasket to his vehicle. Customer has not supplied any documentation to support damage claim. The only thing that is supplied is a receipt from the ****************** that only stats condition of vehicle and recommendations to take to a outside shop/dealership. No documentation showing liability on our part. As for the technician that worked on her vehicle he is a qualified technician. He did previously have his certification as customer stated but he let it lapse and has been trying to get recertified. Presently he works under the supervision of 2 ase certified store teammates: 1. Master Tech *********** - ase certification # ********* and state repair license # 2. Store manager ********** - ase certification #********* Should you need additional information please feel free to contact me. Thank you and again my apologies for the late response.

1/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/13/13 I bought 4 tires from Firestone on 1414 Dillingham. All tires and services cost 446.30 - I have invoice. This included a $50 discount for applying for the Firestone credit card.I offered to pay in full, but Firestone sales person said I needed to wait for bill from credit card company and that I would get 6 months free interest.To date I have gotten no bill but only information on credit card. Tonight I called ********************************* at ************** to ask for my account info. My balance due was recorded as $492.53, an additional amount of $46.23. I have also checked the Internet and see that complaints are similar - not allowed to pay amount up front when applying for credit card, not receiving the first bill, being charged extra, not responding to phone calls.It seems the gimmick is to offer you 6 months free interest to get your personal info, delay your first billing statement, and then charging you a late fee. According to the **** recorded info, my payment is not due till January 15. I can't see how I owe the additional $46.23 when the idea was to save me money with a $50 discount.I would like to clear my bill of $446.38 for purchase made on 12/13/13, cut up the credit card, and have nothing more to do with Firestone on Dillingham or *********************************.Thank you for the assistance you give. Product_Or_Service: 4 tires, oil change, alignment. Sent: Thursday, January 09, 2014 4:43 PM To: Info Subject: Firestone Complaint Please cancel complaint. Bill is explained. Thanks, **************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to clear my bill of $446.38 for purchase made on 12/13/13, cut up the credit card, and have nothing more to do with Firestone on Dillingham or Credit First National Association.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ From: Hazel Hasegawa (mailto:hasegawah003@gmail.com) Sent: Thursday, January 09, 2014 4:43 PM To: Info Subject: Firestone Complaint Please cancel complaint. Bill is explained. Thanks, Hazel Hasegawa

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Tire and Service Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)