BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Firestone Tire and Service Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 488-5551 Fax: (808) 488-5991 View Additional Phone Numbers 98-141 Kamehameha Hwy # A, Aiea, HI 96701

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

According to information in BBB files this company operates a chain of more than 1,800 company-owned automotive tire and service stores throughout the United States.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firestone Tire and Service Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firestone Tire and Service Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firestone Tire and Service Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1900 Business started locally: 01/01/1900
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RD3189.

Business Management
Mr. Delmar Agbayani, General Manager - Kaneohe Mr. Richard Baltazar, General Manager - Kailua Kona Mr. Kristian Chinen, General Manager - Ft. Shafter Consumer Affairs Mr. Sean Izutsu, General Manager - Schofield Ms. Jessica Mau, General Manager - Dillingham Mr. Troy Ribuca, Assistant District Manager Mr. Troy Ribuca, General Manager - Pearl Kai Ms. Chelsey Rodrigues, General Manager - Hilo Mr. Jason Saba, General Manager- Hickam Mr. Scott Sato, General Manager - MCBH Mr. Ronald Tanaka, General Manager - Schofield Ms. Jennifer Wilson, General Manager - Kailua
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Toby Ohira , Area Manager
Business Category

Tire Dealers Auto Inspection Stations Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Mufflers & Exhaust Systems Tire Retread & Repair Battery Supplies Tire Distributors & Manufacturers Battery Repairing & Rebuilding Shock Absorbers


Additional Locations

  • 1414 Dillingham Blvd

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 847-4251

  • 1528 Fort Shafter PO Box 17846

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 845-9351

  • 201 Hamakua Drive

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 263-2009

  • 26 Kekela Street

    Hilo, HI 96720 (808) 959-7654

  • 45-934 Kamehameha Hwy

    Kaneohe, HI 96744 (808) 247-7422

  • 75-5629 Kuakini Hwy Ste A

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740 (808) 329-2488

  • 94-267 Farrington Hwy

    Waipahu, HI 96797 (808) 677-9141

  • 98-141 Kamehameha Hwy # A

    Aiea, HI 96701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Headquarter50 Century Blvd.

    Nashville, TN 37214 (615) 872-5000

  • PM BK 122 PO Box 349000

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 254-2258

  • PO Box 128  Hickam Afb

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 423-8755

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Retail Division Headquarter333 East Lake Street

    Bloomingdale, IL 60108 (630) 259-9000

  • Road A Bldg 80

    Schofield Barracks, HI 96857 (808) 624-0204 (808) 486-1582

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (312) 819-8543(Phone)
  • (800) 367-3872(Phone)
  • (808) 877-2002(Phone)
  • (808) 486-1823 (Fax)
  • (808) 877-2084 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had a flat tire last week and went to Firestone in Kaneohe to get a new one... Ended up getting two new tires because one was wore down due to bad ball joints and tie rods. They gave me an estimate for almost $1100 to fix the ball joints (which I didn't have) so I asked a friend if he knew a mechanic who could do the repairs. I went to the mechanic on Thursday. who did the work for $300 less and because I have lifetime alignment with Firestone, I went back there the next morning (Friday) to get the alignment done and was told I couldn't get in until next Tuesday (which is today 10/28/14). When I came in for my 7am appointment, I was told that 3 mechanics had called in sick and could I come in another time. I explained to the guy behind the counter that I had been waiting for 5 days and because the balls joints were changed, I needed to get the alignment done as soon as possible. I also had an appointment to get a safety inspection. The guy waiting on me was curt and bordering on rude because I had gotten the ball joints done elsewhere. He was grilling me where I got them done and asked the mechanics name, like it was some crime to go elsewhere.He then told me there were two bulbs out and asked in a snide voice - did I want to go somewhere else to have them replaced. I told him I didn't know about the bulbs and to go ahead and change them. He told me it would probably take longer than three hours and in a curt tone asked if there was anything else he could do.By this time I was feeling like a big imposition so I said "you could try being a little nicer" to which he started raising his voice. Then I said "I don't need to take **** because I did the ball joint someplace else" and he started yelling and throwing my keys and paperwork at me and telling me to take the car elsewhere. I told him I couldn't because it had already been 5 days and my tires were going to be ruined. If I had extra money, I would have left right away, but I was kind of stuck at that point.He stomped out to the garage and then came back and said they would stop work on everyone else's car and I would be out in a half hour because he wanted me out of there. All this was said with raised yelling voice. At one point I looked him in the eye and said "Please stop yelling at me" to which he replied in a yell "I am not yelling at you"... he was totally out of control and it was a little scary.After he went back to the garage, I looked up the corporate office number and called them to relay what had happened. The guy at corporate apologized and said he would find me another store to take it to after I explained what happened, but by this time the car was already in the bay.Well guess what, the tires are ruined anyway (or at least he told me they wouldn't pass safety inspection unless I bought 2 new tires for the front... Now I have to pay for new tires and have to deal with rude, yelling sales people.On the way into work after this horrible ordeal to which I was in tears the entire time I was in their store, I could feel vibrations in the steering wheel. I am pretty sure they didn't do a good job on the alignment and now I have the added expense of taking the car in to some one else to have it checked.Needless to say, I will never step foot in this establishment again. It is not my fault their staff called in sick, and it was probably because they dont want to work with this person - and no one should ever be treated like this in a place of business.

Desired Settlement: This sales person should not be allowed to yell at customers - especially elderly women. I have friends who had the same complaint about him, all of them women and some younger than me, so it seems like he is discriminatory against women in general. I have been traumatized to the point I spent the morning crying in their store and have medical conditions which were affected by this persons treatment. I would like a refund for the lifetime alignment and the costs of going to another mechanic.

Business Response:

From: ****** **** [mailto:***************]
Sent: Friday, November 14, 2014 9:26 AM
To: ***** ** *****
Subject: Response for case ********

After speaking to the customer and the store manager ****** I do not believe ****** yelled at the customer. There was another customer in the store when the incident happen and confirmed that ****** was professional during the incident. ****** brought the customers car in right away and informed her of some other issues to pass the state inspection. ****** changed the light bulbs and wipers at no charge to help the customer. She agreed to pay for the tires.

When speaking with the customer on the phone she said she was yelling and swearing at ******.

If the customer has any concerns with services performed by us she can contact me directly and will be more than happy to help.

**** *****

Area Manager - Hawaii

Firestone Complete Auto Care

Phone#************

eFax#************

Mobile#************

***************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

 
There was no one else in the store at the time ****** was yelling at me, so they are lying.  And I did not swear at him, I mumbled under my breath that I didn't need to take this ****.
 
I have never been treated so badly in a place of business, and it was all because I took my car elsewhere to have the ball joints and tie rods worked on, and ****** was short staffed and didn't want to uphold the lifetime alignment agreement because it would take time.  I will never do business with this establishment again.  Its a shame when businesses think because they are the only one in town, they can treat people anyway they like.  

Sincerely,

***** *****

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unauthorized repair changing oil pan & returned truck without replacing filter so oil leaked everywhere. We brought in a 2007 Toyota ****** to remove a stuck bolt from oil pan & change the oil. Shop could not complete the task & forgot to put in the filter. Oil leaked everywhere & could not drive the car. We informed them to clean up the mess due to oil on tires and it was leaking like a waterfall. The shop then processed to change the oil pan with out calling to check with us on the price. $474.00

Desired Settlement: Refund labor cost

Business Response: We are contacting the customer to come up with a resolution to her issue.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The repairs serviced by an unlicensed technician employed at the Firestone on Hickam AFB our car resulted in blowing a head gasket soon after. After inially taking our car in for repairs at Firestone on base for a rattling engine noise and because it was running not as it usually does. We paid our bill of $861.29, received our car back, and it ran fine. About three weeks later, and driving it very minimally, it started shaking, overheating, and immeditaley refused to start. We took it to a different mechanic for a diagnoisis this time, and was told the head gasket had blown. The technician I spoke with implied the work I had done on the cooling system certainly led to this much more serious problem. Being concerned, I searched everywhere online for some answers. Out of curiosity I searched if any other Firestone customers had any similar complaints, researched the shop we got the repairs at, and then researched the mechanic who worked on my car and performed the repairs. When I searched within the Hawaii Department of commerce and Affairs Regulated Industries complaints Office, I learned that Firestone technician ************* is not currently licensed in the Hawaii and that his license actually expired on June 30, 1996. I filed a complaint with the corporate office of firestone with the help of a Navy JAG attorney, and did not get a response. After calling them again and again, an employee working on our complaint file requested that I sent pertinent documentation of anything pertaining to our case. I then received a phone call from ****, the case worker, who told me I would need more statements from the third party mechanic, and that Firestone must be certain that their technician's repair service directly led to caused this much more severe damage to the car's engine. When I brought up legal issue the fact that Mr. ****** should not even have been allowed to work on my car at all, he brushed it aside and told me that that is not really the issue at hand. I could not disagree more. Firestone is operating business at a huge joint Navy and Air Force base. They are directly harming the lives of service members and their familiies by choosing to allow Mr. ****** to remain an employee. This illegal practice should NOT be allowed to conduct business on a federal military base. They are representi

Desired Settlement: We initially took our car into Firestone on base for a rattling engine noise and because it was running not as it usually does. We paid our bill of $861.29, received our car back, and it ran fine. About three weeks later, and driving it very minimally, it started shaking, overheating, and immeditaley refused to start. We took it to a different mechanic for a diagnoisis this time, and was told the head gasket had blown. The technician I spoke with implied the work I had done on the cooling system certainly led to this much more serious problem. Being concerned, I searched everywhere online for some answers. Out of curiosity I searched if any other Firestone customers had any similar complaints, researched the shop we got the repairs at, and then researched the mechanic who worked on my car and performed the repairs. When I searched within the Hawaii Department of commerce and Affairs Regulated Industries complaints Office, I learned that Firestone technician Roland Ubaldo is not currently licensed in the Hawaii and that his license actually expired on June 30, 1996. I filed a complaint with the corporate office of firestone with the help of a Navy JAG attorney, and did not get a response. After calling them again and again, an employee working on our complaint file requested that I sent pertinent documentation of anything pertaining to our case. I then received a phone call from Andy, the case worker, who told me I would need more statements from the third party mechanic, and that Firestone must be certain that their technician's repair service directly led to caused this much more severe damage to the car's engine. When I brought up legal issue the fact that Mr. Ubaldo should not even have been allowed to work on my car at all, he brushed it aside and told me that that is not really the issue at hand. I could not disagree more. Firestone is operating business at a huge joint Navy and Air Force base. They are directly harming the lives of service members and their familiies by choosing to allow Mr. Ubaldo to remain an employee. This illegal practice should NOT be allowed to conduct business on a federal military base. We seek a reimbursement and of the initially repair bill we paid for which caused my car's head gasket to break. Andy stated multiple times that we would need an additional statement from the second mechanic who looked at the car and diagnosed the head gasket blowing out and the car completely overheating.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 15, 2014/07/31) */ Hi *****, Sorry for this late response to this customer concern. This was turned over to our claims department for investigation. Adjuster **** made contact with customer and requested information regarding how it was determined that the work that we did caused the blown head gasket to his vehicle. Customer has not supplied any documentation to support damage claim. The only thing that is supplied is a receipt from the ****************** that only stats condition of vehicle and recommendations to take to a outside shop/dealership. No documentation showing liability on our part. As for the technician that worked on her vehicle he is a qualified technician. He did previously have his certification as customer stated but he let it lapse and has been trying to get recertified. Presently he works under the supervision of 2 ase certified store teammates: 1. Master Tech *********** - ase certification # ********* and state repair license # 2. Store manager ********** - ase certification #********* Should you need additional information please feel free to contact me. Thank you and again my apologies for the late response.

1/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/13/13 I bought 4 tires from Firestone on 1414 Dillingham. All tires and services cost 446.30 - I have invoice. This included a $50 discount for applying for the Firestone credit card.I offered to pay in full, but Firestone sales person said I needed to wait for bill from credit card company and that I would get 6 months free interest.To date I have gotten no bill but only information on credit card. Tonight I called ********************************* at ************** to ask for my account info. My balance due was recorded as $492.53, an additional amount of $46.23. I have also checked the Internet and see that complaints are similar - not allowed to pay amount up front when applying for credit card, not receiving the first bill, being charged extra, not responding to phone calls.It seems the gimmick is to offer you 6 months free interest to get your personal info, delay your first billing statement, and then charging you a late fee. According to the **** recorded info, my payment is not due till January 15. I can't see how I owe the additional $46.23 when the idea was to save me money with a $50 discount.I would like to clear my bill of $446.38 for purchase made on 12/13/13, cut up the credit card, and have nothing more to do with Firestone on Dillingham or *********************************.Thank you for the assistance you give. Product_Or_Service: 4 tires, oil change, alignment. Sent: Thursday, January 09, 2014 4:43 PM To: Info Subject: Firestone Complaint Please cancel complaint. Bill is explained. Thanks, **************

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to clear my bill of $446.38 for purchase made on 12/13/13, cut up the credit card, and have nothing more to do with Firestone on Dillingham or Credit First National Association.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 5, 2014/01/10) */ From: Hazel Hasegawa (mailto:hasegawah003@gmail.com) Sent: Thursday, January 09, 2014 4:43 PM To: Info Subject: Firestone Complaint Please cancel complaint. Bill is explained. Thanks, Hazel Hasegawa

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can fax over the documents from Firestone, ****** *****, etc. I am so done with this issue. I want it to be resolved by July 1, 2013 please see the attached firestone document

Desired Settlement: Since it's been on-going since April 1, 2013, I want the following items: 1. Van loan payments for April, May, June and July $405 per month 2. All parts replaced with dealership authorized parts at ****** ***** which Firestone will pay. 3. All payments issued to Firestone will be credited back to us immediately. 4. Stipend to cover the headaches and ongoing issue. 5. Fee paid to ****** ***** to cover loaner vehicle which I have had since May 28, 2013. This is the second loaner I had to deal with because my van was not repaired correctly by Firestone. - same issue never been resolved.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/04) */ After April 8, 2013 when the case was forward to me I spoke with the customer and gave her options on how get the problem resolved. Going another repair shop to get it inspected was one of the options. She stated that she will discuss it with her husband and her husband will contact me once they decide. I have not spoke to the wife since that phone call. I did not here back from them until the van was taken to the dealer. On April 19, 2013 I agreed to pay the dealer to remove and inspect the front struts which they said was causing the noise. On April 24, 2013 I approved the repairs to fix the noise in the front and a noise in the rear. Once completed the dealer assured me the van was repaired and I paid the dealer. At that point the van was repaired to the best of my knowledge. On May 13, 2013 a check was issued to pay for rental car. May 31, 2013 the dealer called me to say there was another problem with the van. At that time the dealer could not explain to me what was wrong. They suspected the front strut. I spoke to the husband and explained that we just paid for the inspection and repair of front struts. We agreed I would refund the total amount that they paid us $1177.89 for repairs and I would not be paying the dealer directly. During May I was informed by our banking department that the customer disputed the Credit card charges of $1177.89 and we would be charged back for that amount unless we have done so already. At that time the customer did not return for refund, so we accepted the charge back. I do not know why they have not received credit from their bank yet. On June 26, 2013 I called the husband to find out what happen with the credit and he informed me they did not receive it and the van was still at the dealer. I contacted the dealer find out what is status was and they said they confirmed that one of the struts was bad. The dealer was waiting for customer to get back with them. I informed the dealer the customer would pay them directly and I would refund the customer's money for repairs done with us. I called the husband back and informed him I would have a credit written up at the store for $1177.89 and he could go any time to receive the credit to his credit card. As far as the charge back I would already accepted it and have no control over their bank. He agreed to have dealer go ahead with repair and would take the credit at the store. On June 27, 2013 I received an email from the customer(wife) which stated that the agreement her husband and I had the day before was not acceptable. I replied that we could make other arrangements, but in the interest of time that would be the best option. No reply from customer. I called and left message to call me to discuss it. She did not return my call. On July 1, 2013 I called the husband to find out if we need to make other arrangements. He clarified with me that we would refund the total amount $1177.89 and he would use that money to pay for the repairs at the dealer which was estimate about to be $600. He said he would go down sometime this week to receive his credit. I asked that he discuss it with his wife and let me know if they were ok with it. To date the credit is waiting for them at the store and I have not heard back from either one.

2/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: small oil leak repair turned into a broken rear diff after firestone said it was all fixed. I had brought my 1995 Chevrolet blazer into the Schofield location on 18 Jan. On Saturday I was made contact with the location and asked the status of my blazer they said it would be done Monday because of the holiday which made little sense because Monday was the holiday. I picked up my vehicle. The initial problem was the check engine light cause by the evap solenoid. They said they also found a cam sensor code which they later dismissed. I had them also check the Trans fluids levels on both diffs and transfer case they said all was fine but the rear diff was leaking from the pinion seal. I had them replace this. Upon picking up the vehicle I noticed it ran a little better but a now a whining was coming from the rear. I also had reset my odometer before the service in the parking lot upon dropping off my car. When I had picked it up it was at 21.3. I did this because once before I had noticed there were a few more miles than I had expected. the manager had stated that a test drive consists of 6-7 miles so either they took it on a long test drive three times the norm or they took it on three test drives but when I picked up the vehicle it was stated to me it was only taken for one test drive after all service had been performed. I di not drive it again to that Friday. The whine still was occurring so I had brought it back in after work. I just called and the associate stated that the noise is coming from a wheel or the rear axle. Such a problem doesn't arise the day I bring it out of the shop these problems develop over time. Now the question arises why the noise wasn't stated when I picked up the vehicle 4 days prior? The associates answer was maybe they didn't notice it. It is a very noticeable whine that you could even feel when driving. So now it's either that they didn't test drive after servincg the rear diff, the mechanic is paying attention to the vehicle during the test drive which then what's the point, or a test drive wasn't done after they serviced the rear diff. but then where did the 21 miles come from. Also if they mechanic made an error why do I have to pay for it after it should have been fixed the first time. Fixed right on time the first time guarantee? More like maybe fixed, on their time, sometime guarantee. That is what I can count on. All I expect is for my car to be fixed right the first time but as soon when your mechanics say there is nothing wrong that's what I expect nothing wrong, but now there's a problem from the same component the shop just serviced and gave a clean bill of health that's on the shop and firestones guarantee.

Desired Settlement: to be fixed right at shops cost.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/06) */ Contact Name and Title: ********** Asst Dist Mgr Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX The customer contacted the store manager and store manager insured the customer we would take care of his issues. The customer brought the car back and we found the problem. Parts are on order. I spoke to the customer and he was happy with the how the store handle the issue. Customer is in a rental car until his car is repair. No charges to customer.

9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service