Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 959-3333 Fax: (808) 959-1676 View Additional Phone Numbers 140 Holomua St Ste A, Hilo, HI 96720 http://veterantermite.com/



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Veteran Termite & Pest Control offers both fumigation & ground termite treatments, pest control services, termite inspection reports, termite preventative services and pre-construction treatments.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 2010 Business started: 10/29/2009 in HI Business started locally: 10/01/2009 Business incorporated 07/27/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PCO-1242.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is PCO-1192.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W74431012-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert I Shima, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert I Shima, Owner
Business Category

Termite Control Pest Control Services Fumigation Services

Products & Services

Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC sells the following brand(s): N/A

Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC offers the following product(s): N/A

Method(s) of Payment

VISA & M/C

Cash & Checks

Refund and Exchange Policy
N/A
Industry Tips
PEST CONTROL AND TERMITE EXTERMINATORS

Additional Locations

  • 140 Holomua St Ste A

    Hilo, HI 96720

  • PO Box 4246

    Hilo, HI 96720

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 21, 2016, we paid Veteran Termite $200.00 to treat our home for ants, roaches, and general pests.Since then, we have had more bugs than ever. Ants, roaches, millipedes and moths. The invoice shows that the worker was only here for 1/2 hour and charged $200.00. We live in a 3 bedroom/2 bathroom house so that hardly seems enough time to fix our interior and exterior pest problems as the worker Ken promised he would. His exact words were, "I'll fix you guys up". We called the company 1 week ago and were not called back. Today, July 27, we called again and spoke to the receptionist and she basically said," Tough Luck. We put down the gel and our job is done."

Desired Settlement: Since the Pest problem was no at all dealt with, we want a full refund.

Business Response:

I responded to the complaint on July 28th by having a meeting with those involved along with supervisors. Thereafter, I physically drove to the customers home to apologize and refund his payment as requested.  However no one was home so called the customer leaving a voicemail to arrange another check drop off.

Upon receiving the customers call in the afternoon, I apologized for my staffs behavior and not being serviced properly.  The customer asked for a letter stating that his pest control service be done for the buyer of his home upon its sale.  The refund check requested is to be used for that future service.  The requested letter has been prepared and mailed.

Consumer Response:


Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Not only do I find the resolution acceptable, I am impressed with the owner, Bob S****'s handling of this complaint. With an abundance of Aloha on his part, by driving all the way to ******** to deliver a refund and personal apology, though not at home when he came, he left a message with his personal cell #. I called, and between us, I believe that we found a way to resolve this in a way that helps to revive the aloha spirit in an area that so desperately needs it. I found Mr. S**** to be sincere about the level of service his company provides, and should stand as an example to all business in our 'Aina to remember what makes a business successful. Many mahalos to Mr. S****. 

Sincerely,

******* ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Veteran Termite & Pest Control, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)