Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC

Phone: (808) 596-7755 Fax: (888) 314-2898 540 Ward Ave, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.blueplanetsurf.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Blue Planet designs, manufactures, markets and distributes Stand Up Paddle boards and accessories, clothing, surfboards, and surf accessories.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 14, 1998 Business started: 01/04/1993 in HI Business started locally: 01/04/1993 Business incorporated 01/04/1999 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20547146-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Robert Stehlik, LLC Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Stehlik, LLC Member
Business Category

Surfboards General Merchandise - Retail

Products & Services

Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC sells the following brand(s): Blue Planet Surf, Da Fin, Da Kine, ENO Hammocks, FCS, Futures, GoPro, Kazuma Surfboards, Ke Nalu, Kialoa, Kicks, Quickblade, Rhino Racks, SIC Maui, Starboards, Werner

Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC offers the following product(s): Stand Up Paddleboards, Stand Up Paddles

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, all major credit cards, paypal
Refund and Exchange Policy
All sales final on Board and Paddle sales.  Other items may be returned in new and re-sellable condition for full refund within 90 days with receipt or exchanged without receipt.
Service Area
We ship worldwide
Alternate Business Names
Blue Planet Hawaii Surf Gear

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a deposit of 200.oo for a board, which BPS was never able to fulfill the order. I got refunded the 200.00 promptly. However, on 6-18-16, I was charged 999.00 for this item, of which I have the emailed receipt. I never did get the 999.00 returned to me. This board cannot be shipped to the area I live in apparently, after the fact that I bought it. BPS has emailed me that my refund has been processed in full, when in fact it has not. I leave messages, call, email, and get no further response. Please help.

Desired Settlement: a full refund of the 999.00 owed to me.

Business Response:

We have issued a full refund to her credit card on June 23rd, the refund receipts are attached.  It does take a few days for the transactions to show up on her credit card account.  I have asked ***** to withdraw her complaint as it has no merit.  

My staff has been in communication with ***** throughout the process so I am puzzled by her complaint as my staff worked hard to satisfy her needs.

 

Thank you,

Robert S******, CEO

 

 

***** ****** *** **** ****** ** ** ****** *** **** **** **** ** **** ***** **** ** *** ***** *** ******* **** *** ********* *** *** ********* ** ******* ******** ** *** **** ***** ******* ****** **** ***** **** **** ***** **** ** ******  **** **** *** *** *** ****** ****** ******** ** **** ***** *** * *** ****** *** **** ** *** ***** ********** ** *** ** **** ** *** *** ***** *** ** *** **** *** ******* ********* *** ** ** ** ****** ***** ******** ** *** ** *****  **** *** **** * **** ******** ****** *** ** *** ** **** *** **** ***** ** **** ** *** *** ** *** ***** **** ****** **** **** ***** ******** ****** ** ******  ****** ***** **** ************************ **** ****** **** **** *** **** *** ********* ** ***** ***** ******** ********************** ******** ********* ******* ******** ******** **** ****** **** * ***** ** ****** ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ***** ***** ***** ****************************** ************* **** ****** **** *** ***** ****************************** ***** ****** * **** ******** ** ****** **** ***** *** ** ******** ****** ** *** ****** ***** *** ***** * ********* **** **** ******* ******** *** ****** *** **** ********* *** * **** ****** ** **** *** * ******* ** *** ****** ******* ** *** *** ***** ** **** ******** ********* ** ***** * ****** ** ******** **** ****** *** *********** **** **** ** ** **** **** ********* *** * *** ****** *** *** **** ***** ** ** ** ******* ** **** ** ******** ***** *** ***** **** ** ******* *** **** *** ***** *** **********  ****** ***** **** ************************ **** ****** **** **** *** **** *** ********* ** ***** ***** ******** ********************** ******** ********* ******* ******** ***** **** ** *** **** ******** ***** ***** ***** ***************************** *** ***** ******************************


Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Blue Planet Surf Gear, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)