BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers fairs & carnivals, indoor family entertainment centers and themed corporate parties.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fernandez Entertainment, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fernandez Entertainment, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fernandez Entertainment, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 1962 Business started: 01/01/1903 Business started locally: 01/01/1903 Business incorporated: 03/05/1965 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20280344-01.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Donna Smith, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Donna Smith, Vice President
Business Category

State Fairs Amusement Parks & Places


Additional Locations

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 682-4183 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fun Factory has unfairly chosen to not honor my win of an iPad Mini on their game, and management has not replied to my letter and voicemail message. Please see the document labeled "Letter for ********.pdf" document in the attached zip file. It is a letter addressed to ************, the "owner" of Fun Factory. I was redirected to him by Fun Factory Mililani management. The letter describes the experience I had with the Mililani location and how management handled the situation. Also attached is a printout of the email transactions I've made with the administrative office to get a response from Mr. *****. Unfortunately, I have not received any response as I submit this complaint. It is my hope that this business operates fairly and professionally. I hope to hear from them soon.

Desired Settlement: I believe they should honor my win. The bigger issue is, I believe they need to make some adjustments on the area of customer service. As a long time paying customer, I am appalled by the way my case has been handled. I haven't heard anything back from upper management, not even an ETA on when I can expect a reply. I don't believe their practices in this area are in-line with a BBB Accredited company. Ultimately, this is basically my way of standing my ground and fighting for what I believe in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2013/10/10) */ I have investigated the customer's complaint and found the following. 1. The customer had previously played the Barbers Cut Lite game improperly at our Fun Factory at Pearlridge Center and was expelled from the store by the store manager. 2. When playing the Barbers Cut Lite game at the Fun Factory in Mililani, the customer did not play it properly. Instead of cutting the string with the cutting mechanism, the customer used the mechanism to pull on the string, thus breaking it at the tip and causing the card with the photo of the iPad mini to fall as if he had won. 3. We have the actual card that fell when the customer played the game, and it clearly shows that the string was not cut. It had been pulled on, which caused the string to break at the point where it is connected to the clip at the top of the game. 4. We normally would give a customer the benefit of the doubt. However, in this case, there is no doubt that the reason the card with the iPad mini fell is that the string attached to it was yanked from the station rather than cut with the cutting mechanism. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 16, 2013/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) 1. In giving the business the benefit of the doubt, statement #1 is not a lie, but a mistake. I've never been approached by any Fun Factory store manager (including Pearlridge) for playing the Barber Cut Lite game improperly nor have I been expelled from any Fun Factory store. I'd very much like to see evidence of this statement. For the record, this is a very appalling statement and I am very much offended, again. 2. Can you define "not play properly"? I have only 2 buttons I need to press and timing to consider. When I played, the string went in between the blades, the blades closed around the string, it pulled back, and it severed the string. To me, not playing properly eludes to shaking the machine, breaking it open and pulling the prize off, leveraging some other external factor beyond hand eye coordination, etc. All of which I did not do. How can one play a game improperly when given 2 buttons/2 moves to control the machine? After viewing videos online of how others "won" at the game, I admit, my case was inconsistent with theirs. However, I believe I played the game properly based on my experience and as I described above. The part I don't understand is why the blades closed around the string, remained closed, pulled back, and severed the string. Is that not another way to win? All the valid parameters of playing the game were met! 3. I concur with this statement, I have a picture myself 4. So this goes back to how a "win" is defined or what it means to "not play properly". I understand the objective of the game as having to use the cutting mechanism to sever the string. I used the tools of the game, with no external influences beyond my hand and eye coordination, and achieved that objective. At this point, I redirect you to my previous response on customer service and standing behind your product. I'm very interested to hear your thoughts on this. The prize is trivial to me. Again, I'm doing this as a matter of principal and to stand up for what I believe. What concerns me is that the business needs to be extremely clear on what it means to "win" or "not play properly". Who's to stop them from claiming that any "win" is actually a malfunction? And if it's deemed a malfunction, where's the integrity of standing behind your product? Has the business taken action to adjust? Have they done their due diligence to contact the vendor? Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/10/22) */ Our Mililani Manager says: “customer claims to have won, but string was pulled instead of cut, as the pics show bottom left is a nomal cut and top left is not, (a normal cut) and wasn’t won properly as it is pulled... in this case it voids the pay out..The right picture is the actual sign that the customer brought to the front that he claims he won...” To reiterate, the above top and right picture show that the sign was not cut, truly we are uncertain as to how this might occur. We are certain however, that the orange string was not cut. In a properly played game as shown on the bottom left hanging pin, the result of the “cut” must look like this, with the string still attached to the pin. Mililani Manager says: below is the games’ playing directions, it clearly states that a cut must occur in order to win the prize...

7/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues