Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Smart Energy Hawaii

Phone: (808) 373-4559 Fax: (808) 373-1740 238 Sand Island Access Rd Ste M3, Honolulu, HI 96819 http://smartenergyhawaii.com/Home.aspx


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers solar energy systems installation services,Energy efficiency and Solar Air Conditioning.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smart Energy Hawaii include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smart Energy Hawaii
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 2009 Business started: 04/20/2007 Business started locally: 04/20/2007 Business incorporated 01/12/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is EJ-9972.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W66063321-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C27806.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C27807.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Myron K. Thompson, President/Founder Mr. William Broad, Director of Sales Ms. Edwina Stricker, Customer Care Consultant Mr. Terrence Une, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Edwina Stricker, Customer Care Consultant
Principal: Mr. Myron K. Thompson, President/Founder
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
21st Century Technologies Hawaii LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    238 Sand Island Access Rd Ste M3

    Honolulu, HI 96819

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December 2013 Smart Energy / ***** **** installed a PV system for my home. In March 2014, they installed a ********* Solar Cool system in my home (solar assisted A/C system). The system was supposed to provide A/C at a fraction of the electrical cost of a "standard" system. That turned out to be not the case. Primarily because they sized the downstairs cooling unit a size too small. It has to run all day and still doesn't keep the house cool. They agreed it was undersized and told me they would schedule an upgrade. I have been calling them / e-mailing them for months now and they say they'll get to it but they never do.... Lately, they haven't been even returning my calls.I also got a letter from my Homeowner's association saying they hadn't installed the PV system in accordance with their PV application and the Homeowner's association bylaws.

Desired Settlement: Upgrade the downstairs unit to the proper size and correct the installation mistakes that were made on the PV system.

Business Response: Aloha,

     We have taken a bit in getting the material needed to upgrade the undersized system for financial reasons.  I sent Mr. ****** an email late afternoon on the 6th of November
explaining that the other part has been ordered and due to arrive in about 10 days and that our Project Manager would be contacting him as soon as possible thereafter.  
Mr. ****** informed me that he had not seen my email until after he sent in the complaint and that an install scheduled after the 3rd of December works better for him.
Mahalo,
****** ********
Smart Energy Hawaii/***** **** ******

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contractor told customer all approvals for system install were received. Customer later discovered system not approved and unusable. On August 13, 2013 I agreed to purchase a home solar panel (PV) System from Smart Energy Hawaii. Also on this date I submitted a Net Metering Agreement request to ******** ******** ******* through smart Energy Hawaii. I secured a loan through ******** ******* **** in the amount of $36,230.35, the purchase price of the system on Sept 26, 2013. In early December I received a letter from **** informing me that my Net metering agreement was received and was pending Approval. I informed the Smart Energy representative of this. He informed me that he would deal with **** and I was told in December that everything was good to go and that the Smart Energy rep had been in contact with **** and that everything was approved and we could proceed with the install. I paid them half of the purchase price up front and they installed my system and it was activated (Dec 24, 2013), I then paid them the remainder of the purchase price. In January I received a letter from **** (Jan 13, 2014) informing me that my NEM agreement was not approved, and is pending an interconnection study and whatever follow on actions are necessary. This means to avoid penalties I have to turn off my new PV system. I contacted Smart Energy about the situation and have been given nothing but excuses and the runaround for 7 months when asked how they plan to compensate me for this issue. Each time I contact them, I am met with "we are talking to ****", and "we just need another week", or "we will give you an answer on Friday". They do not follow through and the issue is not resolved. I have since discovered that at least two other people are in the same situation as me, installed systems that cannot be used. I found their reviews on **** when I added mine. I have also learned that the company representative ******* ******* no longer is employed by Smart Energy. At least one of the other victims of this issue had the same salesman who told them everything was approved. Smart Energy has tried to play it off as one rogue salesman. I pointed out to them that they cannot play it off, as at the time he was acting as an agent of the company and they are responsible for his actions.

Desired Settlement: 1) Smart energy to cover my electric bill until such time as I have an approved NEM agreement and can activate the system. The system was specifically sized to eliminate my power bill. or 2) Removal of the system and replacement of my roof and a purchase price refund.

Business Response: From: ****** ******** *************************************
Sent: Tuesday, September 02, 2014 4:42 PM
To: ***** ** *****
Cc: **********************************
Subject: Case # ********* *** ***** ******

Hello *****,

I wasn't sure if I was to respond using the link or directly to your email address. I choose the latter using the link's format:

This is the first letter we received regarding this complaint. The confusion of why this occurred has been resolved. In the past 2 years, there have been major policy changes for homeowners to install PV from ****. These changes have affected the community as well as the industry. These changes occurred right when this individual was to have his system installed. However, with regards to this particular issue, we have been in consistent and thorough contact with our customer, which has taken numerous and constant follow up communications by several of our staff and our COO and CEO, in liaison with **** reps and their Executives. The last communication to the customer was to let him know that our COO had gone beyond the call of duty by requesting a personal meeting with two **** Executives who are Senior V.P.s. The CEO had personally met with the two **** executives/Senior V.P.s, and finally collectively resolved the customer's issue, that his Net Metering Agreement has been approved. The customer was sent a letter directly to him by **** at the COO's and CEO's request, informing him of the good news which he should have received, as we had received a cc'ed copy of this letter. That letter is attached to this email. ******** ******** *******, Inc. (****) is a 3rd party utility company that delivers electrical grid service to the customer's/homeowner's grid, thus we're not affiliated with them. We do, however, try to keep up with them and their changes as any resident in the state of Hawaii.

Should any further information be needed, please don't hesitate to contact us and we will be glad to assist in any way possible.

****** ********
Customer Care Consultant

a division of 21st Century Technologies
***** ******** Office
***** ******** Fax
Email: ****************************
Web: ********************************

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While most of what she said is technically true, the fact remains that sales representative for Smart Energy Hawaii told me that he had personally verified with **** that all required permissions from **** had been received and I was approved to install my system. The sales Representative and I specifically discussed the "transition period" and I was told I "made it in under the wire". When I pressed Smart Energy on the matter they implied it was one rogue salesmen, they dropped that line when I told them that meant nothing, as he was acting as a representative of the company at the time. Smart Energy's reply makes it sound as though they have gone far out of their way to assist me and that I am the one being unreasonable.

Is it really that unreasonable to want a company to not stonewall me for 9 months. Is it really that unreasonable to want to use the $36,000 system they sold me? Is it really that unreasonable to expect some sort of compensation for their mistake that has cost me approximately $2000 in electrical bills that should have been negated by the unused PV system?

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Solar PV was installed in Sept 2012. I would like a status on my permit, ie has it been inspected and why in over 1 year there has been no follow up. Per email below I released final funds to complete the install. Smart Energy Hawaii received payment but has not delivered on system inspection or permit status. I may have a Solar PV system that is unsafe, has not been inspected and putting my family and home at risk. From: ************** <***************************> Date: Friday, November 2, 2012 1:43 PM To: ************* <********************> Subject: Aloha ***** Good afternoon sir! Hope all is well.... Just wanted to check in and see how the system is doing? Also, I was thinking about getting that "ridge vent" done to my house - what has your experience been with that? Additionally, I think we should have ********* release that last 10% of the loan payment - so that you get the receipt for your taxes this year?!?! Normally that is held until the inspector comes out and gives approval to close the permit - then the funds are realesed to us....trouble is they are overwhlemed and you might not see until after the year end. Thereby getting the tax credits next year! Know that if for some very unlikely reason you do not get the "all clear" from DPP - we will do whatever it takes to make it ok and get it approved no matter when that is. Thanks, ************** Energy Consultant I recently contacted Smart Energy Hawaii regarding my concerns and received one phone call and one email, attached below. I responded to the gentleman and have received no responses at all. Aloha ****, We have made attempts to schedule an inspection with the city but during this time inspectors have been disregarding our inspection requests due to an overwhlming amount of previous requests. When final requests are sent out it is with the inspectors discretion whether or not they will show up. This has been an ongoing issue that we are trying to resolve but we are at the mercy of city/county. If you have any questions ************ Best, ************** Project Coordinator

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that my permit status be reviewed and my system be inspected properly.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/17) */ I was not able to access the website at this time thus the email. Unfortunately, it is true that we have not closed the permit completely as of yet. There have been numerous requests for the electrical inspection. And we will be continue to put in the request. There are inspectors that call and confirm the time and date of the inspection. Some do not and we put in another request. The building inspection is the only inspection that was done and closed. The electrical inspection is the one we are awaiting so the permit can be completely closed. From what I understand, an action that has been suggested and proven effective is utilizing the Mayor's Complaint Line with regards to getting a permit closed. The number to that line is ********. I hope this helps and we will put in another request as well. Aloha, *************** Director of Administrations a division of 21st Century Technologies ************** Office ************** Fax Email: **************************** Web: ******************************* Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/12/18) */ I am not satisfied with the response from Smart Energy Hawaii. I have been left out of the loop as far as my PV system inspection is concerned. My system was installed in September 2012. I am not happy with the way Smart Energy Hawaii did not tell me that my system was not inspected, and my permit was not closed properly. I submitted final payment under the assumption that my install would be completed properly. Smart Energy Hawaii in no way notified me of the status of my permit until I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. I have received 2 emails from Smart Energy Hawaii stating that the Dept of Plans and Permits is overwhelmed, and I will be updated when an inspection has been requested. I have not received any emails stating that any other inspections have been submitted. I would like to request the complaint is filed as unresolved. Thank you very much. Thank you, *************