Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Rising Sun Solar Electric LLC

Phone: (808) 579-8287 Fax: (808) 575-9878 810 Kokomo Road  Suite 160, Haiku, HI 96708 http://www.risingsunsolar.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers design/build services for renewable energy systems, grid-tie solar electric systems, solar hot water systems and electrical contracting services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rising Sun Solar Electric LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rising Sun Solar Electric LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rising Sun Solar Electric LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 07, 2008 Business started: 12/22/2004 Business started locally: 12/22/2004 Business incorporated 03/13/2007 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W99078143-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C28184.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C26823.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Martha Guzman-Flores, HR/ Marketing Brad Albert Mr. Matias Besasso
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Martha Guzman-Flores, HR/ Marketing
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rising Sun Solar Electric LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 810 Kokomo Road  Suite 160

    Haiku, HI 96708 (808) 579-8287

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/11/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company has a large pay for referral program and was recommended to me by a friend. He told me he employed Rising Sun Solar because they told him when you lease their system you will have an $18.75 electric bill and they guarantee that the system will produce what they say it will produce. My friend has had his system for a year now and his electric bill is always $18.75. So I had Rising Sun Solar give me a quote for a system on a house I was renovating. I agreed to lease a system because the sales person said he could get my electric bill down to $18.75 and they guarantee the system will produce what they say it will produce or they will pay you the difference!Now From the very first meeting I stated to the sales person and to every person who came to my house in some capacity of designing through installation that the electric bill is representing the Ohana side of the house and not the rest of the main house we were renovating. I stated to everyone that although we would still be a family of 3 you need to take in consideration there will be a second refrigerator, other appliances, 4 more ceiling fans etc. and that I did not believe my bill would double but thought it might be 30-40% higher than my existing bill. To say the least Rising Sun Solar designed a system to small for our needs and we still have electric bills in excess of $150.00! When you ask either Sun Run or Rising Sun Solar about guarantee they tell the system is producing what it is designed to do. But what happens when Rising Sun Solar designs a system that is deficient for your power needs....well you can't even get someone of authority to return your call. How Sad! When a company just ignores their mistakes and their customers.

Desired Settlement: I would like what Rising Sun Solar promised to my friends and other clients that which I did not get an $18.75 electric bill or remove the system and refund my money.

Business Response: The only mention of the $18 bill is to explain to a customer that there is potential to reduce their 
energy bill to $18 if we offset all their energy consumption with PV. There is NO guarantee that 
this will happen. Typically I tell a customer that if I plastered 1000 panels on their roof then they 
would still receive an $18 **** bill to emphasize that this is the current minimum possible. I 
mention that should their usage go over the PV production then a larger **** bill will be 
received. ****** friends that are receiving $18 bills had systems designed for 100% offset and 
their energy consumption has not changed so of course they still receive the minimum bill. 

**** **** and I did discuss that he would be renovating his home which would cause an 
increase in usage. At the same time he was planning to make energy efficiency upgrades to 
lighting and appliances in the rest of his home. 

****** home is heavily shaded on the West side by trees which made his PV design 
challenging. Thus we performed a shade analysis before presenting him with a proposal. With 
trees shading most of the roof, there was only one East facing area that was usable for PV. 

Even after showing **** the shade reports, which use a tool known as a standard instrument in 
the industry, **** told me that the data wasn't valid. There was room for 3 more panels on the 
roof we used but I did not want to sell him panels that weren't going to be fully effective at 
producing energy. 

When I presented **** his bid I showed him that it could make 103% of his **** bill history at 
the time. In checking his monitoring since the system was turned on, the system is producing 
as expected; in fact the system is doing 101% of predictions! Recently we did a consumption 
audit on his home and found that his usage has increased 25%. 

Should I have sold **** a larger system to begin with? Apparently so. But here's the kicker. 
At bidding time he asked me to lower my price to something he was comfortable with before he 
would sign. I reduced the system cost $1160 to appease him. 

When **** and I recently met to discuss a solution to his current **** bill and my undersized 
system I asked him if he would have been willing to spend more money on a larger system to 
begin with. His answer was..."NO"...he expected his system to offset his energy use no matter 
what. 

**** is also concerned that the system isn't paying for itself like it should be when in fact it is 
saving him $250-300/month. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Let the truth be told.
To be brief lets go point by point:

#1 ******* sales presentation is all about the $18.00 a month electric bill.  It's the only way to go.  Why would anyone spend thousands only to lower their bill a small fraction, it makes no sense.
Case in point.  I have a sign in front of my home professing my unhappiness with Sunrun and Risingsun Solar.  I have numerous people stop by some of your competitors, some unhappy customers but oddly many of your happy customers wondering what my issue is with you?  I've had many pleasant chats and what I've found is that every single one of your happy customers have $18.00 electric bills!  In fact many of them stated having hundreds in credits!

#2 Lets get down to numbers because numbers always show the truth...
We moved into our home in September 2011.  From that point on until March of of 2014, 32 months of **** ******** bills shows that we consumed on average 626 KWH per month.
From April 2014 (starting month of Solar) until December 2014, 9 months of **** ******** bills shows we consumed on average only 607 KWH per month!
You state that our consumption has increased 25% since our renovation and solar started when in fact our usage went down!  (maybe because of all the upgrades I installed)
During that same time period your Solar System on average produced only 395 KWH per month.  Thats about 1/3 short of our usage history as I have suspected all along. One of your own who will remain nameless agreed with me.  So based on fact can you show me how in the world you can say you designed a system that "produces 103% of my **** ******** bill History?"  What math did you use?

#3Regarding those 3 panels.  A panel no longer effects an entire row of panels as it used to.  Based on that, I wanted the 3 panels because one it would have even out the 2 rows for better appearance and two a little more solar is better than none.

#4 Your original price was $13000 for 24 panels which I challenged you on because my friend who referred you paid only $500 per panel.  With the technology constantly improving and reducing costs I really had no intentions of spending more than $500 per panel.  Its also the figure I used in calculating whether or not to invest in your program.  The final price according to my credit card statement is $12500.

#5 NO, Nada, Zero Customer Service
Let me add That I have called Risingsun Solar every month for 9 months telling them what my electric bill was and asked for, an owner, a manager, someone other than ***** to contact me and for 9 months received NO CALLS.   Finally I showed up at their ***** office firmly requesting to speak to a manager or owner and told the woman that I would take a seat until she could reach someone.  After about 20 minutes  I was told that both an owner and manager were reached; that they were unavailable but had discussed my concern the night before and that they were authorizing some free panels.  The woman had me sign 3 more forms stating that they would have to be resubmitted to **** ******** etc.  She then stated that "I know you don't want to talk to ***** but he can be here in 15 minutes and can explain how this is all going to work."  I agreed.  Within minutes of sitting down with ***** it became obvious that if the manager and owner really did discuss my concerns,  ***** Knew Nothing About It!  How did I know you ask?   He tried to sell me more panels!  I went home and made my protest sign.



 
Sincerely,

**** Mark

Business Response:

As we've found with many customers, Mr. **** appears to be confused when interpreting the NEM data reflected on his new **** bill.  Although many customers assume that "DEL" represents a home's total consumption and "REC" represents a PV system's production, these numbers are actually a representation of how much energy **** is either DELivering to OR RECeiving from the customer.  When your home is consuming energy, the meter is spinning forward; thus **** is DELivering energy to the home.  When the PV system is producing more energy than the house is consuming, the meter is spinning backwards; thus **** is RECeiving energy from the customer.

PV production can only be assessed through the use of a PV monitoring system.  Our partner, Sunrun, provides such a monitoring site where Sunrun customers can confirm that their PV systems are producing the energy that their systems were designed to produce.  In Mr. ****** case, the system was found to be making 101% of its design.  In addition to Sunrun's PV monitoring site, Rising Sun installed an Egauge device on Mr. ****** home so Rising Sun could monitor the total consumption of the home isolated from PV production.  It was through this Egauge device that Rising Sun was able to determine that Mr. ****** home was now consuming 28 kWh/day versus the pre-PV system install amount of 21 kWh/day.  

 

Attached is the NEM brochure provided from ****.  Rising Sun sends this brochure to all of its customers so they better understand how their new **** bill will read once their NEM meter is installed.

****** ****** ******