Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

RevoluSun LLC

Phone: (808) 748-8888 View Additional Phone Numbers 210 Ward Street #140, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.revolusun.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential solar energy, energy efficiency and Smart Home product design and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RevoluSun LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RevoluSun LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on RevoluSun LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2009 Business started: 07/15/2009 in HI Business started locally: 07/15/2009 Business incorporated 07/15/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W37936368-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C30244.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C30243.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Joshua F. Powell, CEO Mr. Colin A. Yost, Esq., Partner/General Council Mr. Eric Carlson, Partner/ Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joshua F. Powell, CEO
Principal: Mr. Colin A. Yost, Esq., Partner/General Council
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Products & Services

RevoluSun LLC sells the following brand(s): SMA, SolarEdge, Sun Bandit, SunPower

RevoluSun LLC offers the following product(s): Home automation and energy management, Photovoltaic solar energy systems, PV Hot Water Systems, Solar AC, Solar Skylights, Whole House Fans

Method(s) of Payment

Cash, checks, credit, financing

 

Refund and Exchange Policy
All products and services include comprehensive warranties

Additional Locations

  • 210 Ward Street #140

    Honolulu, HI 96814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thank you. This complaint is listed as ID ******* as signed by Leslie B***** with suggested continuing with the Honolulu branch. If you send me your fax #, I can send the e mail train to give you a better sense of the story. In case you do not have access to the above complaint ID, it reads: ...my failed attempts to receive the deposit ($500) despite recurrent and polite requests. ... People have been nice at RevoluSun but recalcitrant in returning the deposit (despite suggesting they would do so since the beginning of the year with increased foot dragging and hints that "no can do" recently) and are now looking for indications that I do not merit the return. I regret that they are upset I have chosen to not purchase the solar panels but thought we were doing business in a business like manner. I appreciate your review of this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like the $500 deposit returned.

Business Response:

Aloha BBB,

I spoke to Mr. ******* last week, and I believe his concern is resolved.  Under the PV construction contract with the consumer, the initial deposit is nonrefundable if we perform initial design/pre-construction work and the consumer later requests to cancel for the consumer's own reasons/preferences, which is what happened in this case.  However, because a person in our company gave Mr. ******* the impression that a portion of the deposit might still be refunded, I agreed for the sake of good customer service to split the difference and return 1/2 of the deposit, which I believe was satisfactory to Mr. *******.

Please let me know if anything else if needed related to this complaint.

Mahalo,

Colin Y***, Chief Operating Officer

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

4/23/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2013 January- Photovoltaic (PV) panels installed on the roof. No issues on install. Install came with a 5 year warranty. No verbal or written communication that indicated my roof might be in bad shape as they installed the PV. 2015 September - Leak noticed on dry wall right underneath PV panels. Immediately reported to Revolusun for fear of mold build up in leak area. Their representative immediately began treating me poorly using such tactics as denial, deflection, and counter accusations. They asked me if I had other work done on the roof, the answer was no. Then they asked me if there was another warranty that would cover the roof, so I did some research to find that the answer was no. They eventually sent their inspectors and roofers over to inspect the leak. They concluded that the roof leak was not their fault and told me to hire my own roofer to fix the leak and repair the drywall. They were kind enough to tell me to get 3 different quotes and compare them. 2015 September to Present - After receiving more than 4 assessments of the roof leak, all roofers (except the one that Revolusun hired) indicated that the leak was likely caused by the PV installers, aka Revolusun. Its been more than 8 months of back and forth with them. I've given Revolusun all the receipts for the repairs that I've coordinated and paid for so far. Also, I have given them the pictures proving that it was their work that caused the leak. They have yet to take responsibility and honor their warranty. I paid alm*** $50,000 for the PV installation and the 5 year warranty. I did not expect Revolusun NOT to honor their warranty. Maybe this is how all contractor warranties work but I expected warranty service like I get on my vehicle or washer/dryer. Had I known I would be treated like this, I would have recorded their installation to cover both of our interests. Please pass along to other consumers so they are not burned by this company or other PV installers.

Desired Settlement: Revolusun to cover the c*** of the repairs plus an additional $10,000 for time I've spent coordinating with all the roofers and contractors in the effort to get them to honor their warranty. At the very least, Revolusn should reimburse me for the c***s I've incurred repairing the roof and the damaged drywall for which I have receipts.

Business Response: We respectfully disagree with Mr. ********'s version of events.  


In response to Mr. ********'s initial notification of a roof leak concern (more than 2 1/2 years after the PV installation), we investigated and could not find evidence that the leak was related to our workmanship.
In an attempt to clarify the matter further, we engaged an independent licensed roofer with decades of experience in leak investigation to evaluate the roof and issue an objective report.  The roofing inspector's report
provided photographic proof that the leak arose from pervasive and specific causes unrelated to the PV installation and provided repair recommendations.  Instead of following the recommendations in the report, Mr. ******** hired 
another roofer who apparently concluded that the source of the leak was two cracked roofing tiles near the PV system and damaged underlayment beneath those two tiles that someone had patched with duct tape.  There is 
no evidence that any of the penetrations in the roof we made to install the PV system are compromised or causing leaks.

Even if the two cracked tiles contributed to the leak (which does not appear to be accurate), we do not believe the tiles in question or the damaged underlayment beneath them (and the unprofessional repair of that damage) were 
related to the PV installation, because the type of damage and the method of repair are completely inconsistent with our installation practices.  

Nonetheless, in an effort to resolve the matter, we offered on February 5 to pay for Mr. ********'s roofing invoice if he would agree not to seek additional funds from us for roof repair work (because we are concerned that Mr. ********'s roofer may not have fixed the 
actual cause of the leaks).  Mr. ******** did not directly respond to that offer.  We also offered to help repair water damage inside his home.  To be fair to Mr. ********, communications with him have been challenging because of the nature 
of his work out of state.  If he had been here in Hawaii, we would likely have been able to resolve this matter to both of our satisfaction a long time ago.

For the sake of bringing this matter to a close, we are willing to pay the c*** of Mr. ********'s roofing invoice of $994.75 (which we received) and drywall repair invoice of $2100.00 (upon verification and receipt of that invoice).  In exchange,
we request (1) a release from Mr. ******** related to this incident so he does not seek additional funds if it later turns out that the repairs he directed were ineffective and (2) his agreement to reimburse us for the c*** of the repairs if he later receives
reimbursement for the same repairs from his homeowner's insurance policy.  

We will send a proposed settlement agreement with the above terms by email to Mr. ******** no later than tomorrow, April 15, 2016.

Mahalo.

Colin Y***
Chief Operating Officer




7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Revolusun for a PV system quite a while ago. Due to HAWAIIAN ELECTRIC's moratorium in saturated areas, it was delayed. An initial deposit was paid. When HEI lifted the moratorium, The job progressed and we paid the progress payments until the construction contract was paid in full. The building permit was closed on May 6, 2015. I emailed Hawaiian Electric to see when my system would be approved. It was then I found out that the inverters that were installed in my system were not approved by the utility and was not notified by Revolusun. I have followed up with Revolusun multiple times and have been given multiple proposed resolution dates. Obviously, none of the promises have been satisfied. They continue to use stalling techniques but I am not realizing the promised savings over the last 2 months and have spent too much time trying to get this resolved. In addition, it was in the news that the rates paid to customers for generating power by HECO will be reduced. Atlhough current applications are supposedly grandfathered in, the approval of our system is not assured. Why would a contractor install a key component when they knew it was not approved?Please help before this gets worse.Thanks,Blake Anzai

Desired Settlement: If the approval is not given immediatley, the part should be replaced with an approved part and an expedited approval should be pursued by the contractor. In addition a rebate for lost savings and damages should be given.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in person to cancel and they are sending me a copy of contract thanking me for business.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending contract to say I am doing business with them, when I went in person to cancel contract.

Business Response: Aloha BBB and Ms. ******,

Please accept our apologies.  The correspondence Ms. ****** received was inadvertent, and we acknowledge and accept Ms. ******'s cancellation of her contract for the installation 
of a solar energy system.  We will not initiate any further correspondence with Ms. ******, but will gladly respond to any further questions or concerns she may have.
Mahalo,
***** ****
Chief Operating Officer
RevoluSun LLC

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to the installation of Solar Panel roof leaks have been exacerbated. On Nov 27,2012 installation of the solar panels was completed. Prior to the installation of the panels I do not recall any communication with me verbal or otherwise about any problems with my roofing. Had there been previous knowledge I would have gotten it re-roofed prior to installation of panels. There had not been any substantial rainfall prior to November of 2013. At that period leaks were noticed on the ceiling and finally in December the ceiling collapsed as provided by photo. We have been trying to have Revolusun to remove the panels so we can re-roof but they are siting a $2544.50 removal fee.

Desired Settlement: All we are asking is that they remove the panels without a fee and the re-roofing will be paid by us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Principal Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *****@revolusun.com Based on our inspection of Ms. ******* roof, we could not find any evidence that our workmanship caused any leaks or other damage to the roof. The project manager for this installation also clearly remembers discussing the age of the roof with Ms. ***** and following her wishes to proceed with installation notwithstanding the age of the roof. However, it is also clear that Ms. ***** has a different memory, and we do not have a written record to resolve the conflict. It is always our goal to provide the best customer service possible, and we are reviewing the matter to find a mutually agreeable solution. This process is taking longer than we expected, because the solar system is owned by a leasing company who provides the generated power to Ms. *****, and we must consider that company's rights and procedures as well. We will propose a resolution to Ms. ***** no later than Tuesday, May 6, 2014.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on RevoluSun LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)