Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

RevoluSun LLC

Phone: (808) 748-8888 Fax: (808) 532-4402 210 Ward Street #140, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.revolusun.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial solar energy products and energy saving consulting.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RevoluSun LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RevoluSun LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on RevoluSun LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2009 Business started: 07/15/2009 Business started locally: 07/15/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W37936368-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C-30244.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C-30243.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Colin A. Yost, Esq., Partner/General Council Mr. Eric Carlson, Partner/ Marketing Mr. Mark Duda, Partner Mr. Todd Georgopapadakos, Partner Elana Kopelevich, Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Colin A. Yost, Esq., Partner/General Council
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Distributed Energy Partners

Additional Locations

  • 210 Ward Street #140

    Honolulu, HI 96814

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with Revolusun for a PV system quite a while ago. Due to HAWAIIAN ELECTRIC's moratorium in saturated areas, it was delayed. An initial deposit was paid. When HEI lifted the moratorium, The job progressed and we paid the progress payments until the construction contract was paid in full. The building permit was closed on May 6, 2015. I emailed Hawaiian Electric to see when my system would be approved. It was then I found out that the inverters that were installed in my system were not approved by the utility and was not notified by Revolusun. I have followed up with Revolusun multiple times and have been given multiple proposed resolution dates. Obviously, none of the promises have been satisfied. They continue to use stalling techniques but I am not realizing the promised savings over the last 2 months and have spent too much time trying to get this resolved. In addition, it was in the news that the rates paid to customers for generating power by HECO will be reduced. Atlhough current applications are supposedly grandfathered in, the approval of our system is not assured. Why would a contractor install a key component when they knew it was not approved?Please help before this gets worse.Thanks,Blake Anzai

Desired Settlement: If the approval is not given immediatley, the part should be replaced with an approved part and an expedited approval should be pursued by the contractor. In addition a rebate for lost savings and damages should be given.

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in person to cancel and they are sending me a copy of contract thanking me for business.

Desired Settlement: Stop sending contract to say I am doing business with them, when I went in person to cancel contract.

Business Response: Aloha BBB and Ms. ******,

Please accept our apologies.  The correspondence Ms. ****** received was inadvertent, and we acknowledge and accept Ms. ******'s cancellation of her contract for the installation 
of a solar energy system.  We will not initiate any further correspondence with Ms. ******, but will gladly respond to any further questions or concerns she may have.
Mahalo,
***** ****
Chief Operating Officer
RevoluSun LLC

1/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Due to the installation of Solar Panel roof leaks have been exacerbated. On Nov 27,2012 installation of the solar panels was completed. Prior to the installation of the panels I do not recall any communication with me verbal or otherwise about any problems with my roofing. Had there been previous knowledge I would have gotten it re-roofed prior to installation of panels. There had not been any substantial rainfall prior to November of 2013. At that period leaks were noticed on the ceiling and finally in December the ceiling collapsed as provided by photo. We have been trying to have Revolusun to remove the panels so we can re-roof but they are siting a $2544.50 removal fee.

Desired Settlement: All we are asking is that they remove the panels without a fee and the re-roofing will be paid by us.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/01) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****, Principal Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: *****@revolusun.com Based on our inspection of Ms. ******* roof, we could not find any evidence that our workmanship caused any leaks or other damage to the roof. The project manager for this installation also clearly remembers discussing the age of the roof with Ms. ***** and following her wishes to proceed with installation notwithstanding the age of the roof. However, it is also clear that Ms. ***** has a different memory, and we do not have a written record to resolve the conflict. It is always our goal to provide the best customer service possible, and we are reviewing the matter to find a mutually agreeable solution. This process is taking longer than we expected, because the solar system is owned by a leasing company who provides the generated power to Ms. *****, and we must consider that company's rights and procedures as well. We will propose a resolution to Ms. ***** no later than Tuesday, May 6, 2014.

3/28/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about August 2010, Revolusun completed their installation of their photovoltaic system at my residence. It was a long frustrating process in competing my installaion. It took nearly year to have it completed.On 01/03/13, one of my system's data logger failed and I could not track the amount of energy I was generating completely. I called Revolusun and they agreed to send a technician to examine the failed data logger. On 01/07/13 their technician arrived at my residence and analyzed the data logger. He said there was nothing wrong with it and I should keep rebooting it when it failed. I did this on a daily basis.Two weeks later, 01/22/13, the data logger would no longer reboot. I called Revolusun and left messages for their project manager to call me. It was a task getting her to call. She finally called back and agreed to send another tech to examine the data loggger.On 01/28/13, a different technician arrived and examined the data logger. He told me it was broken and he could not re-set it. He told me that he would submit a notice to have a new data logging system installed. He informed me that there has been a few that failed. Revolusun was replacing them with a new system because the one I had was obsolete. No one called so I called Revolusun. It took a while to get the project manager, whom I believe may have been a ****** *****. She finally returned my call. I asked why wasn't she returning my call. She said she was generating a "RMA" to have mt data logging system replaced. I told her she should be more customer oriented and should be keeping me apprised of the progress. I told her to call me beack in two days to apprise me of her progress, since my data logger had a 5 year warranty (expire in 2015). She said she would call and keep me apprised. She never called back.It is March 10, 2013, and Revolusun is again dragging this warranty issue on. The project manager failed to keep me apprise as to when they will deliver a new data logging system. Product_Or_Service: Photo Voltaic ystem Order_Number: ********* Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement I want Revolusun to forefill their warranty obligation by next month and install my new data logging system. I paid promptly on all payments. They should service me accordingly.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/26) */ We apologize to Mr. ******** if we failed to adequately explain that the delay in replacing his data logger was due to a shortage of new data loggers. We recently received a new shipment of data loggers, and we replaced his defective one on March 20, 2013. We hope that the replacement resolves Mr. ********'s concern, and we will strive to communicate more clearly in the future if equipment shortages cause delays. If there is anything more we can do, please let us know. Aloha, RevoluSun

11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service