Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Poncho's Solar Service

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 422-4266 Fax: (808) 488-4267 View Additional Phone Numbers 1333 Opua St, Honolulu, HI 96818

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers solar hot water and photovoltaic systems & also central vacuums and related services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Poncho's Solar Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Poncho's Solar Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Poncho's Solar Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 29, 1993 Business started: 10/26/1995 Business started locally: 10/26/1995 Business incorporated 10/26/1995 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20504678-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is C14526.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-3295
The number is C25358.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Corpuz V. Safranca, President Ms. Terrie L. Safranca, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Corpuz V. Safranca, President
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation

Alternate Business Names
P&T Solar Company, Ltd.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Poncho's Solar Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2014 the hot water solar panels that Poncho's Solar installed failed. Trying to contact them at two different phone numbers with no way to leave a message. Tried several times and contacted ******* ******** who then was coupled with Poncho's. They could not contact them either. I wish for them to honor their warranty agreement and fix or replace the failed panel

Desired Settlement: I wish for them to honor their warranty agreement and fix or replace the failed panel

Business Response: Aloha, We will be giving our solar technicians your information and they should be getting back to you. You had a five year parts and labor warranty on the system. The tank has a six year manufacturer's warranty and the panels have a ten year manufacturer's warranty. For further assistance you should call our main number in Honolulu which is ***** ********. Mahalo,

2/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: From the beginning received very poor sales and customer service. I was referred to Poncho's Solar by a relative. Sales person missed initial first scheduled appointment and second salesman was late for the next appointment. Looked pass that only based on referral, I signed proposal for solar water and PV systems. This was all done prior to my new addition construction. Was told during sales pitch that I would received rebates after I explained both systems were for a new addition being built. During construction Poncho's did rough-in for plumbing. When time to install panels, was told that I wouldn't receive rebate because my addition didn't qualify for it. Salesman claims he told me about rebate qualifications which he didn't so Poncho's agreed to discount job by the rebate amount. After panel installation, I was never informed that job was completed or showed how system works. Then I received a packet in the mail with an invoice. Later get a call from salesman wanting payment. I asked about the referral credit that was promised during sales meeting. The reply was "I'm not getting a commission so there is no room for credit. And Poncho did me a favor for the rebate credit". I expressed my dissatisfaction and explained with that position to expect a complaint. I also explained to office staff of my intentions and dissatisfaction and have not heard any followed up. As of today, over a month after installation, permits are still open on the job. Office Manager shows no urgency in getting permits closed which is holding up my family from moving in and securing refinancing on my addition. With this experience I definitely do NOT want my PV system installed by Poncho's!!!

Desired Settlement: Close out open building, electrical and plumbing permits ASAP.Refund of $500 deposit for PV installation and $250 referral credit. I do not want to have any additional work performed by this company.

Business Response: To whom it may concern, We have tried very hard to accommodate Mr. *****. He signed 2 contracts with us on 6/9/2014 to install solar hot water panels and solar PV panels. These systems were to be installed on an addition to his mother's home that was not yet started at the time. The Hawaii Energy Program provides a $1000 rebate for Solar hot water systems on existing homes. Since this was an addition, it seemed probable that he would qualify. Since there was no structure at the time of signing, an inspection could not be performed. He was informed verbally that he may or may not receive the rebate. 5 months passed. He then called us to perform the work. I called the Hawaii Energy Program to inspect for the rebate. They denied the rebate due to a Solar water system already being in place on the existing home, so this was their second system. I informed this to Mr. ***** at which point he became very angry, cussing to the point to which I had to hang up the phone. ****** decided he would still honor the price that was $1000 off due to the rebate (no commission would be paid), so Mr. ***** still was charged the price that would have included the rebate. A bill was sent to him which he did not pay. When he was called to pay, he stated he was waiting for the referral fee, $200 is the referral fee, not $250. The referral fee is part of the commission. I explained to Mr. ***** that since he received the $1000 off anyway, there was not sufficient money to pay the referral fee. Also, at that time, I offered him 2 different days on which I could go to his home to go over his system. At which point, again, Mr. ***** began cussing at length. Now Mr. ***** wants to cancel his second contract, which we will not legally hold him to. However, clearly stated on his attached contract, it states that his deposit is Non-Refundable. These monies go toward engineers who make an electrical diagram for the utility company as part of their application to add Solar PV panels. That application was submitted back in June. It should also be noted that the additional work of 'roughing in' his Solar water system was performed at no additional charge since he was purchasing a second PV system from us. That was work we performed on a day prior to installation that consisted of installing the piping inside his walls before the drywall went up. This is a service that is normally charged between $250-$300. That is all.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Salesman **** ***** twist things around to cover his butt.  First of all, Mr. ***** fully knew my intentions on building my addition.  He just doesn't know salesmanship or customer service.  Or rebate qualifying guidelines for that matter.   Also as you yourself said in that phone call telling me about not getting the rebate, you failed to tell me anything about having to qualify for a rebate.  If you did tell me, I couldv'e told you that I wouldn't qualify like I did when called by the Hawaii Energy Connection and explained about the rebate.  Typical cut rate salesman, saying anything to make the sale but not back it up.  I guess he thought that he got a $25,000 PV contract signed so no need for customer service or follow up.  Mr. *****, is it the customer's fault you don't get a commission since you don't know how to sale and disclose true facts?  Even ****** knew you made a mistake and THAT'S WHY he gave the $1000 off.  He didn't do me a favor like your text message said!
Second, how can you ask for payment when the plumbing, electrical and building permits are all still open?  As I told ****** (office manager) and *****, I will not make payment until permits are closed.
You may be able to skirt around and get passed the BBB since they only act as a third party mediator.  Therefore you may have to answer to a complaint to the Regulated Industries section of the DCCA.  
It's a shame that Poncho's was a referral.  Instead of referring good things about the company, there are only negative things to share with everyone I know.
Public beware!
2nd request: close permits asap, refund $500 deposit.

***** *****

11/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Open permit for 10 months I am currently (Oct 2013) in the process of selling my house when I was told that when my solar contractor (Poncho Solar) did not close the permit for electrical and plumbing. Poncho installed my solar water heater in Nov/Dec 2012. I called Poncho on 23 Oct to let them know that they need to close the permits. ********** from Poncho Solar calls me on 24 Oct to tell me to call the inspector because it would "benefit" me more. That's outrageous. What poor customer service. This is one of the services Poncho Solar were to do not me.

Desired Settlement: I would like Poncho Solar take a more customer friendly approach and finish what they promised to do. Very disappointed.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/11) */ Contact Name and Title: **** , Office Manager Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ************************** To Whom it May Concern, Our office procedure is as follows. Once the job is completed we call in to the permitting department for inspections and closure of permit. Unfortunately Ms. *****'s permit must have been overlooked. We apologize for her inconvenience and her permit has been closed. ********** should have handled this situation in a more professional manner and we assure that this will not happen in the future. Sincerely, **** ***********

1/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Company failed to include the router to properly connect my PV system to the internet. After completion of PV installation in September 2012 I was told to buy a router so the Enphase unit could be connected to the internet. Otherwise I was told that HECO would not replace my analog electric meter with the digital meter.This detail was left out of discussion during my purchase of the system.I agreed to purchase the system that is fully functional, without having to buy additional item needed for the entire system to work properly.If the Enphase needs a router, then the company should charge me additional fee rather than having me to look for it to complete the installation. As far as I am concerned, the installation was incomplete.

Desired Settlement: Provide the router to complete the PV system installation.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/01/07) */ We will be setting up the envoy and router on 1/10/13 per owner's request