Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bonterra Services LLC

Phone: (808) 548-7657 4218 Waialae Ave #203, Honolulu, HI 96816 http://bonterrasolar.com/index.php


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sales, installation, and servicing of residential and commercial solar energy, hot water, solar electric (PV) systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bonterra Services LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bonterra Services LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bonterra Services LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 22, 2009 Business started: 09/18/2009 Business started locally: 09/18/2009 Business incorporated 09/27/2013 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C32741.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C30193.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W54941866-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Christian Adams, President Ms. Liz Brewer, Receptionist Mr. Stephen Valentin, VP / Member Mr. Andrew Yani
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christian Adams, President
Business Category

Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Bonterra Solar Services (Formerly)

Additional Locations

  • 4218 Waialae Ave #203

    Honolulu, HI 96816 (808) 548-7657

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In August of 2013 I began communications with *** *** **** at Bonterra Solar re: PV install at *** ********* *** ** ****** ***** HI. The proposal was sent on 8/20/14 and signed thereafter. On 9/25/13, I received the first of many problems that would come from working with Bonterra Solar; I received a letter from ******** ******** stating that the application for the NEM agreement was "incomplete". *** assured me that he would follow-up and correct immediately on contract #******** with ****. On 11/22/13 *** asked for photos of my panel for ****, these were provided that day. On 12/2/13, I sent an email in the same thread asking if they were received as I never received confirmation from him, on 12/3 he acknowledged that he had received when sent. On Feb. 7, '14 *** emailed me saying that he still had not received word on when building permit would be cleared but that,"We do not expect any problems moving forward", acknowledging there had been many already. May 21,'14 I sent *** an email again asking about when the install would happen (more than 3 months after this process had started). June 19th, 2014 work started and was completed by the 20th. On July 9, 2014 I realized that the system I'd asked for (to include AC usage) was not on my roof. An email on Jan. 23rd, 2014 clearly states, " I just wanted to make sure that the system was still oversized for heavy usage of AC and efficiency after 10+ years. As long as nothing has changed, all is ok. I'll need to begin the process of attaining a loan for the remaining $30k upon delivery and installation when we have a tentative date for these to begin. I can start the process as soon as I know for sure that the project is a go". Nothing was said at that time until July 9th when I was informed by *** and ***** (VP?) that I had never mentioned AC to them. I forward the message quoted above to all parties on Sept. 12, '14 with no response from anyone. Fast forward to today (10.13.14), My PV is STILL not operational after.. (out of room)

Desired Settlement: I want reimbursed for my electrical bill from 09/2014 until the installation is complete. This allows for over a month since install to complete inspections and correct errors from inspectors.

Business Response: Bonterra has responded to customer issues and worked with the inspector to close permit so PV system can become operational as soon as possible.  

7/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear Mr. ****** ****, Mr. **** ******** has failed to bring the positive result of Bonterra Services on my house as stated in our contract. I have been calling him, talking to him, meeting with him many times since Bonterra put the solar panels on my roof. For that reason I called the Consumers' Protection Office for advice. They sent me forms to out and advised me to write to you about the matter. On June 14, 2013 a contract between Bonterra and me, the onwer of the house on 2825/27 Waialae Avenue was drawn. In that contract Bonterra was to provide a service to reduce my monthly electric bill by instaling solar panels on my roof. After that the first electric bill l received was in July 2013. The bill showed about the same amount as the previous one. l called Mr. **** ******** about it. He said he would look into it to make it better. After that almost every month l called him about the same problem, and he never reported about his effort to better the service, unless I called him and asked about it. My agreement to having this contract was recommended by Mr. .**** ****** Requilment, one of the ******* Bank Branch Managers at the ****** **** ******** Branch. You may look at the contract, that ******* Bank has paid 50% of the loan to Bonterra for this service. Unfortunately, the Bonterra servcice for the purpose of lowering my electris bills as'promised by your company has not been satisfactory, because my high electric bills remain the same after seven months having your company services. Although I complained to your solar consultant Mr. **** ******** many times, he only met me twice to the premises. He showed me the box that regulated the solar panels, but there was nothing {PIPE} could do to make it better.Tthat is whyl buy your services. Unfortunately, your services has not worked at all. After trying to be patient for seven months and your company did not show the promise that is written in the contract, I would like the contract to be cancelled, and Bonterra has to return the money to the ******** ******* Bank, and my roof has to be restored without damage. For your information, l have been calling to talk to you, you did not return my call. The one who did was Mr. **** ******** who never gave satisfactory answer! To resolve this problem l would appreciate your wise solution by granting my request, namely by cancelling this unproductive contract we have. Attached are copies of my electric receipts for seven months and some samples of the electric bills. I will look forward to your written reply and resolution to my problems. Please respond within 14 days of the date of this letter or earlier, before I seek assistance from the Consumers' Protection Office and the Better Business Bureau. Thank you for your attention and cooperation on this case. Sincerely Yours,

Desired Settlement: Please see attached.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/04) * Contact Name and Title: ***** ********** Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: *****@bonterrasolar.com Dear Customer, We apologize for any misunderstandings or anxiety you have experienced so far. We have been communicating with you via phone, but have been having some difficulty. We would like to send over our Quality Control Manager to discuss the performance and productivity of your PV System. We will also answer any questions, and address any issues that may have arisen. Please call our office at ************ to schedule an appointment. We will also be giving you a call. Sincerely, ***** ********** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/12) */ -----Original Message----- From: ***********@hawaii.rr.com (******************@hawaii.rr.com) Sent: Tuesday, February 11, 2014 9:41 PM To: Better Business Bureau Subject: Re: BBB Complaint Case# ******** (Ref#**-********-********-******) Dear Ms. **** *****, Thank you for your e-mail concerning BBB Complaint Case# ********. I had a meeting with Mr. ******* **********, a representative of Bonterra. As we talked he realized that the misunderstanding between Bonterra and me was based on many things. One, Bonterra did not realize that my building had two Addresses, namely ******* *******, although I mentioned it from the beginning. Two, Bonterra mentioned that only one address could be taken care of according to the usual treatment of ONE building. Three, even the treatment of one building, Bonterra failed to treat the existing 3 meters belonging to **** *******. Only one meter was connected to the solar panels. The two meters belonging to **** ******* (in the same building)of course were not touched. Problem number three, is that Bonterra NEVER shown me the written contract. That made me believe that the sample proposal they gave me was the one Bonterra followed to execute in realizing the service. At this moment, Mr. ********** is having a meeting with the rest of the Bonterra personnel who are involved, and he will contact me as soon as he has received explanations from them, especially why the contract had never been shown to me. I will continue giving information to you regarding this case. I appreciate it very much for your giving me a chance to report to you. Sincerely Yours, ********* ******* Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/13) */ Mrs. *******, We want you to be happy with your PV system and if your expectations are not met we will do all in our power to resolve your issues, We have talked to you a few times on the phone and sent our representative to your home twice to explain how the system is working. The main issue is the misunderstanding that the solar system was going to offset more than one meter. We will talk to you regarding your statement that you have never seen the contract that is signed by you. We are working to resolve your case. Thank you for your patience.

3/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure to respond to 2 emails referencing questions of hidden charges and property damage as a result of installation. This are the emails ________________________________________ Date: Thu, 2 Jan 2014 19:08:19 -1000 Subject: Fwd: FW: Bonterra Solar Services - Certificate of Acceptance From: ******************@hotmail.com To: ****@bonterrasolar.com CC: ******************@hotmail.com -------- Original Message -------- Subject: FW: Bonterra Solar Services - Certificate of Acceptance From: **** ******** <******************@hotmail.com> To: ******@bonterrasolar.com,**** ******** <******************@hotmail.com> CC: Original email sent December 4th with no response. This is my second attempt. **** ******** ________________________________________ From: ******************@hotmail.com To: ******@bonterrasolar.com Subject: RE: Bonterra Solar Services - Certificate of Acceptance Date: Wed, 4 Dec 2013 20:39:36 -1000 This response is in reference to your request for our signature of acceptance and outstanding balance. At this particular time, your request is premature. I have not been happy with your service and the lack of response to several of my inquiries. I have spoken to at least three different people in your office informing them of my discontent over several issues of said installation. My chief complaint is the cost of the electrical upgrade which was not finalized or agreed upon prior to panel installation. These people I spoke to in your office has never responded to me on whether or not this issue was going to be resolved. Nobody from your office ever made an attempt to contact us. That's the reason why we obtained our own electrician. When we did the permit change, we found out that you already knew what you were going to charge us because it's reflected on the permit. But, when asked...I kept getting a ballpark figure "between $2,000 and $4,000". All the while, we asked on numerous occasions if there were going to be any hidden costs and several of your staff said no. We have a problem also of the screws that hold the electrical conduit protruding through the redwood walls of our bedroom despite myself informing your staff that this home was of single-wall construction. Nine screws to be exact. The lack of response on Bonterra's part is bullshit and totally unprofessional. So, we won't be signing any certificate of acceptance or paying the remainder of any bill until these issues are resolved. And I will also be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. **** ________________________________________ Date: Fri, 25 Oct 2013 14:50:46 -1000 Subject: Bonterra Solar Services - Certificate of Acceptance From: kawser@bonterrasolar.com To: ******************@hotmail.com Aloha Mr. and Mrs. ********, Since Bonterra had installed your Photovoltaic system earlier this year, we ask that you sign the attached Certificate of Acceptance that states we, the contractor, have installed your photovoltaic system to full completion. The COA also states that all the equipment installed is what you, the client, have agreed to upon signing the KINA lease agreement. If there are any discrepancies with our installation or any additional issues with your existing PV system, please contact us and we will assist you in fixing this. If your system is currently running with no issues, please sign this COA and mail it back to us. We ask that you provide us with a copy of your photo IDs as well. We apologize for any inconvenience this may create for you and hope you're able to send us these pertinent documents. If you have any questions or concerns feel free to contact our office at (80************ Sincerely, Bonterra Solar Services ********************** ********, HI ***** --

Desired Settlement: We would like them to deduct the appraised damages from current balance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) */ Bonterra will contact customer to resolve issues. The employee who the email was sent no longer works for the company. Business Response /* (1000, 17, 2014/02/21) */ Bonterra has resolved the issue to the customers satisfaction. Consumer Response /* (3000, 19, 2014/02/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The final agreement was for them to accept the estimate we submitted and mail us a check written out to the painting company. To date, we have not received the check nor has the painting company.

1/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The PV System installed by Bonterra Solar isn't producing adequate electricity to accrue minimum monthly HECO electrical bill of approximately $16.00. My PV system was installed by Bonterra Solar on the later part of November 2012; Invoice #*******, Sales person: **** ***. Since then the system has failed to produce the required electricity to bring my monthly payments to the HECO minimum of approximately $16.00 per month as stated on the contract. The first correspondence of my concerns to my sales person regarding the minimum monthly HECO bill started on April 30, 2013. Since then I have written to him on numerous occasions of my concerns about the system being under sized. While speaking to him he admitted that he may have under sized the system. He also mentioned that there were other customers with similar issues where the bill was not the minimum HECO charge. I have discussed with the sales person of my electrical usage since the system was installed. I let him know that we purchased two efficient Mitsubishi air conditioning systems approximately 3-4 months ago to replace two 15 year old systems that broke down. It didn't make any difference in our monthly bill, despite using it the in the same ways as the old units. He also mentioned that the weather plays a factor in productivity. It is now early September and the weather has been great for the last month and a half. My electricity bill has risen despite the good weather. After several email correspondence the sales person sent several proposals to add more panels (4,6 and 8 additional panels) to allow the system to produce more electricity. However this would require me to purchase a whole new "system". I fail to understand why I would need to pay additional labor and fees for something that was not my fault as I did not design the system to be installed. I purchased the system in good faith with the intention that it would reduce my bill to the minimum HECO monthly charge of $16.00 as stated in the contract. I feel it is unfair that I would need to come up with additional money to get my system to produce enough credit to bring my monthly electric bill to the minimum HECO rate. Paying for an additional system with labor and all other costs besides additional panels is unacceptable. I now regret doing business with Bonterra Solar.

Desired Settlement: I would like Bonterra Solar to install additional panels with no additional labor and fees that will bring my monthly bill to the minimum HECO rate of $16.00/month . I am willing to pay for the additional panels, but I would like the cost of the panels factored into the original invoice (*******) with tax credits applied for the additional panels and pay the rate at the time the proposal was created. I feel I have been patient enough to warrant this settlement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ Contact Name and Title: ********* ***** Contact Phone: 808-***-**** Contact Email: *********@bonterrasolar.com Called customer and left message. Bonterra is willing to work with customer to help resolve issue. Consumer Response to Business Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have met with a representative of Bonterra, ***** ********** - Quality Control Rep. We are currently working on resolving the issue of why my electric bill is not being covered in entirety with the PV system currently installed at my place of residence. There is more investigation that is needed with both parties. He is requesting that I contact HECO to acquire detailed explanations of each line item charges on my bill. ***** has a copy of my latest bill, he will research further on why my monthly electric is not at the minimum. This process may take a couple of weeks as ***** would like me to take readings of the NetMeter between the 26th and 29th of this month to compare readings with my latest bill. Final Business Response /* (4000, 32, 2014/01/20) */ These are the results we found on Mr. Yamamoto's system in September. We will do another analysis and contact and resolve these issues for Mr. Yamamoto. Previous analysis On Sep 13, 2013, at 12:59 PM, ******* ********** <*****@bonterrasolar.com> wrote: Hi Jason, As shown during my visit on Wed. 9/11, your system is producing well over your Daily KWH usage as stated on the original Heco Bill you submitted. The original Heco Bill you submitted states a KWH/DAY (Daily KWH usage) ranging from 11.07 KWH to 16.38 KWH. On the attached Energy Production Report from 7/28/13-8/28/13 you can see- the majority of days your PV System is producing over 20 KWH per day. Your complaint is that we under-sized your PV System. According to the Energy Report, this is not the case. In fact we over sized your system by about 4 KWH per day, over your largest monthly recording of 16.38 KWH per day. The only other two variables that can be making your current bill to be $62.97, is 1) an increase in your monthly electrical usage or 2) an inaccuracy on the HECO's billing. Your Heco bill currently states that your Daily KWH usage has increased. I have agreed to assist you (to the best of my knowledge) on analyzing your next bill, with your assistance of getting accurate readings from your meter, according to past"HECO reading" visits. Until then, I cannot see how else I can assist or address this matter. We appreciate your business, and are doing our best to handle your complaint justly. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 35, 2014/01/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: July of 2012 an agreement was signed with my partner to have solar panels installed by december of 2012. it is now june of 2013. panel location has been changed which would not allow maximum usage of solar capabilities as agreed. Bonterra has received possibly half of their payment yet no product delivery. january was the agreed date at which time an electric bill of approximately 18.00 a month would accrue. the bill is still 200 plus as of this date. several attempts at contacting the president and vice president has turned up a no response. poor planning on bonterras part has left the owner with payment of the loan and no savings of the electric bill to assist in the payment of the solar. Bonterra has threatened to cancel the order yet the product would still be acquired with another company at a possibly higher price. A professional company would not have these issues and my partner deserves an adequate resolve.

Desired Settlement: difference of the promised electric rate with solar from january up to installation

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/18) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******** VP Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *****@bonterrasolar.com Per a conversation with the complantant the standard reimbursement amount was found to be acceptable. A letter was drafted to that effect and emailed to both parties. The letter also affirms our continued commitment to out power guarantee in lift of concessions made to the homeowner's association. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/06/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am impressed with Bonterra Solar's personal and rapid response at resolving this issue. This shows myself and other consumers the dedicated service commitment that this company desires. I am also appreciative to the BBB for providing an avenue of mediation to resolve such issues prior to possible further action. However, the issue still remains open due to the fact that the Solar equiptment is not active at this time and the additional panels have not been installed to achieve the solar output originally agreed upon. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/03) */ We have resubmitted the plan set to the department of planning and permitting for the sixth time in an attempt to gain zoning approval, and **** continue to work to a solution to try and get the array energized as soon as possible.

4/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of March 01, 2013, Work /Elec permit not filed by Bonterra for pv solar system installation on 04 Aug 2012 at my residence in ******* area, Oahu. Bonterra installed a photo voltaic solar system on the roof of my residence on Aug 2012. Residence is in the ******* area on Oahu, Hawaii. As of March 01, 2013, Bonterra had still not filed the required work permit with the City/Hawaiian Elec Company (HECO). This permit is what initiates the city inspectors to inspect the work, so that HECO can install the proper digital electric meter so that I can receive credit for the energy produced by the pv system. I contacted our sales rep in February 2013 to alert them to this problem, but have had no reply.(March 07, 2013).

Desired Settlement: Conmplete the permit paperwork as soon as possible and file with the City of Honolulu/HECO so that the work can be inspected and the proper electrical energy meter can be installed by HECO at my residence.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/03/22) */ Bonterra has analyzed each concern brought to our attention in the complaint filed perviously. We have made reaching a positive solution to each of these complaints our top priority and fell that at persent every effort has been made. We have contacted the customer directly to inform him of the progress as we work to these solutions and will continue to work with this customer to resolve any future concerns that may arrise.