Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Solar Services Hawaii

Phone: (808) 721-3585 98-121 Kihale Pl, Aiea, HI 96701 http://www.solarserviceshi.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers solar energy equipment sales, services & maintenance; hot water, pool solar heating & photovoltaic energy.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solar Services Hawaii meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solar Services Hawaii include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solar Services Hawaii
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 29, 2008 Business started: 09/06/2007 Business started locally: 09/06/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W30570786-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C28234.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Laurence H. Ponce, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Laurence H. Ponce, Owner
Business Category

Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation


Additional Locations

  • 98-121 Kihale Pl

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 721-3585

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: we had our Solar put in, the Summer of 2012. ALL payments were made to Solar Services in July and August 2012. Two by check in July and one by Credit Card in August. Within the last few months we have been receiving collection notices from Solar Services requesting "final pmt" We have NEVER received a call from them. I have attempted to contact them twice, without response. Once again they have requested final pmt. I am not the only Family who has had issues with collection problems for services already paid for. Not only do we NOT owe any money but NO one has attempted to contact us to resolve this issue. If they can not keep their books in order and then have the audacity to demand payment for services TWO years later, that's already been paid for, then maybe they should consider a better book keeper. Or at least have the courtesy to talk with your client before demanding payment that's already been made. I am extremely concerned about other issues that may arise in the future such as potential warranty concerns if this is how their customer service operates. This is NOT how you deal with your customers.

Desired Settlement: A simple phone call would be a good start. Avoid demanding letters until you have all your facts straight.

Business Response: We have since talked with the customer and found a past discrepancy in our accounting records.  The account in questions has been marked Paid In Full and the customer has been sent a Paid in Full invoice.  

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It has been 9 months since installation and full payment, and we are still awaiting for the job to be completed. On November 2012, we had 12 solar panels installed on our home, and 10 panels installed on our in-laws condo. After we paid in full, we were promise that a technician would come in and finalize our system. I have left 5 voicemails, and countless messages on the company phone. (***** - ********). He sent two gentlemen over to connect our panels to the digital reader, and only 10 of the 12 panels were reading as functional. They promised to return, and over 2 months have gone bye since that day. For my in laws, they are still awaiting for Solar Services to finalize the system that was installed. They are an elderly couple, and have wires hanging out of the wall from the incomplete job. We both paid in full for the solar panels, and have yet to receive a final installation on the jobs that we signed contracts for. They have not once took the time to teach either of us how to use the panels, read the panels, and whenever we ask for warranty information and items to file in case of emergency, they cannot answer our question and say that someone else will handle it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the jobs to be completed, all files and documents needed for warranty issues to be resolved on both homes. For my home, I would like to be reimbursed for the energy that my 2 panels were supposed to be generating for 9 months that we have been paying out of pocket for. Most importantly, I would like my elderly in laws to have a safe home that they can live in that do not have copper wires exposed to cause them or the grandchildren they baby sit harm.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/01) */ The problems have been fixed and resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Solar Services did indeed come over and fix the issue regarding the electronic panel, however I was told that I would be contacted regarding the issue of being reimbursed for the panels that were not producing energy for the past 9 months. Until that is finalized, I do not consider this issue fixed and resolved. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2013/09/25) */ Electrical issues were taken care of and reimbursement check sent to Mr.******* for loss of production. Should be complete. Thank you, **************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Solar Services Hawaii
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)