BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Solar Consultants meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Solar Consultants include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Solar Consultants
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 29, 2012 Business started: 11/22/2004 Business started locally: 11/22/2004 Business incorporated: 02/27/2003 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W20089664-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is C24025.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The license number is C25543.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jimmy Dutton, President Mr. Kevin Medeiros, Manager Mr. Michael Scalera, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jimmy Dutton, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Scalera, Partner
Business Category

Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Electricians

Alternate Business Names
Husky Electrical Services, Inc.
Products & Services

This company offers the sales, installation & servicing of photo voltaic panels & solar hot water heaters.


Additional Locations

  • 590 Farrington Hwy Unit 210 Pmb 129

    Kapolei, HI 96707

  • 91-103 Iheihe Pl

    Ewa Beach, HI 96706 (808) 861-0024 (808) 216-4868

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with the company for an estimated quote of the project but decided to use another company. They are continuing to harass me. Met with sales person in November and received a Proposal (estimate) that I signed. They are claiming that I signed a contract and that by not using their services I have to pay them $1000. They encouraged me to shop around to look at other companies costs, which I did in December and January. After I decided on using another company in March, they began calling and threatening me to pay $1000 for cancelling. They have deceitful practices in getting people to sign their Estimates and not advising that they will have to pay $1000 if they choose another company.

Desired Settlement: They need to stop harassing me by calling and emailing me with threats to take me to court.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/06/26) */ Aloha, ********'s Complaint is completely FALSE. ***** and I worked on her project for weeks... She signed with us choosing us as a contractor and after she signed with us, she then called the other contractors to let them know that she was working with us. They asked her to see our agreement and price and then they under bid us. I know this because I personally spoke to her after a few weeks past when we were ready to do the install. I shared with her how that was wrong and she even apologized on the phone. She said that she would make what is wrong right and she was waiting on her refinance loan from the bank and would work with us. I later found out that she moved forward with another company. As you know that is why agreements are in place to avoid unfair practices like what she did where she had us do all the foot work, site surveys, paper work processing, ordering of materials, drawings, permiting applications and then the other company comes in after they already lost the job and says they will do it cheaper. That is why the agreement is in place to avoid this from happening. Once I confirmed that the install occured from another company... I called her to let her know that she owes the cancellation fee which is clearly outlined on the agreement she signed and I personally went over in person with her before she signed it. She is wrong in every sense of the word and used us and owes us the fee as it cost us more than $1,000 to do all the work we did for her. Plus we were stuck with the materials for her job. Please see attachment Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/06/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First of all, I signed an "EXPIRED Proposal", as shown by the expiration date at the top as 11/21/12. It expired even before I saw it. Therefore, it was not IN EFFECT when I signed it on 11/27/12. They, themselves, did not consider my signing as a binding contract. I have several emails from them encouraging me to look at other solar companies. Therefore, they were still trying to solicit my business. A proposal is an estimate and not a contract. Their business practices are absolutely wrong in that they ENTRAP customers who think they're signing just an estimate. I received many proposals from different solar companies and none of them are asking me to pay for cancelling a proposal. The only work they did was to do a site survey. After the survey, they said that HECO claimed my home was in the Red Zone and they didn't know if HECO would approve it. So why would they order materials if they didn't know for sure that HECO would approve it or not? After shopping around (upon their advice), I received about 4 more proposals. I then advised them that I found another company. **** ******* then called and brought me to tears by attacking my character. He then said that he would not pursue the $1000 after feeling bad for doing so. And now, a year later, he is coming at me again. It is absolutely wrong for companies to treat customers this way. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/07/10) */ Solar Consultants takes this complaint very serious and its number one priority is treating customers fairly. In this particular case, Solar Consultants spent a significant amount of time and money with ******* *****, which we stated in our previous response. The cancellation fee is part of the contract that ******* ***** signed. The expiration date in relation to the date of her signature has no effect. The proposal is a contract, as it satisfies all elements required to be a contract. However, the validity of this contract must be determined by a court of law. ******* *****'s allegation regarding Mr. ******* attacking her character is unfounded. At no time did any employee or representative of Solar Consultants attack and/or harass ******* *****. It does not appear that this conflict can be resolved through this process. Solar Consultants is in the process of retaining legal counsel to file a legal complaint against ******* *****. This is a legal matter between Solar Consultants and ******* *****, so a negative review against Solar Consultants would be highly inappropriate in this circumstance. Please reply to this email to confirm you have received it. Our Integrity is to the client, Solar Consultants ******* ******* Managing Partner C# ************ B# ************ ******* ************************ ********************

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.