Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Islandwide Solar LLC

Additional Locations

Phone: (855) 334-3490 Fax: (808) 334-1785 View Additional Phone Numbers 74-5518 Kaiwi St STE B, Kailua Kona, HI 96740 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers solar products and services

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Islandwide Solar LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Islandwide Solar LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 10, 2009 Business started: 01/01/2009 Business started locally: 01/01/2009 Business incorporated 01/14/2009 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W47791570-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is BC31045.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is BC25802.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jerzy Poprawa, Member Ms. Alicia Matsumoto, Office Manager on Bigl Island Mr. Mike Scheller, General Manager Toby Thomas, VP Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Alicia Matsumoto, Office Manager on Bigl Island
Principal: Mr. Jerzy Poprawa, Member
Business Category

Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Islandwide Solar LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    4350 E Camelback Rd Ste A100

    Phoenix, AZ 85018

  • 74-5518 Kaiwi St STE B

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740

  • 74-5518 Kaiwi St Ste B

    Kailua Kona, HI 96740


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get islandwide solar to fix my system for over a month. I was able to talk to someone once who said they would come the next day. That was a week ago. Numerous calls produced no results. Their phone system says to press 1 if you are a current customer. I do this,it rings a while then loops back to original message. The prompt for a rep is 0 which also loops back, only after trying prompt for new customers did a get a chance to leave a message. These have gone unanswered.

Desired Settlement: Fix my system.

Business Response:


I initially spoke with ***** ***** regarding his system not working properly.  Our technician attempted to contact him to schedule a visit, however the number we have on file ************ is no longer in services.  I will have our technician contact ***** ****** tomorrow morning at the number listed in his complaint.




Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. My number was changed years ago and islandwide has contacted me at my current number before so i do mot understand why they called the old number.


***** ******

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had our pvc panels installed in late november 2015. To date we are unable to get our net meter installed by ******** ********. It was explained that ******** ******** has imposed new settings required by the solar companies to complete before the net meter can be installed. A call to ******** ******** confirms that Islandwide needs to complete the inverter setting and the full ride setting and also paperwork substantiating completion of work by Islandwide. Numerous phone calls and messages have been left with the contractor (******* *******) and also the sales representative (Brad) with no return phone calls for a week. We understand there may be a backlog, however no return calls is unacceptable. We just want to be able to use what we paid for. If settings has been completed, then someone needs to take the initiative to contact ******** ******** to resolve this issue.

Desired Settlement: Contractor needs to respond to phone calls. Leaving customer in the dark creates for frustration on the part of the customer and a not too good reputation for the business.

Business Response: Aloha,

Islandwide solar has received the correct settings by ******* *******. Also sent our personal tech employee to the home today to verify.

All information will be forwarded to **** for processing.


Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I want to wait to be sure **** has all the required info needed to install the ***.  Until this is done I truly cannot trust Islandwide Solar as they previously said it was done and come to find out nothing was done to rectify the problem until I filed a complaint.  Only after filing a complaint did things start to move.  Islandwide  did send someone from their Honolulu office on Wednesday and the very next day flew a worker from their Big Island office to assure setting were in compliance with ****. 


****** *****

7/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have solar panels installed by this company for over 3 months now and all paid for, cash. Until now, the panels are still not in operation. No mails, emails or calls from the company representatives or customer service of what the delay is all about. I've been to their office personally to ask what has been the problem as I am getting really frustrated and will be resorting to legal action as this is very unacceptable. They are saying that there is a need for a system upgrade in which they wil need for ***** inspector to be present. I've called ***** several time and all they've been saying is that they are still waiting from Islandwide Solar the specs for the inverter before they can disconnect and connect. I've informed Islandwide Solar about this and gave me they same excuse that the system is needing the upgrade. I'm tired, frustrated and not happy at all about the service this company is giving to me and my family. We have paid them the money and here we are stucked with this panels on our roof, unused!

Desired Settlement: Finish the job or I will have the lawyer finish this one. I have said good things to my friends about your company and now I have retracted those.

Business Response: Thank you for notifying us of the situation.

Mr. ****** has already been informed by myself and my office staff on numerous occasions that we are pending a ***** work together for his project. His system requires a meter service upgrade. Unfortunately, when he calls ***** he is just speaking with a regular clerk and the clerk informs him of his status of his NEM application, unaware that his project is pending a separate issue.
The direct contact for the Kona engineer is ******* ****. Islandwide Solar speaks with him at least once or twice a week. Due to the loss of a few employees at *****, he is the only engineer/inspector for the Kona district. We at Islandwide solar has fulfilled his contract/project as far as w could. Unfortunately until ***** reviews the last portion to his project our hands are tied and we are unable to move forward.
For a quicker response on his project status, we have suggested to Mr. ****** to speak with ******* **** to see if his project can be expedited.
Someone from my office will also call Mr. ****** to explain the situation to him again.
Alicia M********

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, I feel that the burden on getting this services done should not be on the customer. If the problem lies on *****, then Islandwide should raise a complaint to resolve whatever issues that have been going on. Four months and counting into this waiting game is not just terrible....its way beyond and over that. I have been promised that they will expedite the completion of the project as soon as ***** does its part and i want to see the materialization of this promise. 


*********** ******

2/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a solar system (paid in full upfront, no financing) and we are happy with the system. In fact we referred someone else to Island Wide solar and they also purchased the system. Our problem is they placed part of the system on top of our covered arbor (lanai) and not on our roof. Almost immediately there was a small leak in our lanai roof. The problem has progressed to such a degree that the water puddles now where once there was none. We called and asked them to come out and look at it. They said they would call to set up a time when we could show them. They called at 6pm to say they'd be out the next day by 10am. I informed them that we would not be home to show them where the leaks were, at such short notice. They came anyway while we were not at home. They said they looked at the lanai roof and said it was not solar related. My response was that the roof was NOT leaking before the panels went up. Their response was, "roofs leak". So now we can't use the covered lanai which was the reason we covered it. My point is, the lanai roof was not designed to handle traffic (the installation process in and of itself) nor was it designed to allow installation of the multiple solar panels. We had the lanai covered right before we purchased the solar not with the intention that it would have to withstand any type of contruction. They walked throught the lanai roof to install the panels. So why didn't they put them on the roof, like the other half of the system? The water flows so much now that it heads towards the house which will lead to much greater damage. I have taken pictures and video showing the water coming through. I had faith and trust in the enginering plans as I assumed they knew what they were doing. I was obviously wrong. I did not anticipate fixing one problem only to create another.

Desired Settlement: (A) Place panels on roof instead of lanai (arbor)(B) Repair leaksIf nothing else, move panels to roof which obviously was engineered to handle unlike a covered lanai. I can't imagine dealing with this for the next 20 or so years. What I was initially pleased with, only makes me wish I had chosen another company.

Business Response: This customer was installed on December 10th 2012.

Customer contacted Islandwide Solar and SunRun on October 20th 2014 to notify us that there was a roof leak.  Islandwide Solar scheduled our installers to take a look at the issue on October 22nd, 2014.  It was found that the roof leak was not because of the solar panels.  The installers took photos to confirm.  The Operation Managers contacted the customer to notify her of the findings.  She called the office and requested that a 3rd party- that she will be contacting, will meet Islandwide Solar at the home to verify the findings.  Operations Manager contacted her on 11/11/14 and left a message as we still had not heard back from her regarding her scheduled roofer.  At that point we left it in her hands as she was the person requesting and making arrangements for a 3rd party roofer.
Islandwide Solar will be more than happy to coordinate with the 3rd party roofer to see if the leak was solar related or now.  However, we are unable to make contact with her.
Regarding the design and location of the panels. This was approved by the customer on August 12th, 2012 via email to her sales consultant.  Further more, we initially sent out a site surveyor to her home to determine the placement of the panels.  All roofs where the panels are located were approved by the county of hawaii and our certified engineer.
We hope to remedy this situation if contact can be made with the customer.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As stated in my initial complaint, Island Wide Solar came out to our property, (this is what they claim) after numerous complaints about the water leak WITHOUT us being at our home. It's easy to say someone was there when no one was at home to discuss the issues. Second, as mentioned before, we assumed the arbor would handle the solar panels. We did in fact agree to this as we are not the professionals in this area.  The fact that it is leaking in less than 24 months from where the panels are secured clearly show's it was NOT designed to handle the weight or contruction process of the panels. (our roof is not leaking). Simply walking on the arbor while construction is being done to place the panels up, effects the integrity of the arbor roof. To say it is not solar related is an easy out to an obvious problem.  The fact that Island Wide Solar has not done anything to eliviate the roof damage clearly shows they are about selling their product and not about customer satisfaction.  I have opted this route to request the panels be placed on the roof so repairs can be made to minimize that water damage that continues. Our final step will unfortunately be to seek legal representation which is not what I have wanted to do. I simply want the panels placed on an area designed for such use. 


***** *******

Business Response: Operations Manager spoke with customer on 02/09/15 @230pm.  Customer is willing to reach out to the roofer to schedule a walk through with Islandwide Solar and the roofer to determine whether the roof leak is solar related or not.  Ops manager informed customer that we have supporting pictures which appears that the roof leak is not solar related.  Customer did acknowledge that operations manager did reach out to her after the inspection of the roof leak by Islandwide Solar.  However the customer states she did not return the operations managers call because she assumed that Islandwide Solar did not want to help her.

If the roof leak is solar related, Islandwide Solar will be repairing the leak as well as doing what they can to prevent any further leaks.

3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Issues with financing company they use Issues with HELCO due to mistakes on Islandwides agent Created situation of lack of and miscommunication We were sold three solar panel power systems for our property. Their sales representative, *****, incorrectly identified two of the systems and Islandwide engineers have had to deal directly with HELCO and the County to attempt a never before attempted system tie in. In the meantime, we are now receiving incorrect net meter bills and run the risk of being charged double the energy cost as HELCO billing is now in error. The finance company Islandwide uses (********) which approved us for a $29000 loan no longer wishes to honor our loan and I have not had any communication back from Islandwide after following their direction to send them a letter directed to ******** to honor the loan. I have spoken to ******** which now says the loan is no longer accessible except to pay off the approximately $1400 left that was charged by Islandwide for engineering fees and we will have to reapply to see if we can be financed. The office manager in Kailua-Kona and I are now frustrated enough with each other that there doesn't seem to be clear communication (I never received an answer back requesting to be connected with their finance person who is supposed to handle the problem with ********). So we have two inoperable systems, a third not yet built, a loan no longer accessible and no real communication happening. I have requested to speak to the owner as apparently the General Manager is not in the country which is why he did not return my phone call. Please help.e

Desired Settlement: I just want someone to take care of the financial issue and a person in charge of the company to handle this and not put their office manager, who has done nothing wrong, in the middle of this. I expect an onsite visit with us by the owner, or the general manager or whomever is ultimately in charge of and responsible for the company. It would help if a county inspector and a HELCO engineer could be scheduled as well to attend this meeting so that everyone, including is on the same page looking at the same buildings, the same systems, and the same meters at the same time.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2014/02/27) */ ****** ********* (Big Island Office Manager) and ******* ******** (Big Island Operations Manager) met with ******* ****** and ****** ******* on 02/26/14. A solution was made and agreed upon both parties.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Islandwide Solar LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart