BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Alternate Energy Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (808) 842-5853 Fax: (808) 847-7594 803 Ahua St., Honolulu, HI 96819 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.alternateenergyhawaii.com/

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales & installations of solar water heaters and photovoltaic systems.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alternate Energy Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alternate Energy Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alternate Energy Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 03, 1993 Business started: 08/19/1993 Business started locally: 08/19/1993 Business incorporated: 01/28/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bruce Ekimura, President, Owner Mr. Mike Ito, Dir. of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bruce Ekimura, President, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike Ito, Dir. of Marketing
Business Category

Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation Contractors - Solar Energy

Alternate Business Names
Discount Solar Co.

Additional Locations

  • 60 E Wakea Ave Unit 109

    Kahului, HI 96732 (808) 872-9592

  • 803 Ahua St.

    Honolulu, HI 96819 (808) 842-5853

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - eQuote
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Shoddy workmanship caused leakage to our roof. Company is filing an insurance claim although damage was not caused through any strong wind, storm, or inclement weather, it was caused solely due to poor workmanship. Product_Or_Service: Photovoltaic Panels

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement Replace roofing due to damage done due to both poor workmanship and unnecessary drilling of holes on the wrong side of the roof of which we were never notified during or after installation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/30) */ Dear BBB, We apologize to the homeowner for this inconvenience, and have been trying to work with them to resolve this matter. Here is the summary of what has happened: A roof leak was reported to us five years after the initial installation. We met with the customer and brought roofing contractors out to access the repairs needed. We obtained estimates and offered to perform and pay for the repairs that we caused in FULL, but the customer refused and wanted the *entire* roof replaced and all the perimeter and existing vent flashings (not related to the PV installation) replaced to copper at ten times the cost of the estimated repairs (this is not realistic and they wanted a LOT more out of a simple repair). We really want to work with this customer and admit to our faults on this workmanship and take responsibility and be accountable, but if we are asked to be taken advantaged of, this is where we put our foot down and draw a line. Unable to resolve the matter with the customer, we asked our insurance company to help mitigate a settlement. Our insurance company has entered into discussions with the owner\'s insurance company, and they currently hired a forensic architect to access the situation to assist them in determining a course of action. The situation is currently being handled by our and the customer\'s insurance companies at this point. Sincerely, Alternate Energy Inc. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me go over Alternate Energy's response item by item. We reported a roof leakage almost 4 years after the initial installation date of May 2010. We first called our roofer who determined that the leakage was due to a lack of flashing when the modules were installed. We were also informed that there were many holes that were patched on the opposite side of the roof, as if they were going to place the modules there but realized it was the wrong side of the roof. We had absolutely no knowledge of this because neither the working men nor Alternate Energy ever informed us of this error. Alternate Energy sent out field representative **** to assess the damage to the roof. He was met by our roofer and together they went up on the roof and agreed on what the problem was and how to go forward with the repair work. **** said he will present his finding to the company and get back to us. **** was very personable, cordial, and pleasant to deal with. We asked that our original roofing company be used because of the type of the materials we used and we not only trust his work but also have a limited life time warranty with them. Yes, we did ask that the whole roof be repaired we are of the understanding that because of the materials we used; copper flashing, heavy duty felt, stainless steel nails, and more, would compromise the integrity of the roof. We are only asking that our roof be returned to its original condition prior to the errors made during installation. Copper flashing was used originally so we are not asking them to replace anything that did not already exist. An estimator from United roofing company came to look at our roof, no other roofing company came to check our roof or was ever involved. We were never quoted any estimates from different roofing companies nor did we ever discuss anything close to it. All we were told was that our roofer's estimate was too high. After Operations Manager ***, who was our only source of communication, everything took a different turn. We had to initiate all communications. The next time *** called was to inform us that a claim was made with Island Insurance and we would be receiving a call from them. We definitely are not trying to take advantage of them we are merely asking them to do what they claim they want to do, and I quote "...admit to our faults on this workmanship and take responsibility and be accountable...". We take being responsible and being accountable to mean returning things to their original condition prior to whatever errors were made. That is all we are asking for, nothing that anyone who have invested heavily into a quality roof wouldn't ask for. I don't know who from Alternate Energy responded for the lack of a name but we have communicated exclusively with Operations Manager ***. For a company that really wants to work with their customers there certainly is a lack of communication, leaving the customer in the dark. /there wasn't much effort put forth to resolve this matter and it appears they are hoping we will give in to their resolution. Today, Friday, May 2, 2014 we called our insurer State Farm Insurance and was told they were never contacted by First Insurance. We initially contacted our insurer when Island Insurance Called to let us know they would be handling the claim made by Alternate Energy. They asked that we call our insurer so they could work together. This completely puzzled us as to why insurers were involved. A day later we get a call form Island Insurance to let us know they were not the insurer at the time of the incident so first Insurance would be handling things from now on. To this day we have not had any communication with First Insurance, nor have we heard from *** since April 25, 2014. A Forensic Architect for a roof leak? I went to google it and there was no matches for forensic Architect in Hawaii. There are also brown water spots on our kitchen and living room ceiling due the leakage which Alternate Energy is responsible for. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/08) */ Update: We are working with **** from First Insurance. He is waiting on an updated estimate from ******* ******* to get back to him. The reason for the Insurer to be involved per the question in the *******'s response is that we did not completely understand the history of this specially constructed roof and ********'s follow up with the manufacturer. Our insurer finally made this clear to us after speaking to the roofer himself. We originally urged the insurance agencies involved to put this on high priority but apparently, they could not get in touch with the right parties, wrong contact details, etc, so we apologize for this as well. Please understand this was out of our hands. In regards to the 'forensic architect', this is what we were told by the insurer. We will accept full responsibility and resolve this as soon as possible. We do not want to drag this on any further while inconveniencing the *******s. This is taking too long. Once we hear back, I will contact the *******'s and resolve this right away. I have reached out to **** from First Insurance by phone to put a high priority and urgency to this issue and also followed up with an email. We understand how urgent this is and want to make this right. **** ***, Director of Marketing Alternate Energy Inc. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/05/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I am happy to report that through the efforts of First Insurance Agent **** ****** our problem is on the way to being resolved. Through agent ****'s work we were finally able to come to a very workable agreement as to how to proceed to repair our roof and related problems. I also believe that once **** *** became involved the process was speeded up and given a higher priority, which we really appreciate. Thank you BBB for sharing our concerns and thank you to Alternate Energy and First Insurance Company for working together in helping to resolve this matter to everyone's satisfaction. Thank you all for your time, ****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Failure of company to contact me regarding the $500.00 referral fee for referring a customer. I referred Mr. and Mrs. ****** ***** to Alternate Energy and the Sales Person Mr. ***** **** assured them that I would be getting the referral fee of $500.00. They did purchase a system which I recommended. As of this date 12/30/2013 I have not received any phone call or check from the company regarding this referral fee.

Desired Settlement: $500.00 referral fee

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/06) */ Dear ****, First of all thank you very much for referring our company to your friends and family. We sincerely apologize for the delay in getting your referral check out to you in a timely manner and we hope there was not any confusion with the way our referral system works. Please let me explain how it works. Steps for eligibility: * Purchased a PV system from AEI - confirmed * Up-to-date payments with AEI - confirmed * Must work with referring AEI project developer - confirmed * Submit a completed W-9 form to AEI - not received - you can download this form from - http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf * When your referral's system is installed and paid in full, we proudly deliver your $500 check Your referral's installation was on Dec 13, 2013 and we did not receive payment in full until Dec 30th. The only step you need to take care of is sending us a completed W-9 form. Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and are happy to send you a referral award as soon as possible! Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: defective materials and/or poor workmanship. Installed 20 photovoltaic panels on 4/3/2013. Total cost: $26,088.50 ($14000.00 paid o/a 3/22/2013 and remainder on 4/5/2013 by check). After my followup on why I haven't received website used to monitor my energy/savings which I was told would be emailed to me within a week after installation, I finally received on 4/18/2013. Found out only after AEI workers showed up at my door on 4/20 and told me they came to "fix" 3 inoperable panels/optimizers was I aware that I had a problem. (lost of money since 3 panels did not produce energy which results in electricity saving). No one informed me that website also shows if panels were not operating properly. I was only told that through this website I can "see" how much energy was being produced and cost saving. Emailed sales agent (***** *******) on 4/21 w/ copy to owner (*. *******)of problem and may be too early for their action but no one contacted me yet. Mr. ******* usually responds within 1 day.

Desired Settlement: I WANT 3 OPERATING PANELS AND MONEY FOR ANY LOST SAVING SINCE THESE 3 PANELS WERE INCAPABLE OF CAPTURING THE SUN'S ENERGY. MONEY WILL BE DETERMINED BY THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN ACTUAL ELECTRICITY BILL FOR APRIL AND THE FIGURES THEY GAVE ME: 626.33 (KWH) AND ESTIMATED BILL OF $198.52 MONTH.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/05/06) */ First of all we would like to apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. As of 04/20/2013 the (3) panels in question are operating. A check will be mailed out for the savings potentially lost during the 17 days. The amount will be determined at a later date. On 05/06/2013 at 3:55pm a message was left, on the phone number provided, to discuss how much savings was lost.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/30/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Delivery Issues