Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Wilkinson Shake Roofing, Inc.

Phone: (808) 456-5006 Fax: (808) 456-5009 96-1417 Waihona Pl Unit C, Pearl City, HI 96782 http://www.wilkinsonshakeroofing.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing contracting and roofing repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wilkinson Shake Roofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wilkinson Shake Roofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wilkinson Shake Roofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 1978 Business started: 04/01/1976 Business started locally: 04/01/1976 Business incorporated 06/14/1979 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20320802-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C10890.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C29656.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is C8212.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Yonkers, President Craig Britton, Responsible Managing Employee
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Yonkers, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 96-1417 Waihona Pl Unit C

    Pearl City, HI 96782 (808) 456-5006

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wilkenson was contracted to identify and repair two leaks in our roof. The estimate was $***. They did an amateur, shoddy job and leaks continue. In Jan. 2013 we contacted Wilkenson to investigate and estimate repair of two leaks around skylights in our home. They had previously done work for us, and had a good reputation in Hawaii. They submitted an estimate for $***, which seemed high, since there were no details provided about what exactly they would do, and we questioned them about it in a phone call. Because we had a good history with them, we went ahead and accepted the estimate. On March 1st they went to do the repair. They spent less than an hour, put some white mastic around two skylights and left. They did not water test the repair. The next day, the resident sprayed the repaired area with a hose, and both skylights leaked. We subsequently called Wilkenson and voiced our frustration about the inadequate job. They went back and put more mastic around the skylights and left, again without testing the repair. After the resident tested, one of the lights no longer leaks, but the other leak continues. We have now started over to find a reputable roof/skylight repair company, and have learned from the estimates given that there is not even flashing around the skylight, and that extensive work is needed to affect a proper repair. This is the kind of information and work that we expected from a licensed roofing company, and why we contacted Wilkenson initially. We could, and have, spread mastic around the outside of the skylight, on our own, without spending anything. We are now starting over to have the repairs done, having thrown away $***.

Desired Settlement: We feel it would be fair to pay $*** (half of the $*** bill)

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 22, 2013/05/02) */ From: Wilkinson Office Sent: Thursday, May 02, 2013 7:32 AM Good morning. I was able to speak with Mr. ****** ( the gentleman that lodged the complaint against Wilkinson Shake Roofing Inc.) and after speaking with him we were able to come to a mutual agreement that we both found acceptable. Mr. ****** has indicated to me that he would withdraw his complaint against us and said that he was going to be in need of further roofing in the future and would be calling us for an estimate. I believe Mr. ****** to be a man of his word so you should be getting a retraction from him very shortly. I am glad that we were able to resolve this issue and remain on good terms with our customer. Thank You ****** ****** Wilkinson Shake Roofing Inc. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 24, 2013/05/02) */ From: ** ****** (mailto:*****@gmail.com) Sent: Thursday, May 02, 2013 2:42 AM We have spoken to Wilkinson Roofing and have figured out an equitable resolution to the complaint. It was more of a miscommunication issue than anything else. The terms of our agreement with Wilkinson are agreeable to both parties. We will continue to do business with them. Please acknowledge to us and to Wilkinson that the BBB understands that this case has been resolved equitably and that this complaint will not affect them negatively in any way. Thank you for your important service in this matter. ****** ******