Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Tory's Roofing & Waterproofing, Inc.

Phone: (808) 456-5990 Fax: (808) 455-1994 96-1382 Waihona Street, Pearl City, HI 96782 http://www.torysroofing.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers roofing installation and maintenance programs to residential, commercial, state, city and county and federal clients. Roofing installing included are single ply membrane roofing systems, coating roofing systems, shingles, solar shingles, energy star rated roofing systems, etc.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tory's Roofing & Waterproofing, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tory's Roofing & Waterproofing, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Tory's Roofing & Waterproofing, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 25, 1980 Business started: 10/22/1974 Business started locally: 10/22/1974 Business incorporated 10/22/1974 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20298290-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is C6465.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is BC8576.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Michael Wayne Tory, Vice President Ms. Pamela Bechtel, Bookkeeper Mr. Louis Tory Jr., President Ms. Sandra G. Tory, Treasurer
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Wayne Tory, Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sandra G. Tory, Treasurer
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Waterproofing Materials

Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Tory's Roofing & Waterproofing, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 96-1382 Waihona Street

    Pearl City, HI 96782 (808) 456-5990

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had Roofing job done several years ago - nice work by To**'s Roofing. Recently I hired a contractor to repair a crack to my ceiling. When the ceiling was cut away, the contractor found water damage so had to cut more ceiling away than planned; before putting the new ceiling up I took pictures of area of roof leak on the exposed rafters where my ceiling had been cut away and called To**'s since it was still under warranty. Representative came over to inspect and he identified what he presumed to be the etiology of the leak and advised me that his men would be over the following day; following day came and went; after I called back several times, I was advised to "call the office"; office sent the same man back to our home. This time he sprayed water onto our roof for about 15 minutes but no water leak occurred, now advising me that there was no leak. He could not explain why the ceiling had water damage that our contractor found and he advised us that To**'s would not be responsible if our new ceiling should become damaged. Our contractor is now almost done with installing our new ceiling but we now wor** that its subject to water damage. I feel that our ceiling will eventually be damaged after a heavy rain - its only a matter of time. Unfortunately To**'s is not upholding their warranty coverage of waterproofing.

Desired Settlement: Fix, waterproof, or repair area of assumed roof leak as originally identified. Uphold terms of warranty please.

Business Response:

Aloha!

After receiving this complaint, we immediately scheduled a follow up appointment with Mr. ****** for our Project Superintendent as well as our Project Coordinator to meet with him on the jobsite. After discussing with Mr. ****** his concerns, it was determined that there was a communication misunderstanding about our Contrac**r Warranty. Mr. ****** was under the impression that if his roof leaked, we would not take responsibility for it and not make repairs ** it. We assured him that that was incorrect, and that should his roof suffer water infiltration (aka roof leaks as specified in the warranty) that ****'s Roofing would make any repairs as long as his roof was not tampered with in any way by himself or anyone else. When he originally called (prior ** filing his complaint), we sent a foreman out ** his property ** inspect if there was in fact any roof leaks. As there were no visible leaks, our foreman proceeded ** perform a water test ** t** and simulate a leak; if there was one. There was no water infiltration after performing the water test so the foreman **ld him there was nothing ** fix. From there, the conversation might have been miscommunicated, leading Mr. ****** ** think that we would not hold up our end of the warranty should his roof leak. 

As of Monday, November 23 2015, according ** ******* **** our Project Superintendent, the miscommunication has been cleared up and Mr. ****** is content with the issue. The complaint has been resolved. 

If you have any further questions or concerns, please feel free ** call ****** ****, **** **** or ******* **** at ********. 

Best,
****** ****

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Tory's Roofing & Waterproofing, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart