This business is not BBB accredited.

Oceanview Roofing LLC

Phone: (808) 234-1000 Fax: (808) 234-7110 1051 Keolu Drive Ste 240, Kailua, HI 96734 http://oceanviewroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

On this business's accreditation in the BBB was revoked by the BBB's Board of Directors due to its failure to adhere to the BBB requirement that Accredited Businesses meet and abide by the following standards:

  • 6B. Make a good faith effort to resolve disputes, which includes mediation if requested by BBB. Other dispute resolution options, including arbitration, may be recommended by BBB when other efforts to resolve a dispute have failed. BBB may consider a business' willingness to participate in recommended dispute resolution options in determining compliance with these standards.

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Oceanview Roofing LLC include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Oceanview Roofing LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oceanview Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2006 Business started: 03/01/1985 Business started locally: 03/01/1985 Business incorporated 05/06/2013 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C31220.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C33475.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W87850486-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter B. Michelmore, MEM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter B. Michelmore, MEM
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roof Structures

Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1051 Keolu Drive Ste 240

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Oceanview Roofing (OVR) was hired to re-roof my residence during my remodel. They completed my two 2nd story sections and would return after my 1st floor renovation was completed. After a heavy rain I noticed 5 dark water stains appear on the ceiling of a 2nd story section that OVR already had completed. An OVR Foreman returned and attempted to fix the leak by caulking nail hole(s) found in my newly installed shingles! The fix was unsuccessful as the dark water spots continued to get larger with each rain fall. I then inspected the four 2nd story gable sections of my roof, one was where the leak repair was attempted. I was surprised on what I found. My 4 gable ends were redone 3 different ways! Underlayment showed, nails were not secured, you could pull them out with no tool! All my metal flashing had roof nails through them, no fasteners but roof nails! Some were only half way in creating numerous entry points for water! When OVR owner Peter M. arrived (1st flr work) I showed him my 1st flr gable end (original, not redone by OVR) and explained the workmanship of the 4 others on my 2nd story sections. We inspected the 2nd story sections and Peter did admit to me some were done incorrectly. I requested no roofing nails be used through ANY flashing. When done w/ the 1st flr, nails were used again thru my flashing! There were numerous discussions with Peter dealing with OVR workmanship. Some examples; leaving for the weekend with half of the original bolts securing my solar panels missing, only 3 of 4 bolts had a nut in place! Many roof bundles fell off my roof damaging my property. Appointments not kept, no notification. His crew also had a very loud profanity laced argument the 1st day of work on my 1st story. After OVR had done the job we had a heavy rain four days later. One room had 4 puddles and 6 rooms had water stains on the ceilings! I took pictures and sent them w/ a letter to OVR. Peter's only response was he received the letter/pictures and forwarded it to his law firm.

Desired Settlement: My insurance company assessed the water damage and brought their own roofing consultant. I was showed many discrepancies I was not aware of. I hired a lic. Home Inspector to do a roof inspection and was educated further on the inadequate workmanship. I was left trusting nothing on my roof and had it all removed and redone due to the product I was left with by OceanView Roofing.I request a $10,000 refund because NOTHING was done to my satisfaction and I had to repair my property on my own.

Business Response: Aloha,
Currently at this time we are in litigation with Mr. ********.
Mr. ******** received a free roof from his insurance company claiming hail damage he didn't have.

We contracted with Mr. ******** and did only the upper portions of his roofs due to the fact he was remodeling the lower portion. His plumber drilled a hole through our new roof and installed a vent pipe with no flashing.

Six months later Mr. ******** called and asked us to finish the lower portion he added onto, we also told him that there would be extra costs involved for the roof extensions.
During a brief storm some of the bundles did slide off his roof after *** roofing supply loaded them and damaged a small corner of a chicken wire coop. Not substantial damage. Less than $100. We offered to replace some of his original termite damaged wood as trade for the 6" bent corner of his chicken coop.
Mr. ******** was very aggressive to my crew, my office staff, and myself  during the entire re-roof process. Demanding we do the roof 'HIS' way and not our way.
In the end Mr. ******** asked us to reduce the final cost of his roof in order to have his friend finish the roof.
I told Mr. ******** that his warranty from OVR would be void if anyone other than Oceanview Roofing finished his roof.
He accepted this offer to reduce his costs and keep more of the insurance in his pocket to finish his home additions. We settled that upon final reduced payment there would be no warranty applied or given on his re-roofing project.

At this time he is attempting to sue our company and we have retained ******** * ****** *********.

Mr. ******** has also lied to ***** **** insurance, provided ***** **** Ins. with false photographs of damages from past leaks, and is currently attempting to slander our company.

I will bring this attention to our attorney for a slander suit action.

Mr. ******** is attempting to collect additional monies from ***** **** insurance, and Oceanview Roofing for a roof he received free from ***** **** insurance. He is committing fraud once again.

The fact that this is OUR ONLY LEAKING ROOF IN 10 YEARS, speaks for itself.
We have have been leak free for over 10 years + and Mr. ******** is a liar and a cheat.

Sincerely,
Peter *. M*********

Consumer Response:

We are writing on behalf of Mr. **** ********.

We understand Mr. ******** expressed his dissatisfaction of your service(s) per his letter to you dated November 6, 2014. See attachments. Itappears you substantially breached your contract by failing to re-reroof his residence properly. In addition, your contract with Mr. ******** does not comport with Hawaii Revised Statutes §444-25.5.

All written contract shall explain in detail to the homeowner all lien rights of all parties performing under the contract including the homeowner, the contractor, any subcontractor or any materialman supplying commodities or labor on the project,  and the homeowner' s right to demand bonding on thejob.  Furthermore, the law requires notice of the contractor's rights to resolve alleged construction defects prior to commencing any litigation. A violation of aforesaid shall be deemed an unfair or deceptive practice and shall be subject to provisions of chapter 480 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes which may subject you to sanctions and/or monetary fines.  A contract may also be voided for said violation.  We have advised Mr. ******** to report this matter to the licensing board as well.

DEMAND is hereby made upon you to refund the amount of $21,000.00 within ten (10) days of the date of this letter. Ifpayment is not received within the time indicated above, Mr. ******** will seek all remedies. Please make check payable to **** ********  and remit payment to our address as noted above.

Business Response: We are writing on behalf of Mr. **** ********.

We understand Mr. ******** expressed his dissatisfaction of your service(s) per his letter to you dated November 6, 2014. See attachments. Itappears you substantially breached your contract by failing to re-reroof his residence properly. In addition, your contract with Mr. ******** does not comport with Hawaii Revised Statutes §444-25.5.

All written contract shall explain in detail to the homeowner all lien rights of all parties performing under the contract including the homeowner, the contractor, any subcontractor or any materialman supplying commodities or labor on the project,  and the homeowner' s right to demand bonding on thejob.  Furthermore, the law requires notice of the contractor's rights to resolve alleged construction defects prior to commencing any litigation. A violation of aforesaid shall be deemed an unfair or deceptive practice and shall be subject to provisions of chapter 480 of the Hawaii Revised Statutes which may subject you to sanctions and/or monetary fines.  A contract may also be voided for said violation.  We have advised Mr. ******** to report this matter to the licensing board as well.

DEMAND is hereby made upon you to refund the amount of $21,000.00 within ten (10) days of the date of this letter. Ifpayment is not received within the time indicated above, Mr. ******** will seek all remedies. Please make check payable to **** ********  and remit payment to our address as noted above.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  ***** **** notified me by mail they were attempting to recover (from Oceanview Roofing) the amount paid me for the interior water damage to my home.  The damage was due to my newly completed roof by OVR leaking in many locations.  After 9-10 months, ***** **** notified me again that they were unsuccessful in any form of recovery due to Oceanview Roofing not being insured.  Isn't holding a valid insurance policy a requirement for doing business?  

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: As you know, this firm represents Oceanview Roofing LLC ("Oceanview Roofing"). It is our understanding that **** ******** has submitted the above-referenced issue to his insurance company, ***** **** ********* *** ("***** ****"), for resolution and that ***** **** has retained a subrogation firm to resolve the matter.

Oceanview Roofing responded to the subrogation firm on November 5, 2015 and has not received a response.

Please contact me if you have any questions or concerns.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********.

I am rejecting this response because: l had supplied a copy of my roof inspection by a Certified Home Inspector AFTER Oceanview Roofing completed their work on my roof.  The inspector found evidence of leaks, faults, and defects and recommended an entire roof replacement.  How can I pay OVR for their work, receive a new roof with many documented leaks, pay again to have Oceanview Roofing's work completely removed and redone without any response from Peter or anyone at OVR?  I will forward this information to ***** ****.  Hopefully, they would like to pursue this further.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response: ***** ******** **** ***********************************  ***** ******* **** *** **** **** ** *** ***** ** ***** ************************ ******* ** ** ***** ***************************** *** ***** ******** ******************************** ******** *** *** ** ********

Ms *****: 

Our client is currently out of town.  We will respond to you in a few weeks.  

Jennifer T**** ***.
******** *** ***** **** ****** ******* ***** **** ********* ** ***** **** ************** **** ************** ****** ************************** **** ******* ***** **** *** ************ ** ********** ************ *** *** **** ** ******* *********** ** *** **** ******** ** ** ****** *** *** ** ****** ** *** ******* ****** ****** ** *********** ** ***** ****** *** **** ****** **** ******* **** **** ******* ****** ** *** **** ** ** *** ** *** *** ********* ** ******** *** ******** ** *** ***** ******* ***** *** *** **** ************

7/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Oceanview Roofing to redo the roofs on my property. During the roofing process there was water leakage and damage to the ceiling of the back house and i was forced to hire a water remediation company (*********) to dry out the ceiling and check for moisture. Oceanview Roofing agreed to pay for *********'s services to me and to ********* representatives before ********* began work. After the roofing was finally completed, I settled with Oceanview Roofing and I agreed to repair the damages in my house myself. The bill for *********'s services was never discussed in the settlement process with Oceanview Roofing, and I assumed it was already paid by Oceanview Roofing, as they agreed to do. Months later, ********* began to bill me for their services, stating that Oceanview Roofing claimed they were not responsible.

Desired Settlement: Oceanview Roofing pays the bill with ********* like they agreed to do.

Business Response:

****** ******** had enormous amounts of wood damage that we discovered after we tore off his roofs. My carpenters took several days sorting out all the bad wood and replacing it before we could resume with the roofing system.

During that time, we tarped the roofs as best we could as most of the damage was along the perimeter.

 

The front roof was pitched and therefore easily tarped.

 

The back roof was completely flat and had extra layers of tear-off solid mopped to the deck. The tear-off took several days. During that time we had tarped Mr. ********'s flat roof and sometime during the night the tarp was blowing and making a lot of noise during the storm.

Mr. ******** then climbed on the roof and nailed down our tarp in the middle of the roof. We only nail the perimeter of the tarps to avoid leaking.

During the night the tarp leaked due to the nails penetrating the tarp.

I spoke with Mr. ******** about the water that entered his home, and he hired a cleaning service to remove the water.

 

Mr. ******** and I both agreed to discount his contract for his costs for clean-up and damages. The discount was for -$5,000. A copy of the discount is included with this email

 

Peter

 


12/23/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 2, 2015, a letter was sent to OceanView Roofing regarding potentially false and misleading advertising claims that OceanView is making about ********* products manufactured by ***** ************ ********* ***, a subsidiary of ******** ********* *********** ** ******* ***** ***. Specifically, in an advertisement, OceanView claims that ********* products installed on a condominium complex failed. We receiveded that OceanView provide us with substantiation for the claim or immediately remove the claim from their advertising and destroy all materials containing such representations. OceanView did not respond to the letter.

Desired Settlement: Remove the claim from advertising and destroy all materials containing the claim.

Business Response: This claim is not false as the ***** **** product did fail after a period of years and I have a sample of the product.
We removed the advertising and changed to say the the "*********** roof coating failed."

This is an attempt to defame our company by using the Better Business bureau locally, when in all actuality it is a manufacturer representative and not a consumer.

With many failed ***** **** *********** roof coatings I see every day, it is no wonder there are still in business.

11/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent a contract document&pictures and email to BBB 3weeks ago (SEP 7' 2015) Please check my email. My home need roofing work , so I called OceanView ROOFING :*** * *** * **** , *** ************ *** ******* * ** ***** .( BBB Accredited since 2011 ) , Supervisor , Daniel G******* , came to check very carefully , on 9 - 19 -2014, three workers came and I made contract with the Supervisor D. G. with 2 yrs warranty against leaks by Oceanview roofing LLC. After workers said work was done at the same day , I paid in full without hesitation , next day heavy rain falls and roof leaking had NO ANY IMPROVEMENT , I called the company come to check their work , from Sep. 2014 ~ Apr. 2015, about 20 times , but company IGNORE my request without any reply just keep silent , until the end of Apr. 2015 , three workers came to repair part of the works listed in contract.After the 2nd repair , I switched to email company (not via phone call ) came to finish the remaining works listed in contract many times, but the company keep no action and even say they had accomplished all works and urge pay extra fee for doing option works . Until today, as the accompany pics can see after paid in full the company asking for , almost 11 months passed , my home still suffer serious leak in some place , only part of works listed in contract has been done . Please check the company emails , pics and contract for reference and show me what to do. if need a roof pictures, I can send. PLease reply. Thank you !

Desired Settlement: please contact to Oceanview Roofing LLC.

Business Response: Aloha,
Daniel G******* was our supervisor at the time and he told the customer that the roof needed to be replaced upon 1st inspection

The customer asked if his ****** roof could be patched and we advised the customer that indeed it could be patched and we gave them an estimate to repair.

The customer insisted that the leaks were only on one side of the house, so we repaired that area, afterwards the customer called back and said there were more leaks, we inspected again, and told the customer that they needed to do the area on the other side of the ridge as well, the disagreed and told us they paid us for all the areas but we didn't charge them for the other side. The customer insisted we do additional work that was included in the contract.

No warranty was given for the areas we did NOT repair.

We did advise the customer that they needed to do the other side many times, but maybe it was lost in translation.

After a year of back and forth I told my new supervisor Matthew B**** to just go and repair the areas we were NOT paid for. He completed the repairs with our crew and materials at no cost to the customer.
Again no warranty was given.

We have not heard from the customer since we last repaired the roof. Until now.

The customer was very nice, but wanted us to take responsibility for their entire roof problems, but didn't understand or want to pay for the repairs needed to stop all the leaks.

We have visited the site maybe 10 times over the past year, but the leaks continue and NOT in our areas of repair.

Peter

Consumer Response:

From: ???? ****************************
Sent: Saturday, October 10, 2015 12:00 AM
To: ***** ** ***** ***********************
Subject: Dear ***** ***** :

 

Complaint submitted on  9/30/2015 5:12:59 pm ,                                                                                                                                                                                 Complaint ID  ********                                                       I had a contract with OceanView ROOFING , Supervisor : Daniel G******* ( Sept. 19 , 2014 ) ,after  Jul. & Aug. he came to my home, checked  roof's condition ( 1st floor & 2nd floor ) , leaks in home inner side (1st floor & 2nd floor ), 4 skylights ( large one in roof of 2nd floor & 3 -small  one in roof of 1st floor ),gutter (at rear upper roof ), broken / missing tiles's  condition etc. very carefully and took  pics for evidences.                                                        On Sept. 19, 2014 ; 3 workers came to made contract and did repair works, After workers said works was done , at the same day ,I paid in full without hesitation . Next day heavy rain fell and I found ROOF LEAKING etc.  HAD NO ANY IMPROVEMENT , I called the company came to check their work from Sept. 20,2014 ~ Apr. 2015 , about 20 times, but company IGNORED my request without any reply just KEPT SILENT. Until Apr. 4th 2015 , an agent came to check and on Apr. 28th / 29th 2015 , workers came to re-repair only PART of the works listed in Contract.                                                                                                                                                                                                                 the following is the present conditions  listed in contract after 2 times OceanView Roofing's repair :                                                                                   *   Replace broken and or missing tiles :  some flat tiles are replaced , some flat tiles only patched , many corner tiles still broken from 1st time repair (no any action) .                       *   Remove tiles at skylights and reflash with boral tileseal : after 2nd  time repair , the large one skylight 's leak disappeared , but 3-small one still had no any improvement.                                                                                           *  Reseal open laps (all vertical and end laps ) on rear lower flat roof  : after 2nd time repair , but still had no any improvement. ( leaks from small skylight's edge penetrate into 1st floor's room 's inner roof , some property damage happened.                                                                                                                                                                   * Remove and reinstall gutter at rear upper roof to ensure proper water flow : Didn't  perform remove and reinstall , but UNAUTHORIZED switch to just  bent 8 - gutter's support long aluminum nails ( without my written or oral agreement ), gutter became somewhat twisted and had crack just above  one of the aluminum nail ( pics included  ) in one specific place. water flow still had no any improvement. ( gutter  original had  18-support places : 10-places each had secure firm bracket , 8-places  each had long aluminum nails for support during repair of gutter ,long years ago before OceanView roofing's work.                                * 2 year warranty against leaks by OceanView Roofing LLC :  reply from Mr. ********* * ****** , announced JOB had FULFILLED ? with OceanView Roofing LLC's title.   ( reply email included ), refused to continue complete the remaining works listed in contract.                                                      I didn't know who is Peter and never talked with him .                                                                                              Worker only came 3 times : Sept. 19th , 2014  and Apr. 28th , 29th , 2015.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Sincerely,                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          Hekiju *********               ID : ********  ; complaint submitted on 9/30/2015 , 5:12:59 pm

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cigarette burns in Artificial Turf Hi *****, I am emailing you about the cigarette burns in my artificial turf. As you may recall, it has been more than a month since I emailed you pictures of the burns. There was another reminder call about a week later with no solutions for me. I just found out that you are away and not going to return for another 2 weeks, therefore I went ahead and got a couple of quotes for the cost to change out my turf. I provided you with the Artificial Turf phone number and point of contact via text a month ago; I spoke to their representative yesterday and he informed me that he has not heard from you. I have attached two proposals for replacement of my burnt turf by local companies. Their product looks nothing like mine, so patching is out of the question. As I told you previously, the company from which I bought the turf does not carry this item anymore. I made my backyard for my kids, I designed it so there would be no seams, or patches to trip on or come apart from rough play. The burns are visible to the eye and located in a central, high-traffic area, therefore patching or seaming would be counter to the point. It would not be so bad if it was only one cigarette burn, but four is disrespectful. At all times there was a huge box on the roof for rubbish and scraps that should have been used for BURNING cigarette butts. The very first day I spoke to all of your employees about my artificial turf and how FRAGILE it was, and how susceptible the material is to chemicals, burns, etc. I explained that paint thinner, acetone, lacquer thinner, etc., would melt the artificial turf so to PLEASE BE CAREFUL. They acknowledged my concerns and said that they would be careful, so they were very aware that the product was not "normal" grass. Even if the yard was laid with natural grass, I would still be concerned that the burns could have occurred to the furniture, the tool shed, or even my kids or dog. If I were to order the Turf from the mainland again, the turf/shipping/delivery and installation would be around $4000.00. It has been more than month with no contact from you. I am concerned that this issue will not be addressed in a timely manner. I cannot provide your company with a positive reference or review if I cannot be assured that: a.) you will talk to your installers about the hazards of discarding lit cigarette butts AND they agree to either discontinue smoking while on the job or address the problem by creating a rule that smokers must dispose of their cigarette butts correctly (completely extinguishing the cigarette and throwing it away in a container on the rooftop) instead of flicking cigarettes over the side of the roof. b.) you will address the problem of the existing burns in my turf within two weeks. (Shipping Turf to Hawaii takes approximately 3 weeks) Please contact me to let me know that you received this email. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I just found out that you are away and not going to return for another 2 weeks, therefore I went ahead and got a couple of quotes for the cost to change out my turf. I provided you with the Artificial Turf phone number and point of contact via text a month ago; I spoke to their representative yesterday and he informed me that he has not heard from you. I have attached two proposals for replacement of my burnt turf by local companies. Their product looks nothing like mine, so patching is out of the question. As I told you previously, the company from which I bought the turf does not carry this item anymore. I made my backyard for my kids, I designed it so there would be no seams, or patches to trip on or come apart from rough play. The burns are visible to the eye and located in a central, high-traffic area, therefore patching or seaming would be counter to the point. It would not be so bad if it was only one cigarette burn, but four is disrespectful. At all times there was a huge box on the roof for rubbish and scraps that should have been used for BURNING cigarette butts. The very first day I spoke to all of your employees about my artificial turf and how FRAGILE it was, and how susceptible the material is to chemicals, burns, etc. I explained that paint thinner, acetone, lacquer thinner, etc., would melt the artificial turf so to PLEASE BE CAREFUL. They acknowledged my concerns and said that they would be careful, so they were very aware that the product was not "normal" grass. Even if the yard was laid with natural grass, I would still be concerned that the burns could have occurred to the furniture, the tool shed, or even my kids or dog. If I were to order the Turf from the mainland again, the turf/shipping/delivery and installation would be around $4000.00. It has been more than month with no contact from you. I am concerned that this issue will not be addressed in a timely manner. I cannot provide your company with a positive reference or review if I cannot be assured that: a.) you will talk to your installers about the hazards of discarding lit cigarette butts AND they agree to either discontinue smoking while on the job or address the problem by creating a rule that smokers must dispose of their cigarette butts correctly (completely extinguishing the cigarette and throwing it away in a container on the rooftop) instead of flicking cigarettes over the side of the roof. b.) you will address the problem of the existing burns in my turf within two weeks. (Shipping Turf to Hawaii takes approximately 3 weeks) Please contact me to let me know that you received this email. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/11) */ We met the owner and inspected the damage to the turf. The cigarette burns were very tiny, less than 1/4" of an inch. Not noticeable unless you were on your knees. We agreed to pay for the replacement turf and have it shipped here to Hawaii. Cost $2800. We also agreed to help with the installation and removal of the existing artificial turf. Customer is off-island at the moment and turf is being shipped.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Oceanview Roofing LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)