Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Oceanview Roofing LLC

Phone: (808) 234-1000 Fax: (808) 234-7110 1051 Keolu Drive Ste 240, Kailua, HI 96734 http://oceanviewroofing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers contractor services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oceanview Roofing LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oceanview Roofing LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oceanview Roofing LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2006 Business started: 03/01/1985 Business started locally: 03/01/1985 Business incorporated 05/06/2013 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C31220.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W01468788-01.

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is C-33475.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W87850486-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter B. Michelmore, MEM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter B. Michelmore, MEM
Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Industry Tips
ROOFING CONTRACTORS

Additional Locations

  • 1051 Keolu Drive Ste 240

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cigarette burns in Artificial Turf Hi *****, I am emailing you about the cigarette burns in my artificial turf. As you may recall, it has been more than a month since I emailed you pictures of the burns. There was another reminder call about a week later with no solutions for me. I just found out that you are away and not going to return for another 2 weeks, therefore I went ahead and got a couple of quotes for the cost to change out my turf. I provided you with the Artificial Turf phone number and point of contact via text a month ago; I spoke to their representative yesterday and he informed me that he has not heard from you. I have attached two proposals for replacement of my burnt turf by local companies. Their product looks nothing like mine, so patching is out of the question. As I told you previously, the company from which I bought the turf does not carry this item anymore. I made my backyard for my kids, I designed it so there would be no seams, or patches to trip on or come apart from rough play. The burns are visible to the eye and located in a central, high-traffic area, therefore patching or seaming would be counter to the point. It would not be so bad if it was only one cigarette burn, but four is disrespectful. At all times there was a huge box on the roof for rubbish and scraps that should have been used for BURNING cigarette butts. The very first day I spoke to all of your employees about my artificial turf and how FRAGILE it was, and how susceptible the material is to chemicals, burns, etc. I explained that paint thinner, acetone, lacquer thinner, etc., would melt the artificial turf so to PLEASE BE CAREFUL. They acknowledged my concerns and said that they would be careful, so they were very aware that the product was not "normal" grass. Even if the yard was laid with natural grass, I would still be concerned that the burns could have occurred to the furniture, the tool shed, or even my kids or dog. If I were to order the Turf from the mainland again, the turf/shipping/delivery and installation would be around $4000.00. It has been more than month with no contact from you. I am concerned that this issue will not be addressed in a timely manner. I cannot provide your company with a positive reference or review if I cannot be assured that: a.) you will talk to your installers about the hazards of discarding lit cigarette butts AND they agree to either discontinue smoking while on the job or address the problem by creating a rule that smokers must dispose of their cigarette butts correctly (completely extinguishing the cigarette and throwing it away in a container on the rooftop) instead of flicking cigarettes over the side of the roof. b.) you will address the problem of the existing burns in my turf within two weeks. (Shipping Turf to Hawaii takes approximately 3 weeks) Please contact me to let me know that you received this email. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I just found out that you are away and not going to return for another 2 weeks, therefore I went ahead and got a couple of quotes for the cost to change out my turf. I provided you with the Artificial Turf phone number and point of contact via text a month ago; I spoke to their representative yesterday and he informed me that he has not heard from you. I have attached two proposals for replacement of my burnt turf by local companies. Their product looks nothing like mine, so patching is out of the question. As I told you previously, the company from which I bought the turf does not carry this item anymore. I made my backyard for my kids, I designed it so there would be no seams, or patches to trip on or come apart from rough play. The burns are visible to the eye and located in a central, high-traffic area, therefore patching or seaming would be counter to the point. It would not be so bad if it was only one cigarette burn, but four is disrespectful. At all times there was a huge box on the roof for rubbish and scraps that should have been used for BURNING cigarette butts. The very first day I spoke to all of your employees about my artificial turf and how FRAGILE it was, and how susceptible the material is to chemicals, burns, etc. I explained that paint thinner, acetone, lacquer thinner, etc., would melt the artificial turf so to PLEASE BE CAREFUL. They acknowledged my concerns and said that they would be careful, so they were very aware that the product was not "normal" grass. Even if the yard was laid with natural grass, I would still be concerned that the burns could have occurred to the furniture, the tool shed, or even my kids or dog. If I were to order the Turf from the mainland again, the turf/shipping/delivery and installation would be around $4000.00. It has been more than month with no contact from you. I am concerned that this issue will not be addressed in a timely manner. I cannot provide your company with a positive reference or review if I cannot be assured that: a.) you will talk to your installers about the hazards of discarding lit cigarette butts AND they agree to either discontinue smoking while on the job or address the problem by creating a rule that smokers must dispose of their cigarette butts correctly (completely extinguishing the cigarette and throwing it away in a container on the rooftop) instead of flicking cigarettes over the side of the roof. b.) you will address the problem of the existing burns in my turf within two weeks. (Shipping Turf to Hawaii takes approximately 3 weeks) Please contact me to let me know that you received this email. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/11) */ We met the owner and inspected the damage to the turf. The cigarette burns were very tiny, less than 1/4" of an inch. Not noticeable unless you were on your knees. We agreed to pay for the replacement turf and have it shipped here to Hawaii. Cost $2800. We also agreed to help with the installation and removal of the existing artificial turf. Customer is off-island at the moment and turf is being shipped.

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service