BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

Oceanview Roofing

Phone: (808) 234-1000 Fax: (808) 234-7110 905 Kalanianaole Hwy, Kailua, HI 96734 http://oceanviewroofing.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers contractor services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oceanview Roofing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oceanview Roofing include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oceanview Roofing
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 24, 2006 Business started: 03/01/1985 Business started locally: 03/01/1985 Business incorporated: 05/06/2013 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The license number is C31220.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The license number is W01468788-01.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Peter B. Michelmore, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Peter B. Michelmore, President
Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Oceanview Roofing LLC

Additional Locations

  • 905 Kalanianaole Hwy

    Kailua, HI 96734

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cigarette burns in Artificial Turf Hi *****, I am emailing you about the cigarette burns in my artificial turf. As you may recall, it has been more than a month since I emailed you pictures of the burns. There was another reminder call about a week later with no solutions for me. I just found out that you are away and not going to return for another 2 weeks, therefore I went ahead and got a couple of quotes for the cost to change out my turf. I provided you with the Artificial Turf phone number and point of contact via text a month ago; I spoke to their representative yesterday and he informed me that he has not heard from you. I have attached two proposals for replacement of my burnt turf by local companies. Their product looks nothing like mine, so patching is out of the question. As I told you previously, the company from which I bought the turf does not carry this item anymore. I made my backyard for my kids, I designed it so there would be no seams, or patches to trip on or come apart from rough play. The burns are visible to the eye and located in a central, high-traffic area, therefore patching or seaming would be counter to the point. It would not be so bad if it was only one cigarette burn, but four is disrespectful. At all times there was a huge box on the roof for rubbish and scraps that should have been used for BURNING cigarette butts. The very first day I spoke to all of your employees about my artificial turf and how FRAGILE it was, and how susceptible the material is to chemicals, burns, etc. I explained that paint thinner, acetone, lacquer thinner, etc., would melt the artificial turf so to PLEASE BE CAREFUL. They acknowledged my concerns and said that they would be careful, so they were very aware that the product was not "normal" grass. Even if the yard was laid with natural grass, I would still be concerned that the burns could have occurred to the furniture, the tool shed, or even my kids or dog. If I were to order the Turf from the mainland again, the turf/shipping/delivery and installation would be around $4000.00. It has been more than month with no contact from you. I am concerned that this issue will not be addressed in a timely manner. I cannot provide your company with a positive reference or review if I cannot be assured that: a.) you will talk to your installers about the hazards of discarding lit cigarette butts AND they agree to either discontinue smoking while on the job or address the problem by creating a rule that smokers must dispose of their cigarette butts correctly (completely extinguishing the cigarette and throwing it away in a container on the rooftop) instead of flicking cigarettes over the side of the roof. b.) you will address the problem of the existing burns in my turf within two weeks. (Shipping Turf to Hawaii takes approximately 3 weeks) Please contact me to let me know that you received this email. Thank you

Desired Settlement: I just found out that you are away and not going to return for another 2 weeks, therefore I went ahead and got a couple of quotes for the cost to change out my turf. I provided you with the Artificial Turf phone number and point of contact via text a month ago; I spoke to their representative yesterday and he informed me that he has not heard from you. I have attached two proposals for replacement of my burnt turf by local companies. Their product looks nothing like mine, so patching is out of the question. As I told you previously, the company from which I bought the turf does not carry this item anymore. I made my backyard for my kids, I designed it so there would be no seams, or patches to trip on or come apart from rough play. The burns are visible to the eye and located in a central, high-traffic area, therefore patching or seaming would be counter to the point. It would not be so bad if it was only one cigarette burn, but four is disrespectful. At all times there was a huge box on the roof for rubbish and scraps that should have been used for BURNING cigarette butts. The very first day I spoke to all of your employees about my artificial turf and how FRAGILE it was, and how susceptible the material is to chemicals, burns, etc. I explained that paint thinner, acetone, lacquer thinner, etc., would melt the artificial turf so to PLEASE BE CAREFUL. They acknowledged my concerns and said that they would be careful, so they were very aware that the product was not "normal" grass. Even if the yard was laid with natural grass, I would still be concerned that the burns could have occurred to the furniture, the tool shed, or even my kids or dog. If I were to order the Turf from the mainland again, the turf/shipping/delivery and installation would be around $4000.00. It has been more than month with no contact from you. I am concerned that this issue will not be addressed in a timely manner. I cannot provide your company with a positive reference or review if I cannot be assured that: a.) you will talk to your installers about the hazards of discarding lit cigarette butts AND they agree to either discontinue smoking while on the job or address the problem by creating a rule that smokers must dispose of their cigarette butts correctly (completely extinguishing the cigarette and throwing it away in a container on the rooftop) instead of flicking cigarettes over the side of the roof. b.) you will address the problem of the existing burns in my turf within two weeks. (Shipping Turf to Hawaii takes approximately 3 weeks) Please contact me to let me know that you received this email. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/08/11) */ We met the owner and inspected the damage to the turf. The cigarette burns were very tiny, less than 1/4" of an inch. Not noticeable unless you were on your knees. We agreed to pay for the replacement turf and have it shipped here to Hawaii. Cost $2800. We also agreed to help with the installation and removal of the existing artificial turf. Customer is off-island at the moment and turf is being shipped.

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service