Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Hawaii

Phone: (808) 593-2221 View Additional Phone Numbers 1130 N Nimitz Hwy RM A170, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://www.hawaii.aaa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers services to include: roadside assistance, maps, international and domestic travel planning and reservations, pedestrian and traffic safety progrmas, automotive and financial services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Hawaii meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Hawaii include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on AAA Hawaii
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1902 Business started locally: 01/01/1902 Business incorporated 12/31/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40114630-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: 808-587-4272
The number is TAR4117.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Leann Sumida, Office Manager Chris Olvera, Office Manager Ms. Sharon Yleizah, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Leann Sumida, Office Manager
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive Travel Agencies & Bureaus Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
A A A Hawaii, LLC
Industry Tips
TRAVEL TIPS USING THE SERVICES OF A TRAVEL AGENT

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

AAA Hawaii has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1130 N Nimitz Hwy RM A170

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 529-5027 (800) 736-2886 (808) 593-2221

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA damaged my car by towing it improperly. They drug my all-wheel drive (AWD)vehicle by the front end and damaged the rear axle. I have requested that they simply fix the vehicle, but AAA has refused. They have demanded that I release them from liability and settle for a financial amount based on an estimate, or to pay for the fix and then have them review the costs.I have been without a vehicle for four (4) months while AAA continues to not answer e-mails or phones.

Desired Settlement: AAA has offered to pay an estimated cost after a full release of liability. I have told them that estimates often are not accurate, and I want them to handle this like any other insurance claim. I want AAA to invoice directly to the repair shop.AAA has offered to have me pay, and then send in the paid invoices for reimbursement after their review. I explained that I do not have the funds to front the repair costs.

Business Response:

BBB.

 

June 29th:  Contract Station Supervisor, Ryan R*****, spoke to member about his concerns on the phone.   The member, Aaron H*****, explained that in April he had received tow service through AAA and that independent contract service provider, Aloha Roadside Service, had damaged his transmission by towing his vehicle incorrectly.  The member did not have any documentation in the form of estimates, invoices, etc., to provide AAA Hawaii at that time.   AAA representative Ryan R***** advised the member he would need to get his car diagnosed by a licensed repair facility of his choosing, and send in his estimate to help with the investigation.  

 

July 5th:  Aaron H***** emailed AAA representative Ryan R***** a PDF from Lex Brodies Tire and Auto indicating that the vehicle need to have an electric coupling assembly and differential carrier assembly replaced.

 

July 9th:   AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted the member via email and advised him that AAA could process a refund to him for the labor charges associated with getting his car diagnosed as well as the full amount required to fix his vehicle according to the estimate he provided AAA on July 5th.  The member was also advised that before the pending funds were released to him that he sign a full settlement agreement to not hold AAA and/or Aloha Roadside assistance for additional repairs associated with the incident back in April.  

 

July 10th:  The member responded via email explaining he would be more comfortable with not signing a full settlement release until the repairs were completed at Lex Brodies Tire & Auto.  AAA representative Ryan R***** replied on July 10th advising the member that AAA would be able to reimburse him in full if he was able to pay for the repairs and send in the invoice upon completion.  

 

July 21st:  AAA received Better Business Bureau complaint from Mr. H*****.

 

July 21st:  AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted the member via email and explained that AAA was under the impression that he was getting his car repaired as there had been no further contact from Mr. H***** since a refund was offered July 10th.  Mr. H***** responded and explained he wanted AAA to handle this matter as if it were an insurance claim direct with Lex Brodies Tire & Repair.  AAA representative Ryan R***** explained that he would see what he could do even though this request is outside of standard operating procedure for the company.

 

July 23rd:  AAA representative contacted Mr. H***** via email and advised that Lex Brodies Tire & Auto would be able to accept a check from AAA in advance to set up his repairs.  It was explained further that this solves his concern regarding not paying out of pocket, however it may take 7-10 business days to process a check for repairs.  Mr. H***** was reminded that if he needed to expedite his repairs he always could pay Lex Brodie’s up front and seek reimbursement as offered on July 10th.  Mr. H***** has not responded.

 

July 27th:  Lex Brodies provided AAA Hawaii an invoice for repairing Mr. H*****’s car.  Although AAA Hawaii has not heard back from Mr. H***** since July 21st, they are going ahead and processing a check to Lex Brodies for repairs.   AAA Hawaii is waiting on check for repairs and contact from Mr. H*****.

Business Response:

 

June 29th:  Contract Station Supervisor, Ryan R*****, spoke to member about his concerns on the phone.   The member, Aaron H*****, explained that in April he had received tow service through AAA and that independent contract service provider, Aloha Roadside Service, had damaged his transmission by towing his vehicle incorrectly.  The member did not have any documentation in the form of estimates, invoices, etc., to provide AAA Hawaii at that time.   AAA representative Ryan R***** advised the member he would need to get his car diagnosed by a licensed repair facility of his choosing, and send in his estimate to help with the investigation.  

 

July 5th:  Aaron H***** emailed AAA representative Ryan R***** a PDF from Lex Brodies Tire and Auto indicating that the vehicle need to have an electric coupling assembly and differential carrier assembly replaced.

 

July 9th:   AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted the member via email and advised him that AAA could process a refund to him for the labor charges associated with getting his car diagnosed as well as the full amount required to fix his vehicle according to the estimate he provided AAA on July 5th.  The member was also advised that before the pending funds were released to him that he sign a full settlement agreement to not hold AAA and/or Aloha Roadside assistance for additional repairs associated with the incident back in April.  

 

July 10th:  The member responded via email explaining he would be more comfortable with not signing a full settlement release until the repairs were completed at Lex Brodies Tire & Auto.  AAA representative Ryan R***** replied on July 10th advising the member that AAA would be able to reimburse him in full if he was able to pay for the repairs and send in the invoice upon completion.  

 

July 21st:  AAA received Better Business Bureau complaint from Mr. H*****.

 

July 21st:  AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted the member via email and explained that AAA was under the impression that he was getting his car repaired as there had been no further contact from Mr. H***** since a refund was offered July 10th.  Mr. H***** responded and explained he wanted AAA to handle this matter as if it were an insurance claim direct with Lex Brodies Tire & Repair.  AAA representative Ryan R***** explained that he would see what he could do even though this request is outside of standard operating procedure for the company.

 

July 23rd:  AAA representative contacted Mr. H***** via email and advised that Lex Brodies Tire & Auto would be able to accept a check from AAA in advance to set up his repairs.  It was explained further that this solves his concern regarding not paying out of pocket, however it may take 7-10 business days to process a check for repairs.  Mr. H***** was reminded that if he needed to expedite his repairs he always could pay Lex Brodie’s up front and seek reimbursement as offered on July 10th.  Mr. H***** has not responded.

 

July 27th:  Lex Brodies provided AAA Hawaii an invoice for repairing Mr. H*****’s car.  Although AAA Hawaii has not heard back from Mr. H***** since July 21st, they are going ahead and processing a check to Lex Brodies for repairs.   AAA Hawaii is waiting on check for repairs and contact from Mr. H*****.

 

August 5th:  AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted Mr. H***** via email to explain that we had received the repair invoice from Lex Brodies on 7/27 and it generally takes 10-14 business days to process a check from our accounting department in CA.   It was explained to Mr. H***** that it had been 8 business days and that we would contact him back as soon as Lex Brodie’s received the check.

 

August 11th:  AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted Mr. H***** and advised that the check has been received by Lex Brodies and that a representative from Lex Brodies will be following up with him shortly to schedule the necessary repairs on his vehicle.

 

August 22th:  Lex Brodies contacted AAA representative Ryan R***** and advised him that they had had Mr. H*****’s car for a couple of weeks and they are still waiting on parts.  

 

August 24th:  AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted Mr. H***** via email and advised him that we have received an 8/11 nquiry from BBB in regards to his problem not being resolved.  Ryan R***** advised Mr. H***** if he needs to rent a car for the duration of the repairs that he could submit a receipt to him and seek reimbursement.  Moreover, reminded Mr. H***** that he would be reimbursed for the $78.20 expense of getting his car diagnosed by Lex Brodies from July 5th once the repairs are finished with any other invoices that are pending to be reimbursed, such as car rental and/or additional repairs.  Mr. H***** has since not responded as of 9/1.

 

September 24th:  ON 9/9 AAA Hawaii received a BBB inquiry from Mr. H***** that AAA Hawaii did not help with transportation while the vehicle was being repaired and also owed him $78.20 for the original diagnostic of the vehicle.  As seen above, on 8/24 AAA sent communication to the member about both of those issues and never heard back from the member.  In fact, AAA Hawaii has not heard back from the member since 7/27 despite sending communication to him on 4 different occasions in August.   AAA Hawaii confirmed with Lex Brodies that Mr. H*****’s vehicle had been repaired, and that he seemed satisfied on their end.   AAA representative Ryan R***** contacted Mr. H***** via email and advised him that as a result of not hearing back from him, we can only assume he does not have any pending rental car charges to be reimbursed.   A check for $78.20 is being processed in AAA’s accounting department in CA and will arrive to Mr. H***** within 10 business days.  Arrival of this check should leave Mr. H***** 100% reimbursed for the damage caused to his vehicle.  

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 10723811

I am rejecting this response because:  this business is lying about both the actions it ha taken and the status of this repair.  I have had NO contact via email or phone from this company since April.  I am still awaiting reembursement for the costs incurred.  Although receipts and documents have been sent to AAA and received by them, no response or funds have been received.  Currently AAA still owes me monies due for estimates on this repair.  Once those funds are received, I am prepared to move forward.  Until that point, AAA has still not fulfilled their promises or made good on fulfilling this repair. 

Sincerely,

Aaron H*****

7/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member with AAA for 24 years and seldom ever request for roadside assistance.On July 1, 2015, my wife needed a battery jump so she called AAA Hawaii and was initially advised it would be a 45 minute wait. The 45 minute wait turned to over a 2 hour wait and no one ever showed up.Upon trying to get a refund for my membership fees for 2015 because of their terrible service, I called AAA several times and didn't get any assistance. I was finally directed to a roadside assistance supervisor (Victor) who initially called me on 07/07/15, and promised to look into the matter and call me that same day. Victor never called back.On 07/08/15, Victor called to apologize and advised that another AAA associate (Ty) would be calling me about my claim. Instead of calling me, Ty called my wife about the complaint. On 07/09/15, I called both Ty and Victor and left messages for them to return my calls. Both associates never responded.For a member of 24 years to receive this type of service is totally unacceptable!

Desired Settlement: Refund for 2015 membership fees.

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the night of 12/15/14 at approx. 9:45 pm my car died on the side of the road. I have been a member of AAA Hawaii for thirty years and called them for roadside assistance to tow my car. I was with my family and we called AAA Dispatch four times. The dispatcher kept saying that someone would call me back to arrange to respond. No one ever called back, and no tow truck ever came to assist. I had to leave my car on the side of the road that night and call my car servicer to tow the vehicle the next morning. That cost was $99.48 but in my mind is not the issue here. I feel like I had a service and support contract with them for roadside assistance for this very serious moment when I might need their help. I was completely let down, and in my mind this is a serious breach of contract. They no longer have any credibility with me, and I felt other people might benefit from knowing about this experience.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have my tow charge reimbursed, but I'm not sure how they will deal with the Breach of Contract allegation. I am open to discussion on that point but it does seem to be a legal matter.

Business Response: Tell us why here...

Aloha Mr. *******:

AAA Hawaii received a complaint filed with BBB on April 10, 2014 concerning your roadside request on December 15, 2014. The concerns you expressed regarding your service experience was researched by Ryan R***** our AAA Hawaii Contract Station Supervisor and based on all available documents for that day, we were unable to locate a service call for the service date you provided. We are very anxious to discuss your concerns with you personally as further information would be necessary to complete our research into your call request.. We have made several attempts to contact you via telephone on 4/13/2015 and 4/15/2015 including an email response with no success. We have lastly sent a letter in the mail date April 15, 2015, requesting that you contact our office to discuss your matter further. If you have choose not to pursue further with researching your concerns, please let us know as we will keep your concern request open for 30 days allowing ample time to resolve the matter. Otherwise, we would appreciate if you contact our Contract Station Supervisor Ryan R***** at your earliest convenience at ************, to resolve your matter quickly. We look forward to speaking with you.

Mahalo, Ryan R*****, Contract Station Supervisor.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I responded to Mr. R***** email to me and sent the following email to him the other night.

Sincerely,

**** *******

-------------------------------

Hello Ryan,

My AAA membership number is *** *** **********.  Let me reiterate what happened the night of December 15, 2014.  My car died on the side of the road while driving with my wife and son at approximately 9:45 PM.  For the next 1.5 - 2 hours we made four calls for roadside assistance to the AAA phone number provided on my membership card: ************.  We spoke to a male, I believe it was the same person, and each time we were assured that the trouble call had been placed and that I would receive a confirmation call back and that the tow truck would be coming to assist.  After about two hours of this, and not receiving a callback, I gave up and left my car on the side of the road.  I have been a member of AAA for 30 years to prevent this very scenario from happening.  I never received a call back from anyone and the tow truck never arrived.  The next morning I checked my phone and there were no messages, so no one ever called me back or responded to what was happening that night.  The car was towed by my service provider the next morning at a cost of $99.48.

Now, evidently from what you're telling me below, AAA also has a problem with its problem tracking system.  I placed the calls under my member number.  If you are correct that there is no record of my calls that night, then there is more than one support issue going on here.  How is it possible there is no record of my repeated calls for help that night?

Now I'll explain the delay in acting on this.  I am extremely busy at work dealing with my customers (another reason I've engaged AAA for automobile support).  I assist the ********** ** ******* and there are times when I am not permitted to have a cell phone on me while I'm working, so when you called me and left your message thats why I didn't answer.  Aside from being extremely busy at work, I haven't called AAA about this because I am trying to find an attorney that will agree to pursue this as a Breach of Contract.  In the meantime, I reached out to the BBB so that others might know about what happened to me and my concerns.  In my opinion, this is not to be taken lightly.  Anything bad could have happened that night.  I have a AAA Hawaii Benefits Guide and under Member Services / Roadside Assistance it very clearly states I am to receive Towing as one of the benefits.  It doesn't say Monday - Friday, 8:00am - 5:00pm only.  This is your promise to consumers who sign up for your service.  THIS IS YOUR CONTRACT.  Unfortunately, as far as I'm concerned now, this promise isn't worth the paper its written on.  What AAA Hawaii says they offer, it turns out, is a sham.

So I have the reimbursement form for the tow truck that did arrive to tow my car the next morning and I'll attach it here.  My question though, is how should I be compensated for what happened that night?  And how do the failures that occurred then, and now in the case of your records, get resolved to prevent this from happening again?  How can you fix something that AAA, by your own admission, doesn't even know occurred.

Thank you,

**** *******

Cell: ********

 

 

On 2015-04-15 11:28, ******.Ryan wrote:

****, 

 

I’m contacting you in attempt to help resolve your recent inquiry with the BBB regarding not receiving road service in December 2014.

 

I checked our records and we do not have record of you calling in with your membership (or anyone who may be associated with your membership) between November 2014 and today.  In fact, we could not find anyone with the last name ******* who has requested service on Oahu in that time.  Would it be possible that you placed a call in for help to us with another person’s membership number?

 

Additionally, I do not have record of you calling in to AAA in an attempt to advise us of your dissatisfaction and/or attempt to resolve this matter before (or after) contacting the Better Business Bureau.  

 

I attempted to contact you on both the daytime and evening phone numbers that were provided to the BBB.  Would you please let me know when the best time to try and contact you again would be?  

 

Sincerely, 

Ryan * R*****

AAA Hawaii

Contract Station Representative 

 

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The customer service was absolutely terrible, the tow truck driver drove wreckless with my vehicle on top, and the manager, ******, is worthless. On August 10, 2014 I called AAA and set up a tow for my Lincoln Navigator at 9am on August 11, 2014. I was never given a price quote on my tow service. On 8/11/14 I called at 6am and asked to please change my tow time to 7:30. The representative was beyond rude, and kept acting like she didn't want to change it, but told me that she did. 7:30 came and no one showed up. I called again, and AAA told me that they never got the request, and they couldn't have someone magically there. They told me it would be an hour. They tow truck finally showed up at 8:50 and loaded my Lincoln Navigator on their flatbed. I asked the tow truck driver to please follow me, since I would need to get them access to the Navy base. Well, that didn't happen. They drove wreckless for the entire 17 miles to the Navy base. They were driving 50mph in a 25mph school zone on Makakilo Dr. Once on the H1, they were going upwards of 70mph. The speed limit is 55mph. They were swerving in and out of traffic, in the fast lane numerous times, and I could see my expensive vehicle bouncing all around. It was terrifying. I have two babies, and I do not speed. I was having to drive very dangerous in order to keep up with them. I was worried about getting pulled over by police or being involved in an accident. I have never seen anyone drive so wreckless, especially with a large SUV on a flatbed. When we got to the NEX Autoport, they told me my charge was $112.50. I was never quoted a price during my original phone call. I called AAA office that same morning, and voiced my concerns about the customer service representive that was rude and didn't put my change of time into the system, as well as the tow truck driver's terrible driving, and the manager seemed concerned and assured me that I would have resolution by the end of the week. I called on Friday, 8/15/2014, since I had not heard, and apparently they couldn't find me in the system. Then I called on Saturday,8/16/2014, and spoke to, ******, she said it would be brought up first thing Monday morning and I would be getting a phone call. I received no phone call, so on Tuesday, I called, and spoke to ****** again, and she told me that I would have a call by Friday. Well Friday, 8/22/2014 came and went with no phone call, so I called on Tuesday, 8/26/2014, and ****** wouldn't talk to me, and so I left a voicemail, and I still have not received a phone call back. I have been a member for 8 years, and I don't understand why I am being treated this poorly. This is the worst customer service I have ever received, and my tow truck experience was beyond horrifying. Everyone needs to be reprimanded, and customer concerns need to be taken seriously and rectified immediately. Oh, and ****** also told me during on conversation on 8/16/2014 that she was mailing me a form to request a refund, and that never showed up in the mail. Pathetic.

Desired Settlement: I would like my entire tow bill of $112.50 reimbursed, and to not have this experience count as one of my four tows that AAA covers.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

I am unable to enter our closing comments into your website. Would you please post the following as our response and close as resolved?

 

A review of our records reflects that on August 10, 2014, you contacted AAA Hawaii to arrange to have your 2005 Lincoln Navigator towed the following day at 9:00AM.  On August 11, 2014, you contacted AAA Hawaii and requested we reschedule the towing service for 7:30AM. Unfortunately, your appointment request was not processed correctly, impacting the independent service provider’s ability to arrive within the scheduled time frame. In your inquiry, you stated that the telephone representative was rude and failed to inform you of the towing charges associated with your service call. You added that while towing your vehicle, the service technician drove in a reckless manner, causing you concern as you were following in a separate vehicle with your child. Moreover, you reported filing a complaint that same day, but received no contact regarding your concerns. On behalf of our entire organization, we would like to extend our sincerest apologies to you as we failed to provide you with a totally satisfying member experience. Please be assured that our utmost concern and priority is the safety of our members. We highly value your membership and find it disappointing that your experience fell short of our goal and your expectations. In regards to our delay in follow up, we confirmed that you inquiry was received and assigned to our staff for review. However, we neglected to address your concerns ****** ** *********** ***** ** ***** ** **** ******** ***** ****** **** *** ******* ******** *** **** ***** *** *********** ********** ******* ** ***** ** ******* *** *********** ** ********* **** *** ***** ******* on September 18, 2014, the service call on August 11, 2014 has been removed from your membership records, and we have enclosed a reimbursement check in the amount of $117.80. This amount represents the cost you incurred for towing service. If you have any additional questions, please contact Mr. ******* ** ***** *********

9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA failed to provide promised prompt and courteous roadside assistance. In my 33 years of membership, my experience today, 8/22/14, has been by far the worse: it took you 2.5 hours to get a contractor to jump start my car; I received only one call back from dispatch telling me that you'd be late (another 45 minutes that turned into an hour); **** hung up on me, after telling me that he would route me to a supervisor (no one called me back); one representative talked to me like I was senile. From my phone log: 9:15 am call to ************ (Hawaii) to ask for assistance; 10:08 am call from dispatch telling me that you'd be late by 45 minutes; 10:47 am my call to AAA to ask about your ETA; complained to Paul, who said he'd call dispatch again and will transfer me to supervisor; either he or his supervisor disconnected the call; no one from AAA attempted to call me back; 10:50 am my call to AAA asking for update on battery assistance; was told they'd get a contractor to me within 20 minutes; 11:04 am received call from AAA - robotic voice telling me that a contractor will arrive at 11:45 pm -- I'd already told you during the 10:47 am and 10:50 am calls that I have to be at work by Noon. My work is over 45 minutes away. 11:04 am my call to AAA to ask that you speed up the contractor; 11:30 am my call to AAA to ask for ETA update; 11:21 am my call to AAA to ask you to expedite contractor. 11:38 am ***** ****** ******* finally shows up. Not the original contractor, who was a no-show. -- END --

Desired Settlement: 1. Use two or three much more reliable contractors; 2. Lower annual rates for all Hawaii members by 20% since AAA offers substandard roadside service; 3. Train call representatives to take responsibility for the customer and not to push the blame on contractor; 3. Train supervisors not to hang up on customers

Business Response: A review of our records reflects that on August 22, 2014, at 09:19, Ms. **** *** contacted AAA Hawaii to request emergency roadside service. As a result of there being a delay in dispatching her service call to Towing Express, Ms. *** was contacted at 10:07 to inform her that the estimated time of arrival (ETA) would be 30-45 minutes. At 10:50, Ms. *** contacted AAA Hawaii to request an update to the ETA. We informed Ms. *** that her concerns with the ETA would be shared with the dispatch facility and disconnected. Due to the service delay, AAA Hawaii attempted to locate a service provider that could assist Ms. ***. Even though AAA Hawaii contacted four different service providers, they were unsuccessful in locating an available driver until 11:12. The review of Ms. ***'s service experience concluded that that our receiver did not purposefully disconnect the phone call. Additionally, all available service providers were properly contacted to seek assistance with a better ETA.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response (above) from AAA is generally accurate. However, several details are missing from this report that render this AAA report misleading in substance. These details are: 1) During my initial call for help at 9:19, I was told that the wait time would be 45 minutes, which did not surprise me -- the wait time for a battery jump has increased over the past ten years from approximately 30 minutes to sometimes a bit more than an hour; 2) the 10:07 call from AAA was to inform me that there would be an additional 30-45 minutes delay. 3) I accept AAA's explanation that my request to speak to a supervisor ended in an ACCIDENTAL and unintentional disconnection. HOWEVER, no one from AAA ever attempted to call me back regarding the status of my assistance request or about the disconnected phone call, I had to call several times again to request an update of contractor's ETA. The AAA representatives had no knowledge of my prior request to speak to a supervisor -- POOR follow through. 4) This AAA response to my BBB complaint is the first time that AAA EVER offered the information that this for-profit company tried to contact four different service providers. Has AAA provided BBB any evidence of those calls to four different service providers? This piece of information is suspicious because I've talked to at least 6 different AAA representatives, no one told me that AAA had called four different contractors. Later, I received a call from a AAA center in ******** California. I was offered a refund ($68) on a rental car -- I was late for an important meeting and had no other way to get to work -- and a year's free membership. Even hough I accept the refund from AAA, you should all note that this is no solution to the actual problem, which is AAA's inability to meet their contractural obligations to complete PROMPT service requests; to revamp their despatch procedures, and so on. AAA has failed to deal with any of my Desired Resolution items.

5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Should not of been charged for a tow. I seek reimbursement of $275. AAA Hawaii 1130 N. Nimitz Hwy , A170 , Honolulu, Hi 96817 I believe I was wrongfully charged $ 275 by your associate ********* Towing, *************. San Diego, Ca 92110. My car was in an accident on 3/7/2014. Initially my car was towed to the Advantage lot and later that morning I had them tow it to my home. I was charged for that service when my AAA coverage should have covered it. See below: Towing Benefits When a vehicle cannot be started or safely driven due to a breakdown, accident, or other covered vehicle disablement, the independent service provider can tow the vehicle back to its facility, no matter how far away, at no charge to the member1. Initially, the vehicle was towed to Advantage facility: **************, San Diego, Ca 92110. ( staying in their lot less than 12 Hr. ) If the member chooses to have the vehicle towed to another location (including a AAA Approved Auto Repair facility), the following towing benefits apply: AAA ********* - Towed without charge to the destination of their choice up to 100 driving miles in any direction from the point of breakdown.2 Then vehicle was towed to my residence : *********** San Diego, Ca 92115 . ( 10.91 miles ) Please investigate. I am seeking reimbursement of $ 275. Sincerely, ******** ***** *********** San Diego, Ca 92115 AAA Hawaii membership #: **********

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of $ 275.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/05/09) */ Dear Mr. *****, I have received information from the Better Business Bureau regarding your recent request for roadside assistance on March 7, 2014. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you have experienced as a result of this matter. As per your request, we can switch the tow service provided by the independent contractor, ********* Towing, from an insurance tow back to a tow covered under your membership. The Automobile Club of Southern ********** will issue a refund check for the amount of $275.00. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for allowing us to address your concerns. If you have any questions regarding this matter please feel free to contact me at any time. ****** **** Supervisor Contract Stations Relations

3/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA Hawaii continually sends letters with headings Second Notice as if there is an overdue bill. In fact I have not had their service in years. AAA Hawaii continues to send letters which appear to be overdue bills. Outside the letter I got today in red it says Second Notice. If fact I have not had any services in several years. To me this is a blatant attempt to confuse and make people think they have forgotten to pay a bill. I get these letters a few times per year. I think it is horrible for a reputable organization to use these tactics. Perhaps one of the local television stations would be interested in how AAA Hawaii tries to scam senior citizens if BBB cannot resolve I wish to be taken off AAA Hawaii list.

Desired Settlement: Take me off mailing list and cease dishonest practices

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/04) */ Aloha Mr. **********, We apologize for any inconvenience and frustration our mailings has caused. Per your request, we are removing you from our mailing list. Please keep in mind that it may take up to 60 days to remove you from our list. Our Marketing department has been forwarded your complaint and will be reviewing the language utilized on these mail pieces. We appreciate you contacting us to let us know your feelings about the copy on the direct mail pieces. Your comments will help us communicate better in the future. Mahalo, ***** ****** AAA Hawaii Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the resolution although I believe having to wait 60 days is insane in this internet age. If I get any more of this junk mail I will simply address it to one of the local television stations who I am sure would be interested in this scam on seniors


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on AAA Hawaii
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart