BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Accredited Business since

AAA Hawaii

Phone: (808) 593-2221 View Additional Phone Numbers 1130 N Nimitz Hwy RM A170, Honolulu, HI 96817 http://www.hawaii.aaa.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers services to include: roadside assistance, maps, international and domestic travel planning and reservations, pedestrian and traffic safety progrmas, automotive and financial services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAA Hawaii meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAA Hawaii include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAA Hawaii
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1972 Business started: 01/01/1902 Business started locally: 01/01/1902 Business incorporated: 12/31/2000 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40114630-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is TAR4117.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Leann Sumida, Office Manager Chris Olvera, Office Manager Ms. Sharon Yleizah, Administrator
Contact Information
Principal: Leann Sumida, Office Manager
Business Category

Road Service - Automotive Travel Agencies & Bureaus Insurance Services

Alternate Business Names
A A A Hawaii, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 1130 N Nimitz Hwy RM A170

    Honolulu, HI 96817 (808) 593-2221 (808) 529-5027 (800) 736-2886

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 736-2886(Phone)
  • (808) 529-5027(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Should not of been charged for a tow. I seek reimbursement of $275. AAA Hawaii 1130 N. Nimitz Hwy , A170 , Honolulu, Hi 96817 I believe I was wrongfully charged $ 275 by your associate ********* Towing, *************. San Diego, Ca 92110. My car was in an accident on 3/7/2014. Initially my car was towed to the Advantage lot and later that morning I had them tow it to my home. I was charged for that service when my AAA coverage should have covered it. See below: Towing Benefits When a vehicle cannot be started or safely driven due to a breakdown, accident, or other covered vehicle disablement, the independent service provider can tow the vehicle back to its facility, no matter how far away, at no charge to the member1. Initially, the vehicle was towed to Advantage facility: **************, San Diego, Ca 92110. ( staying in their lot less than 12 Hr. ) If the member chooses to have the vehicle towed to another location (including a AAA Approved Auto Repair facility), the following towing benefits apply: AAA ********* - Towed without charge to the destination of their choice up to 100 driving miles in any direction from the point of breakdown.2 Then vehicle was towed to my residence : *********** San Diego, Ca 92115 . ( 10.91 miles ) Please investigate. I am seeking reimbursement of $ 275. Sincerely, ******** ***** *********** San Diego, Ca 92115 AAA Hawaii membership #: **********

Desired Settlement: Reimbursement of $ 275.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/05/09) */ Dear Mr. *****, I have received information from the Better Business Bureau regarding your recent request for roadside assistance on March 7, 2014. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you have experienced as a result of this matter. As per your request, we can switch the tow service provided by the independent contractor, ********* Towing, from an insurance tow back to a tow covered under your membership. The Automobile Club of Southern ********** will issue a refund check for the amount of $275.00. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and for allowing us to address your concerns. If you have any questions regarding this matter please feel free to contact me at any time. ****** **** Supervisor Contract Stations Relations

3/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: AAA Hawaii continually sends letters with headings Second Notice as if there is an overdue bill. In fact I have not had their service in years. AAA Hawaii continues to send letters which appear to be overdue bills. Outside the letter I got today in red it says Second Notice. If fact I have not had any services in several years. To me this is a blatant attempt to confuse and make people think they have forgotten to pay a bill. I get these letters a few times per year. I think it is horrible for a reputable organization to use these tactics. Perhaps one of the local television stations would be interested in how AAA Hawaii tries to scam senior citizens if BBB cannot resolve I wish to be taken off AAA Hawaii list.

Desired Settlement: Take me off mailing list and cease dishonest practices

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/03/04) */ Aloha Mr. **********, We apologize for any inconvenience and frustration our mailings has caused. Per your request, we are removing you from our mailing list. Please keep in mind that it may take up to 60 days to remove you from our list. Our Marketing department has been forwarded your complaint and will be reviewing the language utilized on these mail pieces. We appreciate you contacting us to let us know your feelings about the copy on the direct mail pieces. Your comments will help us communicate better in the future. Mahalo, ***** ****** AAA Hawaii Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/03/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the resolution although I believe having to wait 60 days is insane in this internet age. If I get any more of this junk mail I will simply address it to one of the local television stations who I am sure would be interested in this scam on seniors

7/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
6/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service