Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Pagoda Floating Restaurant

Phone: (808) 948-8356 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, HI 96814 http://www.pagodahawaii.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a full service restaurant and catering services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Pagoda Floating Restaurant meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pagoda Floating Restaurant include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Pagoda Floating Restaurant
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 07, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2011 Business started locally: 11/01/2011 Business incorporated 10/31/2011 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W40985130-01.

Dept of Health-State/Sanitation
591 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu HI 96813
http://health.hawaii.gov/san/
Phone Number: (808) 586-8000
webmaster@hawaii.gov
The number is 014361.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Takemura, Member Mr. Kurt Osaki, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Takemura, Member
Business Category

Restaurants Caterers

Alternate Business Names
G-Plus LLC

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was charged a mandatory 17% gratuity, a party of 4, to use an entertainment coupon. The gratuity exceeded the value of the coupon. On Jan 27, 2013, my family of 4 had the dinner buffet at the Pagoda Restaurant. We used a an "Entertainment Book" coupon which offered 20% off up to 4 people not greater thatn $20 value. We received the $20 value of the coupon, never 20%, but was charged $22.83 required gratuity for the priveledge of using the coupon. That meant that our bill was more than it would have been had we not used the coupon. This is how you cheat the customer. We were never told this when we offered the coupon and this had never happened in other visits to the restaurant. I did not think that you could charge a mandatory gratuity for a party of 4. This is a rip off for the customers and should not be allowed.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the total cost of our dinner refunded for that visit $142.52.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/02/01) */ Aloha, Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We have specific rules and policies that we strongly stress to all our employees at the Pagoda Floating Restaurant. Our company policy for adding a 17% gratuity to any bill is for parties of (8)guests or more and any party of less than (8) guests should never be included. When we do add the gratuity to the bills, we do take the original food and bar totals before the discount and taxes are added. We have taken the proper disciplinary actions to the employee who did not follow the proper company policies. We strongly stress to our staff to give all our guest the best service with aloha and to also follow all the rules and policies we set as our standards. Once again, thank you for bringing this serious matter to our attention. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/02/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not receive the requested resolution nor any restitution at all for me as the customer.... not even an apology for being treat in the manner that we were treated. I still expect some monetary restitution, a free meal, a refund of the unfair 17% tip included in my bill, etc. Business' Final Response /* (1000, 11, 2013/02/25) */ Contact Name and Title: *********** Restaurant Ma Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@pagodahawaii.com Aloha, My apologies-I assumed the response was going directly to the BBB and not the customer. We do sincerely apologies for the way you were treat as a valued customer. Our company has a no tolerance policy for gratuities that are added for parties of less than (8) people and also larger parties above (8) should also be fully aware of the gratuity being added to their bills. We train our staff to treat all our customers as VIP's and give great service with aloha. We will comp (2) dinner for your next visit to the restaurant. We want you to experience a great dining outing with great service and food in our waterfall gardening dining setting. Sincerely-Restaurant Manager