This business is not BBB accredited.

Sakuma Realty, Inc.

Phone: (808) 943-2725 1773 S King St Ste 202, Honolulu, HI 96826

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers full real estate services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sakuma Realty, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sakuma Realty, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 17, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 04/08/1991 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20435810-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB20064.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB15314.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Wallace "Wally" S. Sakuma, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Wallace "Wally" S. Sakuma, President
Business Category

Real Estate Property Management Real Estate Rental Service

Industry Tips

Additional Locations


    1773 S King St Ste 202

    Honolulu, HI 96826 (808) 943-2725


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 19th 2013 we rented a Single Home 3bedroom from this company. Our Realtor was ****** @ ************. We paid a deposit of $2500 and a prorated amount for half the month of November 2013. We did a few upgrades to the home out of our money and we were told by ****** to turn in the receipts and they would take it off the rent. When it came time to submit the receipts for the purchases ****** stated we didn't have permission to upgrade. We still have all the messages with her approval of the upgrades along with the message of her stating to deduct from the rent. Now that we received orders to PCS ****** refuses to reimburse us for the upgreades. During this time our Military pay got messed up. We informed ****** that the prorated amount for October 2014 would be a little late. ****** replied stating she was deducting it from our $2500 deposit along with a 10% late fee. we had our final walk through and I signed off on the house. while waiting on the rest of our deposit ****** began giving many different reasons why she was deducting even more from our deposit things that were not discussed during the final walk through. I have all the messages. First she wanted to charge $500 for a scratch on the floor. I stated the scratch was small and would not be any where close to $500 and that it could be repainted/stained with the paint that was still in the garage that they used before we moved in. ****** replied why didn't I do it myself and charged us $250. We requested a invoice to show they in fact replaced the one board and she sent a company made invoice saying they replace 4 boards when only one board was scratched. ****** then charged us 20% late fee of $250 in stead of the 10% fee of $125. We reminded ****** and she sent out another check of $125 that now did not clear. Today we asked to come pick up the $125 in cash and we were told by ****** that they would put a stop payment on the check and charge us the fee by deducting it from the $125. No repairs were done as we discussed.

Desired Settlement: We would like all monies for upgrades and money not actually used for the floor and the $125 for the check that did not clear. We can provide all receipts and all conversation between us since 2013 as well as pictures showing the upgrades and how they moved in new people just days later not changing any of the upgrades we made as ****** stated why they were not paying us for the upgrades. I met the new tenants on Halloween all our upgrades are still there including the blinds we hung. Thank you

Business Response:

********************** ***
********* ** *****
***** ********

November 7, 2014

*** **** ***** Operations

**** ****** ******* ***** ***
********* ** *****         

RE:       ******** ******
1D:       ********

Dear Ms.*****:

On November  19, 2013, Ms. ****** executed a lease with our company·from November 19, 2013 to November 18, 2014 (see attach). She had power of
Attorney in behalf of her husband Mr. ******* ****** who was not present during the initial check in inspection.            ·

I informed Ms. ****** that any renovations done by the tenant must be in writing and to be submitted to the owner (see attach rental agreement addendum Article F REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE). At the check in inspection performed on November 19, 2013 (see attach) I informed Ms. ****** to notify me in writing LATER should there be additional discrepancies, etc to be added and she has (7) seven days to respond.   A copy of the check in report was provided to her via email.  I received NO RESPONSE from her regarding the check-in inspection report.  Also a copy of the contract, rental agreement and yard addendum was given to them for their records. All documents were SIGNED by her (see attach). Per her complaint  regarding reimbursement for the upgrades, nothing was provided
in writing and NOT authorized by the owner. All upgrades were made at their own cost.

On June 23, 2014 I received a TEXT from Ms. ****** that the neighbors broke the back yard fence (see attach).  Ms. ****** said she would repair the fence at her own cost and the owners DO NOT NEED to REIMBURSE her (see attach correspondence per her text). I responded to her to send PICS and ESTIMATES to advise the OWNER for reimbursement.  NOT ONCE did I say to RENOVATE or UPGRADE the entire house and you will be REIMBURSED. All modifications. etc must be in Writing and she ACKNOWEDGED and SIGNED our contract and addendums per our company's policies.

On July 16, 2014 the owner replaced the livingroom and diningroom screen lanai doors and they appreciated the upgrades because the doors were not functional, etc.

I informed Ms. ****** that IF she was AWARE of the damages to the floor PRIOR to our final check out inspection (October 15, 2014) then WHY didn't she schedule repairs before we met. I also informed her that I appreciate the pictures and improvements that she did to the house, however, nothing was in writing and the owner did NOT approve th,eir improvements. I also informed her that any modifications, etc.may be done to the property during their occupancy, and when they VACATE they need to restore the property in the SAME CONDITION when they first took occupancy.

The owner DID NOT charge them for painting the kitchen and bathroom cabinets and he could have deducted it from their deposit. Ms. ****** DID NOT repair the back fence as she requested per her text dated June 23, 2014. Cash refund was provided to Ms .****** of $125 on November 4, 2014 from my boss.                                     ·

Half rent $1250.00 and $125 late fee and $250.00 flooring and $188.25 damaged sprinkler head & pipe was deducted from their security deposit.

Thank you,

****** ******, RA

Rental Property Manager


cc: ******* ******, PB

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: On 11/08/13 I went to view the home along with my mother due to my husband being deployed to Kuwait, our follow on was Hawaii. Upon seeing the house ****** and I discussed repairs/upgrades. My mother was a witness to the entire conversations that took place and is willing to submit a statement to the BBB as well as return to Hawsii to appear in court which is our next step. ****** stated at that time the house was to be cleaned which it clearly wasn't. We discussed upgrades and repairs. ****** stated she would send out repair guys to get estimates, ****** also stated that the owners were the type that didn't mind the tenant doing up grades and to submit the receipts to be taken off the rent. We waited and waited for ****** to send out repair guys. On 04/21/14 we request again for the repairs to be completed and stated that we had completed the upgrades that were mentioned. ****** replied with a list of names and numbers and stated we needed to call them to have the them come out. We contact each person and they came out. 05/07/14 I contact each repair guy and ask the statues of them returning, each stated they did not get approval from ******. I contact ****** I regards and she replied the owner was working on a major renovation and hope to get back to us soon, then stated the owner would repair the leaking toilet. ( we didn't have a leaking toilet) this was a way for ****** to delay us even longer. ****** also stated on that day that we needed to purchase the stoppers for the tubs and submit the receipts to be reimburse. I replied we were not purchasing anything else for the home. We had waited now 7 months paying them $21,008. On 09/08/14 ****** tried to delay us once again by emailing me with yet another repair guys name and number saying we needed to call him for an estimate. We remained ****** we had already had estimates presented and we were no longer interested in the repairs being done due to us receiving short notice orders back to the Mainlands. We presented ****** with a copy of the orders as well as a 30 day notice from 09/15/14 to 10/15/14 which ****** excepted. Due to my husband/******* leaving ahead and filing his travel voucher his checks were reduced because of a mistake. We were informed through the Finace Office to seek help from the Air Force Aide. The AFA paid ****** in full including the late fee for the month of September. The AFA was also prepared to pay ****** for Octobers rent and late fee. ****** took it upon herself to breach our contract and deduct the amount plus double the late fee from our deposit. After reminding ****** of the amount of the late fee we received a check for $125 she had charged $250. The check did not clear and I later had to go to Sakuma Realty to pick up cash. I also had request for a pre walk through to discuss the condition of the home and what needed to be taken care of by the final inspection, ****** refused on 10/09/14. On 10/16/14 we had our final inspection and we were cleared off good on everything except the inch long scratch on the Master Floor. I have request several times for a copy of the paper work and we still have not received it. Seven days later after we cleared the home ****** began sending messages of deductions from our deposit. $250 for the flooring which we are certain they applied the paint they used on the floors that was left in the garage. ****** sent us a fake receipt with no break downs and no tax showing. The receipt also states the work was completed by the same name she stated was her Boss. ****** originally wanted to charge us $500 for the one inch scratch. We received a reduction for $188. For repairs to two sprinkler heads which are clearly the same broken heads that were broken when we moved in, reason we were not able to use the sprinkler system. I reported to ****** in November 2013 about the heads and she never approved the repair guy to come back to fix them. The repair guy himself shut off the sprinklers for us. We also hired ******s lawn guy to take care of the cutting of the grass the entire time we stayed there, paying him $50 plus $10 tip every three weeks. I would also like to state that after signing the contract ****** stated to me how she kept the last tens to entire deposit of $2500. ******s reason did not sit well with me and this is why I made sure to keep all text, email traffic and recipes. I truly think it was because she had already used their deposit which is against the law. Due to the lack of customer service, lack of trust from all the lies, lack of credibility we are asking for the reimbursement of $656.63 for upgrade material purchased from Lowes. Reimbursement for the flooring $250 and reimbursement for $188. For not breaking the sprinkler heads. The toal we want back is $1095. I have also printed out other complaints against ******/Sakuma Realty Inc with the same kinds of complaints we have. All which will be presented to the courts along with all text and email messages and along with our Witness. I can provide these things to the BBB as well along with before and after pictures of the home. I will also prove in court that ******/Sakuma Realities Inc have not been following the States Rental Laws, as well as seeking all Court cost and Fees be paid by ******/Sakuma Reality Inc. 


******** ******