BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Hawaii

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Real Estate Sales & Research services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Prudential Locations LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Prudential Locations LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prudential Locations LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 04, 1974 Business started: 03/11/1998 Business started locally: 03/11/1998 Business incorporated: 02/20/1998 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DCCA Professional & Vocational Licensing
335 Merchant St STE 301, Honolulu HI 96813
https://pvl.ehawaii.gov/pvlsearch/
Phone Number: (808) 586-3000
pvl@dcca.hawaii.gov
The number is RB-15941.

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W20532860-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB17095.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. John R. Connelley, PB Mr. William S. Chee, CEO Joe Segal, Online Marketing Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R. Connelley, PB
Business Category

Real Estate


Additional Locations

  • 116 Hekili Street, Suite 120

    Kailua, HI 96734 (808) 262-2727

  • 1215 S. Kihei Road, #N

    Kihei, HI 96753

  • 614 Kapahulu Avenue  Suite 300

    Honolulu, HI 96815 (808) 738-3100 (808) 738-3278 (808) 735-4200

  • 95-720 Lanikuhana Avenue, #120

    Mililani, HI 96789 (808) 625-7100

  • 98-161 Kaonohi St

    Aiea, HI 96701 (808) 488-7700

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (808) 738-3100(Phone)
  • (808) 738-3278(Phone)
  • (808) 879-5200(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The first Agent I hired to sell my home did not want to list my house at 375,000 even though the property tax was at 370,000. He did not listen to my request, and eventualy we let him go because he did not want to list the house for what we wanted. The second Agent from Prudential was always in a meeting and I have plenty of text messages to prove it if I need to. He did get our house painted but when we agreed to list the house at 375,000 and offers cam in below that, he did not want to work with me because I did not want to sell for less than the asking price. He was very pushy with my family and we had many arguments about what we wanted. One of his famous saying to me was " Your lucky I took you as a Client". I will never forget that comment. I approached the Third agent at Prudential and he was willing to list the house at 385,000 and we were confident that the house would appraise at the listing price which it did. Our Agent told us that he had another prudential agent he was taking under his wing and he wanted to leave him in our house for house showings. During the house showing our buyers met the agent and decided to go with him. I asked my agent who was representing me if that was a conflict of interest and he said "NO". Know I regret it after the sale. Later on we were told that the buyers were well qualified and that they were good for the loan according to my agent. Just before the 10 days was up to back out of the contract my agent visited me and told me that the buyers had no credit but not to worry because he made good money, so at the time I was not concerned because I Trusted my agent. Toward the end of the contract my agent told me that I needed to move everything out of the house 6 days before closing. My family rushed out of the house and I Hurt my back, and we moved into a small three bedroom house in Mililani. Shortly afterward t we received the conditional approval from the buyers that there loan was approved and that it would go to USDA for approval. A few days after that I got a call from my agent and he said that USDA turned them down, but qualified them at 337,000 and asked if I wanted to loan them the money for the rest. At the time my family had exhausted all of our savings 5,000 dollars. I could not make the next month's rent and mortgage together. I sold the house for 337,000 because I was going to miss my payment for the mortgage and I was penniless!!!!!!. I was so upset at the Agent. I called the Loan officer at ************** and he told me that his dept to ratio was at 29 percent when he submitted it to USDA, then the phone cut out and he called me a ************. The phone call resumed and he didn't apologize. I called my agent and he told me the loan officer had submitted the loan at 32 percent dept to ratio and that USDA needed it at 29 percent. I don't know who lied. I called my agent and asked them to move over the escrow funds so my mortgage would not be late and they did. My agent told me that the buyers paid my mortgage, and made it sound like the buyers did me a favor, but they had been living there for a few weeks anyways, so it was my money anyways. Long story short I asked my agent for the broker *************** to refund his portion of the fees, He did not do that, instead he wanted to have a meeting. No body at prudential took any responsibility for the loss my family took. I don't think they deserved a Penny for their services. I am currently taking legal action. To me it seems like all their concerned with is making a sale! My family suffered because of Prudential.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the 19,000 dollar in Fees Prudential Charged me to be completly refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/12) */ August 11, 2014 ***** ***** Better Business Bureau of Hawaii, Inc. ************************* ******************* Re: Case ******** : ***************** Dear *****, Thank you for your letter of July 29, 2014. I read Mr. *******'s complaint with interest. Mr. ******* was not an easy client to work with and we were willing to release him from his listing agreement with us. He agreed to work with another agent and this was a problematic relationship as well. Mr. ******* implies in his letter that he did not understand that the Dual Agency situation created a conflict. Mr. ******* signed a dual agency agreement on May 4, 2014 (copy attached) which explains the roles and duties in such a situation. Mr. ******* is correct when he said that the buyer was presented with a pre-approval letter. Later, as he mentioned, the buyer was notified that USDA would not approve the buyer's application due to a lack of credit. We began the cancellation process when Mr. ******* offered to lower the sale price. We had not asked him to do this because it was a large and significant adjustment to make. The buyer was very grateful for Mr. *******'s offer and Mr. ******* seemed anxious to just close the transaction. Mr. ******* speaks to several issues with the buyer's mortgage loan company. l can't speak to these as we were not part of these discussions. Mr. ******* proceeded to close the transaction. It was after this that he shared with our agent that he thought that we should refund all of the commissions. I asked the agent to contact Mr. ******* and that I would be happy to meet with him to discuss this matter. His response was that he did not need to meet with me because he knew that I would only try and talk him out of his request. Mr. ******* states that his "family suffered because of Prudential". I don't understand the basis for that complaint. I am as willing to meet with Mr. ******* now as I was before in an effort to listen to him and get a better understanding of his complaint. I look forward to your response. Sincerely, ***************** (R) CRB, CRS Principal Broker

7/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service