Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers real estate, condo/home rental management and vacation rentals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Parrish Collection Kauai (The) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Parrish Collection Kauai (The) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Parrish Collection Kauai (The)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 1998 Business started: 07/01/1979 Business started locally: 07/01/1979 Business incorporated 03/20/2002 in HI
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State of Hawaii Department of Taxation
PO Box 1425, Honolulu HI 96806
http://pahoehoe.ehawaii.gov/tls/app
Phone Number: (808) 587-4242
The number is W83805908-01.

DCCA Consumer Resource Center
235 S. Beretania Street, 8th & 9th Floors, Honolulu HI 96813
Phone Number: (808) 587-4272
The number is RB19309.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jonathan (JP) Parrish, Member Ms. Anne English, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jonathan (JP) Parrish, Member
Business Category

Real Estate Resorts Vacation Rentals

Alternate Business Names
Parrish Collection, LLC (The)
Industry Tips
CLOSING COSTS TO BUYERS

Additional Locations

  • 3176 Poipu Rd Ste 1

    Koloa, HI 96756

  • 5-4280 Kuhio Hwy, Ste B103

    Princeville, HI 96722 (808) 826-0002

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We rented a private house for 10 days in September, and are so unhappy with the Parrish Collection. First, Parrish advertised as having AC, and we would not have booked a property without AC. However, Parrish did not mention that the thermostat to control the AC in the common area is enclosed in a locked box, and that the AC was programmed to run for only a few hours per day. While the AC in the bedroom would run whenever we wished, it was so far from the common area that it did not provide any cooling outside the bedroom area. False advertising for sure they should have clearly stated the AC was limited to certain hours per day.Second, Parrish assured us that mid-stay housekeeping was scheduled on Day 5 at 10:00 am - we waited until 1 pm and no one came. By that time it was too late to schedule our housekeeping - no accommodations were made for their scheduling error, the cleaning was not rescheduled, and we spent precious hours of our vacation doing laundry, changing sheets, washing floors and cleaning windows.Finally, worst of all, we received an email from Parrish wanting to charge us almost $500 for damage to a kitchen cabinet. Even after we repeatedly explained that we did not damage the cabinet, Parrish chose to take the word of the housekeeper instead of their clients. Parrish themselves never saw the damage; all they had was a super-zoomed, no context cell phone pic of a scratch in a cabinet. Based on this pic and the housekeeper stating she didnt damage the cabinet, they withheld $481.50 from our damage deposit, even though we did not damage the cabinet. At least 3 other people had entered the property; the property manager, the housekeeper, and someone from Parrish who arrived before we did to drop off a pint of ice cream perhaps one of these people damaged the cabinet during this visit. We dont know who damaged the cabinet we only know that we did not damage the cabinet. I am hoping if I say it often enough, the repetition will cause Parrish to understand this simple concept: we did not damage the cabinet. I can understand, based on almost $500 in repair costs, why the actual person who damaged the cabinet would not want to come forward, especially if it is an employee of Parrish or an underpaid housekeeper. This does not change the fact that we did not damage the cabinet, nor should we have been charged for damages we did not cause.

Desired Settlement: Refund $481.50 to credit card.

Business Response: We respectfully request this complaint be dismissed as it is retaliatory and false. 1. False Advertising: The home this party rented does have air conditioning and the guest did commented they had access to the AC. This particular west facing oceanfront home has walls of glass that open up so the home is open to the ocean. To be environmentally conscious, the owner of the home has chosen to limit the use of the AC in the main room during the hottest part of the day as guests open the doors and then leave the AC on. Keeping the doors open keeps the home cool enough during that part of the day and this was explained to them. This is industry
standard...like hotels where the AC goes off when you open the sliding doors. 2. A complimentary maid service was missed due, however since they do not pay for it, there is no cost to the guest involved. We apologized for the inconvenience. 3. In regards to the damage to the refrigerator door, this was beyond acceptable. This is a private home and as they acknowledged when they signed the rental policies that they would be responsible for damage. Here is the section regarding
the Security Deposit: "...Your security deposit and/or credit card will be charged for any damage, missing items, loss, excessive cleaning or any unpaid rent resulting from your stay, including damage or excessive cleaning..." Prior to this guests arrival, the owner's property manager (not a Parrish Collection employee), the home's housekeeper (again, not a Parrish Collection employee) in addition to a Parrish Collection representative who greeted the guests upon arrival all were in the home and all confirmed that there was no damage to the refrigerator door. It is pretty obvious. When we first asked the guest about the damage, they guest reported
not knowing anything about it and did not see anything. After confirming it was not there prior to their arrival and then sending them photos which clearly showed the damage along with a cost estimate of the repair, they then changed their story. After that, they then and now state that it was there when they got there. Via email, the guest threatened that if we did not waive the charge they would retaliate with negative reviews posted on the internet. We do not take kindly to threats and feel it is inappropriate to use threats of negative reviews to get a company to release someone from financial responsibility for which they are clearly responsible. We stand  by the charge and will (or have) posted a response similar to above for all postings.